Opinions On Baby Food At Three Months

Tempestt - posted on 05/23/2010 ( 27 moms have responded )

29

16

0

I've noticed that anymore baby food isn't by age it's by developmental stages, well Willow is three and a half months old and is a supported sitter, well she can sit up alone unsupported but anyway I wanted to try thin rice cereal and my breast milk...she didn't like that or peaches. But she did eat sweet peas, she pretty much concepts how to swallow the very thin food. Do you think it is to early? i only tried each one, one time and only a few spoonfuls? Anyone have an opinion? I hate feeling like a bad Mom! Sorry two posts in a row!
-Tempestt and Willow

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Nicola - posted on 05/23/2010

22

36

1

I'm not considering it with Abigail till she's 6 months. I'm exclusively breastfeeding (same with first baby Juliet and only started solids at 6 months). As Christa mentioned there can be an increase in allergies if started too early with solids, and breast milk definitely is more than enough for their nutritional needs and their digestion can't take anything else. Just want the best start for my babies!

Christa - posted on 05/23/2010

3,876

14

209

There's a lot of evidence to support the increase in allergies if you start solids too early. I would recommend waiting until 6 months, especially if she is well fed on breast milk/formula. Plus once you add food constipation can become a big problem, it was for my first. Don't rush her to grow up, she will soon enough. :-)

Charlene - posted on 05/23/2010

5

9

1

A babies digestive system and gut isnt mature enough for any solid foods as young as that but maybe from 4 and a half-5 months then they can get solids. You're best to ask you're health visitor/midwife though! Charlene

Jessica - posted on 06/05/2010

146

40

19

my dr said to wait as long as possiable to introduce them to solid foods. he said doing it to early can lead to childhood obeseity (cant spell lol)

Esther - posted on 05/29/2010

110

78

7

go to starthealthystayhealthy.com/solidsquiz to see if your baby is ready for foods! here are some signs does your baby........
weigh more than twice birth weight ?, sit with help or support? have good head control? still seem hungry after 8 to 10 feedings a day? turn head when full? seem interested in food? move her toungue forward when lips are touched?

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

27 Comments

View replies by

Gemma - posted on 06/27/2010

20

6

2

i started to give my little girl baby rice, porridge and fruit at about 10 weeks as we could not fill her! if your baby seems hungry between feeds and isnt going very long then she may need it early, every baby is different. Mylittle girl is now 4 months and is having breakfast and tea and loves her food! and she is doing just fine. to be honest waitin until 6 months is rubbish. you will know when your baby needs extra on top of their milk.

Shannon - posted on 06/26/2010

17

16

2

i did...i started my son the night before 3 months on applesauce. I oonly gave him fruits though til 4 months so he wouldnt have any tummy issues. Hes doing really well

Sabrina - posted on 06/16/2010

21

33

1

My son has been eating rice cereal since he was 8 weeks old. He's been eating pears and peaches since about 10 weeks. If your baby can move the food to his throat with his tongue, you shouldn't have much to worry about. If formula/milk just isn't cutting it anymore - talk to your PCP and see what they recommend.

Shannon - posted on 06/15/2010

3

17

0

The current pediatricians recommendation is not to introduce anything other that breastmilk or formula before 6 months (sometimes 5 months). Their digestive systems are not mature enough to digest anything more that that and can cause future problems or food intolerences. Talk to your doctor, but I think it's tooooo early.

Kelly - posted on 06/07/2010

58

58

3

As I said you as moms will know...My son is 4 months old, weighs 17lbs 8.5oz, has been sleeping through the night for a long time now, eats 4- 8-9oz bottles a day..if it gets to the point where he wants more I won't hesitate to start feeding cereal..my son is very interested in food as well...watches you eat, opens his mouth etc.. My doc says only rice cereal this early...easier on the tummy i guess? When people always told me "you will know what your baby needs" I never would believe it...but IT IS TRUE I always know...every child is different and hits different milestones at different times so if you think your child is ready..do it....

Thandi - posted on 06/07/2010

6

20

0

I think you are better off giving your child a little bit more time to develop a stronger digestive system before you introduce solids. she will be ok with breastmilk for now. my son just turned 4 months he weighs 11Kg and that only from breast milk, i am even trying to space his feedings by 3 to 4 hours cause he is weighing a lot, he sleeps through the night. clearly they dont need to eat solids at that stage.
Thandi

Kim - posted on 06/06/2010

14

2

1

I agree with the post if he's not hungry don't push it but if your baby is still hungry and not satisfied with just milk then slowly introducing your baby to solids does no harm, I know what the guidelines say and I say "so what" they are only GUIDELINES, ask your parents or if they are still around grandparents and they will probably laugh that we try to stick to these rules whilst ignoring our instincts and our baby!

Whilst saying that there is no point trying your baby just because they are a certain age only if you feel they need or want it x

Tina - posted on 06/06/2010

48

9

9

forgot to add he on 7oz every 3-4 hours, tried stringing it out but he just gets hungry very quickly, i even did 8oz and he still hungry so think baby cereal or rice will satisfy him longer x

Tina - posted on 06/06/2010

48

9

9

im thinking of starting my LO on food! my health visitor is making me feel like the worlds worst mum though. But he has been sleeping through the night since 2 months old and all of a sudden at nearly 4 months he has been waking up hungry! and also keeps watching me eat. Yesterday i went for an indian, had him on my lap, again he was watching me eat it then decided to put his hand in my curry!! fortunately i got to his hand before he did! but he just seems so interested in what im eating! so i tired him on baby cereal this morning and he LOVED it, he cried for more!! i personally think mum knows the baby best and if they look ready and the signs are there then im going to do it! x

Kelly - posted on 06/06/2010

58

58

3

Well I believe that you and you only will know what your baby is ready for. In my opinion however I would not be giving my baby fruit/veg...if anything just a little rice cereal....there tummies are not mature enough for solids yet from a docs opinion anyway. If your child is satisfied on breast milk alone then I wouldn't be pushing solids on her. My son is 4 months and my doctor said if I wanted to I could put him on a little rice cereal, because it helps with not developing allergies apparently...who knows..anyways you need to feed them rice ceral several days in a row they will get use to it, and as for fruit/veg you need to take it easy if you are going to continue only try one at a time, so if she does have any allergies/reactions you will know what food is causing it...Don't feel like a bad mom we all have questions/concerns they don't come with a manual...thats why these forums are great cause you get many different opinions..take care..

Denise - posted on 06/06/2010

11

178

1

Their digestive system is not developed enough until they are a minimum of four months old. It would be better to wait a couple more weeks, but if you really feel like she can handle it, I would call my pediatrician and see if she says to go ahead!

Kim - posted on 06/06/2010

14

2

1

Hi I'm a mother of four, my children are 21yrs, 12yrs, 9yrs and 4mths the advice given to mothers changes from year to year! and yes maybe this is because we know more and maybe we want something to blame child hood obesity and other issues on!

My oldest was put on solids at about 10/11 wks (within the recommendations of the time), he is a healthy weight now and always has been, has no allergies and no eating problems!

My second was started on solids around 13/14 wks also within the recommendations of the time he was a chubby baby, had a few reactions to food (none have stayed with him) and has grown into a healthy active boy (no weight/allergy issues)

My third was given food at about the same age as my second (before the recommended age of the time) and like the others he is not obese or doesn't have any allergies!

My fourth is 17wks and has been having one offering of puree a day for the last 3wks, the amount he eats is very small but he enjoys the experience. If he is not interested then I just try again the next day ( no pressure )

Using common sense here is advisable and I think Tempestt knows this is about the experience rather than replacing breast or bottle. follow the advice from your hv or doc about what purees to try first and YOU ARE NOT A BAD MOTHER!!!!! if you were you wouldn't be worried! x

ps my hv has been the same for all four of my children and the advice has been different every time :)

[deleted account]

My baby girl is gonna be four months on the 4th, is also sitting up supported, and she is only on formula. She has been going through around 2-3 cans of formula per week. I had thought about giving her food, but decided to wait after our pediatrician advised against it. She said that the rice cereal has little to no nutritional value to babies at this point, and actually makes their digestive system work harder than it really needs to at this point.

I've noticed it too about how the baby food isn't by age anymore either. But I would still use your own judgment. I would still go by age. You know your baby though, if you think she's ready, then she's ready.

If still in doubt, ask your pediatrician =o)

Tassia - posted on 05/28/2010

104

9

9

I agree with you Chatlene. Breast milk is just the right thing for a yound baby. There is no need to over feed any child plus their digestive system is not ready for solids at such a yound age. 5-6 months is when they should start eating solids. However, to each his own.

Lauren - posted on 05/25/2010

5

22

0

My daughter Anna HAS to eat baby food at least once a day other wise shes hungry and also has rice in her formula. She eats everything I put in front of her and the entire container. So don't worry bout being a bad mommy. Believe me a lot of moms are trying it two.

Elizabeth - posted on 05/25/2010

102

60

15

My little girl is 4 months on the first of June and has been having apple and potato for about 2 weeks. She wouldn't have a bar of rice cereal. I breastfeed her also, but just wasn't filling her. I have a very old fashioned baby health nurse and she was actually the one who suggested it when she noticed the chewing motion she was making.

Jackquline - posted on 05/25/2010

4

15

0

Emi is 3 and half months to and she is eating baby food too. We fix bananna with her froumla and rice cereal. She is sitting up by her self for a few mins but she is doing great. If you just mix your milk and the cereal if may not have that sweetness they are looking for.

Debbie - posted on 05/25/2010

29

0

1

My daughter was 3 1/2 months when I started her on solids after advice from health visitor she absolutley loves her food we have made our own purees of apple, carrot & swede and both go down a treat we only feed her once a day at lunchtime and only a few spoonfuls and she is much more settled & is still having her milk feeds along side the solids.

Jo-Anne - posted on 05/23/2010

47

26

22

Young Ethan and I are breastfeeding too and I love hearing everyones feedback, it is helpful. For me I think I will try rice cereal when he starts trying to grab for food in my hand until then breast is best ... for us! All babies are different so please don't feel bad for doing anything differently

Tempestt - posted on 05/23/2010

29

16

0

LOL thank you Christa! But don't worry I am not trying to make her grow-up to fast! I am a first time Mom hearing a million different things from million different people and it can be quite confusing. Since I tried solid foods a week or two before I wrote this post I haven't given her any solids. I know my breast milk is enough for her :-)

Tempestt - posted on 05/23/2010

29

16

0

Thank you for the advice! I breastfeed as well, and I know that is what the primarily need for the first year of life.
I have only tried maybe two half spoonfuls of each food, one time a piece and decided before I made this post not to do it, some people I knew said to try it but I don't like it, I am waiting till she is six months. I just wanted some opinons so thank you :-)

Kathy - posted on 05/23/2010

12

48

0

This is a contraversial topic between medical professionals. My doctor told me that my son was ready at only two months old! This threw me for a loop, but he had doubled his birth weight, sit up unsupported for short amounts of time and has good tongue thrust. He is exclusive breast fed, so I know he does not have to have any "baby" food until six months. It is more for taste if you start before that and it should only be a few spoonfuls. Not a whole meal. My son was born on Feb 2 and he had his first spoonfuls of cereal this morning. He did not gag and he actually enjoyed eating it. Be careful with starting with only fruits and veg instead of cereal. Babies can develop a preference for the sugar foods. Also they are just learning taste and it can be overwhelming at first. Try the foods that she didn't like again in a few weeks and you might see that she has changed her mind. Hope this helps!!

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms