In the Real World...

Claire - posted on 12/16/2009 ( 7 moms have responded )

26

0

3

So what is everyone like in the real world? Jobs? Hobbies? Obviously we're all parents, but I'm assuming there is more to all of us than just being a mom.

Me: I'm a part time cashier at Golden Corral. It's a buffet here in the States. My husband is my boss, but I never work the same shift as him--so we get along pretty well. I'm going to Missouri Southern State University, I'm about 2 1/2 years away from my teaching degree. I plan on working in a Special Ed classroom, hopefully at the elementary school level. Hobbies: I read like there's no tomorrow. We like to go to the movies...but rarely go these days because we can't find a decent babysitter.

So...that's me in a nutshell. What about you guys?

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

7 Comments

View replies by

Lady - posted on 02/21/2010

2,136

73

221

Hi there I'm 33, mother of 4, an 11 year old a 9 a 4 and a 11 month old. I trained as a nurse but haven't worked outside the home in over 5 years. I'm married to Iain and we live in England in the UK at the moment. We are origionally from Scotland but have moved about a lot - we even lived in florida for a while. We've been together for nearly 17 years married for 12 and are still thankfully very happy with each other.
I have written three novels so far and am working on a fourth but have not had anything published as yet but hopefully one day - I am trying to find an agent right now.
Look forward to some intersting dicussions with you all, gillianx

Nicole - posted on 12/26/2009

14

27

4

I'm about to be 33 and am a mother of 3, a 6 year old boy flanked by girls ages, 10 and 2. I am a full time college student studying psychology and sociology and will be graduating this spring (whew... finally!) My partner of 11 years is a permaculturist and organic gardener. We are getting married this spring as well. I have come to understand my refusal to marry him as selfishness as I grow physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. We choose to live a voluntarily simple life and enjoy each other more than things. Cheers!

Jenny - posted on 12/21/2009

4,426

16

126

I'm a 30 year old PT bookkeeper for a custom wood furniture company. I have two kids ages 2 and 7. I will never marry but have been with my partner for 10 years now. He is a journeyman fire sprinkler fitter. We also have two American Pitbull Terriers, Duece and Eve. We are outdoorsy people and spend lots of time tooling around in the bush taking the dogs for runs and climbing hills in my Jeep. I am getting into photogrpahy more and more with the addition of my Nikon D5000 I got for my birthday and plan to take some classes in the new year.

?? - posted on 12/19/2009

4,974

0

171

I'm a 25 yr old SAHM of my 1 son Gabriel and our lil princess chihuahua shih tzu Hollie. I live in lower eastern BC Canada and I'm surrounded by trees and wild animals lol My partner is a carpenter that works for a construction company that mainly does restoration for insurance claims - water, fire & wind. So he works lonng hours and is usually pretty pooped when he gets home and is on call 24/7 as well so there's lots of random oops gotta go moments. I don't have many friends in this area so I generally stick to myself cept for a few girls I know with children Gabe's age. We go for walks and hikes and in the winter we get together. I am a graphic artist, photographer and I like needlework. I embroider things for everyone.

Claire - posted on 12/19/2009

26

0

3

Renee, my oldest son has Asperger's Syndrome (on the Autism Spectrum). Going through what we have with Evan is part of my reason for choosing Special Ed as my major.

Renee - posted on 12/18/2009

621

28

139

I'm a divorced, single mother of 2 children including a son with autism, I work 2 jobs from home, didn't finish college a million years ago but probably should have now that I am working so much. Great paying jobs are hard to find even with a degree I would imagine. I type legal documents (transcription) for one of my jobs. If I had more time and money I'd probably do more scrapbooking like I used to. Love photography, reading, quilting and movies.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms