Smoking marijuana during pregnancy... opinions?

Corinne - posted on 05/21/2012 ( 60 moms have responded )

92

1

4

Whenever I'm pregnant I have this passion for researching topics. This pregnancy I've been very intrigued by the facts about the affects of smoking marijuana exclusively during pregnancy. I've been pleasantly surprised to find either inconclusive evidence or evidence showing there is either none or even positive effects to the fetus. I know a few women who continued to smoke and their children are advanced for their age.
Is there anyone who has looked into this like I have and found similar results or am I going to get a bunch of offended moms bitching me out?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Jodi - posted on 10/04/2012

25,931

36

3891

Seriously Amanda? I have seen various studies on the issues, and none of them prove anything and none of them are CONTROLLED studies. What part of that are you not getting? There is no proof of anything and there never can be, because the studies are not controlled. What kind of college degree do you have to possibly think these things are controlled studies with a hypothesis and control group in order to test the hypothesis? It just isn't feasible. And it has not happened. And there is no proof. There is only correlation.



"You didn't site your resource Linda. Again, modern science proves much of what you said to be contradictory to the truth. "



Hilarious. You are asking others to cite (with a 'c', just for the record) their sources? Please, feel free at any time to cite your sources where modern science is proving these things. By all means, any time you are ready. You have been asked several times for your sources of peer reviewed and controlled studies to back up this apparent "proof". Now is your opportunity!

[deleted account]

And by the way, No fake sugar has ever touched the lips of my 3 children and I have two on the autism spectrum. One completely normal. Autism disorders run through my husband's side of the family unfortunately. I know there is not evidence yet, but I really believe there is some sort of genetic component to autism disorders. It may be triggered by something in the environment,, but I am VERY aware of good/bad foods.

I have done extensive research on the affects of pot because I believe that facts speak for themselves.It really screws up your brain and my kids have worked too hard in their school to destroy their brain. Even they see how stupid smoking is. Just a few things pot causes:

Cannabis Intoxication (consisting of impaired motor coordination, anxiety, impaired judgment, sensation of slowed time, social withdrawal, and often includes perceptual disturbances; Cannabis Intoxication Delirium (memory deficit, disorientation); Cannabis Induced Psychotic Disorder, Delusions; Cannabis Induced Psychotic Disorder, Hallucinations; and Cannabis Induced Anxiety Disorder.



" marijuana use has many indirect effects on health. Its effect on coordination, perception, and judgment means that it causes a number of accidents, vehicular and otherwise. marijuana is at the root of many mental disorders, including acute toxic psychosis, panic attacks (one of the very conditions it is being used experimentally to treat), flashbacks, delusions, depersonalization, hallucinations, paranoia, depression, and uncontrollable aggressiveness. Marijuana has long been known to trigger attacks of mental illness, such as bipolar (manic-depressive) psychosis and schizophrenia. This connection with mental illness should make health care providers for terminally ill patients and the patients themselves, who may already be suffering from some form of clinical depression, weigh very carefully the pros and cons of adopting a therapeutic course of marijuana.he main respiratory consequences of smoking marijuana regularly (one joint a day) are pulmonary infections and respiratory cancer, whose connection to marijuana use has been strongly suggested but not conclusively proven. The effects also include chronic bronchitis, impairment in the function of the smaller air passages, inflammation of the lung, the development of potentially pre-cancerous abnormalities in the bronchial lining and lungs, and, as discussed, a reduction in the capabilities of many defensive mechanisms within the lungs.



Marijuana smoke and cigarette smoke contain many of the same toxins, including one which has been identified as a key factor in the promotion of lung cancer. This toxin is found in the tar phase of both, and it should be noted that one joint has four times more tar than a cigarette, which means that the lungs are exposed four-fold to this toxin and others in the tar. It has been concretely established that smoking cigarettes promotes lung cancer (which causes more than 125,000 deaths in the US every year), chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (chronic bronchitis and emphysema) and increased incidence of respiratory tract infections. This implies, but does not establish, that smoking marijuana may lead to some of the same results as smoking cigarettes. It is notable that several reports indicate an unexpectedly large proportion ofmarijuana users among cases of lung cancer and cancers of the oral cavity,pharynx, and larynx. Thus, it appears that the use of marijuana as a medicine has the potential to further harm an already ill patient in the same way that taking up regular cigarette smoking would, particularly in light of the fact that those patients for whom marijuana is recommended are already poorly equipped to fight off these infections and diseases.The most potent argument against the use of marijuana to treat medical disorders is that marijuana may cause the acceleration or aggravation of the very disorders it is being used to treat.



Smoking marijuana regularly (a joint a day) can damage the cells in the bronchial passages which protect the body against inhaled microorganisms and decrease the ability of the immune cells in the lungs to fight off fungi, bacteria, and tumor cells. For patients with already weakened immune systems, this means an increase in the possibility of dangerous pulmonary infections, including pneumonia, which often proves fatal in AIDS patients.



Studies further suggest that marijuana is a general "immunosuppressant" whose degenerative influence extends beyond the respiratory system. Regular smoking has been shown to materially affect the overall ability of the smoker�s body to defend itself against infection by weakening various natural immune mechanisms, including macrophages (a.k.a. "killer cells") and the all-important T-cells. Obviously, this suggests the conclusion, which is well-supported by scientific studies, that the use of marijuana as a medical therapy can and does have a very serious negative effect on patients with pre-existing immune deficits resulting from AIDS, organ transplantation, or cancer chemotherapy, the very conditions for which marijuana has most often been touted and suggested as a treatment. It has also been shown that marijuana use can accelerate the progression of HIV to full-blown AIDS and increase the occurrence of infections and Kaposi�s sarcoma. In addition, patients with weak immune systems will be even less able to defend themselves against the various respiratory cancers and conditions to which consistent marijuana use has been linked, and which are discussed briefly under "Respiratory Illnesses."



In conclusion, it seems that the potential dangers presented by the medical use of marijuana may actually contribute to the dangers of the diseases which it would be used to combat.

Now, I could put thousands of pages of information from studies up here, but the fact is if you care about your child, you won't smoke dope while pregnant. If you're a pot head you will smoke no matter what. If you have a deadly disease and you have tried everything and nothing works to alleviate your pain or increase your appetite and you are starving, then by all means smoke pot. But to justify smoking anything much less pot when you are pregnant is just the most irresponsible thing I have ever heard of.

This is the last post I will do--nothing will get through to a pot head except more literature to support their need to smoke.And it is too hard to read about what she wants to do to her precious baby before it is even born.I will pray for the baby.

Krista - posted on 05/22/2012

12,562

16

842

I still wouldn't risk it. Sure, right now we may have the scientific evidence telling us one thing, but how many times during your lifetime and mine has new scientific information come to light, completely changing things? Eggs used to be good for you. Then they were bad for you. Now they're good, but only in moderation.

Plus, keep in mind that any of these studies are going to be fairly shaky. Marijuana use does not exist in a vacuum, and it's medically unethical for them to lab test marijuana on human fetuses. So they have to rely on studying women out in a non-lab setting who smoke weed during pregnancy. This means that there are a TON of variables out there that they're not able to control.

Nope. I wouldn't risk it. I like my beer, but I had no problems giving it up altogether during pregnancy, even though there's no evidence that one drink a day will do any harm. If I smoked weed, I would operate under the same principle.

[deleted account]

Poison mushrooms grow out of the ground...would you take those, too?

You're not fooling anyone with your controversial studies/research.. If you're more interested in proving that your own need to smoke an illegal drug while pregnant is OK, you should not be having a baby at all. You will be ready to have a child when you do EVERYTHING you can to make he/she safe and keep the child from harm. You should not be wasting time trying to find pot studies that support your own need to smoke dope. Why don't you read up on how to keep your baby healthy instead?

~♥Little Miss - posted on 08/21/2012

18,870

9

3002

You would think knowing to not take any drugs of any sort unless absolutely 100% necessary would be common knowledge during pregnancy. I don't care what reports say it is unknown to the effects of the newborn baby, or there was no harm. Whatever you put into your body while pregnant, your baby will be taking too.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

60 Comments

View replies by

Ariana - posted on 01/31/2013

1,263

0

622

I'm sorry but although I agree that people over the age of 21 could get benefits from marijuana people UNDER that age should NOT smoke. It stunts their development. So if a 14 year old starts smoking marijuana consistantly they get emotionally stuck at that same age. So if a 14 year old smokes marijuana until he's 18 and stops he's still basically at the emotional development of a 14 year old.

So I don't think a woman who is pregnant should be smoking becuase it could influence the childs development negatively, you don't KNOW what it can do so you shouldn't be testing it out on a child that has no choice in the matter.

Plus if they're smoking it there is smoke in the mothers lungs which isn't good for her or the baby.

Like I said, if someone was 21 and over marijuana is alright because they've already developed and they also would probably use it recreationally, like alcohol, but for a pregnant mother or teenagers to use it is not a good idea.

Taylor - posted on 01/31/2013

7

0

0

I think it can be VERY beneficial for the mother, possibly the child as well, but I definitely don't think it does the child any harm. (I'm no scientist but I have researched my fair share as well.) From helping with mood swings and stress, to morning sickness and nausea, apetite loss, and depression, to helping you get a better nights sleep, I believe it has the potential to be a pregnant girl's best friend so long as it's used in moderation. (and preferably ingested, like in a cookie or brownie, vs smoked which is always unhealthy...) It's just a very touchy subject due to it being illegal, and you wouldnt want CPS or the law to get involved in your life, so be very careful while making this decision to smoke or not to smoke...

Ariana - posted on 10/12/2012

1,263

0

622

I think for adults smoking marijuana is fine. I would not suggest smoking weed during pregnancy, just like smoking cigarettes is not good during pregnancy. We do not know what the side effects are and it is better to not chance it.



Plus marjuana stunts your development. Meaning that if you smoke weed on a regular basis at 15 your development stays at 15. Therefore I don't know how this would effect a fetus that is developing.



Like I said, if an adult wishes to smoke marijuana that is their choice and every other drug (including alcohol) has many MANY negative long-term and short-term effects that are proven. The only effects proven from marijuana are memory issues, and lung cancer. I say lung cancer if you smoke it, like cigarettes, if you ingest it another way even that is not proven to contribute to cancer. Any sort of smoke going into your lungs contributes to that...



I still would not chance it with children. I also wouldn't smoke during pregnancy so that's just me...

[deleted account]

I just found out my dear mother whom I love more than myself and who beat breast cancer when she was 32 years old...has bladder cancer now. Bladder cancer is very common among smokers.

My mother NEVER smoked a day in her life...but her parents DID smoke and she grew up exposed to smoke. Now she has a second cancer. And now she will have to suffer treatments that will never end because bladder cancer is known for re-ocurring, I beg of everyone...please understand that what you do to yourself will affect other people's lives...your children and grandchildren and anyone else exposed to any kind of smoke.It's not worth it.

I ask for anyone's prayers for my mother, Ellen. Everyone else I ask out of respect you keep any negative comments to yourself as this is very hard for me.I wouldn't wish this on anyone.

Amanda - posted on 10/11/2012

1

0

0

My Brothers GF smoked Pot during pregnancy. Their daughter has autism. Who knows if its related. But why take the chance? Wouldn't you always wonder "what if you quit? Would it of changed the outcome for this little girl?" Atleast if you quit, you can say... "you did everything possible" if faced with the same out come.

Ariana - posted on 10/10/2012

1,263

0

622

My friend smoked weed while pregnant and her child has ashma. Don't know if it's connected but people in her family and dads side don't have ashma, just him.

[deleted account]

Amanda, the original poster wanted an opinion…and I gave it. My goal is to prevent unborn babies from ingesting something that I believe is harmful. You put everyone on the board on the defensive and said we have prove everything. You also said you never criticized anyone. You are a hypocrite.Leave me alone.



These are all your words/quotes, Amanda:



"Honestly, people are absolutely foolish.

LMAO!

And Linda you're study was done by people trying to keep cannabis illegal that is about one of the worst rationalizations I've heard yet.

Linda, I knew someone would say this, prohibitionists always say something foolish to this extent.

The fact that you take this so hard and cannot open your mind to other possibilities than your own shows your lack of knowledge on the subject.

Jodi, if you really cared to find out the truth behind the matter, you would look up the studies yourself that prove that there are minimum ill-effects caused to the fetus, and the benefits of marijuana consumption.

You didn't site your resource Linda. Again, modern science proves much of what you said to be contradictory to the truth.

But I understand you don't really care about the truth,

If you cared about others children you would be speaking out against the FDA putting harmful chemicals in pregnant women's food and baby food which has a direct correlation with autism rates and many modern illnesses that were never seen in children before in the US and world wide.

I've critized no one merely stated my point,"

Amanda - posted on 10/08/2012

188

0

30

Umm... you, and quite a few other mothers, just criticized everyone who disagreed with you. What is your purpose if you are going to attack mothers instead of debating? Which is what this forum is; a debate forum. I've critized no one merely stated my point, which is what you do in a debate, and done my best to prove that the health of fetus is dependant on more than simply abstaining from drug use, both legal and illegal. If you have nothing more to add, then I'm afraid I would rather not resort to petty squabbling. It was a nice debate and I had fun. I don't often get to interact with the same person for such a long time on these posts. Thanks for the entertainment. I hope you have a nice night. Shalom. :o)

[deleted account]

What is your reason for posting on this board? You seem to criticize everyone and find fault with everyone who posts their opinions.

Amanda - posted on 10/08/2012

188

0

30

You obviously didn't read my post. Lol. I said these are MAN-MADE drugs, which cause more harm than the natural cannabis plant. Not the new "Dabs" things, but the plant itself. When did I judge you? I said if you cared you'd speak out about the things that are actually harming our children vs judging women who use a PLANT that has not been altered. Things such as:



Aspartame (equal, nutrasweet, neotame, aminosweet, aspartate) {sweetner}

-brain tumors and/or lesions, lympomas, lukemia, headaches, dizziness, hallucinations, mood swings, depression, and more



Acesulfame potassium (acesulfame-k, ACE) {sweetner}

-cancer and effects thyroid



BHA (Butylated Hydroxyanisole) {preservative}

-cancer in mice



BHT (Butylated Hydroxytoluene) {preservatie}

-cancer in mice



Olestra (Olean) {fat substitute}

-diarrea, loose stools, abdominal cramps, flatulence



Propyl Gallate {preservative}

-cancer



Potassium Bromate {some bread/pastry products}

-cancer



Rapeseed Oil (canola oil) -contains erucic acid http://www.aspartame.ca/page_oho3.htm

-heart lesions, depletes Vit E, anemia, strips myolin from the nerves



Sodium Nitrate/Nitrite {preservative in meats}

-cancer, lower lung function, DNA mutations, Brain tumors in children



Sodium Benzoate (E211) {preservative}

-malfunctioning in cells, cell death, when taken with Vit C converts to Benzene (carcinogen)



TBHQ (Tetiary Butylhydroquinone) {preservative}

-can cause nausea and delirium



Monosodium Glumate (MSG) http://www.truthinlabeling.org/hiddensou... {flavor enhancer}

AKA-monopotassium glumate, glumate, glutamate acid, sodium caseinate, calcium caseinate, corn oil, Hydrolyzed Anything, textured protien, autolyzed yeast, yeast extract,

yeast nutrient, brewers yeast, maltodextrin, gelatin, Brominated Anything, Protein Concentrate anything

--can cause headaches, chest pain, heart palpitations, nausea, vomiting, sweating, flushing, wheezing, facial numbness, obesity, depression, and more.

http://www.advancedhealthplan.com/msgstu...



I am not judging you, I'm saying stop trolling on Mom's who you don't know anything about, and who just asked a question.

[deleted account]

Cocaine is extracted from the leaves of the Erythroxylum (coca) bush,

Opium, Morphine and codeine come from the poppy plant.

nicotine in tobacco(cigarettes)

Is it OK for pregnant moms to take Cocaine , Opium, morphine, codeine, cigarettes, etc?? Just because something comes from a plant doesn't make it OK.

Oh, and there's always poisonous plants

[deleted account]

I do, I have participated in drug surveys with the FDA regarding current drugs on the market.Organic baby food has been around for years, I used it 21 years ago with my first child and breast fed all my children. I can't change the world all by myself, but at least I can give my opinion to save an unborn baby. Why do you judge me so much??

Amanda - posted on 10/08/2012

188

0

30

We should also consider that many of the synthetic drugs: spice, bath salts, meth, and the newest concoction called 'smiles', which is causing many teens to overdose, came about through the prohibition and war on drugs. These drugs are FAR more worrisome and it's the babies of people who partake in these drugs that are more likely to be at risk, both in the womb and outside of it. G-d gave us cannabis and with it many blessings. Man made cocaine, heroin, PCP and so many more drugs that cause so much more harm including legal prescriptions. I will trust in G-d who created cannabis and made the human body to build immunities to many toxins found in nature, but which cannot compete with the man-made toxins found only in our modern man-made enviroment and food supply that we eat in abundance and do not have time to heal from.

Amanda - posted on 10/08/2012

188

0

30

Oh, well that explains a lot. lol



It still stands, why are you judging others? If you cared about others children you would be speaking out against the FDA putting harmful chemicals in pregnant women's food and baby food which has a direct correlation with autism rates and many modern illnesses that were never seen in children before in the US and world wide.

[deleted account]

I care only about protecting unborn babies. You quote Bob Marley, I quote the bible.It's everyone's responsibility to protect children-even ones that aren't born yet. If the kid grows up and wants to smoke pot when he/she is 18 years old it will be their choice.Now, the baby doesn't have a choice or a voice.



Psalm 139:13–16



13 For you eformed my inward parts;



you fknitted me together in my mother’s womb.



14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.1



gWonderful are your works;



my soul knows it very well.



15 hMy frame was not hidden from you,



when I was being made in secret,



intricately woven in ithe depths of the earth.



16 Your eyes saw my unformed substance;



in your jbook were written, every one of them,



the days that were formed for me,



when as yet there was none of them.

Amanda - posted on 10/08/2012

188

0

30

LMAO! It was done in Jamaica! The birth place of the Rastafari (such as Bob Marley) and a place where cannabis consumption would be legalized if it were not for the USofA's influence. And Linda you're study was done by people trying to keep cannabis illegal that is about one of the worst rationalizations I've heard yet. If you really cared about their babies you would mention eating cannabis instead of smoking it, as the body metabolizes cannabis differently when eaten than smoked, or using a vaporizer so that there is no smoke involved at all, because you’re angry rantings won’t help anyone choose differently. But I understand you don't really care about the truth, and you seem to feel as though you must have the last word, so I'll leave you with this and expect an indignant reply…



"In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves." -Buddha



"The road of life is walked, and you may stumble too, so why are you pointing fingers when someone else is judging you?" -Bob Marley

[deleted account]

Study by a Reefer Professor funded by an organization trying to legalize pot...wow...that's legitimate and scientific. And did it ever occur to anyone that this woman didn't use a laboratory study on animals and the effects of the offspring? She used poor innocent black people in a foreign country(all 20 of them) and coerced them(probably through money) to smoke pot while pregnant, not knowing what it would really do to their babies.

This Reefer Professor should be put in jail. That's like paying 20 desperate pregnant woman to take meth or drink alcohol and wait and see what it does to their babies after they're born.

Deplorable and illegal in this country.

Hope - posted on 10/07/2012

48

0

1

If you all would like a legitimate study.....look up Dr. Melanie Dreher. In her studies, she did have a control group (a group who didn't smoke). It has also hit the mainstream media recently. I'm not sure if this lady has been mentioned previously....but I thought I would put it out there for informational purposes.

http://patients4medicalmarijuana.wordpre...

I believe this is the full study, if anyone wants to read...it's very long:

http://druglibrary.org/schaffer/hemp/med...

Lise - posted on 10/04/2012

1,738

8

233

Also, I *did* look at your "research." None of it was peer-reviewed; none had a control group and placebo group.

Dove - posted on 10/04/2012

5,590

0

1336

Second hand pot smoke makes me sick and dizzy. Why the hell anyone would risk that towards their unborn child completely baffles and disgusts me.



I don't need a study... controlled or otherwise to tell me that smoking ANYTHING messes up your lungs and does damage.... Second hand smoke causes me a lot of damage... and no, it's not intentional. It's the price I pay for actually still being alive.... since too many people in this world smoke.

Amanda - posted on 10/04/2012

188

0

30

Jodi, if you really cared to find out the truth behind the matter, you would look up the studies yourself that prove that there are minimum ill-effects caused to the fetus, and the benefits of marijuana consumption.



You didn't site your resource Linda. Again, modern science proves much of what you said to be contradictory to the truth.



"This implies, but does not establish, that smoking marijuana may lead to some of the same results as smoking cigarettes."



This report you've posted is out-dated.



"Smoking marijuana regularly (a joint a day) can damage the cells in the bronchial passages which protect the body against inhaled microorganisms and decrease the ability of the immune cells in the lungs to fight off fungi, bacteria, and tumor cells. "



If you read the site I posted in my last post you'd see that marijuana fights bacteria and stunts the growth of many tumors (especially cancerous tumors located in the lungs, mouth, prostate, and breasts.)



Whatever this report is you've cited is, it contradicts many of the new studies out there. Since you can't offer me any real information on the negative health effects of marijuana smoking I'm done with this "debate."

Jodi - posted on 10/04/2012

25,931

36

3891

Amanda, you totally missed my point. There are no CONTROLLED studies (please re-read my post with your eyes). There is no such thing with ANY of these substances. Why? Because it would be totally unethical. So therefore, you are relying on correlation, random variables, and other such unreliable data. So to condone, encourage or even justify use of any of these substances during pregnancy is based on absolutely no concrete data at all. Thus my comment about erring on the side of caution.



Despite your knock back of my comment about there being no controlled studies on this issue, the request of others for your peer-reviewed study where apparently babies of marijuana smokers are better off, you still have not been able to provide this information. You make a snide remark about keeping an open mind and being truly able to debate a point, so please, by all means, provide the peer reviewed and controlled studies that support your apparent *factual* statements, and I will be more than happy to keep an open mind. Thus far, you have not delivered, nor TRULY responded to the debated anomalies in your post.

Amanda - posted on 10/04/2012

188

0

30

If you had any open mind about this (and therefore the ability to truly debate your point), then you would know that an unjust law must be broken to prove that it is unjust. Where would we be in Rosa Parks never broke the law and sat at the front of the bus? Not to mention the oldest mummified body found with marijuana was 20,000 years old. The fact that you take this so hard and cannot open your mind to other possibilities than your own shows your lack of knowledge on the subject. As I said before aspartame causes more problems to a fetus, baby than marijuana, cocaine and most illegal drugs (not all.) There are no overdoses on marijuana and before it was made illegal on in 1937 marijuana was the drug of choice for many Doctors. And now because of modern science it is easily proven to be correct, that it is far more effective than any number of synthetic legal drugs currently perscribed. Please do some research before you start making up your stories about why the OP is doing what she's doing.



http://azmedtest.com/educate/cannabinoid...

[deleted account]

Amanda, I have and I do! My father was a cancer researcher for 35 years and always educated me on the dangerous of substances in our foods and fake sugars. But you can be damn sure I don't purposely put illegal drugs into my kids bodies, especially when they are being formed in my womb. I feel really sorry for children of people that want to smoke pot during pregnancy.It is society's job to protect children...adults can do whatever they want to themselves, but if I knew where they lived, I would have social services at their door in a heartbeat knowing what they are making their poor unborn child ingest. Pregnant women get sick, nauseated and vomit when they are pregnant. It is natural...it is hormones surging to develop the unborn child in their uterus.Please, Woman-up people, Get over it and deal with it. It will pass You don't need an illegal drug to make you feel better. Mature people put their child's needs first, not their own.

[deleted account]

I think this person is just looking for attention on this board...no one in their right mind would think it's OK to smoke pot and could actually be good for an unborn baby. Morning sickness is a pregnancy sign that your hormones are doing what they are supposed to be doing. I had it very bad for almost 12 weeks with all 3 of my pregnancies. Deal with it! You don't have to fix it-you just have to get through it. Close to the 4th month of pregnancy it will go away. It will not harm the baby. Rarely, some pregnancies can cause morning sickness throughout the entire pregnancy...there are proven safe medicines ObGyns will give you if it is affecting the health of the baby.This is just a pothead using morning sickness as an excuse to smoke while pregnant.

Amanda - posted on 10/04/2012

188

0

30

http://stash.norml.org/marijuana-consump...



http://patients4medicalmarijuana.wordpre...



These are two of the most popular studies used in reference.



Jodi, of course there are studies, you only need to KNOW a mother is/was an alcoholic, coke user, marijuana smoker, etc. during pregnancy to study the effects on a infant.



Linda, I knew someone would say this, prohibitionists always say something foolish to this extent. When you eat something that is poisionous your body reacts, sometimes instantaneously. You get a rash, hives, breathing problems, diarrhea, I mean really, no I wouldn't pluck and plant out of the ground and smoke it to see if it would get me high. That would be ridiculous and something I can only see a teenager doing. As for keeping my children healthy, what do you know about what you put into your children's bodies? Do you buy ANY processed foods? Then you're ingesting some kind of poison-- sodium benzoate (when combined with Vit C becomes carcingenic, it's in almost every soda and dressing.) Do you allow your children to chew gum, aspartame causes brain lesions, early alzheimers, mimics depression and bi-polar disorder, causes weight gain, diabetes. No to mention that when apartame was legalized for use by the FDA autism and alzheimers rates began to skyrocket. Why don't YOU focus on keeping YOUR children healthy.

Jodi - posted on 10/03/2012

25,931

36

3891

There ARE no controlled studies on this issue. And there never will be. It simply isn't ethically possible. The same as studies on alcohol and pregnancy and smoking and pregnancy. Which is why it is always better to err on the side of caution.

Lise - posted on 10/03/2012

1,738

8

233

Amanda B:

I'd be interested in the study. Do you know if it was peer-reviewed? I know I've seen brain scans comparing brains on drugs and off drugs. Smoking pot does kill brain cells that will never grow back. Smoking anything damages your lungs. You're assuming that people anti-pot are also for other drug use. I'm not. I don't use pain meds, antibiotics, etc. unless absolutely necessary. (Meaning, maybe once every 5 years or so.)

Amanda - posted on 10/03/2012

188

0

30

Honestly, people are absolutely foolish. To trust a drug company that makes money off your pain and sickness, then a plant that grows out of the GROUND. I mean seriously, when did we become so abstract in nature that we don't even trust what the Earth gives us?



I did a lot research on it during my 2nd pregnancy, what I found surprised me. There was an article I found that actually showed a correlation between marijuana and lower infant mortality rates. There were infact less deaths from a mother that exclusively smoked marijuana (and took no other drugs) than the mothers who took no drugs during their pregnancy. And honestly, people get into such an uproar, but they still ask if you need anti-depressants during pregnancy if you're feeling down and we KNOW this can cause them health problems.

[deleted account]

If there is even a question in your mind that it could harm your child, why would you do that? You are selfish. I didn't even take an aspirin when I was pregnant to make sure nothing harmed my babies.Start being a good mother now and put your baby's needs first

[deleted account]

Being pregnant makes you a parent. It is a baby inside of you...not a bunch of tissue or an extension of an organ of yours.Would you stick a joint in a baby or toddler's mouth?No difference if you smoke pot.Everything you put into your body goes into the baby's body.

You are a Mom now...your child's needs come first-not yours.

And I don't know where you're getting your information from, but I do believe that if you want something to be OK bad enough, you will eventually find enough false information on the internet to support it. But it doesn't mean it's true or right.

Alecia - posted on 09/20/2012

644

21

43

i guess ill throw this out there too...but i feel like im pre-defending myself, and i dont have to deefnd at all. i do not smoke whole joints at a time. holey shit, i dont even do that not pregnant, when im out with friends!!! and people who condemn it so whole-heartedly...do you smoke cigarrettes? way more harmful and the carcinogens are able to be absorbed into your body easier than the ones in pot smoke. and some types of cannabis actually decrease your chance of lung cancer when inhaled!! and yes, there is a study to prove it. ill locate it and put it on here. no, i have not heard about higher IQ's..that is really just about the person, and not too many outside things influence that. doctors are not 100% sure about it, and its still illegal thanks to our uptight govt (no..should not be free reign, but like Germany and other European countries...we are so far behind the curve on A LOT of things like maternity leave..), thats why they say dont. but there is proof that its not harmful! and no, its doesnt kill brain cells. rumors and lies is what is holding this back. alcohol os poison and is the most dangerous drug to try quit cold-turkey when you are severely addicted. you can stop smoking pot and have no side effects except maybe being a lil cranky. research..its out there. read from both sides and you will learn the truth. and dont judge individuals so harshly for something you dont understand. not everyone is the same or does things for the same reason. being 250lbs when pregnant is bad for you..but i have a feeling some on here are...

Alecia - posted on 09/20/2012

644

21

43

i also did extensicve research while pregnant with my first. continued to smoke because of what i found...or didnt find. my daughter is 3, very, very healthy, active, bright and awesome :) obviously too early to find out if she is truely advanced, but she is super smart and into learning, and has an amazing memory!! she is certianly not perfect, but no one is. people who judge are usually hypocrits..they do things like smoke cigs, drink soda, and eat junk. i smoke, take pretty good care of myself and my daughter all day and work at night for some extra income. all bills are paid and food, diapers and clothes are bought. if i didnt smoke while pregnant, id end up in the hospital because i can not eat, or keep anything down without it...and believe me, ive tried. ive taken prescription meds, vitamins, tried every tip i can find, and still my nausea persist without it. (meds do work for a few days, but thats about it. i save them for my AWFUL days so they are more effective). people can judge all they want. if i needed to quit for any reason, i could in a heartbeat. i just dont see the point in suffering needlessly for 9 nine months...especially since i do my labor with no pain meds...at least the pregnancy can go fairly nicely. and now that i have a child, i can't be in and out of the hospital with dehydration.

J.M - posted on 08/24/2012

5

0

0

Ok.... First I would like to admit I do smoke pot. I have researched weather it's harmful or not to smoke while pregnant. Smoking anything, while pregnant cuts off the oxygen supply to your fetus.... Obviously this is NOT GOOD! I have never in my life read anywhere that it makes your hold have a higher iq! I think that's crap! I have read that it causes behavior problems in children of ages 6 and up through teenage years! I think if you have bad, bad, bad morning sickness and you have tryed everything else maybe give it a try. And I'm thinking to try a little bit, not smoking a whole joint to your head. And I also agree with , why would you risk it? It's selfish to smoke pot just because you want to, while your pregnant. I also believe all things in moderation. Good luck

Jodi - posted on 08/20/2012

25,931

36

3891

"many studies do show that the kids end up having a higher IQ at times but it just depends on the parents attention with their child and the ignorance people decide to have on their own."

Actually, this is probably the bit I am laughing at. Apparently the IQ depends on parents attention, etc. I'm thinking it hasn't occurred to the lady that studies have shown that parental attention is one of the single highest factor in the development of optimum IQ in a child, and that the marijuana has nothing to do with it, LOL.

[deleted account]

" Plus all the people I know that smoked during pregnancy and after their children are the smartest kids I ever seen, and many studies do show that the kids end up having a higher IQ"

Huh? There are studies that say moms who smoke pot during pregnancy have smarter kids??

Crystal - posted on 08/19/2012

7

0

1

I agree it does help with morning sickness, nausea, muscle pain, stress, sleeplessness, and even lack of hunger

Crystal - posted on 08/19/2012

7

0

1

I understand you I smoked a few times while pregnant and it actually made my emotional connection stronger with my baby. I stopped because I felt guilty that my body was her temple and her home but now I'm happily breastfeeding and still smoke now and then, the fact I am more relaxed makes her happier and we actually seem to spend more time bonding (even though shes barely going to be 2 months) but the first year is the most crucial for mother and child. and yes cigarettes are worse than marijuana plus the smoke goes in your lungs and still has to go through a filtering process in your body so by the time it would reach your baby it's not too significant. Plus all the people I know that smoked during pregnancy and after their children are the smartest kids I ever seen, and many studies do show that the kids end up having a higher IQ at times but it just depends on the parents attention with their child and the ignorance people decide to have on their own. If you are not too sure try it your heart will let you know on whether or not it is right for you. Alcohol is worse and Doctors say a glass is ok why not a bowl? Doctors dont have enough research to prove its wrong but they dont recommend it because they don't know, which is better to be safe than sorry in their opinion. But follow your heart and intuition not everyone has the same lifestyles because not all work the same for everyone.

Janice - posted on 06/02/2012

1,890

18

63

Its absolutely not okay in my opinion.
If you wouldn't smoke pot next to your newborn than why would you do it while pregnant?
I smoked regularly before having children but I would never chance putting my baby at risk. There are sooo many things you need to avoid during pregnancy because it could harm your unborn child. Its not a definite that they will be harmed but why would you take that risk?

Tania - posted on 05/31/2012

4

0

1

okay thats fine but i never said it was me what people want to do with their life is not my problem i was just writing down what i felt and what i have seen from past women that i know

Sally - posted on 05/31/2012

577

5

11

so when the babys born your'd be happy to let them keep on having a puff on a joint. There is no difference between smoking it before their born and letting puff away after but thats only my humble opinion.

Tania - posted on 05/31/2012

4

0

1

well i just think it depends on the person i know alot of women that used to smoke during pregnant and there kids are just great i my husbands mother used to drink and smoke cig. when she was pregnant and my husband is very intelligent i also have hear that it helps with the morning sickness

Sherri - posted on 05/24/2012

9,593

15

387

Frickin stupid in my opinion. I don't believe anything good could come of it but I could see a whole shit load of bad that could.

Elfrieda - posted on 05/23/2012

2,620

0

458

Um, I think we can pretty much agree that inhaling smoke is bad for you. No matter what drugs are in that smoke, I think it's a terrible idea to do it at all, let alone while carrying a little passenger.

Corinne - posted on 05/23/2012

92

1

4

It was a 15 year national study in Canada actually. Just gonna throw out there, I'm not smoking this pregnancy... for no reason other than I haven't done enough research on it to feel 100% about it.

Terina - posted on 05/23/2012

120

23

5

theres evidence to show smoking harms your baby when pregant so should be the same with any toxins.... what we do as mothers i. e what goes in our body when pregnant or breast feeding the baby recieves aswell. course it can harm the baby !!!! where onearth did you read that. you may know a few mums who smoked through their pregancy and their kids are fine but theres probably more who you may know who dont willingly tell you their kid has asthma cos of thier smoking . each to their own id say though i certainly dont agree with it . and obviuosly a post ike this will rattle a few cages

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms