Need opinions: 7 months old 33lbs....

Mom's - posted on 08/06/2010 ( 13 moms have responded )

2

26

0

2-3T clothes ... size 5 diaper.. should one be concerned of any health issues?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Sarah - posted on 08/09/2010

933

65

29

remember weight gain starts to decrease as babies get older and start to become mobile.
so those who were commenting before may not necessarily have tiny children.
anyway my 18month old is just over 25lb. born at 7lb 13ozhe's always been on the 50th percentile for his weight .. so he's doing fine.
he's a little above average for height though.

like everyones said though go voice your concerns with your health visitor she might have some advice.

Kat - posted on 08/08/2010

309

37

24

i'd ask the doctor. my son is gonna be 14 months on 8/11 and he's only 23 pounds, size 5 diaper and 3t clothes. your baby might just be heavy (not fat, but just heavy) and it's right for him/her. but i'd get it checked. just to make sure. and you could go to a couple different docs too.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

13 Comments

View replies by

Elisha - posted on 08/09/2010

54

19

1

Sarh-
Yeah I understand that my doctor has no problem telling me I'm over weight.....Both my boys where good sizes babys both weighting in at 8lbs 01oz when they where born my oldest who is 4yrs now is in the 95% in height and 90% in weight, my 4 month old is 90% in height and 95% in weight I know in the back of my head that my youngest weight will calm down once he starts walking his doctor put him on cereal when he was 2 weeks old for reflux which i know is the reason he's 18lbs at 4 months, both my boys are rather long my oldest his doctors are guessing he's going to be close to 7ft tall, my youngest they haven't said anything about the funny thing is i'm 5'3 1/3 and my husband is 5'5 so they did not get their height from us.

[deleted account]

Have you seen a pediatrician regularly? What is your child's heighth? My daughter is 29.5 in 21 lbs and she is only 8 months. Since her weight and height equal out the doc is not concerned. She's tall so she will weigh a bit more than average. I don't over feed her or anything so it's just her. I would just make sure you feed your child the normal amounts (even though that is not always right for your child).

Wendy - posted on 08/08/2010

195

33

10

I have a nephew who was also about that size around that age. He's completely normal, just big and tall. Even though his parents aren't that tall his mother is big boned. It's not completely out of the ordinary but if you are worried I'd check with your doctor.

Mihaela - posted on 08/08/2010

34

0

4

well... maybe the things he's eating are the problem...or maybe he's eating too much... or just maybe he's a big baby! i have seen on tv a baby that had 12 Ibs at birth so that one was big from the beginning... my daughter is 3 months and about 15 Ibs ... at birth she only had 7 so she doubled her weight in 3 months and ppl say that this should happen in 6 months... the doctor said it is just fine and that she's "Like a motorcycle ", that she wants to grow quickly... anyway, you should ask a doctor or 2 and after that just follow the doctor's orders: no matter how much experience a mother have, a doctor will have more !

Sarh - posted on 08/07/2010

2,516

26

176

Elisha- my son will be 2 months old in 3 days and weighed in at 15lbs over a wk ago. If the doctor said he is healthy, then he is, I know first hand doctors have no problem telling patients they are obese. I have had 3 doctors tell me that I am obese, and I am not, I just have the baby "flab", and I'm not a petite little twig like they think people should be now a days.

Elisha - posted on 08/07/2010

54

19

1

I have the same concern with my 4 month old who now weigh's 18lbs 8oz and I voiced my concerns to his doctor because I personally have struggled with my weight all my life and I don't want my son to go through everything I went through but his doctor says he's a perfectly healthy baby and not to worry right now.

Jessica - posted on 08/06/2010

18

20

0

My husbands dad weighed 35lbs at the age of 1 and was about 3ft tall at that point. I saw pics and he was a big/tall baby. but he is 6ft 2in and weighs about 205lbs so maybe your baby is planning on being tall.?? just make sure your not over feeding because that does lead to eating habits and issues. at about 7 months they should be eating 4-5oz of food three times a day and about 18-24oz of formula a day. I did about 3-4oz of food twice a day and about 25oz of formula a day. my baby is 13mos and she wieghs about 23lbs.

Sarh - posted on 08/06/2010

2,516

26

176

Was this child big since birth?! Does this child's height even out his/her weight?! I would need to see the child to fully voice my opinion! The other moms who have posted to this, their child seems TINY! my son is going to be 2 months on the 10th and he is 15lbs! He's not overly chubby, because his height evens it out, he was 8lbs 12.5oz at birth). My brother was born at 8lb something and by 4 wks old he was 24lbs! (No he is not obese now 13yrs later!). My daughter was born at 9lbs 13.5oz and if I remember correctly (that was 4yrs ago), she was in the same size at about the same age! Is the baby crawling yet? When the child becomes more mobile he or she should begin to slow down on the weight gain. I would take Jennifer's questions into consideration slightly and answer them for us please?! My daughter has always ate more that other children her age! She started baby food at about a month old... she was not overly chubby either, and is now 4.5yrs old and was 50lbs at her 4yr check up. She is wearing size 7-8 in girls!
I've heard that children that grow fast at a young age don't continue to grow at that rate as they become older and that children who are tiny at a young age shoot up when they are much older.

Jennifer - posted on 08/06/2010

1,501

37

229

i would be concerned....my son is 90th percentile for his weight, and he's nearly 2 months older, and 11 pounds lighter. i would consult a few different doctors and get different opinions.



how is the baby's appetite/diet? does he eat the normal amount for his age, or is he eating much more? what is he consuming?

Sarah - posted on 08/06/2010

1,499

10

39

What has your baby's doctor said about the weight? It seems like quite a lot, but mainly because my 10 1/2 month old only weighs 18lbs.

Summer - posted on 08/06/2010

39

6

3

WOW! thats a big baby! my daughter who is 2 1/2 weighs 25 lbs. I would consult the babys pedi because that seems like too much weight.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms