Name opinions?

Brenda - posted on 02/26/2009 ( 12 moms have responded )

2,386

62

250

Well, so we're getting down to the wire (I'm due May 6th) and we're trying to pick a name, so I thought I'd ask you guys for opinions. I really like the name Spencer, but it is such an unusual name we're debating using it as the middle name instead. My son is named Nathan James, and we're considering the following combos for this munchkin:



Nicholas Spencer

Nicholas Kevin

Spencer Kevin



Opinions on which sounds best? Thanks ladies!

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

12 Comments

View replies by

Stasia - posted on 03/21/2009

590

16

49

I know a few Spencers, is it unusual in your area? I actually know both sexes that have the name. I think it is really cute. You should do Nicholas Spencer, or Spencer Kevin!!!

Brooke - posted on 03/13/2009

166

3

18

Either Nicholas or Spencer are nice. I like unique or different names, so personally I like Spencer a little more. It's not too unique though. My kids are Selah and Tobias and NO one has their names in Sunday school and I love that. Of-course, my kids might not.......but, we always tell them the uniqueness of their names.....the meanings !

Bryony - posted on 03/09/2009

53

22

10

Personally I like Spencer, and don't think it's really all that unusual. My husband and his 3 bothers all begin with J, and some of them didn't like that as they got older. Plus we are always receiving second hand messages from people who looked up J. Peters in the phonebook! lol. Just thought I'd put in my two bits. My kids all have slightly unusual names, too, so I do like that (JaeLynne, Ezra and Kael)...

Brenda - posted on 03/01/2009

2,386

62

250

Hrm.  Its just so hard to decide!  Spencer is neat, but if I go with Nicholas as the first name I'll have Nicholas and Nathan (Nick and Nate)....Hrm....  We did this with DS1.  I think we finally decided when I filled out the birth cert paperwork.... :)  I think we are going to wait to announce the name even if we decide for sure until he gets here. 

Laura - posted on 03/01/2009

94

0

9

I won't worry about Spencer being too unusual. My daughter's stepbrother is named Spencer and there are a few other Spencers in our neighborhood. These days "unusual" names are more common than the traditional names. My friend named her son Carson because she thought it was different and now he is one of 4 Carsons in our Mom's group. By comparison I named my son David and there is only one other David in our group. You just never know. The same thing happened to me with my daughter. 13 years ago I named her Madison because it was unusual and since then it has become one of the most common girls names. So I'd say just go with the name you like the best.



Personally, I like either Nicholas Spencer or Spencer Nicholas (I know that is not one of your choices) but I think those two names go well together. Best of luck with the new baby.

Brenda - posted on 02/27/2009

2,386

62

250

All three names are close friends, like my other son, we're using friend's names (that we really like anyway just on the basis of the name).  :)

Melissa - posted on 02/27/2009

138

27

16

I love Nicholas. It is such a cute name!! Where does Kevin come from? (family member?) As for Spencer, you know how people know someone named a name and that is all you can associate with that name. I don't know who watches The Hills, but all I can picture is Speidi!

Tricia - posted on 02/27/2009

357

14

45

Oh well then, I change my mind.  Nicholas is awesome with Lesinski!  It's not matchey-matchey, but look how many of the sounds are repeated in both names: n, l, s, k, and the short i.  That kind of consonance makes the names sound tailor made for each other!  Then either Kevin or Spencer would repeat 2 of the sounds.  Although having 2 s sounds in a row might be difficult to pronounce, so maybe Kevin is your best bet.  (Can you tell I love doing this?)

Heather - posted on 02/27/2009

127

9

12

think about nicknames you will have nick or nikki or spence:) I like them both but I think Spencer Kevin Lesinski sounds good all together.

Brenda - posted on 02/27/2009

2,386

62

250

Well, I forgot to mention, that hopefully, within the next year or two our last name will be changing.  My husband recently reconnected with his biological father and reallly wants to have his adopted name turned back to his real name, and that name is Lesinski...  LOL.  Little bit tougher for the kids to spell, but you know. So I'm also balancing what the name will sound like with Lesinski at the end instead of Dale.  (My husband's name is Michael, and he goes with Mike which would kinda be like Nick as far as the sound).

Tricia - posted on 02/27/2009

357

14

45

I like the rhythm of SPEN-cer KEV-in DALE best, although When you exclude the middle name, I like the sound of Nicholas Dale better.  On the other hand, if he's a Nicholas, you're garunteed that everyone will call him Nick.  And I don't like Nick Dale much at all.  S yeah, I'd probably go with Spencer Kevin.  My little guy has an unusual first name too.  I just figure if he gets tired of being unique he can go by his middle name.  :-)

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms