Movie Choices for my 4 year old: What's your opinion?

Amber - posted on 12/24/2009 ( 15 moms have responded )

17

39

0

Hi! A couple of weeks ago, me and my fiance were watching 'Lord of the Rings: The Felllowship of the Ring' when my 4 year old daughter came out from playing in her room, and started watching it with us. She absolutly loved it, and has asked to watch it many times since then. I don't see anything wrong with allowing her to watch it, but apparently other ignorant people seem to think that she is too young to be watching movies like that!! They say that its too scary... Her favorite movies are things like : The Chronicles of Narnia 1+2, and Night at the Museum 1+2 (which are considered childrens/family movies). Both of those movies have killing and death in them also. She doesn't get nightmares at all, and is extremely mature for her age. 'Lord of the Rings' is classical storytelling, she loves elves, dwarfs, wizards and so on... I don't think there is anything wrong with her understanding death at a young age, it will just make things easier when the enevitable happens to someone close to us. At the same time, people make their children go to church and read to them out of the bible, if the story of Jesus's crusifixtion isn't more brutal than anything she'll see on the movies I let my daughter watch, then I'll eat my own socks!!! So my question is... do you think I'm wrong in my way of thinking? What would you do in my situation???

15 Comments

View replies by

Staci - posted on 11/23/2011

37

43

0

I actually have the STAR WARS feed going on now on my question. Up until now, my 5 year old son has watched only disney/pixar and curious george movie, Milo and Otis, the red balloon,etc. Although because he is advanced in reading we read books that are meant for older kids, Captain underpants, fly guy, flat Stanley. I am not sure where I will shake out on the Star Wars debate that I asked about. I think there is a difference in what they can determine is pretend and real. I also agree with most parents, it depends on the child. Mine, I believe is probably to young and immature, maybe yours isnt!

Staci - posted on 11/23/2011

37

43

0

I actually have the STAR WARS feed going on now on my question. Up until now, my 5 year old son has watched only disney/pixar and curious george movie, Milo and Otis, the red balloon,etc. Although because he is advanced in reading we read books that are meant for older kids, Captain underpants, fly guy, flat Stanley. I am not sure where I will shake out on the Star Wars debate that I asked about. I think there is a difference in what they can determine is pretend and real. I also agree with most parents, it depends on the child. Mine, I believe is probably to young and immature, maybe yours isnt!

Sharlene - posted on 11/17/2011

3,896

241

825

I would'nt think a child that would understand a movie that you mention,LOL

Kelly - posted on 11/17/2011

3

37

0

Both my kids (6yr old daughter and 4yr old son) watch Star Wars, Pirates of the Caribbean, Narnia (only the first one since I don't have the 2nd), Harry Potter, Twilight, Night at the Museum, Nightmare before Christmas. I have all 3 lord of the rings, just haven't put on for my kids yet (mainly because I forget about them lol) I let them watch most movies as long as it isn't to sexual or gory (some movies just have to much gore)..Both my kids know its just movies and its not real. I think by exposing them to different movies helps with their imagination.

Melodie - posted on 06/08/2011

28

0

3

I think if they don't have nightmares because of it, and they can handle it let them watch it. My kids are older now 10 and 12. We let them watch movies with just about anything but sex, or any kind of nudity in it. And they don't watch scary movies just because it creeps them out. My husband and I say that if we are not uncomfortable watching it in front of them then it is ok. We do preview movies if they are in question. For example my kids have seen all the twilight movies but the new one we are going to have to see first before we decide if they can see it. As far as violence goes it took awhile before we let them watch real violent movies, but now they watch the news and see all kinds of real violence on there. I do agree with the other moms be available to answer any questions they may have. And you may have to skip through some parts but thats ok. It is totally up to you, you know your child better than anyone.

Bevely - posted on 06/01/2011

120

0

16

I think this depends on just how sensative the kids are and if they are easily influenced by movies. My kids are 9 and 7, they don't watch rated R movies at all, but have watched some PG 13 movies as long as they are not all blood and guts or sexual content. As far as cuss words, as long as they aren't used in a sexual provactive way we don't ban movies for language. Both of my kids have seen the Twilight movies (not too sure about letting them watch the last ones until I see them at least), Harry Potter (my 9 year old has read the books). I really don't think LOTR or POTC are bad, unless they just scare the kids. Transformers were way over my youngest kids head so he really wasn't too interested in them at first, but he likes them now.

Jennifer - posted on 05/30/2011

103

52

0

my son will be 5 in the fall and I have rules about the movies he watches. any movie he watches (the first few times at least) are with me in the room (to answer questions and so on) 99% of movies he watches have been watched by me first. (some Pixar/Disney type movies get past this - but are always viewed with me in the room)

his favorite movies are all the Pirate, Star Wars, ect...his all time favs are Transformers 1 and 2 and he's upset that I won't let him watch 3 the day it comes out. lol.

so long as you are there and she can ask questions that she has and you will answer them and you are not allowing her to watch things you don't think she should...then it is all good. the ratings are suggestions in truth...every child is different. my stepkids have seen movies that I know some adults can't watch!

Darlene - posted on 12/29/2009

29

11

4

I made the mistake of letting my then 4 year old watch transformers the movie not the cartoon, and he loved it, but he had violent nightmares from it and I will not allow him to watch them again. Night at the Museum yes, just a little fighting, not a big deal. Just use your best judgement.

Cindy - posted on 12/29/2009

13

5

1

Every child is different and reacts in different ways. My son who is 7 is scared of the Jim Carey version of The Grinch. He will not watch it and says DO NOT MAKE ME WATCH IT MOMMY !!! BUt he will watch the cartoon one with no problem. I don't let my kids watch anything with death or violence that seems realistic or sexual content. We watch cartoons that show the superheroes getting hurt and dying but its not real people and he knows that. I say, look at the guidelines but you know your child best of all and no one can judge you or tell you how to raise your child. If they have an opinion, that's fine...but its exactly that. My son had night terrors and I can tell you from experience that it is sooo hard to deal with and very exhausting for us... that is why we monitored what he watched so closely.

Anna-Marie - posted on 12/28/2009

34

18

1

My kids watch those movies as well and love them! My older one who is now 6 has been watching movies like that since he was 4 and now my younger one has just turned 4 & loves them too...I always skip bits in a few movies & explain to the kids that they are 'too scary' or 'that bit's boring'....I have a degree in film/drama & my husband is a computer programmer so we always watch the making of all these films (even ones like Toy Story when they were younger) & they understand it's just pretend or made by computers....The same for ads on tv etc, I explain that they are selling something & it's not real...kids these days are being brought up with so much technology around them that I think it's good for them to understand it and enjoy it as something entertaining. My younger son from the age of 2 knew his whole alphabet & can now read words & count to 100 with me teaching him & also the time spent watching many episodes of 'Blues Clues', so where's the harm?

Carley - posted on 12/28/2009

55

25

6

My experience is that our girls are going to see and hear things in everyday life, we feel free to watch whatever we are comfortable watching because my husband and I lead by example. I grew up in a family where my parents said, "Do as I say, not as I do." My dad made us watch R rated movies full of gory violence, drugs and pornography, they were nothing short of the way he led his life. Ofcorse you and I see that this is not right.
So we make sure that none of our conduct is going to shape our children in a negative way.
We do not swear or act abusivly, and yes we are parents that take our children to "church" and I read to them the from the bible regularly, explaining the illistrations in the bible in an easy to understand way, this is not wrong.
We need to prepare our children for the wide world, if you shut them out from all the different experinces that are surrounding them, they're likely to become over whelmed when they step out on their own feet...
Ofcorse we aren't putting things under their noses, but children need to be aware of what the world is really like... Its bad, people are damaging their bodies, physically abusing and selfish to the extent of doing anything to get what they want, this is going to continue... As imperfection keeps going people are getting worse, its a loveless, selfish society and only those who strive their hardest to maintain humility, love and compassion will be happy..
So my answer to your question is this: If your leading a good example for your children, and explaining what they see to them, training right from wrong.. there is no problem.. I don't think your overstepping boundaries. Conatantly bombarding your children with "fairy tales" is going to retard their maturity.
Have a great day ;)

Christine - posted on 12/27/2009

2

12

0

Alvin and the chipmunks, the disney princess collection, tinkerbells new movies, the little einstiens, any disney cartoon movie, have you gone to pixiehollow.com its a game for kids in tinkerbells world its tons of fun, even i enjoy playing it.

[deleted account]

If the movie contains sex, nudity, bad language(more that one cuss word) then my kids aren't allowed to watch that movie. I say if you feel comfortable with your child watching it and the child's behavior isn't negatively changing, then it' fine

[deleted account]

i dont think you are wrong at all... my kids watch movies that are a bit older than they are.. (my 3 year old likes men in black, gremlins... ) its all on how you feel. if you dont feel ok with it, then chances are she shouldnt be watching it. =)

Mandy - posted on 12/24/2009

3

3

2

If your ok with it then dont worry about it. My niece and nephew were not allowed to watch pirates of the Caribbean but my kids who are a lot younger were. After my SIL found out that I allowed my kids to watch it they were allowed.

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms