Obama's opinion on gay marriage: share your thoughts.

Karla - posted on 05/10/2012 ( 11 moms have responded )

1,555

48

51

This is a link on facebook showing many of the headlines today.



https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/292272_435907679754041_1148280938_n.jpg





Obama backs same sex marriage



Obama says 'I do' to gay marriage



Obama: Let gays marry



Obama supports same sex marriage.





I personally don't see what the uproar is about. What do you think about the news today?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Juanita - posted on 07/01/2012

1

0

0

I don't see anything wrong with supporting a happy marriage. I feel as if the household is steady and loving then who cares if it contains the same sex. There are many homes with Man/Woman households who kills their children, beat them and just dog them out. I myself is not "gay" as they call it, but my best friend is and she wants to have baby and her own family told her that is not a good decision because it will ruin the child's life, that hurt her and somewhat discouraged her. People fail to realize that sometimes words hurt more than the actions we take, I say hell if a Cat and Dog wants to marry so be it as long as their hearts are connected. =]

Rebecca - posted on 07/05/2012

61

0

3

People are people. Love is love. To me, the issue is a simple as that. I am thrilled that this is the official Presidential view now (obviously not his words, but in essence). Discrimination is ugly and should have no part in our conversation and our lives.



Best to all,



Dr. Bee

Teresa - posted on 05/14/2012

139

10

22

Hi Karla, I dont live in the USA, I live in the UK, where gay marriage is seen as the norm, although there is a debate going on as to wheter Gay couples should be allowed to marry in church, and the church making the decsion. I think President Obama is aware that in today's society the family is considred to be a 'loving secure healthy relationship' in which children in the USA can grow to become honest, caring and healthy. Parents wheter gay or not, have a hard task ahead of them even with predjudices .



Regardless of your beliefs and thoughts children only understand one thing, that they are loved by the parents who also love them. There are many oppostions to gay marriage to many reasons to write on here one of them though is that the DOMA (Defence of Marriage Act) suggests that marriage should only be one man one woman, unfortunatly it does not defend against who you fall in love with.

I myself am married to an American, we have been married for five years and live in the UK. We have children on both sides of the ocean, and my partner can only see her children, and grandchildren on a few occasions, and I am not alowed to stay in the USA because we are not recognised as a couple.



I wish those who object to Gay Marriage realised how many families are torn apart each year because they are not allowed to stay together in the same country.We love all our children equally would love to spend more time with them and not be scared of outstaying our welcome, I love the USA would not stay without paying my way and my taxes and becoming part of society as many married couples do , but unfortunatly so many barriers are yet to be overcome.



I dont feel this will happen very soon, and my partner lives in another country in the hope we will eventually have the opportuntiy to live openly and with free choice in the country she was born in and loves.



President Obama has spoken of the people he has personaly known through connecting with his children's friends and their family, his views on gay marriage has been changed by the next generation of children, I hope and pray that this will be the case for many of those who oppose gay marriage, and that they also take time to listen to others and most importantly the next generation, who have an open mind, a understanding of loving familys, and respect for equality and human rights.

Beth - posted on 05/12/2012

178

0

8

I'm proud of him for saying it during an election year. He could easily lose a lot of undecided voters on the issue, because before he had only been pro civil unions. I'm optimistic now, because of all the donations that poured in after the announcement, but I still wonder if he's shot himself in the foot. It's historic in that no other President has said flat out, gay is ok.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

11 Comments

View replies by

Anita - posted on 03/06/2013

305

0

88

I think that people need to get over gays it is what is is and those who are gay are going to be together one way or another so why not let them. How you someone feel if the person who they where dating could not be in the hospital room with them in there last moments. Or how about them not being able to decided to pull the plug. How would you feel if the doctors did that kind of thing to you and your mate???????? I would love to see how those people feel with all these people who are so scared of gays or hate them.
I am a PROUD GAY women and I will NEVER change that so get mad that is find.

Cheri - posted on 09/28/2012

4

11

1

I am so happy to have a President who openly supports human rights. As a recovering conservative/Christian, this is what cements my decision to vote for Obama again. I know that many people feel the bigger issues are the economy, etc., but I am a huge advocate of human rights. I can't wait to celebrate many weddings in the future!

Teresa - posted on 05/17/2012

139

10

22

It sounds like your'e daughter will be one of those next generations I was talking about, where she will thankfully have been brought up to have an open mind. I agree your constitution is to protect your basic right, but it seems there are a few who would use it as a defence against progress. I hope one day it will be possible to keep personal beleifs out of politics , although this does not seem to be the case where some politicians have used thier religious beleifs as an objection, and a stage in which to gather popularity and voters.
To be single and adopt and become a family is wonderful, it seems strange that as a Gay couple the benifits of two parents are overlooked, but hey like I said I dont judge. It sounds like you have a wonderful daughter and enjoy every minute of being a mom. You are a perfect example of what so many children are missing out on, I wish more Lesbian and Gay couples had the opportunity to become a family and the wonderful experiances that come with it.

Jacqueline - posted on 05/17/2012

3

0

0

Well I adopted my daughter and she is growing up in a happy, healthy, and loving environment. I will teach her values that will carry her throughout her life. In the state of Texas you can be gay and adopt, but you can't adopt with a partner. There are almost 200,000 children in foster care (in the US) and who needs forever homes and there are many educated, finacially able, and loving gay and lesbian individuals and/or couples who could provide great homes for these children. In America, we have to keep personal beliefs out of politics and do what is best for the country and all its people. Our basic rights are protected under the US Constitution. Hat goes of to President Obama.

Teresa - posted on 05/17/2012

139

10

22

Hi Jacqueline, just to wish you well with your dissertation, I am sure it is a hugely debatable subject within the USA. President Obama in my opinion has started the ball rolling, however change is a difficult and long process, and often met with many objections by those who fear change the most. Having said that, the next generation of politicians may have a more open mind, and understanding of the needs of future generations of children.

America is a unique and progressive country, that continues to support other countrys who have needed help with issues connected to human rights, the American people have been at the forth front of that progression, they have argued and demanded for those they feel have been unjustly treated, and continue to do so.
President Obama did just this he listened to the voice of his children, responded to the American people who were looking for guidance an understanding of what he feels, and a leader who is brave enough to step forward and ackowledge that this may be not something all Americans want , he is the voice of the people who canot speak out for themseleves.

Children from any country have the right to a healthy happy and supportive life with parents who feel they have the time, energey and finacial committment to do this, regardless of gender sexual oriantation or the culture they belong to,and they are in a commited loving relationship and can share this with children who may be in desperate need of a family.

How this will be acheived I really dont know, there will always be objecters to Gay adoptions, marriage, and Gay families, and they will use every opportunity they can to re-inforce this, from religion to child abuse to the constitution of America, I dont judge them I try to see thier view and if it is valued, as yet I have not met any argument that can hold up against Gay Marriage or adoptions, in most cases its that fear of change that blocks the ability to be open and non judgemental. Everyone has their own personal opinion on the subject, however its not one's own opinion that should matter, IT'S WE THE PEOPLE.

Jacqueline - posted on 05/17/2012

3

0

0

As a lesbian woman my hat goes off to Obama!!!! I am writing my dissertation on this same topic to include legalizing adoption in all states for gays and lesbian couples.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms