Need opinions for songs for my daughter

Jocelyn - posted on 03/23/2011 ( 22 moms have responded )

5,165

42

274

Alright ladies, I am planning on redoing my daughters room (she's 18 months) I want to cover one wall with some painted lyrics. So far I am thinking either Firework (Katy Perry) or Sweet Child of Mine (GnR) I'm going mainly off of what the lyrics say (not so much the music or the artist)
What do you think? Or do you have a different suggestion? I'm hoping to keep the lyrics on the wall for another 16 years or so lol

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Krista - posted on 03/23/2011

12,562

16

842

I like older, classic, or quirky stuff for things like this:
Isn't She Lovely, by Stevie Wonder.
You Are the Sunshine of my Life, also by Stevie Wonder
My Girl, by the Temptations
Daughter, by Louden Wainwright


Or, to be really different, you could use the same song that I printed in our wedding album.

"It's You I Like" by Mister Rogers (yes, that Mister Rogers)

It's you I like,
It's not the things you wear,
It's not the way you do your hair--
But it's you I like.
The way you are right now,
The way down deep inside you--
Not the things that hide you,
Not your toys--
They're just beside you.

But it's you I like--
Every part of you,
Your skin, your eyes, your feelings
Whether old or new.
I hope that you'll remember
Even when you're feeling blue
That it's you I like,
It's you yourself,
It's you, it's you I like.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

22 Comments

View replies by

Sarah - posted on 03/25/2011

183

49

2

"My little girl" by Tim McGraw??? You'd have to change the 'daddy' to 'mommy' in some of the lyrics...but it works...between Firework and Sweet Child of Mine, well GnR rules that one, hands down! ;) Good luck!

Rosie - posted on 03/24/2011

8,657

30

315

ok, found one! in my daughers eyes, by martina mcbride.

In my daughter's eyes I am a hero
I am strong and wise and I know no fear
But the truth is plain to see
She was sent to rescue me
I see who I wanna be
In my daughter's eyes

In my daughter's eyes everyone is equal
Darkness turns to light and the
world is at peace
This miracle God gave to me gives me
strength when I am weak
I find reason to believe
In my daughter's eyes

And when she wraps her hand
around my finger
Oh it puts a smile in my heart
Everything becomes a little clearer
I realize what life is all about

It's hangin' on when your heart
has had enough
It's giving more when you feel like giving up
I've seen the light
It's in my daugter's eyes

In my daughter's eyes I can see the future
A reflection of who I am and what will be
Though she'll grow and someday leave
Maybe raise a family
When I'm gone I hope you see how happy
she made me
For I'll be there
In my daughter's eyes

Rosie - posted on 03/24/2011

8,657

30

315

i'm gonna go with i like big butts by sir mix alot. it's timeless and she'll enjoy it forever, right?? LMAO!! let me think of something here...

Jocelyn - posted on 03/24/2011

5,165

42

274

Ok, I've altered my idea.
Since I can't decide on a song, I think what I am going to do is take my favorite part from a couple songs and paint each song in a different "font" lol.

Bonnie - posted on 03/24/2011

4,813

22

257

I think the lyrics to 'sweet child of mine' are more suiting than 'firework', but that is just my opinion, which you did ask for opinions:-)

Joanna - posted on 03/23/2011

2,096

19

134

one of my favorite lyrics, which I'm actually getting tattooed soon...

"I want a daughter while I'm still young
I want to hold her hand
and show her some beauty
before this damage is done"

Arcade Fire "the Suburbs"

Jane - posted on 03/23/2011

1,041

5

69

I love your choices but I'll throw another out there cuz it's a classic and I love the song. "What a Wonderful World"

Nikki - posted on 03/23/2011

5,263

41

558

I love sweet child of mine, I am a guns n roses fan but I also love the lyrics. My hubby would be awesome with suggestions he is a walking encyclopaedia for musical lyrics.

Lacye - posted on 03/23/2011

2,011

31

160

Pretty, pretty please, don't you ever ever feel like you are less than, less than perfect.
Pretty Pretty please, don't you ever ever feel like you are nothing you are perfect to me.
Pink's song Fucking Perfect (the clean version)

Esther - posted on 03/23/2011

3,513

32

144

Another one I thought of was "Put your Records on" by Corinne Bailey Rae.

Esther - posted on 03/23/2011

3,513

32

144

I like the lyrics to "I hope you dance". I don't necessarily love the song (and you may have to work around the faith aspect a little) but overall I would like my daughter to live by those words.

Jocelyn - posted on 03/23/2011

5,165

42

274

Lyrics to Sweet Child O Mine

She's got a smile that it seems to me
Reminds me of childhood memories
Where everything
Was as fresh as the bright blue sky
Now and then when I see her face
She takes me away to that special place
And if I'd stare too long
I'd probably break down and cry


Sweet child o' mine
Sweet love of mine


She's got eyes of the bluest skies
As if they thought of rain
I hate to look into those eyes
And see an ounce of pain
Her hair reminds me of a warm safe place
Where as a child I'd hide
And pray for the thunder
And the rain
To quietly pass me by


Sweet child o' mine
Sweet love of mine


Where do we go
Where do we go now
Where do we go
Sweet child o' mine

Jocelyn - posted on 03/23/2011

5,165

42

274

Lyrics to Firework

Do you ever feel like a plastic bag
Drifting throught the wind
Wanting to start again

Do you ever feel, feel so paper thin
Like a house of cards
One blow from caving in

Do you ever feel already buried deep
Six feet under scream
But no one seems to hear a thing

Do you know that there's still a chance for you
Cause there's a spark in you

You just gotta ignite the light
And let it shine
Just own the night
Like the Fourth of July

Cause baby you're a firework
Come on show 'em what you're worth
Make 'em go "Oh, oh, oh!"
As you shoot across the sky-y-y

Baby you're a firework
Come on let your colors burst
Make 'em go "Oh, oh, oh!"
You're gunna leave 'em fallin' down-own-own

You don't have to feel like a waste of space
You're original, cannot be replaced
If you only knew what the future holds
After a hurricane comes a rainbow

Maybe you're reason why all the doors are closed
So you could open one that leads you to the perfect road

Like a lightning bolt, your heart will blow
And when it's time, you'll know

You just gotta ignite the light
And let it shine
Just own the night
Like the Fourth of July

Cause baby you're a firework
Come on show 'em what you're worth
Make 'em go "Oh, oh, oh!"
As you shoot across the sky-y-y

Baby you're a firework
Come on let your colors burst
Make 'em go "Oh, oh, oh!"
You're gonna leave 'em all in awe-awe-awe"


Boom, boom, boom
Even brighter than the moon, moon, moon
It's always been inside of you, you, you
And now it's time to let it through

Cause baby you're a firework
Come on show 'em what your worth
Make 'em go "Oh, oh, oh!"
As you shoot across the sky-y-y

Baby you're a firework
Come on slet your colors burst
Make 'em go "Oh, oh, oh!"
You're gonna leave 'em all in awe-awe-awe

Boom, boom, boom
Even brighter than the moon, moon, moon
Boom, boom, boom
Even brighter than the moon, moon, moon

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms