What is your opinion on giving kids Easter Baskets?

Jennifer - posted on 02/22/2009 ( 29 moms have responded )

6

1

0

I know that even asking the question is hypocritical in light of the fact that I have a Christmas tree each year but what are your thoughts?



Everytime I see a stuffed bunny around this time, it always comes to my mind that it is a fertility symbol. How can I explain to my kids that the "Easter Bunny" comes and brings a basket. Even if I tell them it is from me, how do I explain that we are doing this to celebrate Jesus' resurrection? Am I thinking this over too much?



My husband is a pastor and we usually do some sort of Easter Egg hunt each year and I always feel as though I am not truly being a "light."



What is your opinion? My son is 4 and my daughter is 2; and are becoming more aware.



Thanks for your help.

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Sylvia - posted on 03/13/2013

11

0

0

I understand where you are coming from. My husband is a pastor also.

With the first child I did the rabbit thing for a couple of years. Then he said mom, I don't think a rabbit can really do this. We told him it was his father and the story of Easter. He already understood the Easter Story. He replied, God says we shall not lie, it is one of his commandments. Well, that statement blew me away. I didn't know what to say. He was more concern about us not telling the truth than the Easter Bunny.

Now we hide eggs and they know it is us. At church this year we are hiding eggs with scripture and candy, for example jelly beans - with the jelly bean poem
chocolate coins - when they bid on Jesus' clothes
bunnies - represent new life
rock candies - the stone at the tomb
The list goes on. This way the children can have an Easter egg hunt and learn about the real meaning of Easter.

Laura - posted on 08/03/2009

14

29

0

There was a book I read for children explaining the Easter Bunny and Christ. It goes something like this. A small bunny was in the garden by the tomb of Christ, he heard the rumble of the stone being rolled away and was scared. He saw Christ with the angels and realized that he had seen something very wonderful and special and wanted people to know about this so he looked for flowers, treats, eggs everything he could find and left if at the doors of peoples homes so they would realize something wonderful had happened. Now we have Easter Baskets because the bunny was telling the Good News to all. This is of course condensed version, it was a very good book and really helped with the whole Easter basket thing. I don't know if you can find the book for your children but you can look. Search for books including the real Easter Bunny or the True Story of the Easter Bunny you might find it. I found this book very helpful. Hope this helps :)

[deleted account]

We used reserrection eggs at my Sunday School which is fun, but also gives meaning.  My family loved making a special treat of "Resurrection Rolls". I don't have the specific recipe, but it's like a refrigerator biscuit flattened out and wrapped around a marshmallow. Then you roll it in melted butter and a cinnamon sugar mixture before baking. It's a sweet hollow roll because the marshmallow melts leaving an empty tomb.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

29 Comments

View replies by

Jennifer - posted on 03/28/2013

1

0

0

My husband and I have had a similar discussion this week. (Funny though, I'm the one that is in ministry;) My husband wants to change up the way we have been doing things.
I wanted to continue the traditions from when I was a kid. I grew up in a very God fearing Christian home, as my Mom and my Grandma did before me, and we did and egg hunt and had Easter baskets with candy and things that were fun little gifts ( i.e. jump ropes, bubbles, hair stuff, etc....) and we usually got a new Easter outfit. (To look our best on Easter Sunday)
My husband is fine with the egg hunt, but feels they should get just candy (since that is how he grew up.) I'd rather not spend a ton of money on candy and actually buy something worth our money (that we have little of these days) . He says that it's not Christmas, and its a silly tradition to buy gifts. I say, I'd rather buy useful things than to just buy candy, and later pay the dentist..lol ;) The difficult part is our 12 year old daughter, our 9 year old son and our 3 year old daughter are all worlds apart in this. The older two are from my first marriage, and are used to my family traditions, but our youngest is still too young to know remember. It's hard to change on both our parts. So, we have made a compromise, some candy, and a couple VERY small little gifts. Even though they will be getting a few new things to wear that they need for Easter, it won't go in there baskets. I feel it's silly, if your buying it anyway, why not have fun with it, but that's a big part of marriage, give and take, and finding a middle ground.
Also, there is a great book I found....it's from Focus on the Family...the book is called "Redeeming Halloween" it talks about all the holidays and the controversy and truth behind "traditions", it might be an interesting read;)

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=redeeming%20halloween%20focus%20on%20the%20family&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CDIQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.christianbook.com%2Fredeeming-halloween-kim-wier%2F9781589971554%2Fpd%2F71550&ei=ZClUUdn3NuTXygGQz4DwCg&usg=AFQjCNFp17hVNcV5_04Jr-CUs64c7_nOTQ&bvm=bv.44342787,d.aWc

I hope and pray that you and your Hubby can find peace, and that he will be a strong leader in your home, at the same time love you with the gentleness of Jesus.

Carla - posted on 03/26/2013

591

83

120

You too, hon. I pray your fast brings breakthrough for your family. Sometimes being married is tough ;)

God bless and Happy Easter

Maria - posted on 03/26/2013

2

0

0

Well, our heavenly father has worked in both our hearts. After a day or so of feeling frustrated I realize my husband feels convicted on this subject and maybe I am overreacting.
He in turn told me they can participate at school with egg hunts/parties this week...he just doesn't want our family to do a basket of gifts or bunny decorations. (Change of mind or did I misunderstand, I don't know and I really dont want to rehash it with him...we have a history of poor communication. I plan to start The Daniel Fast after easter to prepare me to address that issue in our marriage.) I grew up with chocolate bunnies so I think I will miss that, but I plan to go ahead and give the girls some things I bought at the Christian book store apart from our Easter day celebration.
Thanks for the reply and prayers. God bless!

Carla - posted on 03/26/2013

591

83

120

I'm sorry, Maria. I don't see how starting a fight is going to show the love of Jesus. Making a stand on a particular issue is a good thing, however, we are supposed to be wise as serpents and gentle and harmless as doves. Turning this around and being biting serpents takes away the love Jesus wants us to show the world. How are we going to show the world we're different if it isn't with Love? Paul said 'they will know you by your fruits'. I think hubby needs to rethink this--do we want fighting to be a fruit we show?

Father, Maria's heart is hurting and we ask for Supernatural wisdom for her and an accepting heart for her husband. I think he's trying to do a good thing, but doing it with anger isn't the way to do it. We ask for knowledge for him, to understand that if he thinks he should do or don't do something, it should all be done in love, as servants of Jesus. There isn't much time until Easter, so we ask that You act quickly, Lord, so their Easter celebration is one of joy and not sorrow for the children and Maria. Amen

God bless, sweetheart

Maria - posted on 03/25/2013

2

0

0

After several years of doing Santa and Easter Bunny mu husband decided we weren't any more. He says Santa and Easter Baskets have nothing to do with Christmas and Easter...end of story. Needless to say I am disappointed. Especially since my children (6 and 4) are active in church/sunday school/choir and know the true meaning of those holidays. I've also always made sure we included Bible verses and gifts from the christian book store in our past celebrations. So this year, no baskets, no egg hunts etc. I asked what he plans to do about their school parties and egg hunts (public school and christian daycare) and he said I am trying to start a fight. Just had to get that off my chest.

Sylvia - posted on 03/24/2013

11

0

0

I think it would be hard for a 4 year old and 2 year old to try to figure out how does the bunny get the basket from you to give to them. Perhaps you might be thinking it over too much. Perhaps include items like books or other items for their age in the basket along with chocolates. That would give you a chance to talk to them about Jesus when they are opening their baskets.

Erica - posted on 07/28/2009

20

10

1

Easter baskets are great as long as you remember what your celebrating, This year we did hunt and dye eggs. But we also learned about the traditions of how the egg and the bunny came to be with Jesus's resurection???? it's actually all connected you can google it. pretty cool stuff. Just an FYI. this year I gave my boys and bag of m&m's and reeces and a new bible.

Leah - posted on 07/24/2009

76

30

1

In our sons basket we always but things that relate to the lord, like a bible or a coloring book that tells the stories of the bible.

If you dont want to break you kids hearts yet, just tell them that the easter bunny gives us baskets to celebrate the jesus. This is how our whole family tie the two in together!

Melanie - posted on 06/19/2009

6

15

1

My girls are 12 and 15. I give them Easter baskets. They know they are from their parents. They also know that it is something we do because it's just fun. We treat the secular parts of of Holidays separately. I also make sure that we attend Good Friday Service as a reminder about what we are celebrating.

Lindsey - posted on 06/13/2009

317

8

17

you could kind of go away from the candy and chocolate bunny feel and go more towards Godly type gifts...like getting them a special outfit or a bible with their name on it...and getting creative about it...it doesnt have to be about the Easter bunny you can make it completely about God by doing something else...im sure you can walk into any Christian store and find something ...like where i live we have a christian light book store that has several different things...jewelery crosses and such like that...bibles obvously that you can get names on and engraved and such, they have outfits, they have things for babies and adults you can even get your younger child into like veggie tales or something ...there is a lot you can do if you get creative



just get away from the chocolate and all the money going in to retailers for selling all the candy and meaningless things..





hope this helps :)

Carrie - posted on 06/06/2009

9

18

0

I agree 100% with Carolee.. great words of advice .. my only additions to that is sort of as she mentioned when we seek Him and focus on what it is really all about I don't think you will think too much on the"easter bunny" Easter is a pagan term anyway... the"world" came up with that so why would we go the "easter" route.. it's passover and when we focus on that and it's meaning and teach that to our children rather than mixed in with pagan terminolgy that is where the confusion comes from. I find it is more us as adults that think our kids are missing out on something if we don't give them the easter baskets.. I believe they are missing out if we don't teach them the truth. It is the most important day and yes "celebrate His life".

Carolee - posted on 05/25/2009

504

98

128

YOU ARE A" LIGHT" ! Having easter baskets or christmas trees does not change that :D It is easier for me to pursue what is wise and not what every other opinion tells me is right or wrong. Adam and Eve got caught up at the tree of good and evil . It was never Gods plan for them to focus on that tree. Many christians are still there today pruning away. God has something better for our lives a bigger purpose . He wants us to pursue wisdom . He knows that the other way only will keep people arguing about what is right and wrong forever . He knows when we pursue wisdom we will have great gain. I say Celebrate His life ! Have fun and talk with your kids about Jesus and the ways of wisdom while you give them gifts on resurrection day :D Carolee

Karen - posted on 05/23/2009

31

19

1

I personally get them baskets that have toys and books in them. We do the egg hunt at church, but we make it clear that Easter is about Jesus dying on the cross & rising from the grave. Honestly, wait until they ASK. They won't be ready to understand until then. All they hear about at school is the Easter Bunny, so they will ask. We've taught our boys that the Easter Bunny brings eggs in celebration of the new life we see in every spring time. We teach them that Santa brings gifts like the 3 wisemen did as a celebration of Jesus' birth (there's a book that emphasizes that, but I can't think of the name of it, I found it at my local library.
As long as they're taught the true reason for the holiday, and it is celebrated in that spirit, then you're teaching them to live in the world, and yet not be of the world.

God Bless

Sara - posted on 03/24/2009

21

7

4

We have Easter baskets, but no egg hunt at home. The kids know the candy is from us (as are Christmas gifts). Well, that applies to my stepkids (15 & 13), my bio kids are 2 1/2 and 6 months, so they don't really have much awareness of Easter yet - except the 2 year old is terrified of people in animal costumes, so no Easter Bunny pics for us!



Oh, and my church has an Easter Egg hunt every year - it's an outreach thing. I haven't been, my kids are too young (I think) and the stepkids are too old.

Lindsey - posted on 03/24/2009

5

24

0

Quoting Michelle:

We have 2 baskets. 1 for eggs we have colored together as a family and the other for Resurrection eggs. I hide those eggs with clues that go with where the eggs will be found. eg. the last egg is empty=the empty tomb. My clue for that was, we check this place for letters everyday but Sunday. Therefore, the mailbox will be empty save for the egg. As long as the child understands the true meaning we have no problem allowing them to also have some fun. Hope this helps, God Bless



Great idea!!! I might have to try this now. Thanks Michelle.

Tiffany - posted on 03/06/2009

8

14

0

my daughter was only one last easter, but i still made sure i put things about jesus' resurection in there. I did a book about jesus that she loves for us to read to her. My mom always did cute little things from the christian bookstore in my easter basket, or she would send me on a hunt for eggs but where an egg would be there would be a christian book, or christian cd of some sort. I had never looked at the easter bunny as a fertility symbol, I will have to look into that more.

Hope this helps

god bless!

Penny - posted on 03/06/2009

5

0

0

Well, I have always taught my children about what the true meaning with Easter really is... But I do get them a basket.. They know that the basket represents the world's verson of Easter, but they have begun to teach their children the True meaning of Easter as well... We enjoy the getting together to die eggs, we buy little candy and mainly toys or clothes or somethign... It is just another chance to enjoy family time, which I feel God wanted us to do anyway...

Nicole - posted on 03/04/2009

36

28

5

We do Easter baskets in our house, but we don't make a big deal about where they come from or what they represent. Easter baskets are from mommy and daddy for fun because it's Easter. BUT we celebrate Easter because of Jesus' resurrection. I don't think its a problem at all to incorperate fun traditions, as long as the focus is on the true meaning.

Becky - posted on 03/03/2009

2

95

0

I love Easter and everything it represents, but it is hard to explain the spiritual meaning of Easter to a child or a non-believer.  But here are some ways you can help bring the commercialized part of Easter into your explanation to your kids.  Eggs represent new life, and we decorate them because we want our love for God to be colorful.  Lily's stands for purity and reminds us of the pure new life we receive through the resurrection of Jesus.  Bunnies represent new growth.  We know when we start to see bunnies, that it's time for spring and the growth of plants and flowers that God blessed us with.  Candy represents the sweet spirit of Salvation.  Our new outfits represent the new life given to us through Jesus' resurrection.  This is how I explain Easter to my kids.  Hope this helps.

Jody - posted on 03/02/2009

4

14

1

We have 2 little ones, and we do give our children easter baskets (though, we debated pre-children whether we would or not). Our oldest is only 2 so we haven't been at this too long. But so far we've done colors and coloring books (it's pretty easy to find religous ones), and a little candy. We do kind of shy away from the easter bunny- but, that is just our family's decision...it has turned out to be a fun time for us even though we leave that part out.



We have a set of the resurrection eggs and they are a neat way to tell little ones the story leading up to the first Easter. We have used them as family devotionals for the week or so before Easter...I think it even comes w/ a small pamphlet w/ a devotional for each egg/item. You can find them online at http://store.familylife.com/detail.asp?i...



Last year we made resurrection cookies which you can google for the recipe. you can make them w/ the kids and most recipes gives you ways to talk about the resurrection as you put in each individual ingredient...for example I think there is a tiny amount of vinegar and you can talk about how they offered that for Him to drink. You turn the stove off when you put them in and leave them overnight & they turn out hollow. but we may try to do the rolls the lady above my post mentioned this year....we are always looking for new traditions or ideas to teach them about Jesus.

[deleted account]

I think that there are great ideas! I didn't grow up in a christian home when I was little but my husband did, so we struggle with how to celebrate holidays with our daughter. Easter is one that I didn't know how I would do. I enjoyed the egg hunt. I love the idea of the Easter Eggs with pieces of the story in there. If you find that website, will you send me the link? I would appreciate it. This helps me out a lot. Thanks!! 

Christa - posted on 02/25/2009

3,876

14

209

I feel that it's a fun holiday for the kids, whatever you want to include is entirely up to you. We do easter baskets with some candy and usually a stuffed animal. We also do an easter egg hunt, but we make it very clear that all that comes second to us going to Easter service and that's what the holiday is really about. The same with Christmas, it's a fun time and you don't want them to feel like they are left out of the fun all the other kids get to have just because they're Christians. You don't want them resenting their religion before they are old enough to really understand it. That's my thoughts. :-)

Sara - posted on 02/24/2009

30

14

2

there are these easter eggs you can get ( online some ere , ill have to find the site) that all have a piece of the easter story in them them, great way to mix the too. Theres also another site ( again ill have to find it...) that tells you the christian meaning behind some of the typicaly celebrated holiday traditions. its really neat, i enjoy turning what i can into a learning experience, for the whole family, it can be a blast. while teaching them the true meaning of the holidays.

Heather - posted on 02/24/2009

4,634

42

1135

I think that it is important for us to make christianity fun for our children. Not telling them that because the world has lost sight of the reason for the season we want nothing to do with it. Easter baskets are great places to leave cross necklaces for girls or wwjd bracelets. Easter books (about Jesus not bunnies) Definently make sure that they know that this is about what Jesus did for us and not bunnies! We don't have any easter decor with bunnies. Eggs are fine, but we try to explain each year that we search for the eggs through the house like we search the Bible for the treasures God has for us there, or something along those lines. Each year my husband reads the story from the Bible before the kids are allowed to look for eggs.



 



I really like Michelle's idea of the resurrection eggs. That's really cool too. I bought a set when my first son was born, but have lost them in one of our moves. I had completely forgotten about them until now.

Michelle - posted on 02/23/2009

295

38

31

We have 2 baskets. 1 for eggs we have colored together as a family and the other for Resurrection eggs. I hide those eggs with clues that go with where the eggs will be found. eg. the last egg is empty=the empty tomb. My clue for that was, we check this place for letters everyday but Sunday. Therefore, the mailbox will be empty save for the egg. As long as the child understands the true meaning we have no problem allowing them to also have some fun. Hope this helps, God Bless

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms