Opinions on taking your baby with you to a movie.

Kelsey - posted on 04/16/2010 ( 39 moms have responded )

136

28

21

Hi ladies, I have a 10 week old little girl. My husband and I need to get out of the house some, but he is military so we are currently living in another state away from friends and family. We don't know a lot about where we are from and we don't have any friends really here. I was thinking about seeing a movie, just a romantic comedy so no loud noises or anything and I was wondering if other people took their babies with them when they went to see a movie? If so how did your baby respond. I figured my daughter would end up sleeping through it all, anytime we take a car ride she ends up sleeping for a while after that anyways. I've been in movies where women have brought their babies, but I was just wondering what other moms thoughts were.

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Nikki - posted on 04/17/2010

1,524

23

151

do you have a DRIVE IN near you..... we lived there last summer and plan to do so again, my son was born last June so it was perfect b/c the drive there and back would put him to sleep last summer and if he did wake up I could just hold him in my arms , we could enjoy a movie and being out of the house and not disturb anyone else in the process, we went every week it was great. We started going again this summer already , it is a bit different b/c my son is extremely mobile, but it is around his bedtime so most of the time he is asleep anyways. I have an SUV with a big trunk we set up blankets and put his toys back there and I put the chairs down and sat with him he could crawl and climb and play amd I could still watch the movie he likes to watch now too.

I personally wouldnt take him to a theater b/c I dont think it's fair to the other movie goers and also because my son wont sit in my lap for 5 minutes let alone 2 hours

Leaha - posted on 04/16/2010

66

29

8

there are some theaters that have a strollers and stars show, where you can bring your baby, and they have a change table just outside and leave the lights at a dim, it's for moms and their babies so even if your baby is awake and talking everyone understands!

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

39 Comments

View replies by

Nicole - posted on 05/04/2010

23

5

0

I've thought about it but I'm scared she will wake up and ruin the movie for others who have paid to see it.

Leah - posted on 05/04/2010

76

30

1

We tried watching a little video at a museum with our son, and when the ligths went off he had a fit cause he thought we were trying to put him to bed and he didnt want to go to sleep. I would say find a sitter that way you dont distrub anyone else and you can enjoy the movie. But hey she may like it too!!!!

Krystal - posted on 05/04/2010

3

5

0

Having no family near us, we took our daughter everywhere with us. we went to the movies when she was young because she slept through most of the time and if need be, I just breastfed her in the dark of the cinema. I see nothing wrong with this. You no your child, if they will be quiet and not annoy other patrons then I think its fine. See any movie you like, at this age they dont understand sounds like adults do. Do what feels right for you and your partner and enjoy this time while they are easily portable!

Regina - posted on 04/21/2010

4

11

0

Hi. Check your local theaters for kid friendly showtimes. I know all of the kerasotes theatres in the Chicagoland area have a certain time you can take kids of any age. That way if your kid is crying or needs to be walked in the aisles, you don't have to feel guilty or disruptive (since I am sure everyone else is doing the same thing). Here's a list of theatres that participate: http://www.kerasotes.com/Content.aspx?Pa... Although Kerasotes may not be the only group of theatres who does this so check out the ones in your area if you don't have these. Good luck!

[deleted account]

Personally I wouldn't do it......I have a 19 month old lil' girl and when she was about 6 months my sister-in-law tried to convince me to bring her with so that I could go and I was honestly shocked that it was even permitted in the theater? Strange! I don't go to movie's much BUT if you need to get out and it's allowed then why not? You know ur daughter's temperment better than anyone, so if you're up for anything she throws at you and you figure she'll do ok then have 'atter! What's the worst thing that can happen? She throws an uncontrollable fit and you end up having to leave? Meh, whatever! You won't know till you try!



Enjoy ur time out! ;)

LisaJoy - posted on 04/21/2010

38

10

0

Hey ~ we're in the military as well, we're stationed in Germany. I had my son on a Sunday & that Thursday New Moon came out & my husband & I took our little one with us to see it. We take him with us ALL the time. If it's a movie that I want to see then My husband will take him out if he gets fussy, If it's a movie my hubby wants to see then I will take care of our son. we ALWAYS sit on an isle seat so we can get out quickly w/o disturbing everyone else. Also now Jr. has a routine where he is pretty much knocked out after 8 so we just put him in his car seat & go to a later movie. And DON'T worry pretty soon you will be able to make more plans as she develops a steady routine.

Shari-Rae - posted on 04/21/2010

6

6

0

I have taken my nephew (6 months) and my daughter (4 months) and they were just fine my daughter fell asleep and my nephew went to sleep after a bottle in the movies. It was great. =D

Cassandra - posted on 04/20/2010

86

8

0

We have taken our son to every movie we've seen. It was easier when he was around your daughters age. He's almost 15 months now. I would nurse him a little at the start of the movie and he would be out for the whole thing. Now we just make sure to bring plenty of snacks to keep him occupied.

Sara - posted on 04/20/2010

22

4

1

My son is almost 2 and I have never taken him to a movie. We get compliments all the time how great he behaves and I do mean abnormally great. We want him to remember his first time at the movies. My sister's most beloved memory is when she saw the Lion King at the theater when she was 7. We are waiting.

Maryanne - posted on 04/20/2010

20

9

1

i went out with my grandmother and aunty with my son when he was about 10 weeks old and i found that if i made sure he had a nappy change before i went in and a bottle of milk (if you are bottle feeding) ready to be on the safe side then he was fine my son however since he was born was use to loud noises and would sleep straight through, its up to you really just follow your instincts

Renee - posted on 04/19/2010

2

9

1

We take our 3 month old to movies. We put ear plugs near his ears and put a hat on, just in case. He sleeps the entire time! He made a little noise in his sleep during one movie, but nobody heard it. :)

Brandy - posted on 04/19/2010

117

25

9

We have taken my now 21 month old son to lots of movies including Austrailia, and Hancock. I would just nurse him if he woke up or would remove him from the theater until he fell asleep or calmed down, I would also sit at the end by the exit so i could leave fast. Just wait till the movie is about to leave the theater and by them almost everyone has seen it at least once. Also you should check and see if there is a cheap theater in your area. We have one called movies 8 and all the movies that come there usually end up over lapping the dvd release date. They are usually under $3 a ticket and the matinas are cheeper. You can also find licensed sitters on the web, just google
baby sitter.

Esther - posted on 04/19/2010

1

16

0

Drive In's are the BEST for babies! The first movie I got to see after I had my daughter was the last Harry Potter movie and it was only because we found out our small town had a drive in. We were able to park and let her play till it got dark enough that the movie started. Then as soon as she fussed I nursed her under the wrap I brought with. She fell asleep for the rest of the movie!
The other thing that can help since you don't live by family is getting a sitter to come watch your child for a couple of hours at your house while you're there. I've done this and it makes me feel much more comfortable to leave the house knowing she's in good hands. Use the time to catch up on all the stuff you can't get to while taking care of your baby.

Jaime - posted on 04/19/2010

71

8

2

Personally, I'm not a big fan of taking babies to movies. Even if your baby can sleep through the noise, it's probably still too loud for little ears. I also know that it really annoys some people when a baby starts crying, no matter how fast you get them out so I just don't do it. I sure do miss the movies though! We actually have a drive in where I live and was planning on giving that a try - one day! Maybe you can roll up some receiving blanket to put around the baby's ears and give it a try!

Jessica - posted on 04/19/2010

45

63

1

It's still going to be loud no matter what. Bad for the baby's ears. And bad for the other people who paid to watch a movie and now have to hear a baby cry. It's rude. Period. If you want to watch a movie, rent one. Don't ruin the other movie goers night.

Megan - posted on 04/18/2010

23

12

2

I don't know what it's like where you guys are from, but in Australia we have 'Babes in Arms' sessions where they show a movie once a day specially for parents who need to care for their babies but want to get out of the house. They aren't always kids movies - for example, Dear John was playing a few weeks ago but this fortnight it's Nanny McPhee and the Big Bang. The only downside is you don't get to choose what movie you see.

Jess - posted on 04/18/2010

26

15

0

i also took my daughter to see how to train your dragon and she was only 4 weeks old and she was really good ahe slept for some of it but was awake most of the time so i fed her and then she just watched the movie with us and she loved it

Gayle - posted on 04/18/2010

76

32

5

We go out to eat, then i wake her, change her, feed her, then drive over to the movies.... By the time we get there she is out cold... Ayla will be 6 weeks in a few days and we've seen How to Train Your Dragon and Clash of the Titans.... She has slept thru both without a problem.... she made a few little noises, but i had to lean over to hear her.... we just put a crocheted blanket over her car seat so she still gets air, and put her in the seat next to us..... we try to go at times when there aren't alot of people, just in case we have to take her out, but luckily it hasn't happened yet!

Lindy - posted on 04/18/2010

21

12

0

oh, and we also have "Movies for Mommies", movies once a week we would enjoy but you are expected to bring your kids so it is a bit noisey, the movie is turned down a bit, lights are turned up and there is a changing station...look it up online to see if it is offered in your area!

Lindy - posted on 04/18/2010

21

12

0

I have brought my son at different ages to movies, I think it depends on how your baby is during the movie to how comfortable you are. When he was little, he just slept in the wrap against me, now he would be a menace (10 mths) so I just rent! :) definately give it a try, worst case scenario she cries a lot and you leave or step out to settle her. happy watching!

Sherre - posted on 04/18/2010

248

27

41

I took my son when he was 5 mos old but wouldn't recommend doing it. He's 16 mos now and although he watches movies at the house with me and sits calmly through them, I don't want to risk taking him to a theatre and him being loud or nosey. It is rude when people pay over ten dollars nowadays to see a film and a baby is crying. Like some other moms have suggested, going to a drive in or if they have the stars shows, although I've never heard of them. Look the info up on your internet for areas around you. :)

Renee - posted on 04/18/2010

62

23

0

i wanna know how it went too, my son is 3 months and i wanna go 2 the movies too!

Jaime - posted on 04/18/2010

231

30

37

I took my son recently, he was approximately 10 weeks old. It was to see Alice in Wonderland. The first loud noise he jumped and nearly cried, but I soothed him and he ended up sleeping all the way through it. I got soooo many greasy looks off people and he didn't even make a sound!

I don't think I would risk it again though because he's more alert now.

Trove - posted on 04/18/2010

36

16

4

I just have a really funny story to tell. My mom and dad decided that a baby was not going to change their lives and so when my sister (the eldest) was just a few weeks old they decided to take her to the movies with them. But as they were walking down the aisle to their row my dad changed the carrier from one hand to the other and in the process lost hold of one of the handles. Poor Emma (my sister) fell out the carrier and went rolling down the aisle. Mom says they could not get her to stop crying poor thing. Fortunately it was a scary movie and her cries were not heard over the screams.

Vicki - posted on 04/17/2010

1,150

0

166

When he was very small I took him to several dance performances and the symphony. No problems at all. I was nervous during a flute solo which dulled my enjoyment somewhat but otherwise fine. I wouldn't take him now (9 months) as there's no way he'd stay still and be quiet.

Crystal - posted on 04/17/2010

97

21

10

We took our daughter to the movies when she was a couple months old. It went alright. We just put a hat on her and held a blanket over her ears, because it was pretty loud. But she slept through almost the whole movie!

Heather - posted on 04/17/2010

20

21

3

I think if your baby is very relaxed and you think she will sleep through it, then try it. Be courtious of other people and if she gets loud or fussy, take her out for a few minutes and if it continues, you might have to leave. My son is a really calm and relaxede baby. We were going to take him to the movies when he was about your daughters age, but then we had friends insist on watching him. Do what you think is best for you and your family. Worst case scenario, you get there-- she doesn't do well--- you lose $20. If it was me... I would risk it.

Elsa - posted on 04/17/2010

9

9

1

hi there...
i understand your feelings when you are living in another country with family and friends away.. We are in the same boat... I think before you go to watch that movie you should ask in the cinema if its allowe to take babies. I know some cinemas dont mind and even on internet you can check if babies are welcome... If not, maybe it can be nice to have a picnic, rent a movie, go to a restaurant...

Amber - posted on 04/17/2010

60

4

6

I would never take my baby to a movie. Not only do you risk embarrasing yourself if your child does not sleep but it is still incosiderate and rude to others around. Babies make noises and smells inevitably. People don't pay good money to see a movie to see or smell your child. The only time I think taking a baby to a movie is appropriate is if your taking your other children to a kid movie where there will be plenty of other noisy kids there anyways.

[deleted account]

our baby is almost 18m & we still haven't taken her. I worry about her ears, movies are loud & can hurt their ears or even damage them

Melinda - posted on 04/17/2010

23

6

0

I took my son til he was 6 months. Then he wouldn't behave after that. It depends on the baby and if you don't minda stepping out if she gets fussy. My guy ate, slept, and even watched the screen a little. We bought earmuffs and he started wearing them at 3 months for the noisy action movies. (theywere peltor jr brand.)

Zatonda - posted on 04/17/2010

119

32

5

if you do sit in the back, so if your baby cries you can get up really quick, maybe try an afternoon movie where there aren't as many people and see how your baby do. I don't see a problem with it, however I have seen mothers tune out crying babies and the crowd was not happy.

Morgan - posted on 04/16/2010

1,116

44

166

the strollers and stars shows are great and they even turn the sound down so its not to hard on babys ears :)

Pollyanna - posted on 04/16/2010

65

11

2

My friend used to take her lil one to the movies till she was about 3 months. The baby liked to nurse for comfort, so she would nurse and sleep the movie away. I could never take my kid, she doesn't nap much, she would probably scream her head off lol

Priscilla - posted on 04/16/2010

122

21

22

my son is 8 months old he went to the movies when he was lil over two months he did great he slept thru the whole thing.

Nadia - posted on 04/16/2010

28

3

4

That is tricky... I have a 6 month old and would not do it. He is a good baby but it just seems you never know. For example today he woke up from his nap crying like he was having a nightmare. He never does that.

My boyfriend and I do things like have a late lunch at a restuarant so there are fewer people or we rent movies a lot also.

If you do take her post back and let us know how it went... Just curious.

[deleted account]

I haven't taken my son to a movie (7.5 months old), and probably won't until he can understand what is going on. But my son also gets restless very quickly, and at that age, was quite fussy! (colic.) Your daughter sounds a little more easy going. I think if you found a seat close to an exit so you could bring her out of theater to calm her if she did start to fuss, that it would be fine. I personally wouldn't be bothered, but I also know its some people's pet peeve (if she were to cry for an extended period of time during the movie.)

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms