Just wanted to know everybody's opinion about Christmas & Santa Claus?

Moonika - posted on 11/20/2009 ( 49 moms have responded )

36

25

0

Do all parents tell their children that Santa Claus brings Christmas presents or do people give presents? Just wondering about other families and traditions. I had Santa when I was small but i dont think i gained anything by it. Some say I take the magic out of my childs life but I dont feel right to lie to her and want her to be happy about her parents working hard to provide her with a happy life and also to appreciate money and family. She will still get nice dinner, Christmas tree and all the decorations and all the presents, just presents come from her family not from some made up character from North Pole...Even tho I am an Ateist I think Christmas is meant to be a religious holiday not a time to show off your financial abilities or get yourself in a hole with debt, so for me Christmas is about Family. What are your opinions on all that?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Crystal Patrick - posted on 12/02/2009

1

6

0

actually my kids do believe in santa so i let them i just tell them what christmas is about and every christmas morning i place a gift beside them.......when they are old enough then explain to them besides they will be in this position one day too.....

[deleted account]

Christmas is about Christ's birth. We make that the focus. BUT, I don't have any problems with the tree, presents, and Santa. It's all extra stuff that comes with the holiday and it's fun.

[deleted account]

We personally are a very conservative Christian family and we do not celebrate Christmas, Easter, Halloween or Valentines Day because we are Christian. All of these come from pagan beliefs and roots. They do not have anything to do with Christianity. It was just given a sugar coating to make some people think it was ok. We do celebrate Thanksgiving as it was a day to thank the Lord from the very beginning. I know many of you will attack me because until I did much prayer and much study I too thought that Christians that did not celebrate these "Christian" holidays were crazy. Here are a couple articles for anyone who wants to study up on it.

http://www.rapidnet.com/~jbeard/bdm/Psyc...

http://www.sovereigngrace.net/should.htm

http://www.goodnewsaboutgod.com/studies/...



There is so much more that I could share. Just email me if you want more.

Lorrie - posted on 11/20/2009

11

24

2

I have always told my children that mommy and daddy are the gift givers, also who the real St. Nicholas was. And how santa claus was invented by coca cola.... because that is the truth.... I am a born again christian so we wake up and have a birthday party for Jesus because we are celebrating his not actual birth but calender birth and each child gets 3 gifts because Jesus was given a gift from the 3 wise men who came to visit him after his birth. We do not buy gifts for anyone else in the family only our children, our families didn't like that at first but got over it. My husband and I have discussed starting next year we would take a small family vacation instead of buying gifts, then we will create good memories because the gifts the will forget.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

49 Comments

View replies by

Kirsten - posted on 12/16/2009

2

8

0

I asked my mother the same question when my son was born. My husband is an atheist who treats Christmas the same way that you do and I am a reform Jew. We agreed even before we got married that we would celebrate both Channukah and Christmas in our home but we didn't really discuss the whole "Santa" issue.

Since I was raised Jewish the only experience I had with Santa was from my non-jewish friends. They would tell me about him and I just left it alone, Santa wasn't coming to my house so who cares? Now that I am older my first response to teaching my son that Santa is magic and brings you presents on Christmas was the same as yours: It's a lie. A lie I'm going to have to confess to once my son is to old to believe in Santa anymore.

So I asked my mother who was raised Christian and converted to Judaism as an adult. She had Santa when she was a kid and explained it to me like this. Believing in Santa was fun while it lasted and by the time she grew out of it she didn't feel lied to, she understood that it was like playing make believe and it was just for fun. And even though Santa wasn't real, she wouldn't have wanted to be the only kid who wasn't getting presents "from Santa".

I think in the long run its a judgement call and there is really only two ways to handle the Santa issue. Either let them believe in Santa and when they are ready they will figure out the truth on their own, or be prepared to sit them down and explain to them that even though they know there is no Santa not every child does and that they shouldn't go around telling the children that do believe in Santa that he isn't real.

I hope this helps you a little. Good luck!

Jane - posted on 12/15/2009

353

7

35

OMG! I'm so glad someone brought this up! People always make me feel bad because I DON'T want my kids to believe in Santa (1 son is 13 so he obviously doesn't believe but I have an 8 month old). I don't like lying to my kids, what's the point? Not that I have anything against people that do tell their kids that Santa does exist as a matter of fact I'm the only person I know that's against telling my kids Santa exists. I'm not going to go into my religion but the whole point of x-mas is to celebrate Jesus' birthday & really has nothing to do w/ Santa anyway. Our x-mas is about being w/ family & friends & just enjoying their company. We usually spend our x-mas @ our cottage & it's kind of a break from the whole world & just being together & that's what I feel x-mas is about. So I guess I feel the same you do.

Elizabeth - posted on 12/15/2009

14

3

0

Wow, that's a lot of passion. In our family (conservative Christian), the TITLE of "Santa Claus" is conferred to the parents on their child's first Christmas - hence, no lie is told. I know the pagan origin of the dates of many of our holidays, however, the whole purpose of Christ's coming was REDEMPTION. We are redeeming the days, and using them to point to Him. Even St. Nicholas (a pre-Catholic bishop) is a way to teach about the gift of Christ. His acts of generosity can NOT be divorced from his faith. To all of the atheists who have posted, please do not celebrate Christmas without Christ. There IS no Christmas without Him! Celebrate Family Day, if that is what it means to you, but please respect my faith. Would you celebrate Ramadan or Hanukkah, and then say it doesn't mean anything about Islam or Judaism? I am glad that this time of year opens up so many opportunities to share our respective beliefs.

Kathleen - posted on 12/15/2009

138

4

21

Quoting Alisha:

"SANTA is NOT a lie. Santa Claus is indeed not only real but is also a historical person. Saint Nicholas, which in latin is rendered Santa Claus, was an archbishop in Asia Minor, modern day Turkey. He was know for his generous give to any who where in need. There where many tales of his generosity. After his death when ever such a deed happened it was said that Nicholas had done it. Such is how the legend and myth of the imaginary Santa Claus was born. He is an idea, a representation of the good will of man. By telling a child santa doesn't exist you tell them that you have no faith in the good will of man. Nor do you teach the lesson of selfless giving. A man who works all year to provide happiness to the world. Yes your child gets to see you give them gifts but the only lesson there, is how to be a parent and make your child happy. The lesson of santa also helps portray the meaning of good will that is found in the bible in a more child friendly message. So the fact that you don't see a direct connection to having had santa in your childhood is unfortunate. It is a subtle lesson but a good one none the less.

As for the post buy the very conservative christian ... You unfortunately do not see the meaning behind the set days of celebration. Yes, these holidays where set on pagan holidays, but that was so that it was easier to convert pagans to Christianity. Also they are still events that happened, so what does it matter what day you celebrate them on? As long as you are rejoicing in the name of the lord, it should not matter what day. If we are to do away with a system for following pagan traditions then we should oust the entire catholic branch for the prayer made to the saints, a direct violation of the ten commandments "NO worship of false idols". It is clear that each of the Saints and Archangels has a direct correlation to a less superior god of Roman and Greek mythology where God represents Zeus. ... But did you also know that our God, the God of the Jews, and the God of the Muslims are all the same! That the only difference is the way we interpret his word. Just and idea, almost all religions are linked. Its in the bible look it up.

I do not mean to start a religious bit so I do apologize. I feel that if anyone is going to use religion as a point of argument that they should be completely learned on the topic so as to be as diplomatic as possible. I do not claim to be completely learned on the subject but I it seems that alot of information in her statement is missing.

My original point was that Santa is an easy to digest representation of good will to men that help to bring a since of safety and hopefulness to a child in these times and times of the past."



I agree with most of your post...I just want to correct one point as you made the statement about being informed before commenting on something.  I am a Catholic.  We do not worship saints.  We do not pray to saints.  In prayer, we ask saints to intercede for us.. to pray for us.....  Prayer involving saints is called intercessory prayer.  Please do not call me a worshiper of false idols.  As for angels and saints being linked to roman and greek gods.....I ask you to read your bible.  It does mention angels....I too am not in favor of a huge religious debate...however, you attacked my faith so had to take a stand.

Jennifer - posted on 12/03/2009

1

0

0

wow you took the words out of my mouth. i have been explaining to people for years (my kids are 8 and 5) that my kids know santa is make beleive. most people think its terrible and i'm depriving them of the " magic of christmas" i also grew up believing in santa and remember when i found out he wasn't real i didn't understand why my parents had lied to me. there is sooo much more to christmas than a big fat guy!!! my children love christmas its there favorite time of year:) and mine too

[deleted account]

Christmas in our house is great! Best time of the year lol! Here we get the boy to tell us one gift that he wants from Santa. Santa brings that & does the stocking. The gift generally isn't any thing "big" because Santa has many kids to buy for lol! Then we tell him that other people buy for him too and that is why he gets one or two gifts from Santa. I guess the whole "Santa" thing is up to each individual, we however, are sure to let our son know the "TRUE" meaning and reason for Christmas!

Melissa - posted on 12/03/2009

10

0

3

I grew up in a "Christian" household with Santa and the whole works. My parents said they focused on Jesus' birth but really it was more about family and presents. My husband and I have 5 children and don't celebrate Christmas any more. We hated the lies and the going in to national debt that it brought! We still believe that Yeshua (Jesus) was the Messiah but realized that nowhere in the Bible did it say to celebrate like everyone does. Really, He wasn't even born then and the Catholic Church made it all up (seriously! Look in the encyclopedia!) Since you are an atheist maybe none of that matters to you. I try very hard not to lie to my children and Christmas and everything that goes with it is a lie. We do celebrate Hannuka even though it isn't in the Bible and give gifts that the children need (coats, shoes, things for school and maybe 1 toy). This is a hard time of year built on traditions we don't understand, good luck and may your house be blessed!

Lynn - posted on 12/02/2009

1,042

33

173

Our Son believe in Santa. He is also at the age where he believes in Dora The explorer and Go diego Go. SO i am not to worried about clarifying to him what is real and what is fake yet.

[deleted account]

I was raised in a very conservative Christian family and was never allowed to believe in Santa, the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy or own anything with a vaguely mythological theme. My husband and I have decided that our children will have the option of believing in Santa and all the other childhood characters if they want. We've told our 3 year old that Mum and Dad buy the presents, then on Christmas Eve, Santa delivers them to remind her that its Jesus' birthday. We've also told her that the reason she gets presents is because Jesus likes to share and do wonderful things for people. She loves the idea and it seems to make sense to her. Each to their own though, no one should tell anyone else what their children should believe in.

Krissi - posted on 12/02/2009

204

2

14

This whole thing is just crazy! I am the most non-judgemental person there is so believe what you want to believe, teach your children what you want to teach them. To each his own- that was makes this free country so great. I must say, though, reading these posts was a hoot!

Beth - posted on 12/02/2009

9

32

0

Well, I can see where you are coming from about not wanting to lie to your daughter. I am only 20 and my daughter is only 15 months old, so I haven't made my decision on whether we're going to tell her that Santa Claus is coming or not. I do remember though when I was younger being SO excited because SANTA was coming! It's just a great feeling that I will always remember and I think I'm going to tell our children about santa because I want her to get that excited feeling that she better be good for santa to bring her her presents and that she gets to make milk and cookies for santa claus! It's just a tradition that I don't think I could go without having in my daughter's life. I actually believed until I was about 12! So, it's important to me that she have that experience i guess.

Sam - posted on 12/01/2009

27

4

1

i didnt know athiests celebrated Christmas either, seems kind of weird given the meaning. Anyway, if someone talks to my daughter about santa, she'll ask me. I personally believe Santa is for all the bad little children. Its a way to get your children to behave, but that's just me.

Sam - posted on 12/01/2009

27

4

1

We dont do Santa. I never did as a kid and dont do it to my little girl. My girly is 3 and we tell her its christmas and that we share gifts with people we love to basically show our love for God. We try to explain the importance of Jesus Christ but on her 3 year old level. She's so excited, she just cant wait for christmas.

Victoria - posted on 12/01/2009

1,303

36

174

We don't teach our kids that santa is real. As born-again Christian we chose not to lie to our kids & telling them santa is real is essentially lying. We don't the easter bunny or the tooth-fairy either. Our kids learn that Jesus Christ is the reason for Christmas & we celebrate Him. We do give gifts, but we give with-in our means. We do a lot of Church activities & family activities, we decorate, with a tree and stuff, but is all just extra we really emphasis Christ in our CHRISTmas.

TRACIE - posted on 12/01/2009

13

11

0

I think there sould be a Santa and he should bring only one major gift from santa. The rest should be from the parents and they should know it is from the parents b/c they worked hard all year to give them these gifts.

Shellie - posted on 11/28/2009

13

58

0

wish I had done that, told them that it was a story and we always told them that the real reason for Christmas was a time to be thankful for what you have, and to be together as a loving family. We do that on Thanksgiving as well. My family and I all believe that Christmas has been blown out of proportion, the commercialism of it all. It is sad that is one of the highest suside rated times, only because of what is done to make ppl feel bad if they cannot "provide" a good Christmas for their families. It is truly sad. There were many years when we didn't have a cent to our name, but were happy to have that soup or whatever we had to eat that year, and to be together. That has been lost, and also, making things for your family members is now considered to be weird, instead of appreciated all the more. We make all of our cards for each other, even birthdays, anniversaries, get well cards, etc.. Maybe when Christmas was first started, it was a much more meaningful holiday, but not anymore. I agree, it is up to parents what they want to tell their children, just wish ppl would not judge others for their decisions. Thank you.

[deleted account]

ooops sorry didn't finish.... you can tell them that santa is a symbol to remember Saint Nick and what he did.

[deleted account]

Christmas is actually to celebrate that Jesus was born and we give gifts to others to symbolize that gift. If you do not believe in Jesus, then you are free to tell your kids whatever you want about christmas, You can tell them what you believe - or simply that its a time to show the people in your life that you love them and thus you give them a gift and the decorations are winter decorations - when they are old enough to be influenced by other kids, etc you can either just let them go with the flow (everyone finds out sooner or later that santa isnt real!) or tell them from the beginning that its just a story. Whatever works for you!

Shellie - posted on 11/27/2009

13

58

0

I didn't want to even get into that crap with Santa, but the family around us, made sure the kids believed in it. Well, sad thing was, that Caila lost one of her last teeth, and the "tooth-fairy" (me) forgot to put anything behind her pillow.....we just told her the truth, about it all....no santa, no tooth-fairy, no easter bunny, nothing....she cried and we felt so bad, but didn't want that to happen in the first place, that is what we wanted to avoid....we told the kids it wasn't our plan to do that to you, but now that you know, you do not need to go around telling others they are wrong and those things don't exsist ok....they didn't. When others told them about that stuff they would just nod their heads and let them believe. They also told the teachers (not within earshot of other kids) that they didn';t believe anymore and please not include them in the lies of it, but promised them also that they wouldn't destroy the dreams of other little ones.

Michelle - posted on 11/27/2009

130

30

14

My 10 and 14 yr olds both know that Santa is not real and that Saint Nicolas was real. They still like the fun of Santa and get a giggle gift (small cheap and ridiculous) from him. They also know the true reason for holiday and purchase a gift for charity and We attend the Christmas Eve service at our church

Tiffany - posted on 11/25/2009

188

0

18

Also, we DO do "From: Mommy&Daddy" gifts and "From: Santa" gifts. I get the feeling some parents feel saddened that the kids don't appreciate their parents for the gifts. To me, the excitement and happiness is all well worth it!!

Tiffany - posted on 11/25/2009

188

0

18

I would consider myself Christian. Although growing up I did not go to church or overly exaggerate Jesus in my family's life. I was baptized Lutheran along with my older sister and my younger sister was baptized Catholic(Why two different religions? I have no idea. Not by my parents' choice but more so that I believe one of my parents was kicked out of the other's church because of their different religions). Does it matter? Because it's a tradition; yes. Beyond that, I'm not really sure? My mom was raised a strict Lutheran and my dad a strict Catholic, so two different spectrums there and hence why we never really went to church after I was about 3 and I think my parents were torn between which church to belong to.

Christmas is a fun time for children. Now that I have my own child I strongly believe in raising him with Santa Clause. Just because it's fun! Not because I want to cover up anything to do with the religious aspects. I will also raise him with St. Nick; just because it is fun and I want to keep it that way! A child is still young and naive and just wanting to be a kid. I don't want to take away what fun parts there are. I remember sitting up looking out the window thinking that the red lights flashing on the towers outside were Rudolph. I also remember in our two story home my sisters and I would lay under the bed (yes, all 3 of us!) and look down the old vent to see if we could see Santa. My parents rang bells because they could hear our pattering foot steps upstairs because we were too excited to go to sleep. Now why would you want to steal/remove any possibilities of those memories away from any child??? I just don't understand.

My husband was raised a strict Baptist. Again completely different religion than even Catholic and Lutheran. His parents didn't believe in bringing Santa and St. Nick into their lives because they didn't want them thinking that because they lied about Santa and St. Nick they lied about God. Now really? Would any child hold that against their parents because their parents just wanted to make it fun for them? I think not. Do you not believe in having fireworks for the 4th of July or carving pumpkins for Halloween too?

I really don't think that even if you had Santa and St. Nick in your lives you would believe any different than what your family has taught you. Eventually, it will come out that Santa and St. Nick don't exist (that is, they don't really come to your house and drop off gifts). It also doesn't prevent you from being appreciative. If it did, we'd have VERY unappreciative children EVERYWHERE and I wouldn't consider myself any less appreciative than my husband because of Christmas or any reason. You just need to make sure your children understand what Christmas is really about. I think my parents have brought me up very well and I've come to learn that I LOVE giving gifts more than actually receiving. All Santa and St. Nick do is bring fun and excitement into a child's life. And all kids deserve to just be kids while they still are.

Lynn - posted on 11/24/2009

1,042

33

173

I think we are going to tell our son about santa..... and i think santa is going to bring him stuff like clothes..... then mommy and daddy will also give him gifts.... like toys. That way he doesnt ruin santa for other kids, but the goodies come from mom and dad.

Clare - posted on 11/24/2009

3

3

0

its the most special thing ever and makes it magic for me again. I cant wait until Christmas and see my little girls face with her presents and get her picture taken with santa in town. Its so magicial and hope she enjoys it all as I did when I was a child.We don t go mad with presents just what we can afford and no debt and its the most special time as our lord and savoiur Jesus Christ was born and she will learn all about that as she grows.

[deleted account]

I am afraid I DO see the meaning behind the set days of celebration. I LOVED the holidays and wouldn't have stopped if I did not believe it went against the Lords teachings. And YES, there is to be no worship of false idols. Not sure where you fit that into this discussion though. And yes, the Lord , YHWH, is "God of all" even if they do not know it. He made it all and gave us a set of rules. Not sure why you wanted to start something though.

Alisha - posted on 11/24/2009

22

3

2

"SANTA is NOT a lie. Santa Claus is indeed not only real but is also a historical person. Saint Nicholas, which in latin is rendered Santa Claus, was an archbishop in Asia Minor, modern day Turkey. He was know for his generous give to any who where in need. There where many tales of his generosity. After his death when ever such a deed happened it was said that Nicholas had done it. Such is how the legend and myth of the imaginary Santa Claus was born. He is an idea, a representation of the good will of man. By telling a child santa doesn't exist you tell them that you have no faith in the good will of man. Nor do you teach the lesson of selfless giving. A man who works all year to provide happiness to the world. Yes your child gets to see you give them gifts but the only lesson there, is how to be a parent and make your child happy. The lesson of santa also helps portray the meaning of good will that is found in the bible in a more child friendly message. So the fact that you don't see a direct connection to having had santa in your childhood is unfortunate. It is a subtle lesson but a good one none the less.



As for the post buy the very conservative christian ... You unfortunately do not see the meaning behind the set days of celebration. Yes, these holidays where set on pagan holidays, but that was so that it was easier to convert pagans to Christianity. Also they are still events that happened, so what does it matter what day you celebrate them on? As long as you are rejoicing in the name of the lord, it should not matter what day. If we are to do away with a system for following pagan traditions then we should oust the entire catholic branch for the prayer made to the saints, a direct violation of the ten commandments "NO worship of false idols". It is clear that each of the Saints and Archangels has a direct correlation to a less superior god of Roman and Greek mythology where God represents Zeus. ... But did you also know that our God, the God of the Jews, and the God of the Muslims are all the same! That the only difference is the way we interpret his word. Just and idea, almost all religions are linked. Its in the bible look it up.



I do not mean to start a religious bit so I do apologize. I feel that if anyone is going to use religion as a point of argument that they should be completely learned on the topic so as to be as diplomatic as possible. I do not claim to be completely learned on the subject but I it seems that alot of information in her statement is missing.



My original point was that Santa is an easy to digest representation of good will to men that help to bring a since of safety and hopefulness to a child in these times and times of the past."

[deleted account]

Quoting Crystal :



Quoting Brenda:

We personally are a very conservative Christian family and we do not celebrate Christmas, Easter, Halloween or Valentines Day because we are Christian. All of these come from pagan beliefs and roots. They do not have anything to do with Christianity. It was just given a sugar coating to make some people think it was ok. We do celebrate Thanksgiving as it was a day to thank the Lord from the very beginning. I know many of you will attack me because until I did much prayer and much study I too thought that Christians that did not celebrate these "Christian" holidays were crazy. Here are a couple articles for anyone who wants to study up on it.
http://www.goodnewsaboutgod.com/studies/...

There is so much more that I could share. Just email me if you want more.





Hi Brenda. I understand what you are saying but as Christians shouldn't we celebrate the birth of our Savior? Even if it is a made up date in December. I understand not doing the Christmas tree and gifts and things but I still believe that Jesus deserves to be celebrated. For my family Christmas isn't about the gifts or the tree, it's about love and being together and thats what His birth was all about; God's love for all of us (his family). And Easter is a day to celebrate a day of salvation. Even if it is not the exact date of that event shouldn't we still celebrate together and give thanks? And yes we should also being doing this in our everyday lives but shouldn't we set aside a special day to do this with friends and family all together? I do not want you to feel "attacked" because that is not what I'm intending to do. I was just curious. And I'm right there with you on Halloweeen and Valentines Day. :)





Hi Crystal,  Thanks for your question.  As for me? No, I do not think we should celebrate His birth. I believe if the Lord had wanted us to he would have instructed us too. He did tell us to remember his sacrifice for us via the communion supper. Scripturally there isn't anything positive in scriptures concerning birthday "celebrations".  Some people do not do them at all. We do have a nice dinner.  That is just the conclusions that I (and my DH) have come to in all our studies.  Thanks again. :)

Tricia - posted on 11/23/2009

18

35

2

Well I still get presents from Santa.. I think it is good for kids to have a benevolent figure that gives to them. Just had to tell my 11 year old he wasn't real... But he loves the "wink" idea of Santa...

Crystal - posted on 11/23/2009

39

43

2

Quoting Brenda:

We personally are a very conservative Christian family and we do not celebrate Christmas, Easter, Halloween or Valentines Day because we are Christian. All of these come from pagan beliefs and roots. They do not have anything to do with Christianity. It was just given a sugar coating to make some people think it was ok. We do celebrate Thanksgiving as it was a day to thank the Lord from the very beginning. I know many of you will attack me because until I did much prayer and much study I too thought that Christians that did not celebrate these "Christian" holidays were crazy. Here are a couple articles for anyone who wants to study up on it.
http://www.goodnewsaboutgod.com/studies/...

There is so much more that I could share. Just email me if you want more.


Hi Brenda. I understand what you are saying but as Christians shouldn't we celebrate the birth of our Savior? Even if it is a made up date in December. I understand not doing the Christmas tree and gifts and things but I still believe that Jesus deserves to be celebrated. For my family Christmas isn't about the gifts or the tree, it's about love and being together and thats what His birth was all about; God's love for all of us (his family). And Easter is a day to celebrate a day of salvation. Even if it is not the exact date of that event shouldn't we still celebrate together and give thanks? And yes we should also being doing this in our everyday lives but shouldn't we set aside a special day to do this with friends and family all together? I do not want you to feel "attacked" because that is not what I'm intending to do. I was just curious. And I'm right there with you on Halloweeen and Valentines Day. :)

Chelsea - posted on 11/23/2009

19

7

1

I am an Atheist myself and do not believe in or want to hear of the 'Christian' stories around any holiday, but my youngest is 9 and will be 10 in January and we have always had 'Mom and Dad' Presents and 'Santa' presents as we celebrate the season and family. I want...for her benefit alone, to stay a child and use her imagination as long as possible. We grow up far too fast as it is and if that requires her believing in Santa Claus until she is 30, so be it. And technically, Santa Claus did exist although the mythical flying sleigh and reindeer and working elves did not. You can always retell the story of the true St. Nicholas so that they know the charitable story behind the fairy tale Santa Claus, I omit the Christian/Bishop part as it has nothing to do with the good deeds and selfless acts he performed. (St. Nicholas is said to have tossed gold down a chimney of a family that was going to be forced to sell their three daughters into slavery at the age of marriage). There's also the story of the famine and drought that hit Myra and he helped feed starving families and replant fields. He is known for his anonymous giving without expecting anything in return especially to children. Hence the 'Spirit of Giving'. I think that if you instill that nature in your child there is nothing wrong with letting them believe. We use the holiday as a special time to create traditions that they can take into their own family later on down the road. Mackenzie chooses a gift every year and donates it to the women and children's shelter or to a child in need of comfort at the hospital. It's something she will remind me of if we have not done it yet. It is all in what you put out there. There is no reason to go into 'debt' over a holiday or event. My daughter's favorite 'gift' to this day was taking her to the snow for the first time. Cost nothing,but gas and she still talks about it 5 years later.

Any way, there is no wrong answer, but I would go with your beliefs or in better words, your gut.

Christina - posted on 11/23/2009

26

12

4

My children were told at a young age that Santa was not real and its quit confusing for them. They went to school in K and 1st grade telling everyone (even though they were told not too) that Santa was not real. Then I was called in because they wanted to make for sure that it was ok to sing Christmas songs and celebrate Christmas with my Kids at school. Talk about hard to explain.
The teachers just couldn't understand telling small children that Santa isn't real.
My friends told her daughter that does believe in Santa that my children weren't getting presents because they don't believe in Santa.
It can be hard telling your children Santa isn't real in a world that tells your children other wise.

Cheryl - posted on 11/22/2009

60

9

2

Quoting Brenda:

We personally are a very conservative Christian family and we do not celebrate Christmas, Easter, Halloween or Valentines Day because we are Christian. All of these come from pagan beliefs and roots. They do not have anything to do with Christianity. It was just given a sugar coating to make some people think it was ok. We do celebrate Thanksgiving as it was a day to thank the Lord from the very beginning. I know many of you will attack me because until I did much prayer and much study I too thought that Christians that did not celebrate these "Christian" holidays were crazy. Here are a couple articles for anyone who wants to study up on it.
http://www.goodnewsaboutgod.com/studies/...

There is so much more that I could share. Just email me if you want more.



I am a wiccan and I did not know these things either till I did research of my own a couple of years ago. I am glad that someone brought this up. Pagans came up with these "holidays" to celebrate the changing of the seasons. Christmas falls just past the winter solstice and it was modified in an attempt to incorporate other religions.

Cheryl - posted on 11/22/2009

60

9

2

I am a wiccan and I told my children about Santa. I think it will soon be time to tell my oldest the truth, but it gives them the idea that you don't always have to get to give. We did it because "santa" gives without expecting to get anything in return, he gives because it makes others happy. THAT is what we believe Christmas is about, in our house, making the people that we love happy. It has nothing to do with "how many" or "what kind" or "what it cost", It's "I saw this and thought of you". So If you choose to tell your kids there is a Santa then do it because you want them to see that someone wants to make them happy not because that's what other families are doing. Best of luck and Merry Christmas.

Staci - posted on 11/22/2009

1

20

0

When my girls were young they believed in Santa simply because of all the hype @ school. However, when my oldest was 8 (she is now 14) she asked me if Santa was real. I was a little taken aback by this question because I felt she was a little too young to pose this question. Hannah is very astute, though. I told her that it is up to her to decide whether or not Santa is real. I made the analogy that some people believe that God is real and some people do not. You either have it in your heart or you don't. She believes in God but knows that Mom and Dad are the real gift givers. She loves the Christmas season and knows what it is about...the real story. In the end it is up to the child to decide. It is up to you as a parent to guide your child so that they don't contribute to the madness that Christmas has become. I don't break my bank on Christmas. The girls get what they want within limits. I, like you, believe that Christmas is about being with my family, not spoiling them with frivolous things. That being said, I have over-indulged @ times but I hope that I have helped my daughters become better people because they have made the right choices with my guidance.

Hope that helps.

Tina - posted on 11/22/2009

1

6

0

Hi! We all know what the real reason for Christmas is. When kids are little, they don't really understand the religious aspect of Christmas. Although you are an Atheist, it still does not mean that the holiday doesn't have a meaning for you. You stated it means family. And that is what it should be about. Santa, yeah, we adults know that it puts a hole in our pockets because we want to give our kids, family and friends gifts, but there is nothing wrong with letting the little ones think that a fat man in a red suit comes down the chimney and leaves gifts. My son believed until he was twelve! LOL! He will be 20 next month and guess what, we still put out reindeer food! It's the tradition and love that comes with it all. Let your little one have that moment. Believe me, when they get to a certain age, you will want those moments! Happy Holidays to you and yours!

[deleted account]

No worries Brenda! My sis doesn't celebrate those days either for the same reasons. I have taught my kids about the old church embracing those pagan holidays to more easily win converts and to keep those converts from standing out in the mostly pagan populations. My mil is atheist, but loves to decorate her house for every common holiday -- there was no way to avoid them completely for our family.

[deleted account]

I am a Christian. I never told my kids that the presents were from Santa. (Ironically, my husband lost his job last month and a friend hired him to play Santa this December!)

I did not tell my kids it was Christ's birthday either. I did tell my kids the history of Santa and I've told them that some kids are told he is real and "we should keep that secret until they're a bit older." I hope my kids will remember that it is a time to be with family and the people you love/love you. Being together is more important than the gifts they get (dd is a work in progress, but ds gets it!)

Moonika - posted on 11/21/2009

36

25

0



Quoting Donna:

First off, I have to say that being an Atheist you want to celebrate Christmas without Santa Claus. I do agree with you tho, you can have Christmas without Santa Claus. What are you plans tho for how to handle things when your child is in school and everyone else is talking about Santa?



I dont have all the answers jet, this is what I am still trying to figure out...she will go to a multinational/religious shcool, so I have hope that there will be few other kids who dont have santa either. as for the kids who get presents from santa i have not jet figured out how to ensure she does not ruin christmas for others and at the same time to make sure that she will not be made an outcast or make fun of her.



this is why i was looking for other parents opinions to find few tips on how to handle christmas....





 

Moonika - posted on 11/21/2009

36

25

0



Quoting Elizabeth:

I didn't know atheists celebrated Christmas. I have learned something new. 



nowdays it seems christmas has not got much to do with Christ, so even ateist want to have a holiday now and then...we all like christmas decoration and dinners and parties....so yeah, i still celebrate it, its just a commercial holiday. but i just dont believe that santa will make a difference to my childs christmas and i dont think it should be a competition about who can afford the most as it is for some people...



Moonika - posted on 11/21/2009

36

25

0



Quoting Donna:

First off, I have to say that being an Atheist you want to celebrate Christmas without Santa Claus. I do agree with you tho, you can have Christmas without Santa Claus. What are you plans tho for how to handle things when your child is in school and everyone else is talking about Santa?



I dont have all the answers jet, this is what I am still trying to figure out...she will go to a multinational/religious shcool, so I have hope that there will be few other kids who dont have santa either. as for the kids who get presents from santa i have not jet figured out how to ensure she does not ruin christmas for others and at the same time to make sure that she will not be made an outcast or make fun of her.



this is why i was looking for other parents opinions to find few tips on how to handle christmas....





 

Moonika - posted on 11/21/2009

36

25

0



Quoting Donna:

First off, I have to say that being an Atheist you want to celebrate Christmas without Santa Claus. I do agree with you tho, you can have Christmas without Santa Claus. What are you plans tho for how to handle things when your child is in school and everyone else is talking about Santa?



I dont have all the answers jet, this is what I am still trying to figure out...she will go to a multinational/religious shcool, so I have hope that there will be few other kids who dont have santa either. as for the kids who get presents from santa i have not jet figured out how to ensure she does not ruin christmas for others and at the same time to make sure that she will not be made an outcast or make fun of her.



this is why i was looking for other parents opinions to find few tips on how to handle christmas....





 

[deleted account]

I didn't know atheists celebrated Christmas. I have learned something new. I believe it is fine to tell children about Santa - make-believe. My older two have known for a while, but my 4-yr-old is confused. I don't think he cares as long as he gets presents. We are Christians so we try very hard to celebrate the birth of Christ, but I fear my children are more concerned about presents - sadly.

Donna - posted on 11/21/2009

98

21

10

First off, I have to say that being an Atheist you want to celebrate Christmas without Santa Claus. I do agree with you tho, you can have Christmas without Santa Claus. What are you plans tho for how to handle things when your child is in school and everyone else is talking about Santa?

Liz - posted on 11/20/2009

6

6

1

Christmas is aout family for me but I also have kids and now I make it special for them. I enjoy all the troulbe of wrapping gifts and hiding them to keep the kids out of them and stay up late waiting for them to go to sleep. I wrap their gifts in different wrapping paper than I wrap for friends and family. Also so taht they don't recenize my handwritting, I just put the first letter of there name on the side, so that when they wake up they can't tell who got what. Another thing that I do is have my mom send a personalize letter to each child letting them know about any problems that I see that might prevent them from getting that "special" gift that they really want.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms