What is your opinion on vacinations for you baby? DId have it done?

Renee - posted on 04/17/2010 ( 79 moms have responded )

4

36

0

I have heard some negative opinions about vacinations and Im really not sure if I want my son to have them. Did your baby have their shots and was there any negative reactions?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Brandi - posted on 04/19/2010

40

11

5

A great resource for decisions about vaccines is "The Vaccine Book" by Dr. Sears. He wrote the book to give parents a mostly unbiased information guide to vaccines and tries to give you both sides of the argument (why to give or not to give).

We are getting our son fully vaccinated, but not on the AAP recommended schedule - ours is more spread out. He only gets a maximum of 2 vaccines per visit, and each visit is at least a month apart. We have not had ANY side effects, and I haven't given him any tylenol or motrin before or after the visits. Our schedule puts the vaccines for diseases he is likely to get now (like Rotovirus or Hib) early while delaying vaccines for diseases he isn't likely to come in contact with for a bit later (like Polio and the Hepatitus shots). This does mean more visits to the doctor's office, but some are "nurse only" visits. Also, we refused the Hep shot at the hospital because he was not at risk in our house to get it & the shot does not count towards vacination.

We did decide to postpone the MMR shot until our son turns 5 (we would have taken the individual shots sooner, but our doc doesn't offer them seperate). We made this decision because of the possible autism link - and I do personally know two families whose kids developed autism right after the MMR shot, one a set of triplet girls, the other a little boy - was it the shot? who knows - but I don't want to take the risk with my little boy.

Jessica - posted on 04/25/2010

32

21

0

Also, there is no proof that vaccinations cause autism.
Statistical correlation, yes. But think about it: autism--the milder forms--is most often diagnosed (and earlier) in families of the middle and upper class. Does this mean that the lower class does not have autistic children? No. All it means is that the middle and upper class are more likely to take their child in for a diagnosis, and usually more likely to be able to afford it.

Who is more likely to vaccinate their children? The middle and upper class. Does this mean that vaccinations cause autism? Or that those who vaccinate their children are also willing and able to take them in to child neuropsychiatrists? Autism is not always evident from birth. Many problems are not always evident from birth.

Until we find hard evidence, let's not vilify generally life-saving medicine.

Cheryl - posted on 04/19/2010

738

36

176

*LOL* to Kirstie!!! I won't even go there reguarding the homeschool comment.



Vaccinations is one of those very important parenting choices that each must make for themselves. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do lots of research. Most of your parenting magazines and your doctor will probably give you CDC research. While it is valid research, it is one sided. the government has the immunization programs set up and has decided it is for everyone's greater good. But you are correct, while most children just get a fever or rash, babies die every year form vaccines. there is a risk.



Also, I must clarify, most of the diseases we have vaccines for are not life threatening in today's highly sanitary and properly nourished society.



Every person is different, they will have different metabolic rates and abilities. My husband is a dentist and the big thing has been remove your metalic fillings and get the composite ones due to the mercury.... becuase some people can't handle the levels in their bodies. Well, that doesn't mean EVERYONE can't handle the metalic fillings. If you are having problems, my husband will change them. But the exposure to the removal of the fillings are worse, if you're not having problems, he advises against it.

The same is for the metalic preservatives used in vaccines- whether it's thimerisol (removed from some childhood vaccines but not all) or aluminum or zinc. You don't know how much your new baby can metabolize or how they will react. Vaccines are not dosed for weight or size of child- your child may be getting exposed to anywhere from 10- 100s of times the acceptable amount of perservative. If your child cannot metabolize metals, it will build up in their brain. Did you know the diffinative test for Altimerzes Disease is a spot in the brain where there is high levels of metals- especially ALum.? Those people were not able completely metabolize metals through their lives and it built up over time. (also another perservative used is a formaldyhyde derivative)



It's not just autism and all it's variations that some research has shown a link to vaccines, but SIDS and "so called" shaken baby syndrome has been as well.



I highly recommend a website called vaccine.911 and spend the $20 to get their DVD. They site tons of highly reputable, medical journals and give a wealth of information. Even if you do still decide to vaccinate- you atleast are making an informed decision instead of blindly just following what your doctor or government tells you to do.



FYI: our first had tradional vaccines on schedule (except for HepB at birth and we postponed the MMR until 15 months) until she was 18 months, none since then. Our second had them one at a time until the MMR, never got the MMR, none since then. Our third hasn't had any and our fourth will not have any either. The hard thing is finding a doctor who respects your wishes and doesn't pressure you or be a jerk about it. Our family practioner and I have talked at great lengths about it (and our OB too) and they respect that we have done our research and feel we are making what we feel is the best choice for our family.



But it's a choice every parent needs to make for themselves. Good luck in your searching.

This conversation has been closed to further comments

79 Comments

View replies by

Heather - posted on 07/11/2010

4,634

42

1135

I am going to close this conversation to further comments at this time. We are not a debating community (see Must Read), and no one is currently seeking advice on this topic. Thank you all for your opinions and experience!

Angela - posted on 07/10/2010

11

34

1

I agree, christina. I made it a point in one of my other posts that since pertussis has come back, it's not only effecting non vaccinated kids, but also vaccinated. Why is that? I always thought or was made to believe that being vaccinated made you immune to disease. That's why they call it immunization. Lies have built up somewhere and i believe it starts with the government and the pharmacutical companies. they're all out to make a buck (or a trillion). And we're none the wiser because somewhere along the way we've been taught that our government is supposed to protect us and do what's best for us. My point of all of this (and again, not trying to start a political debate) is to tell people to search websites not connected with the government or pharmacutical co. Visit the websites that were created by the people who suffered from vaccines. These websites were created by people like you and me not the people in charge.

Christina - posted on 07/10/2010

17

14

0

My girl's have some shots they will never get. They are pushing on our kids the shots they can't get adults to take and some that are not even required unless you work around blood. When it comes to this I find that many people are like sheep who do whatever they are told to do without thinking about their child.

I know that there are reports that say "no" but how funny is it that when the number of vaccines we get the higher there are reports of autism. I did get some for my kids but they were only 2 (and I don't mean those that are a 5-in-1) and they were separated by 6 months or more.

Yes, my girl's have all had reactions to the vaccines. There are some they get due to their health issues but I don't allow the doctors tell me what is right for my kids. There are many false claims out there but here is something to think about.

1) When God created man there were no vaccines and yes due to sin disease came in.

2) When the vaccine was created, the diseases it was created to vaccine against the disease was already starting to go away. So can you say it's the vaccine or the disease going away?

Rebecca - posted on 07/09/2010

216

13

17

I have to agree with Angela about not trusting the government. And, no, I'm not getting into politics here, and I'm not a conspiracy theorist either. But governments have agendas and don't make decisions based on godly principles or what's best for the family, so we as parents can't believe everything they say, and when it comes to the health of our kids, it's even more important. I look forward to seeing your information, Angela.

Angela - posted on 07/09/2010

11

34

1

Oh, i wish my husband were home so i could give you actual dr websites where the drs speak against it. And research also means reading what parents have to say about it. You wouldn't believe the stories. And it's not all about autism. Autism is just a part of it. A big part, but there so much more to learn. This is an example of some of the parents stories that i have read. A man wrote that he has four kids. the first three were vaccinated and each one had some sort of mental disorder. And yes, autism was one, and the other two i can't remember. The parents decided not to vaccinate the fourth child and she is absolutely fine. Now, some people believe that it all has to do with genetics and brain chemistry and that some are effected because of certian genes. I don't know. I just know what i've read. And i've read a lot. There's even cases here, in this small community where the children weren't vaccinated till they were older and something changed in every one of them. I'll post some websites soon. Oh, and i know that pertussis is back and the government and all the drs are demanding everyone get the vaccine, but children with the vaccine are getting the illness so what does that mean? I have no idea. I just know something is up. Even Fox News said something is "fishy" about certian new vaccines. If something is fishy with the new ones, what about the old ones? And remember, don't put your trust in government and "official" websites. They can't be trusted. You see what's going on in healthcare because of the government. Please no one attack me on that. this isn't a thread on politics.

Rebecca - posted on 07/09/2010

216

13

17

I have read or at least skimmed through most of the posts, but here's my dilemma. Everyone says "do your research" but every "expert" says something different! How do you really know what the facts are concerning vaccines and autism (or other adverse reactions)? My pediatrician told me that even in non-vaccinated kids, autism isn't very detectable until 15-18 months because it is a social behavior disease that becomes apparent as the child shows lack of social development, and that so happens to be the same time-frame to get the MMR vaccine, so people automatically link it to that even though there is no solid evidence. (BEFORE YOU HANG ME FOR SAYING THAT, UNDERSTAND I'M JUST TELLING YOU WHAT MY DR. TOLD ME!) So, I try to inform myself, and get all this conflicting info, and since I'm not a doctor myself, I have no way to know what to believe. Both of our children are up to date on their shots, and the only thing I refused was H1N1. I still don't know how I feel about this, but as of now we will keep vaccinating, as neither of them have had any problems.

As far as what God's word says about it, I just don't know. I feel like He will protect us from lots of things, but that he also provides things to help us, like doctors for our health, and inventors and engineers that come up with ways to make our homes and cars safe, etc. I think it would be irresponsible, for example, to not put your child in a car seat and say "God will protect him." That may be an extreme example, but you get the point. We do whatever we can to protect ourselves and our kids, and we also trust in God. I don't think someone who vaccinates is trusting science INSTEAD of God, and I think it's a tool He gave us. I'm still just unsure about all the things that have been mentioned in this thread, such as autism, mercury, MMR, spacing out the shots, etc. For every study I find opposing one, I find one in favor of it.

Angela - posted on 07/09/2010

11

34

1

My first was vaccinated. My second was not. it was a horrible debate between me and my husband, but in the end, he won. And though i'm scared that my child could develop some of these diseases, i'm also scared of the vaccines. I've done my research and i'm up and down on the issue, but in the end, i think that i'll lean more towards not vaccinating. I've been vaccinated and i'm fine, but like someone else said above, babies die from these vaccines and there are LOTS of children who live with permanent damage. A little boy at my daughter's preschool got the H1N1 flu shot last year and spent a week in the hospital and couldn't return to school for a long time. I loved my kids' pediatrition, but he refused to see them after the decision was made to not vaccinate. I respect his decison seeing as how that is what he was taught and that's his job, but i disagree. I'm not telling anyone to vaccinate or not to vaccinate, i'm just repeating what many have posted, DO YOUR RESEARCH. I know that if you start looking at websites that ARE NOT from or affiliated with the government, you'll read some things that might make you waver. Take it from a skeptic. There are plenty of convincing arguments out there that made me change my mind.

[deleted account]

i know Christian parents who are all for it, and Christian parents who are dead set against it. Both of which gave us bountiful information to read and consider before we made a final decision. There were so many pros and cons for both sides, that we just had to pray. We decided to base our decision on the word and not what others thought.

the way we saw it, God promises healing and protection for all His believers, now, we can certainly apply our faith for our kids and believe theyll never get a disease etc etc...this is true... BUT when your child becomes a man or woman, its not your faith that determines there health, but there own. If your children walk away from God and the teaching they grew up with, they are on there own. If they choose to reject God (of course of which youd take every measure to avoid happening) then they step out of the protection of God. So plan for the future.

We did not want to make a decision based in fear, because fear is the opposite of faith and is actually sin. And the only reason we would not get our children vaccinated, would be because of fear of them getting sick or dying from it! thats no reason to avoid vaccination! The word says that God protects and looks after us and our children. If we pray over our kids before they go in to get the vaccination, then there wont be a problem. apply faith :-)

Doctors, vaccinations, they are a blessing from the Lord... so many times people are crying out "Lord heal me" yet they wont go see the doctor... they wont get a needle... yet God has given doctors giftings to help the sick. God uses doctors. If that is where your faith is at, God will use it.

We find it easy to believe for our child to not catch a flu. Our faith is big enough for that, so the flu vaccine we didnt worry about, we applyed the word and watch our kid be the only one her age NOT get sick this winter :-) as far as diseases go, thats a bit different, were still working on our faith in that one, so were applying our faith to the vaccines God has allowed people to discover. that itll be safe an effective.

Our little one has had no problems with her vaccines.

youll know whats right in your Spirit.
We did.

Anne - posted on 07/07/2010

2,755

82

625

Our daughters are 26 and 22 years old. The only shot they did not get was the one for chicken pox. THankfully both had mild enough cases that they were not terribly sick but enough of the virus that they only got the decease once. When they went to college even though they were adults I encouraged them to get the shot to guard against Bacterial Meningitis . They were very willing because they had had a friend die from it in high school.



They did not have any reactions.

Ellen - posted on 07/06/2010

4

27

0

I've had seven children age range now from 30 to 14 and they all have had all their vaccinations. I am for vaccinations. My children never had any adverse reactions other than some temporary soreness at injection site or a low grade fever. Of course I acknowledged the Lord in all this and I believe he directed my path. One thing I always did with all my children was to distract them or have them look away when shot time came. I immediately and firmly rubbed injection sites to help the medicine distribute more evenly and gave them a Tylenol tablet or liquid according to age when we got home. Hope this helps!

Polly - posted on 07/06/2010

153

11

22

I haven't read through all the responses, so I'll try to be short.
I have a friend who's baby died from seizures right after getting the Dtap vaccination. I have heard other mothers swear their children also reacted adversely. I know this is rare, but I do question the metals and other toxic ingredients. Another thing is that they give the exact same dosage when they vaccinate adults as they do babies. The metallic intake is hundreds of times higher than recommended for such small bodies.

That said, I am not anti-vaccination. We have not vaccinated our baby yet. We are waiting until she is 2 years old. I just don't feel comfortable putting her body through that, and putting all those chemicals and viruses in her little newborn body. I do believe in herd vaccinations for diseases that are an actual threat for our society, but I question the need for many of them. We will not be vaccinating for chicken pox unless our children have not contracted it on their own by the time they are 10 or so.

Latisha - posted on 07/06/2010

3

22

0

My daughter is a healthy 14 year old now. She had her first round of shots against my wishes at birth but has had none since. I believe the human body with proper nutrition can survive just fine without vaccinations. In countries where I've seen so much sickness, I've also seen abject poverty resulting in poor nutrition. I think all these vaccines should be abolished and money spent on getting back to proper nutrition.

Tomesa - posted on 05/17/2010

31

13

0

i vaccinate all of my children, mainly because it is mandatory in the school systems here unless you have an exemption (and "religion" is hardly an exemption anymore). i am fully vaccinated as well, and all of my children will be. i think the benefits far outweigh the risks. however, my children do not get vaccinated on time. they are usually 6-12 months behind, and that's how i like it. this baby will not get any shots until after he's 4 months old.

and it's funny, but the hospitals in nj do NOT allow infants to be released after birth without their first hepatitis vaccination. that is standard and many people don't even know it. so alot of parents run around screaming about the ills of their children being vaccinated but have no clue that they already have been by 24 hours old.

with that being said, i do not give them any shots except for their vaccinations. they dont get flu shots or whatever new "epidemic" is running around. vaccinations are enough imo.

Cheryl - posted on 05/17/2010

738

36

176

Actually Amanda, it's very interesting that you mentioned Japan. They did decide to try something different and postponed vaccines until children were 2 years olf. they no longer had ANY infant SIDS cases- NONE.... but guess what- they had a sudden increase of SIDS in 2 and 3 year olds!!!! I don't need to wait for the government study on that one- that's a clear link to me!!!

This was some of the info mentioned on the DVD from 911vaccine.org that I mentioned before. I still encourage you to buy a copy for yourself. Even if you still choose to vaccinate, you will be doing so under properly informed consent.



Also in the DVD- do you know where tetnus comes from? It's not rusty nails like we were all taught!!

Jennifer - posted on 05/17/2010

11

26

0

This reply is to Cheryl Powell's post. I agree 100% with her. Our first son was vaccinated up to 18 mo. and our daughter was not vaccinated at all. I am pregnant now and we will not vaccinate this baby either. For us, the potential risks were not worth it.

[deleted account]

I am encouraged by this conversation and the number of people who are doing research into vaccinations. My oldest daughter had most of her shots as a baby, but none since the 6 months batch, and my second daughter hasn't had any. I am not really sure where I stand, but I am definite favour of waiting till at least two, I have heard that in Japan they are waiting for vaccinations till age two and that SIDS is no longer an issue. I am thankful for the different resources listed above as I continue to do my research and seek answers to my question. I am so thankful we don't have to face these mountains alone and that we can trust the Lord in ALL.

Hannah - posted on 05/03/2010

37

10

0

Dear Sue,
This is not the first year that whooping cough has come back, My husband as a child got whooping cough from his cousin's who got whooping cough AFTER being vaccinated for it. My husbands brother almost died from it. Also I got it as a child.

Florence - posted on 05/02/2010

16

57

0

Dear Renee,
My daughter had all of her childhood shots and had no negative responses. She is 34, now, and perfectly healthy.
Florence from Illinois

Cheryl - posted on 05/02/2010

738

36

176

Jessica- many of the diseases that vaccines prevent are not life threatening as your doctor would have you believe. Yes, some are terrible and will change your life... but so will your child suffering from SIDS, shaken baby syndrome or autism. You must make the decision and weigh the information and risks. The problem is most doctors don't give adequate information to make an informed consent decision.

Most school districts have a waivor to sign and your child can still attend public school.

And to each of you moms who responded and said your kids are fine. That's great- MOST kids will be fine from the vaccines. I was fine, my sister was fine... that's NOT the point. The point is to evaluate the risks verses the benefits and make the decision you and your husband feel is best for your family. Too many moms are NOT told adequately of the risks to make informed consent. It's like that accross the board with MANY doctor's visits and things we are told we need to do or have done, or a drug we need to be taking. BOLONEGNA!!!!!!!
Again, I highly recommend the DVD offered at vaccine911.org I even bought a copy for our family doctor. She has immunized her two boys and stands by her choice BUT she said she did learn somethings that she thought was worth knowing. She now doesn't just give out the CDC handouts at her office, she has found a better resource for info sheets to give to parents to help inform them about immunizations.

And Sara, that is a big risk, just because your 2 month old seems healthy so far, are you going to pump him or her full of a higher than needed dose of immunoglobins, perservatives, and other such gunk into her pure little body???? NOW you know how so many parents can link their children's problems to the immunizations. The child was fine before, and wasn't afterwards!! I don't care if they ever do a definiate study linking them together or not. We are not willing to take that risk with our chilldren's health. It is our responsibilty, given by God, as earthly custodians to these blessings that God has given us.

And each parent also much make this serious decision and live with whatever any consequences happen. I'd rather deal with mumps for a few weeks than SIDS or autism for the rest of my, AND THEIR, lives.

Sara - posted on 05/01/2010

50

12

4

Talk to you pediatrician. Tell them you want to know everything. If your doctor won't talk with you, find a new doctor. Only you can do what is right for your baby. Don't let anyone (dr or not) Pressure you into something you don't want to do. I have two (3 yrs and 11 mos) they are both on the regular vaccination schedule and are doing fine. I am no doctor, but I believe that if your child is healthy to start with, chances are the vaccinations won't cause any huge problems. Research all sides, and pray on it, God will tell you what you should do for your baby.

Jeni - posted on 05/01/2010

11

31

0

Keep in mind, even if you do vaccinate, your child is not 100% protected from that disease. My middle child received every vaccine on schedule including the pneumoccocal vaccine and almost died of this strain of pneumonia at age 3. She suffered from pertussis (part of the DTaP vaccine) this year at age 7, not even close to the AAP recommendation of the middle school booster. My youngest has Autism Spectrum Disorder. He had all of his shots until he was diagnosed at 3 yrs. We have only started vaccinations again now that he is 5, and spread them out. We do not do the flu shots, regular or H1N1. Most contain mercury and mess with children's neurological systems.

Like many others here have commented, do your research, but go with your gut! Not all children will react the same way. Spread out those shots. And if your pediatrician bullies you into following his/her schedule, find a new doctor! This is your baby and if you don't advocate what is best for your child, who will?!

Letitia - posted on 05/01/2010

9

14

1

My children have not had any vaccines. They have not been sick with anything even the flu. I just do not like the idea of sticking my newborn children with vaccines. Medicine is so advanced now that I believe a responsible parent would know if a child needs medical care or not if the child had chicken pox. Do research on the vaccines. They are made with aborted fetal cells which means you are injecting contaminated dna into your precious newborn baby. There is some research being done on long term effects like childhood diabetes which may be caused by or linked to vaccines. I think both parents should do research and then make the decision. Also, you can vaccinate without using the current recommendation schedule. You can do a couple at a time instead of so many at once.

Sue - posted on 05/01/2010

1

24

0

Both of my babies had their shots without any side effects, just the normal ones. I personally feel that the benefits far out way the very small chance that your baby could be one who had a negative reaction. This past year was the first year that whooping cough came back on the scene, and I believe it is because some parents refused inoculations.

[deleted account]

My son had all his vaccinations and was formula fed and was sick all the time and is still to this day (he is 4), and had bad eczema. My daughter is 14 months and has not been immunized or formula fed. She has been very healthy from day 1 even with people in our household getting very ill around her and has even been developmentally ahead of most babies her age. Additionally, my son still got the measles along with several kids in his daycare despite being immunized and it was exactly as the disease charts describe it, not less severe. Additionally, I agree that doing research and making sure you hear the arguments against vaccines and weighing out the risks is the best course. I am still considering vaccinating my daughter when she is older and is around more people, but I was afraid that as an infant, 36 vaccines may be bad for her development after doing my research. I have read that even though the virus is dead, it still has some effect on the brain, which may be why so many researchers have come to a possible link with autism. I mean, you are still pumping a virus into your child, which is how the immunization builds up, but common sense would say it is not good to have 36 shots of viruses by age 1. Additionally, on the subject of formula, some manufacturers put traces of deadly chemicals such as Melamine in formula and say it is a safe amount for an infant. Just use your own sense and good judgment and weigh out the pros and cons.

Hannah - posted on 04/30/2010

37

10

0

If you look at charts on diseases that would wipe out hundreds of peolpe back in the 1800's ect. All of the diseases got WORSE after vaccinations such as measles, what STOPPED the spread of measles was peolpe sanitizing. Like Doctors would deal with a sick patient then go delivery a baby without washing his hands. When peolpe started being cleaner that is what stopped the spread of deadly diseases but everyone is lead to believe it was the vaccinations.
A very good movie every parent should watch before making a choice is vaccine nation. http://www.vaccinenation.net
Educate youself.

[deleted account]

My first one was fully vaccinated to three years. My second one is done up to six month. My third one is without any vaccinations. (They are now 7, 6, and 4.) My first gets the most colds, and takes the longest to get over them. My third one, if we even notice that he is sick, usually has a runny nose for a few days and then he's done. Also, my first one is the only child that had excema. (With the cleansing and careful diet we have been following since he was three, that seems to have cleared up.)

No one can make this decision for you, but I strongly recommend you read the following article to help you have as much information as possible: http://www.westonaprice.org/Vaccinations...
Also, you may find the ingredients that they DON'T tell you about in vaccines of interest:
http://www.informedchoice.info/cocktail....
And, for how vaccination may be linked to autism, check this out:
http://www.naturalnews.com/011764.html

Many of the "negative reactions" from vaccines happen long enough after the shot that the FDA can point their finger at other things. SIDS is most likely caused by vaccination (most cases of SIDS occur within one month of a vaccine shot being given.) Other things, like shingles as a result of the chicken pox vaccine, will not show up until your "child" is in their 50s.

Before you shoot, get as much information as you can. God gave us wonderful immune systems, and if we support it with the tools he intended us to use (proper traditional diet, and the benefit of herbs and essential oils), it will do a much better job of protecting us from disease than any vaccine designed to make a pharmaceutical company a LOT of money.

May God grant you His wisdom as you pray about this decision.

Talena

Kirsten - posted on 04/30/2010

1

11

0

This has been such a difficult decision to make... our first got fully vaccinated (just assumed the Doctors knew everything!), our second got all except the MMR (already felt uncomfortable about it, but not brave enough to not vaccinate), and our third who is only 2 months old, got the hospital vaccinations (even though I felt so uncomfortable about it), but that's the last of it. I've done lots of reading about the pros and cons, and for me I feel I'd rather risk keeping my child healthy and building his immune system to fight any possible bugs, than injecting so much stuff into him that attacks his immune system at such an early age. I believe that vaccinations cause other serious illnesses, like leukemia. The first cases of leukemia in children under 2 only occurred after vaccinations were administered. I have a friend who felt very strongly that she shouldn't vaccinate her first boy, but ended up doing the vaccinations. Her boy died at the age of 3 of leukemia.
This is a very personal choice, my best advice is... go with your peace. If you have absolute peace to vaccinate, then do it. But if you have no peace, and it really bothers you, I believe it's possibly not meant for your children.

La'Tonya - posted on 04/29/2010

14

55

0

I got both of my boys vacinated and neither of them have ever had any negative reactions to any of them.

Cristi - posted on 04/29/2010

1

6

0

Unfortunetly you are going to get varying opinions. The best thing you can do is research yourself. I would also recommend Dr. Sears book. I also recommend researching what is in Vaccinations. there are also a few books written by Jenny McCarthy, and while she is not a dr. she has been through some things with her Autistic son, as well as spoken to numerous other families of vaccine injured children. Our family doesn't vaccinate because we feel the risks outweigh the benefits. all 3 of my children have only been sick once each in their lives (2 yr old and twin 8 month olds)

someone mentioned the article in Parenting, which I also read. It disturbed me a little, because while it does say there are very little risk to vaccinations, it also mentions that there are a small number of children that could have critical, even fatal outcomes from them. To me that says, well just take a chance, if your kids is one of the negatively affected, oh well..they aren't in the majority.

These are just my personal opinions, I have done exhaustive research before I decided against vaccines. If my family were to go out of the country we would definetly consider getting the appropriate vaccinations, when we feel our kids immune systems are ready for that.

if you are weary of vaccines but also weary of not giving them, there is also the choice of delaying them, or spreading them out further apart.

Good luck in your quest, it is always the most difficult decision when there is conflicting evidence at every turn. you have to do what you feel like is the best choice for your family!

Becky - posted on 04/28/2010

1

0

0

There have been negative opinions on vaccinations forever... there is now a major increase in whooping cough & measles since parents have been allowed to not vaccinate their children. My children were not allowed to be in public school unless I could prove they had been vaccinated (1985/1989). I was in a generation when vaccinations were still a baby science (1953) & we all got the TB shot. Nobody I know nor have I ever heard of someone losing a loved one because of a vaccination. Each of us needs to do what we feel is best for our children but we must also remember that we might be putting another child in danger if we choose not to vaccinate.

Sara - posted on 04/28/2010

16

15

0

Please please do all your research on this topic! It is much more dangerous for a child to NOT be vaccinated! There were several excellent studies done on the link between vaccinations and autism in the last year or two -- the link is negligable, and no association has been proven. If you are in doubt, then visit a children's ward in the hospital, because that's where you'll be spending lots of time if your precious child contracts polio, diptheria, or tetanus.

Krista - posted on 04/28/2010

2

6

0

I waited until my children turned 2 before they had any vaccines. My doctor believes that giving vaccinations before age 2 can put certian children at risk for autism. If you choose not to vaccinate or to delay vaccinations, it is important that you carry a card with your child's insurance card that states that your child is not vaccinated. This is so, in the case of an emergency, the doctors know what to do. For instance, if your child cuts himself on a piece of rusty metal but is not vaccinated for tetnus, it is important that the doctors know that. I would not forgo vaccinations all together, but wait until age 2 to begin.

Tanya - posted on 04/28/2010

6

0

0

I absolutely game my baby all of his shots even the 12 month chicken pox shot. After doing lots of research from pediatricians and real medical professionals, not websites, it is still much safer to have your child vaccinated than not. He didn't have any side effects or reactions, didn't even cry or have a fever after. I gave him Tylenol 1/2 before the shot and every 4-6 hours after for the first 24 hours and he had no problems at all. Hope that helps some!

Tanya

Amy - posted on 04/28/2010

31

19

2

My kids have had all their shots and have had no negative reactions. That is the regular shots. My oldest had a bad reaction with the regular flu shot at 18 months it hurt her to walk and she had a lot of pain. I decided then to not get it anymore, my youngest has never had a flu shot and no one in our family will ever get the swine shot. My girls take vitamins and are healthy. The vaccines for dieases and such are required to enter school, at least here, the flu shot is not required and that is a personal choice.

Cheryl - posted on 04/27/2010

1

23

0

There is no need for babies (whose immune systems are not yet fully developed) to be injected with chemicals, just to put our minds at ease about them not coming down with something. Most things are not life threatening though they may take a little longer for it go away. My first child was not vaccinated at all and I am pregnant with my second and she will not be either. My son is perfectly healthy. I would strongly recommend you find out more information about this. I would not take the chance of them getting autism from any shots. I know of a wonderful nutritional food science product called Reliv that I and my child take. It does wonders for your health and getting rid of allergies and a lot of other things. If you would like to know more, please let me know.

Justice - posted on 04/27/2010

11

15

0

I have been led to believe that in GA a child cannot attend school without vaccinations, where do you live if you dont mind me asking.

Jessica - posted on 04/27/2010

345

39

51

I have 5 children and none of them are vaccinated. We choose to treat our children as naturally as possible and vaccines full of nasty preservatives don't exactly fit with that. My children also attend public schools and government funded daycare with no problem.

Justice - posted on 04/27/2010

11

15

0

I maybe a little late with my respones but it just so happens that my four year old just got her third set two weeks ago and im not sure she would have gotten them now but she has to in order to start school other wise she quite probably would not be getting caught up!!! The whole autism thing really scared me and when I told that to my doc she said she is past the age to worry about that so now we or she is geting caught up!

Cherrill - posted on 04/27/2010

9

30

0

hi i have 3 children and all are vaxinated, i was like you unsure of the way to go, so i did what i thought was right. its relly all you can do. having said that, my second child had a very bad reaction to her first vax and went into anaphylactic shock. as i had just left the Drs and was just across the street i rushed her back over there where they gave her another jab and sent us home with out telling me what it was. the only thing i was told was that we should wait until she turned 1 before continuing her vax shots. it wasnt until she turned 11 and was finaly sent to a specialist thet we found out that she was born with a extremely high imunoglobulan count, wich means she is allergic to the enviroment and should have been put in a bubble at birth. we thank God every day that he was watching over her and keeping her safe. she is now 14 and apart from having bad hayfever, and not being able to eat shellfish leads a very normal life. my advice if you do go through with it is to stay at the Drs clinic for at least half an hour after the shots just to be sure. this is becoming common practice in most clinics in australia, but some Drs will still try to rush you out. my hope i writing this was not to scare you but to make you aware that sometimes these things do happen, so you can make the best choice for you and you family. and yes i did have my 3rd child immunised and she had no reactions at all. may God be with you as you make your choice.

Jessica - posted on 04/27/2010

32

21

0

The chicken pox vaccine is unnecessary. In fact, it is known to increase the likelihood of developing shingles later on in life. The flu shot is largely unnecessary, so don't worry about it. This is the truth.



Other than that, maybe you shouldn't vaccinate your child against anything. After all, we have such great doctors that he won't have to worry about recovery. And tetanus only happens to the severely accident-prone, no? Keep your kid away from puncture wounds and he'll do just fine. And, whatever you do, DO NOT let your child receive anti-venom injections, as some people have life-threatening reactions to horse serum. With faith and healthy living, all things can be overcome. Even Polio and the Coral Snake.

Bonnie - posted on 04/27/2010

8

20

0

I would definitely recommend Dr Sears Vaccine Book!!!!! You can also go to 909shot.com for more unbiased info. I personally do not vax my son at all. I feel I have done my research (from unbiased sources mostly) and have found that the risk of a vaccine related injury not to mention suppressing his own bodies immune developement etc. far outweighs the possibility of contracting the disease itself. I also feel that some of these diseases like chicken pox are vital to the developing immune system. Good luck on your quest for information! Just do your research adn really do what yoru heart is telling you is the best choice for your family. You cna always to partial vaxing, delayed vaxing etc. and you also might want to know that it is as simple as requesting an exemption form and having it notarized when thye start school. Please feel free to contact me personally if you want any further support in YOUR decision.

Paris - posted on 04/26/2010

5

5

0

true, CDC is also linked from NVIC it gives both sides of the information needed to make a informative decision either way. Thimerisol is the mercury drug still in vaccines today, our daughter didn't have it in MMR. She never had MMR. Thimerisol is a preservative, the govt I don't think is the one that puts it in the vaccines, but the manufacturers of the vaccines do. It hasn't been called mercury for quite some time. It lists all of the ingredients on the web site and I believe it is actually CDC that gives the ingredients for the vaccines. They also have a number that you can call for more information for CDC or NVIC. It is a choice, to my knowledge we aren't a communist country.

Paris - posted on 04/26/2010

5

5

0

It is best to decide whether or not it is right for your family. I know from personal experience firsthand and was a nurse for 11 years and never expected my child to be that .0005% of a child that would have a life critical reaction. My daughter never had the vaccine with the mercury, or the Thimerisol. NVIC is a great resource that educates on both sides and it is always a good idea to talk with your pediatrician. Most of the diseases are not deadly, that they immunize for today and we were advised if we were to have to on our daughter that DID have a life threatening reaction that it should Diptheria. We are pushing for safer vaccines, and for companies to come clean on the simple fact that there are reactions. They do happen. Most aren't documented because the Doctors, nurses, clinics will not file the report and most parents don't know where to go from there. If there is a parent who feels their child has had a reaction they should go to their local Health Department clinic and file a report with the epidemiologist. The stories in my opinion aren't conflicting, you have either had a reaction or your haven't and it depends on the severity. We were told our daughter would never live. SHe is alive, has severe speech issues, is unable to walk on her own and has multiple therapy session per week, as well as rare types of seizures. Are we dwelling on it, no that would not be productive in getting her well. Is it difficult to find case studies and treatment, yes, because the cases are not reported. We have spoken to families who have tried to report the cases and been unsuccessful in doing so.

Katy - posted on 04/26/2010

116

25

4

I have had heard the different stories about vacinations, including that there is mercury in them, put there by the government. (Sounds like paranoia to me.) I know I got all my vaccinations, and my son has/will continue to also. The effect of the shot is a lot easier on the child than the effect of the disease. Ultimately, I think you have to decide for yourself which of the conflicting stories you believe, and act on it.

Paris - posted on 04/26/2010

5

5

0

you can also request vaccines to be spaced apart appropriately as well as preservative free. Most clinics will honor that request. We are not in a position to ever vaccinate our daughter again due to the circumstances of her vaccine injury.

Paris - posted on 04/26/2010

5

5

0

Both of my children had their immunizations. Our oldest daughter seemed to have no issues but our youngest had a major vaccine injury that resulted. We are not anti-vaccine but would say to do your research and feel confident before making a choice. Please visit the nvic.org website for more information on vaccines, schedules and possible reactions.

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms