what gives people the right to have an opinion on...................................

Sarah - posted on 03/31/2012 ( 68 moms have responded )

67

0

8

abortions from rape if they have never been raped in their life. im so sick of it. people spout out about its gods job to take a child away etc, well isnt it gods job to protect people. i was raped by a gang of 5 men and i had a termination, im not a bad person, i made the right choice for me and my baby. yes there is adoption but unless these people have been raped and would then have to carry a child, feel it moving kicking etc knowing it is the result of a horrific experience, its never going to be easy, thebn you have the guilt of that child growing up wondering why its parents never wanted it.

abortions do also cause guilt but for gods sake, im sick of people having opinions on something they have no idea what they are talking about. i find it upsetting.



sorry about the rant folks but it makes me mad.

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Krista - posted on 03/31/2012

12,562

16

842

People have the right to have opinions on anything, whether those opinions come from experience or not.



That being said, I'm firmly of the belief that they do not have the right to force other people to LIVE those opinions. So if someone thinks abortion is wrong, that's their prerogative. They're welcome to not have one. But my sympathy ends when those people take concrete steps to try to make abortion inaccessible to women who need them.

Isobel - posted on 04/03/2012

9,849

0

282

making abortion illegal does not and has never led to a drop in the abortion rates. The only thing that brings down the abortion rate is education and affordable, available birth control...which, by the way the closing of Planned Parenthoods all over the country severely diminished.



The closing of these clinics will lead to a rise in the abortion rate legal or not. And since more will be illegal, you can up the death toll for the women desperate enough to seek these back alley abortions.

Isobel - posted on 04/03/2012

9,849

0

282

That's convenient...the fact is it's impossible to do without revictimising her. It's none of your business why a woman wants or needs an abortion. If my friend "needs" one because she wants to leave her abusive, alcoholic husband and won't be able to with three children...that needs to be her choice too.



That's the problem with opinions like that though...they get turned into horrific laws that lead to dead women.

Isobel - posted on 04/03/2012

9,849

0

282

and to prove that what kind of "process" will you put rape victims through to prove that they are victims?

Isobel - posted on 04/03/2012

9,849

0

282

I don't know anybody in real life who regrets their decision. They all put a lot of time and thought into their decision and made the right one for them.



An abortion does solve the problem if it is the right decision.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

68 Comments

View replies by

Ali - posted on 04/14/2012

27

0

1

Sarah~
Im so sorry for what happened to you. I am against abortions but however if i was in your shoes i would deff, probably would have gotten abortion. I am so sorry for what happened to you I hope whomever did this to you rots in hell and has a life of pain and misery. I was molested at the age of 6 i still remember details of everything that happened during that night. It was hard for me to become attached to my boyfriend cause of that and i explained it to him thank god he understood. I hope everything worked out for the best for you.

Barb - posted on 04/11/2012

286

38

9

I agree with you I have never get pregnant from being raped or had an abortion. I would never judge someone for getting an abortion for being raped. I am not pro abortion, but I think that being in raped makes this competely different. If you thought it was the right thing for you that's all that matters.

Stifler's - posted on 04/11/2012

15,141

154

597

My kids go to bed in their own rooms so if we wanted to have sex every night we could. Not that my husband wants to, sigh.

Denise - posted on 04/10/2012

94

0

10

I know this is very irrelevant to the topic but I have to ask this question in response to Jodi Zippity-doo's post.Do you actually have kids who live with you?If so,how old are they?I'm asking because I find it impossible to have a "normal"sex life with kids.I have 2 children (age 2 years and 6 months)Before the kids were born we had sex mostly every night sometimes more than once but the kids put an abrupt stop to that.Now we are down to like twice a week.I'm jealous.LOL.

Sarah - posted on 04/07/2012

67

0

8

hi everyobne thanks for your replys and opinions. well when i was pregnant herre in glasgow when you have a termination they give you two pills to stop the baby getting oxygen then a few days later you get a supoositary tobasically in short give birth to your dead baby, it was an awful experience for me personally and i think when i went through it the hopsital was not supportive at all, they dont tell you the hell it will be forever. i guess nurses have to be hard hearted and cant get involved but it was the matter of a scan and pills no talk about are you sure you dont want to think about it etc.

everyone is entitled to their opinion but i dont like the fact that people have an opinion on something they know nothing about.

i cant have an opinion on marriage as i have never been married or wether someone is a bad driver as i cant drive. thats the point im making.

its all the god talk that bugs me as well, i dont believe in god and if others do then fair enough but i dont go around telling folk not to but some people preach to others and i have opinions on god, but dont voice it to everyone.

Kristin - posted on 04/06/2012

1,645

40

305

You were absolutely right to do what you did for you. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion on anything, but that does not give them the right to pass judgement on anyone else and certainly not a victim. You did what you had to do to heal yourself and take back control of your body and life. Don't ever let anyone convince you otherwise. It is an agonizing decision to make and you do the best you can.



I found it was best to just walk away when people were questioning me following my rape. I would not have called it rape if it wasn't. I can only imagine the pain you survived and have inched away from, my heart goes out to you.

America3437 - posted on 04/05/2012

1,052

12

85

It should be the choice of the parents involved. I just don't think it should be used for birth control.

♫ Shawnn ♪♫♫ - posted on 04/04/2012

9,152

21

2000

Well, the short answer is that EVERYONE has the right to have their own opinion on any subject!



My personal feelings about abortion are that it is unacceptable EXCEPT in the cases of rape, incest, or danger to the mother if the pregnancy is allowed to advance.

April - posted on 04/04/2012

3,420

16

263

Abortion is such a touchy subject. I guess I am somewhere between pro-choice and pro-life. I don't agree with abortion as a form of birth control, so that choice is one I don't support. I do support abortion when the mother and/or baby's life is in danger. Rape, I feel can be a part of that category. Some women who are raped end up committing suicide or end up self-medicating, therefore becoming a danger to herself, her child, and possibly future children. Not all women who are raped are a danger to themselves and others, but I wouldn't object if she wanted an abortion. Quality of life of the mother is important too. While I am extremely uncomfortable with abortion in general, I do try to be open minded. I would never do it even if I was raped. I might not even do it if I was dying, but the baby had a chance of living. That's me, though. I am definitely pro-life for myself.

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/04/2012

3,377

8

66

I had one at 10 weeks, 20 weeks and 30 weeks, with my boy... all depends on whether you are high risk or not, I suppose. With my daughter I only had one at 20 weeks, as you did.



ETA:

Or I should say, I did not get one with my daughter until 20 weeks, since I am not sure how many you had thereafter. Not meaning to make a statement that you only had one at 20 weeks... sorry...

Isobel - posted on 04/04/2012

9,849

0

282

fair enough...I guess disabled is different, cause they can't diagnose usually till after 20 weeks anyway. I didn't even have an ultrasount until then.

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/04/2012

3,377

8

66

Actually Laura, here in Halifax Nova Scotia at the IWK Children's Hospital they will provide an abortion (after 20 weeks) if there is a disability such as DS. To me that is not a disability incompatible with life. These children can still be a very viable living being.



So, I guess it all depends what the definition of "incompatible for life" is for the next person but, for the medical staff at this Hospital, DS is enough.



I know this to be true because I was one, that was in a high risk category for my son having DS. I did the dual blood screening tests for genetic abnormalities during my first and second trimester, it came back high. I was then offered an amniocentesis (which I declined) and it was explained to me that I could abort, if I felt it was best. At this time I was 21 weeks. It would have been at least another week before they would have provided an appt. to abort, putting us at 22 weeks.



So, where it may be true that it may be hard to find a doctor to abort after 18 weeks, for any reason at all. I am not going to say it is impossible, to do so.



I do agree though, if birth control was covered by our Provincial health care, it would definitely decrease the abortions already occurring.

Isobel - posted on 04/04/2012

9,849

0

282

You are correct Meme, there are NO abortion laws in Canada...trying to find a doctor willing to perform one after 18 weeks though isn't very likely unless your life is in danger or the fetus is incompatible with life...our numbers are significantly lower than America's though, and I believe they would be even lower still if birth control were covered by OHIP/whatever you call it in other provinces.

[deleted account]

No, I would not be able to vote to make them legal in the first 12 weeks because I am pro-life. If I had any faith in the governments ability to properly regulate things then I suppose I could vote (assuming it were even an option) to only make abortion legal in the case that continuing the pregnancy would kill the mother, but then.... yeah... not something I trust the government to regulate.



I also know that making abortion illegal would not 'solve' anything cuz desperate women would still find a way to get them done and then THEY could die too.... that's not 'pro-life' (by my definition of pro-life) either cuz then baby AND mom are both dead.



Quite frankly.... I just wish something like abortion didn't even exist and that women that would consider terminating their child's life could have the right help and support that it wouldn't 'need' to ever be an option. Yes.... I'm living in a fantasy world, but w/ as strongly as I feel on this topic... there are NO acceptable answers in the real world. They all suck and that's why I choose not to be involved in any of the decisions being made (by not voting). I just can't do it.

Jodi - posted on 04/04/2012

2,694

52

171

lol, I can't imagine how big of a b**ch I would be on only twice a week! *chuckle* I'm a very sexual person, and obviously, so is my husband. It works for us!

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/04/2012

3,377

8

66

Man Jodi, that's an awesome and very healthy sex life (maybe I am just too old now, I used to go for it all the time, once I hit 35, I got lost, I think). My husband would LOVE to have that (he is lucky to get it twice a week)! LOL You go girl... ;) I think that is great.

Jodi - posted on 04/04/2012

2,694

52

171

Assuming my sex life averages to only 7 times a week (it's more), that's 3000 dollars for the 25 years it will take me to get 51. That's more than what my tubal cost after insurance. It may be worth it for you, but earlier you stated that if you don't want to get pregnant, use contraception, and a back up one if you really don't want to get pregnant. Great that it works for you, but it's an unrealistic idea for the average person in a committed relationship.



I can see your stance on pro-life being about both mother and baby and I agree that's a good way to think about it.

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/04/2012

3,377

8

66

I must disagree, I don't believe it would be pro-choice, since pro-life is also for the mother (in the case of death) and unborn baby (with an illness that would cause it to die once born). So, to me, it is not pro-choice with those stipulations, it is pro-life for the mother's life and babies.



The world wide average age for menopause is 51 (early menopause is average 45 - late is average 55). I will be 51 in 15 years. So, yes, it would cost me $1700 for condoms, if I had sex, once, every night for the next 15 years. For me, only me, that is worth it. Again, early term abortion should be legal (within 1st 12 weeks).



Something really neat:

http://www.calculatorslive.com/Average-A...

Jodi - posted on 04/04/2012

2,694

52

171

MeMe, an early menopause is more than twice your length of time away for me. And my husband and I have sex AT LEAST 5 nights a week, and some of those nights are more than once. TMI I know, but since you're suggesting I fork over x amount for condoms because it's what YOU do, TMI it is.



I'm not asking you to stop speaking up for unborn babies, this is a debate forum, I'm debating your way of thinking because I don't agree with it.



"If it wasn't for rape, I would be fully and completely pro-life for all purposes except death of the mother or severe illness of the baby " This would still be pro-choice MeMe.

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/04/2012

3,377

8

66

If you had sex every single day, it would cost you $10/month. That is $120/year. That is 7 years worth of condoms before it costs the price of an abortion, in the US. So, I suppose if you decided that is not worth it to you, that is up to you, yes. Since I do believe abortion should be available for everyone within the 1st trimester. ;)



I am sorry Jodi. I am just not going to take my voice away for all those unborn babies that deserve a chance, especially once they are 13+ weeks in utero. It is possible to have a voice for both sides. My opinion, in my mind, is the best way to do this without causing havoc on a rape victim. If it wasn't for rape, I would be fully and completely pro-life for all purposes except death of the mother or severe illness of the baby (of which would cause death or a very poor quality of life, once they were in our world).

Jodi - posted on 04/04/2012

2,694

52

171

So basically MeMe, you're okay with someone else having an abortion...as long as it's on YOUR terms.



And again, I've already taken my precautions to NOT get pregnant again, WHY should I put MORE money into it? By my estimates, condoms would cost me MORE to get me through an EARLY menopause than an $850 abortion...so financially, your suggestion would actually sway me in the other direction.

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/04/2012

3,377

8

66

Yes, I agree. I have put a lot of extra thought into my stance over the past few days. I would never want any woman that has been raped to be re-victimized (that is just cruel and unjust), therefore, I must let go of my ill feelings for those that elect to do so, for mundane reasons.



I just believe strongly, that this should be taken care of within the 1st trimester. I can't imagine a rape victim waiting longer than 12 weeks, if they could not go forward with the pregnancy.



Also, maybe that is a part of my problem with this whole topic. When I hear someone say they are Pro-Choice, it immediately makes me believe/feel, they would do it themselves. I am beginning to see, this is not entirely true. However, these babies deserve a voice as well. I just cannot accept them being tortured after 12 weeks, except in very dyer circumstance, even then it breaks my heart (but I know it would most).



Most people are not aborting during mid/late term pregnancy, anyhow, so it should just be illegal (unless for the reasons, I already stated).

Jodi - posted on 04/04/2012

26,486

36

3891

Oh, I am not pro choice for myself either. I've never contemplated an abortion, and I never will. Even when offered the option of an amnio when I had my youngest (because of my age), I chose not to because I knew I could never do it. BUT pro choice isn't about yourself. Pro choice is about the options available to all women.

Jodi - posted on 04/04/2012

26,486

36

3891

"So you are not willing to pay a small price for condoms but, you are willing to take the risk of getting pregnant and pay upwards of $850 or more to get an abortion? That makes absolutely no sense. "



She said she'd had a tubal. Why should she also have to use another form of contraception?



I understand her reasoning. My husband had a vasectomy. Why should we have to have a second method of birth control.



We've all made decisions to go as permanent as you can get. Sure, the occasional one fails. But it isn't particularly common.

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/04/2012

3,377

8

66

Well, for myself, no, unless I was going to die.



However, yes, you can say I am pro-choice for everyone else, within the 1st trimester, only (unless in the case of death for the mother or baby, that should be anytime). This I would vote for, absolutely.

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/04/2012

3,377

8

66

Ah, when it is something that can lead to the death of a mother or a serious disability/illness with the baby, I said that should be granted at anytime. No restriction there, what so ever.



If I was going to die and didn't find out until past my 1st trimester - which is typically when this would occur - I more than likely "would" abort. I have my babies at home that I must consider.



However, there are approx. 110 000 abortions every single year in Canada. I believe many of those were elective. I am a firm believer in owning your responsibilities for your own (consensual) actions and/or mistakes.



However, in order to ensure a rape victim is never re-victimized, I agree that an abortion should be granted for any reason, within the first trimester, only.



I always forget it cost you guys in the US to have these procedures. It would cost me nothing, to have a tubal ligation.



And I'll be damned if I'm going to fork over how much money to buy condoms after forking over a few GRAND for a tubal.



So you are not willing to pay a small price for condoms but, you are willing to take the risk of getting pregnant and pay upwards of $850 or more to get an abortion? That makes absolutely no sense.



Condoms at Costco, in Bayer's Lake NS, are $19.99 for 60.

Jodi - posted on 04/04/2012

2,694

52

171

MeMe, even two sources of birth control is not 100%. And I'll be damned if I'm going to fork over how much money to buy condoms after forking over a few GRAND for a tubal. Also, there are many situations, in which something with the fetus or even potentially fatal problems with the mother are not caught until well after the first trimester.



I'm not a huge fan of late term abortions either, I'm not sure I'd ever have one, I'm not sure I wouldn't either though. But, I would absolutely never tell, or try ot force a law, that inhibited a woman from choosing one. My uterus, is not place for anyone elses morals, only my own., or as some would like to believe, my lack thereof.

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/04/2012

3,377

8

66

Well Teresa, I am also pro-life too (I would not ever get an abortion, unless I was going to die)but as you, I would never want to force anyone to do anything. Therefore, I believe there should be an allowance within the first 12 weeks (1st trimester). This would allow anyone, including a victim of rape, get an abortion without any explanation.



I never told anyone about my experience until a few days ago, here, on COM. So, I know it is not something anyone wants to have to explain, ever. They shouldn't have to either. They should however, be able to take advantage of a law that allows termination within the 1st trimester. Doesn't mean I am for it myself but, I know there are situations it would need to be available. This would mean it would need to be available for all, since I would not want anyone to be revictimized ever.



I do vote, all the time and I would vote yes, to abortion "only" within the 1st trimester.



ETA:

Teresa---

I wouldn't vote to make it illegal except under certain circumstances cuz there's no way I would want to make a woman have to prove she was raped.

So you would vote - if you voted - to make them have to carry the baby or are you saying you would vote, yes, for abortion under any circumstance? I know, I know, you don't vote. So, you probably wish to just not think about it and hope that means the issue will just go away...but we all know it never will.



Why not vote for the 1st trimester only, for all situations? I mean, your 100% prolife but are willing to cover your eyes and pretend abortion doesn't happen? I don't understand.



But, here in Canada (yes Laura, this is one law that is NOT governed per Province, it is legal in ALL of Canada up to 9 months of pregnancy), I have never seen abortion being a part of the canidates arguement. Maybe, I just missed it but it is typically arguements for our services, rather than for personal choices.



http://www.abortionincanada.ca/history/l...



Just to prove the Federal Government in Canada is the only ruler in regards to the abortion law.



Nova Scotia tried to write a law which prevented abortions except at certified hospitals. The provincial act was ruled invalid as an encroachment on criminal law powers that is reserved to the federal government.

[deleted account]

OK.... I would never get an abortion and am 100% pro life. Period. But if I WERE someone that would consider it in the case of rape.... you sure as hell better not make me prove I was raped in order to 'allow' my abortion.



If I voted, yes... I would vote to make abortion illegal (that's one of the reasons I DON'T vote, actually). I wouldn't vote to make it illegal except under certain circumstances cuz there's no way I would want to make a woman have to prove she was raped.



That probably doesn't all make sense, but since I didn't tell a single soul about my rape for over a year.... Yeah, piss off if you want to make me prove it.

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/03/2012

3,377

8

66

But I also furthered my explanation of how I feel.



Where I do not agree with elective abortion from the get go (unless you use the morning after pill, which is not abortion), I can still put myself in the shoes of my opponents. As, I understand there may just be that moment of complete despair. I wouldn't want anyone to be forced to feel that. Even if it is not something I would ever do.



I softly believe, there should be a voice for both sides, within a period of time. There is really no need to electively or in the matter of rape, abort after the first trimester. I cannot see any persons arguements here, thus far, that could not be relieved of the several situations given (in this thread), within the first trimester.



If anything, I most definitely stand firm on my beliefs below.



ETA:

My biggest issue is with late term abortion, really. I can somewhat handle it and live with the thought, if it is within the first trimester. Since miscarriage is very common and it is typically within this time-frame.



After that, I just think it is so wrong. There really is no reason to wait after 12 weeks. Even if it was for an elective reason or rape. Unless it was a severe circumstance, like the mother dying or baby having a servere disability that would affect their quality of life greatly.

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/03/2012

3,377

8

66

Tubal ligation is not 100%..just as using only a condom or only the pill is not 100%.



Well, the only precaution that is 100% is abstinence...well...and a full hysterectomy I guess.



This is not true. There is not one contraceptive out there, including tubal ligation that is above 95-98% full proof. So, if you know there is still a slim chance, use a secondary method. We do. ;) If we still got pregnant, after using a condom and the pill, then that baby tried damn hard to be here. It deserves a chance.



ETA:

Sorry, I meant to say "this IS true" at the opening of my 2nd paragraph...

Jodi - posted on 04/03/2012

2,694

52

171

Meme, my friend had her tubes tied, the good ole slash and burn if you will. She still ended up getting pregnant, and ended up having an abortion. So are you saying women, even married women, should just not ever have sex if they don't want more children? My tubes are tied, and if I got pregnant, it would be about 50/50 of whether or not I had an abortion. I am not ashamed of this, I'm taking measures to ensure I don't get pregnant, but it could still happen. Unless my husband and I never have sex again until after I go through menopause, which wouldn't be healthy for our relationship, then it's an inherent risk with sex, no matter WHAT precations you take.



I do not think that abortions, elective or otherwise should be illegal. You are most certainly entitled to your opinion, whether anyone agrees or not, but I just happen to not agree with that train of thought. "If you don't want a baby, take precautions." Well, the only precaution that is 100% is abstinence...well...and a full hysterectomy I guess. ;)

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/03/2012

3,377

8

66

I wouldn't dream of being in your uterus Laura. Don't ever think I would. ;)



That's right I don't think anyone has the right to end a life that they put there, whether it be accidentally because they decided birth control was not that important or because they changed their mind. Those are some pretty low morals, if you ask me.



ETA:

Birth control is highly advocated these days. There is no excuse to not use it if you are consentually having sex but wish to not get pregnant.



I am married, we do not want another baby right now. We use the pill and a condom. My husband does not like having to use a condom with his WIFE. However, he can either do that or end up possibly having another baby or not getting sex at all.



So, I am still in control of my uterus. I just believe there are some pretty solid steps, that are adovcated in our 1st world countries, to protect from getting pregnant when you are agreeing to have sex.

Isobel - posted on 04/03/2012

9,849

0

282

You said you agreed 100% with Deborah, and she said "I think ELECTIVE abortions should be illegal."



If you think it's wrong, don't do it...but keep your moral opinions out of my uterus, thank you.

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/03/2012

3,377

8

66

No one said make it illegal, I am saying there needs to be some restrictions.



It is not true that they would have to be revictimised. You know, technology is pretty amazing these days. Maybe there is some advancement out there to help with that process without revictimizing anyone. Maybe it has not been designed.



Like I said, I don't have the answers. Just the shitty ass opinion that YOU don't like. Meh. I don't like YOUR opinion. I don't think a baby should be killed just because. There should be a damn good reason, such as the one I already posted. I don't care if you feel it is none of my business, since to be quite honest your right. It isn't. It would be the governments, not mine.



With all the Countries that do restrict elcetive abortions, I have not heard of a huge rise in deaths. Where are you getting your information? Or is it just a belief?



However, I can say, I do not feel passionate enough where I would ever push my beliefs onto anyone. You would never ever see me a part of a rally. I just have a BIG problem with aborting a baby due to mistake, accident or stupidity.



ETA:

My biggest issue is with late term abortion, really. I can somewhat handle it and live with the thought, if it is within the first trimester. Since miscarriage is very common and it is typically within this time-frame.



After that, I just think it is so wrong. There really is no reason to wait after 12 weeks. Even if it was for an elective reason or rape. Unless it was a severe circumstance, like the mother dying or baby having a servere disability that would affect their quality of life greatly.

MeMe - Raises Her Hand (-_-) (Mommy Of A Toddler And Teen) - posted on 04/03/2012

3,377

8

66

I agree with Deborah, 100%. Elective no, should not be allowed. Rape, mother may die, baby may have a severe disability? Absolutely, you get that choice without a question. No one should have to go through what Sarah went through on any level, they should damn well have a choice in how their life plays out, from there on in.



Laura---

Let the government figure it out.... ;) I don't claim I have any answers, just an opinion.

Stifler's - posted on 04/03/2012

15,141

154

597

I don't see why it's anyone's business who has an abortion. Just get on with your own life.

[deleted account]

people have the right to their opinions. that being said i understand why you would feel that way. it must be terrible to go through such a horrible experience and then have people say you are a bad person because you chose what you chose

Deborah - posted on 04/03/2012

256

8

16

You have every right to be mad. and your story is the exact reason why abortion should not be 100% illegal.



I think ELECTIVE abortions should be illegal. IF you willingly engage in sex, that means you need to be willing to accept any consequences that come from it, be it heartbreak, a good time, an STD, a baby, or a mistake.



You were not a willing participant, therefore that gives you a right to make that choice.

[deleted account]

Can't imagine what you must of gone through.As i have always said, you never judge unless you have walked a day in someone else's shoes and i would never want to experience what you have.



I love life and believe we all deserve a chance at life, just like my mother gave me and i got to give life in turn to my own children but there are times were we have to make choices, who knows what we would choose when faced with a horrible situation,sometimes there the hardest choices in the world.You could even shock yourself.I know many who said as well as me, i would never abort but thats crazy as we do not know the future, simple.



I don't judge you or anybody else who had to make a choice like yours.

Mother - posted on 04/03/2012

1,627

79

28

Sarah, NO ONE has the right to comment on any individuals traumatic experience......no matter what that experience was. Sadly, people are cruel. The whole....this happened to me and I'm ok statement is ridiculous. No one deals with events exactly the same. If you haven't walked a mile in another's shoes....they should just STFU. :)

Jakki - posted on 04/03/2012

731

11

26

And Shelley - you quote the "abortion industry's turnover", but you need to say if there is a profit, not just a turnover. They're very different things!

Karla - posted on 04/02/2012

1,555

48

85

Question for Shelly who says:



"Is the Abortion industry feeding people a lie that you can be free of this problem today and it will go away forever.(not true as most women feel guilt and regret for the rest of their lives this is not freedom.) "



Please provide evidence that the "abortion industry" is saying "you can be free of this problem today and it will go away forever."



The problems you list involving the "abortion industry" are actually problems in the medical industry. IMO

Karla - posted on 04/02/2012

1,555

48

85

Sarah,



People can be very callous with their opinions and don't seem to care whether or not they are adding to your pain. The fact is people do have opinions on almost everything and they do have a right to their opinion, but I agree with Krista E, their opinions don't give them the right to force others to live by their standards.



I'm really sorry for what you have gone through, and I hope you are finding peace with your past.



Everyone I know who has had an abortion felt it was their only option at that time. No matter what choice anyone makes they should be able to make the choice safely, and only they live with the responsibilities of that choice. Luckily we still have a society where the law states that the priority is for the safety of the woman, and her right to decide what is best for her. You still have that to support your decision.

[deleted account]

everyone has the right to have an opinion...whether that opinion has any ground in fact or history or not, it's no one's place to say they can't have it. what IS annoying, however, is when someone tries to force their opinion on someone else. that's when it's not right and is extremely rude.

Shelley - posted on 04/01/2012

435

0

34

Is the Abortion industry feeding people a lie that you can be free of this problem today and it will go away forever.(not true as most women feel guilt and regret for the rest of their lives this is not freedom.)

Is there a better solution?

Shelley - posted on 04/01/2012

435

0

34

I am so sorry that this happened to you. I can't imagine dealing with the situation that you were in.

I do not in any way mean to rub salt in your wounds and i do not judge you in any way for the decision you made. i am just so sad that you were even in that situation.



I personally am pro life but i don't hate those or have ill feelings toward anyone that is pro choice or has found themselves in a situation where they feel that they needed to have an abortion.



After some research i found these statistics that do concern me.

In 2008 alone 1.21 million abortions were performed in the USA.

In 2009 alone it was found that the Planned Parenthoods group turned over 363.2 million dollars.

It is suggested that the abortion pill for under 8wks is $300

and a surgical abortion $850

I just hate that the abortion industry is booming and making so much money off people who i believe are in trouble and making the hardest decision of their lives.

~♥Little Miss - posted on 04/01/2012

19,002

9

3003

Sarah, that is an awful thing that you have gone through. I don't even know if there are words to truly describe it, but these other ladies have articulated it well. But as for the question, this is a bit of a catch 22. From someones perspective like yours, you clearly and justly would not want someone judging you without being in your shoes and being pro life. On the other hand, if others totally are pro choice and can fully understand your reasoning, you would be more inclined to be accepted THAT judgment....of it being ok. So, as much as you feel pro life people should not judge until they have walked a mile in your shoes, pro choice people should be treated the same way. We all have opinions, and are free to have them regardless of who likes them.



I am not being insensitive, just stating if you are ok with pro choice's opinions on it, let pro life people have their opinion also. It does not mean you have to listen to it, or tell people what you have endured.

[deleted account]

Sarah, I am sorry this tragic event happened to you and then having to make the decision to terminate. You should be mad, angry, pissed off and every other emotion that goes along with your ordeal. But like others pointed out, everyone has opinions. We don't live in a rainbow utopia where life if grand and everyone agrees on every issue. You will always come across idiots that want to put you down and feel their opinion is high and mighty. Don't ever let them put you down! Those who do not believe in abortion are certainly entitled to their position, as you are with yours. And I am glad to know that we live in a society that an abortion is a legal medical procedure completely independent of religion. All the best to you!

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms