opinion on getting my 5 yr old a DSI for Christmas

Melva - posted on 11/30/2009 ( 65 moms have responded )

7

4

1

my son asked Santa for a DSI and a Wii for Christmas. he's well behaved in school and one of the smartest kids in class. but i'm not sure if that would be a great present because i'm afraid he would be addicted to it and have a problem when i ask him to stop or put it away. any suggestions?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Angie - posted on 11/30/2009

2,621

0

407

I think a bike, rollerskates, rollerblades or any such toy is a wiser choice. I am sure he would love a DSL or a Wii but children have become so inactive these days that I think we should really think twice about buying video games. My 16 year old son bought himself an XBox 360 I refused to buy one.

Cherie - posted on 12/08/2009

8

22

0

my 3 year old has a DS and plays it 1 hour a day . its great she has had it 5 months and i see her inproving and being more confident in outher things she douse

[deleted account]

Why is it that so many people assume if you get your kids video games it is to shut them up and they are used as a babysitter. Once your kids reach a certain age coloring just doesn't cut it anymore. On rainy days my kids read and play with toys but they get bored and still need exercise, we pop on the wii and play as a family, they play baseball and tennis and run and jump just like they were outside without tearing up the house. As far as the car goes, my kids play games together on the ds and once they hit 7 and 8 they were over the i spy and car games. How can you stereotype everyone that buys their child a video game system as uninvolved, if that's that case you are labeling a very large percentage of the population and i don't believe that's true. I read books and have craft time all the time with my kids but sometimes they just want mom to cut lose and rock out with them on guitar hero and guess what? It's FUN!

Helen - posted on 12/01/2009

224

3

39

y do people feel the need to buy such young children all these un nessaseray things my eldest girls ave a tv dvd combi but r only allowed to watch it while they fall asleep then its off which only is on for 15 mins max lol the rest of their time is spent doin things as a family like visiting parks gettin fresh air running roiund like kids should on rainy days its colouring an making sticky pics or playing with toys helps to develop there mind a lot better than watching a games console screen for wat ever lenth of time alot of people i think shove one in there kids hands just to shut them up instead of doing things there selves as for giveing them one on car journeys ect how silly we play eye spy or the kids write down things they see an how many let kids b kids i say was all us adults shoved a ds wen we were younger no we were told to play toys or get sum fresh air

Carrie - posted on 11/30/2009

2

1

1

My son got a DS for his 5th Bday and Wii for his 6th. He loves movies and video games but you are the parent and you can control how much he uses it or doesn't. Set the limits! So many kids have them and you're right, soooo many kids over use them b/c the parents don't set the limits. During the school week my son doesn't get to watch more than 30 minutes of TV, usually 10 in the morning and maybe 20 at night or he can choose to play a video game at night for limited time (AFTER doing homework and dinner) On the weekends he gets more free time to play legos, video games, tv b/c he doesn't get to during the week alot of the time b/c of our schedule.

Hope that helps.. he's learned what the guidelines/boundaries for use are. some days he wants to play/watch more but he knows the rules on use.

65 Comments

View replies by

Jamie - posted on 12/08/2009

1

15

0

We have the Wii and I also purchased Nintindo DS for last Christmas for my daughter who is 7. I told her she could play on the condtion that her grades are kept up and chores done. She is doing pretty good about it. It is also something to take away if grades drop, etc. Hope this helps!!!

Claire - posted on 12/08/2009

12

52

1

I think it all depends on the parents choice to be honest.

My oldest wanted a DS when she was 5 for her xmas. But we decided not to. It seemed to us too much money to spend on her at the time. Our daughter at that time we felt was too young to have such an expensive thing...(shes very accident prone too lol and a little clumsy and so we didnt want to buy her it and have her break it)

We bought her a DS for her 7th birthday this year. She was that little more responsible enough to look after it.

Again this is just my partner and my personal opinion on the matter.

:)

Andrea - posted on 12/07/2009

3

20

0

My son has a DS and a Wii! My son too is very well behaved and does well in school. He will be 6 in April! He will get his DS out every once in awhile and play the Wii occassionally and he is a gamer...gets that from his dad. I have had no issues with my son. He knows school work must be done before anything else!! Good Luck! I don't think u will have any issues espicially with him being only 5.

Bekki - posted on 12/07/2009

186

6

8

Quoting Jeanette:

Hi Bekki,

I don't think Camille was trying to blame the DS for missing children. I think she was simply trying to inform parents of features that maybe of some concern or not to be ignored. Which in fact is what she did. I had known absolutely nothing of this DS and like a lot of parents, was under the impression that it was just a gaming console for your regular gaming pleasure. :D


To everyone:

To add a little more info, the DS packaging does give a brief explanation of what it's main features are.

From this point on I would like to see nothing more of who's to blame for missing children and more of the DS, it's features and the age appropriate games.

Thanks,

Jean


 



 



I was in no way blaming the DS or thinking she was blaming the DS for missing children i think you massively misread what i wrote there.



I was saying a parent needs to read the product specifications to know that chat is available.  And that with the chat being available a child should never be in a position where a stranger can access the chat function with them, if they are outside with their ds they need a parent there .. they need a parent there with or without the DS..period.   Lessening the ability for  a stranger to get close enough to text them through the DS would be the first priority.

Kimberly - posted on 12/07/2009

2

51

0

My 5 year old loves to play the Wii and his DS. It doesn't have to be a negative thing. Time on video games whatever system you may choose, can be earned or revoked. My kids do not play during the week and if they get in touble at school they loose the weekends as well. I have also noticed that when my 5 year old is being a little wild and needs to calm down, the DS works well. We have several different systems at our house and if you limit them appropriately, it will be fun for all! The Wii is especially fun for family game night! I hope this helps and have a Merry Christmas.

Samantha - posted on 12/07/2009

1

21

0

i have a 6 year old daughter and we brought her a ds lite for her birthday in september and she loves it yes she plays on it all the time but the rules are which were established the day after she got it was homework first tidy your room and eat your dinner before you play on it...... and she listens aswell. yes we get a huff of her but i know people that brought their kids one and they played it till the novelty wore off but joey li still plays hers and she has educational games like spot the difference and i did it mummy spelling. and as far as im concerned it she still plays it and it money well spent . best of luck in your descion but i have never looked back also if you are gonna get one i suggest looking up a R4 for them if your getting a dsi then its a R4i even more money well spent saved us hundreds of pounds . xxxxxx

Tammy - posted on 12/07/2009

8

26

0

My son (age 8) has a Leapster L-Max & loves it. We had first gotten him a V-Smile when he was 4, when it broke (V-Tech wouldn't help fix it after inly 6 months of use) I look at getting something else & finally purchaed this one. You can get a wide variety of games for a wide variety of ages/grade levels. And yes like others have said just set limits if need be. Hope you find something that will make everyone happy!

Grevanals - posted on 12/07/2009

12

6

1

well my 4 year old got one last year so i say get your 5year old one it keeps them busy for hours

Jeanette - posted on 12/07/2009

136

54

24

Hi Bekki,

I don't think Camille was trying to blame the DS for missing children. I think she was simply trying to inform parents of features that maybe of some concern or not to be ignored. Which in fact is what she did. I had known absolutely nothing of this DS and like a lot of parents, was under the impression that it was just a gaming console for your regular gaming pleasure. :D


To everyone:

To add a little more info, the DS packaging does give a brief explanation of what it's main features are.

From this point on I would like to see nothing more of who's to blame for missing children and more of the DS, it's features and the age appropriate games.

Thanks,

Jean

Stacy - posted on 12/06/2009

224

38

15

I got all 4 of myt kids a dsi, my youngest is 4. What I do with the PS3, is trade learning time for game time. Then I monitore the amount of time they play. As long as you have him on a schduel from the start, you shouldn't have a problem. You tell him when he can play, not the other way around.

Bekki - posted on 12/06/2009

186

6

8

I know they can.. But it's not the fault of the DS as it is the fault of the parent. Too many children go missing these days and at the end of the day most cases are because of parental neglect. A parent should be checking the specifics and product description before allowing their children to use things. Children have been going missing at parks, walking home from school.. ect.. Children should not be walking more than a block home from school without an adult until they are at least in junior high. The case of Somer Thompson just stunned me to no end! She was too young to be walking a MILE home from school without an adult present but it was all good and ok until she went missing.. I know the problem is buses don't run for children in a certain distance but that becomes the parents problem to deal with .. No child should be out at a park without a parent, walking home from school without a parent.. anywhere.. without a parent or adult present.. period.

Camille - posted on 12/06/2009

26

13

1

I just checked the distance is like 100 feet. I have seen MANY children at a playground w/ a DS and the parent is nearby but I'm not sure how many parents are even aware that the DS has this capability. I had actually heard of a case where a child was chatting w/ a stranger using such a device and decided to meet this stranger at 2 in the morning. A lot of kids who use these devices are at the age where they don't realize the danger. If parents don't know that the DS has this funtionality then how can they prevent it? I was simply informing parents that a child CAN use a DS to chat w/ strangers.

Bekki - posted on 12/06/2009

186

6

8

Quoting Camille:

If you do decide to get a DSi or even a DS lite PLEASE be careful! Both of these have WiFi access which means that a STRANGER can access chat functions w/ your child as long as they are within so many feet. . I would be close by ANYTME your child is using the DS.


 



what stranger is gonna get 5 feet from your child just for chat?? You have to be like.. pretty darn close together to get the chat function to work. .and it still doesnt work all that well.. Anyone sick enough to try chatting with a child is also sick enough to snatch them up.. Why would a child be standing outside with a game system??   if a predator is getting within feet of your child without you noticing.. the DS is the least of your worries.

Bekki - posted on 12/06/2009

186

6

8

I don't get how parents can limit their childs tv time to like .. an hour or less.. do you limit your time as well?? doubtful... there are many shows that are good for kids. my kids watch hours and hours of tv a day and i couldn't be happier.. through dora and diego they have both learned spanish words.. Through the fresh beats my youngest is learning about cool instruments.. spongebob and icarly are just family faves.
Whats good for the goose people.. If you limit your kids tv shouldn't you be limiting your own? I don't like being unfair with my kids and do things that i tell them not to do.. teach by example i guess?

Kelly - posted on 12/05/2009

73

27

3

ok my children are the ages of 11 yrs 6yrs 4yrs 2yrs and 10 mnths we have alway had a game system in the house of one kind or another well when my son was 3 and my oldest was 7 they wanted to play our playstation 2 well i had a couple of games that were easy to play and age ok so we let them play now my oldest is 11 and dylan is 6 we have an xbox360 the kids play on it there are some great games that are good for his age we also let the kids play on the internet they have their own screenname we use aol for the kids because of the parental controls they cannot go into any website that is not allowed in their age group and aol has a great website of games that goes right to pbs kids now on getting addicted when you get it let him know that he only gets to play it for an hour a day let him know that it has to be after his chores if he has any and after homework if any and when he starts to play make sure to either have a timer or clock near by either det the timer for an hour or tell him what the clock will say when its time for him to get off

Camille - posted on 12/05/2009

26

13

1

If you do decide to get a DSi or even a DS lite PLEASE be careful! Both of these have WiFi access which means that a STRANGER can access chat functions w/ your child as long as they are within so many feet. . I would be close by ANYTME your child is using the DS.

Diane - posted on 12/05/2009

1

6

0

I got my daughter a DSlite when she was 7. She likes to play it, but I do regulate how long she plays it. We got a Wii last year. The whole family likes to play Wii. You as the parent have the choice of what games your son will be able to play. I don't think playing the games that are violent are very healthy for any one.

Karen - posted on 12/05/2009

5

34

0

I'm a nursery nurse and I think it's ok as long as you limit the time they use it, kids should be out in the garden experiencing the world!

Lisa - posted on 12/05/2009

7

18

1

My children received a wii two years ago for Christmas. I enjoy playing with them. I love the fact that you can excersise with the wii. They have wii fit and wii active. I do not just give my children these electronic computer games to shut them up. My youngest child received a v-tech game console two years ago. That teaches letters and numbers but with cartoon charters that they are used to watching on tv. Like my youngest daughter played Dora. Yes I believe as the parent you set limits for the amount of time your children play. We just recently got Super Mario Brothers and it is very fun. It does teach hand eye coordination. Play the games with your children. Both outside as well as inside. My oldest child loves to play basketball and when the weather is warm we are outside playing but it is nice to have games to play inside when it is raining or too cold outside. I just think as long as you are spending time with your kids it does not matter if you are playing video games or coloring.

Stephanie - posted on 12/05/2009

4

3

0

I agree with your hesitation--I would rather have my kids read. But there is nothing wrong with appropriate video games if there are limitations. Maybe Santa could write a note that he should't play it for longer than x minutes each day, then you can enforce Santa's rule (be sure you stay on top of time limits--an hour goes by so fast).

The other consideration is that games are small and easily lost or damaged--decide if your child can resonably take care of the unit and games. Set up a place for the unit and games to be placed every time he is done playing.

I reluctantly got one for my 7 and 5 year old and they have done well learning the limits and taking care of it.

Good luck with your decision.

Debi - posted on 12/05/2009

130

36

14

I think if you set boundaries it is a great way to get them to have good eye hand coronation

Nicole - posted on 12/04/2009

1

19

0

My daughter got a ds for her 6th bday this year and i think that it depends on the child. no one knows your child better then you! I you feel that he is responsible enough for one and will take care of it can read at least a little I say get him one and watch his little face light up when he opens it!

Dalma - posted on 12/04/2009

2

18

0

I too am getting my 5 year old a DSI and am terrified. i just found out my 4 year old nephew lost his and the other one had his broken by his 6 year old sister. but it's too late as my daughter has been begging for it for so long and I broke down and bought them. But geez $500 for 2 dsi and a couple of games is ridiculous! I remember when Barbie and cabbage patch dolls where the call of the day!

Joanne - posted on 12/04/2009

19

4

2

I have bought my 5 year old daughter a pink DS for Christmas. It's the only thing she's asked for. She is a lovely little girl, doing great at school and is always well-behaved. I think she deserved it! Her older brother and sister both have one too, so that helped make her mind up!!
The educational games are good, but to be honest, any game they play there is still reading involved, it improves their hand/eye coordination and problem solving skills.
Sometimes though, it's great to give them a game that is 100% purely for fun. Childhood is probably the only time you get to kick back and just have fun without any worries. Let's not get TOO caught up with forcing only educational games on them. Let's let them enjoy life as a child too.
If the DS is used carefully as a toy, and mixed in with all the other things that kids play with and learn from, then it's brilliant.
Obviously there have to be ground rules with it, and I'd agree with the half an hour limit on a schoolday, and an hour on weekends.
Hope everyone has a fab Christmas!!

HEATHER - posted on 12/03/2009

28

30

2

I found my daughter has a blast with the Wii. Plus it wears her out by the end of the day. (She is 5). Or a fun route to check into too. We have a excersize mat we bought for our V-Smile. Now that thing is fun!!!! It has running games, trampoline games, lots and lots and lots of stuff!!

Danielle - posted on 12/03/2009

4

43

0

I agree with most of the parents on here my son started with a ds at around three they have age approiate games like boys game room and kids game room that teach them numbers and stuff. For a five year old the mario games work best for my son

Maggie - posted on 12/03/2009

2

30

0

my daughter is 6 and started playing my ds at under 5 - she thn got her own dsi at 5 and also has a wii- i thinkthey are a great thing as i have bought loads of more educational games and they can learn when the think tey are playing - also the wii is great forthem getting some excercise and off thier butt wen it bad weather - my daghter however is only allowed on it at the weekends and for no longer than a hour at a time. The firs few weeks it is all that they can think about - now tho it hardly gets touched and uses the camera on it more than the games - like aything they are fine in moderation

[deleted account]

I am getting my daughter one for Christmas. He can put it away when you ask him too or there can be consequences.

Theresa - posted on 12/03/2009

74

20

7

We got one for our 5 year old. It just now broke, three years later. We set the limits at the start, no playing on school days/nights, no playing for hours on end on weekends, etc. It's just never been a problem. There are many times when he could play with it and chooses not to.

It only becomes a problem if you let it. You make the rules.

[deleted account]

Both of my kids have one. We started out with learning games, reading, math & Ispy. We started with a leapster when she was 3 or 4 & when she grew out of that she got the DS.

Paula - posted on 12/03/2009

2

16

0

If you live close to a GameStop or GameCrazy you might want to start off with a used one, they are cheaper and you can really see how they will treat it. A friend might have one and he might be great with it, but if he has his own he might get frustrated with it and do the button smashing or throw it like my son did! Gamestop sells a warrenty on them that covers button smashing...Just a thought before you throw down almost 200 bucks on a toy! Also you might try only letting him have it durning certain times, I had to take my sons from him because he would be up at 2am playing it or take it to school with him. Now he is allowed only 1hr a day if his homework is done. If he has no home work I let him play an extra 30 but that is restricted time to his games about learning, brain age ect...

Amber - posted on 12/03/2009

13

35

2

I have a 5 year old daughter & a 10 year old son. When my son was 5 he got his 1st xbox & he was on it alot but not too much. I have taken specialized parenting classes & this was actually one of the discussions I had. Give your child set limitations and rules before they start to play. Such as Okay it's 2:00 you have 1 hour to play the video game then you have to get off. Then give them time warnings like 20 minutes left 10 minutes left so they are aware that their time is coming to a close. If they still don't want to get off give them a warning that if they don't get off or shut it off they won't be able to play it tomarrow. I do this with my 10 year old on the computer and it does work. I just got my daughter a leapster 2 for Christmas, I thought about the DSI but think it may be too advanced for her age. I also thought about getting the WII for Christmas because it is something we can do together as a family. I think the WII would be a great idea. If you look online at Target.com, I came across a WII Bundle for 249.99 it comes with most of the accessories, it's really the best deal you will find for a Wii. Good luck and Hope your son has a Merry Christmas.

Doris - posted on 12/03/2009

3

27

0

As a manager of a toysrus, I have found that the dsi is too advanced for a five year old. And just there arent many learning games. Also, they are not responsible enough to keep up with it and they break easy, so if you do buy it make sure you get a case and insurance on it. I say a leap frog system is more approriate for that age range. My daughter is 5 and enjoys it. and all the games are for learning, they dont break as easily and you wont feel as bad if her leaves a $40 game verses a $180 game in the restuarant. Invest in the Wii cause the whole family will be able to enjoy it.

Stacie - posted on 12/02/2009

0

0

2

Basically if you can afford it then get it. Also if he can read then he has some idea of what is going on. and finally set limits on how long it can be played. My daughter is 5 and she wants a pink DS for Christmas I hate when we go out and kids se other kids with something that they do not have and the otherkid doesn't want to share and your kid starts crying drives me crazy

Heather - posted on 12/02/2009

1

7

0

my daughter who will be 5 in march got a wii for christmas last year and will be getting a ds lite this christmas. We run our house by mom/dad dollars. I read about it in family fun magazine. She doesn't play (1/2 hr or hour spans) unless she does other things and earns fake money to buy tv, wii, computer time. Works really well and also teaches her the value of a dollar.

Carolyn - posted on 12/02/2009

4

32

0

I got a DS for Christmas for myself when they first came out about 4 years ago. My 6 year old has played with it occasionally, I only let him play the E-for everyone games. He asks to play it very infrequently, so on average 1/2- to 1 hour every 3 or 4 months or so. Yet he also put one on his Christmas wish list (along with a bunch of other stuff he will not get- Flat screen TV, etc) I have told him he will not be getting his own DS at this point, he can borrow mine on occasion. I rarely play with it either. Kids at this age start asking for things that other kids have. If you get one, yes you can limit it's use. I disagree with another reply that said kids at that age don't like to colour, etc. Of course they do! Unless they never did in the first place or electronics have replaced those pursuits. I admit I can't stand seeing young kids playing them when they are waiting in line or something.
Probably an important point to consider, is when you buy an expensive electronic toy for a 5 year old, what will he be getting the next year, and then the next year, probably the longer you can hold off getting them these things the better for the child- and your budget!

Donna - posted on 12/02/2009

2

23

0

My 5 year old got a DS last Christmas and she loves it. She has some problems with some games but does good for the most part. Do be sure to get a case to keep everything in because the pieces can get lost easily. I insist it be returned to the case when she is done. On the other hand my * year old is on his second and it is much harder to get him to keep it all together. Good luck=-)

Lori - posted on 12/02/2009

58

10

9

I have a 7 year old step daughter who since this summer has wanted a DS. Her then 4 year old twin cousins have one each and she got to play it some when we were on vacation together. I personally don't think it is ok for 4 year olds to have one, let alone one EACH. The whole time she and my then 4 year old other step-daughter were constantly begging for one. And since then it has let up but the other day the 7 year old said she really, really wanted a DS for christmas and that it would "break her heart" if she didn't get one. A.) We can't afford one, especially two for each kid and B.) I don't think a seven and five year old need one. I know these girls and they would want to play it all the time and it would get left laying around and thereby end up being taken away anyways.... so. And they have those leap frog games and hardly want to play those as it is. I don't see the point.

Monique - posted on 12/02/2009

6

18

0

We don't have a wii, but my 5yr old son has a ds. We live in a remote area, so we travell a lot and fly. It was magic. On holidays we had 7/8 hr bus rides, when i was tired or had to look after 1yr old being sick, it was a life line. There are a lot of educational games and the hand and eye co-ordination he has has improved so much, also he now has to think about what he is doing.
Go the ds

Rachel - posted on 12/01/2009

1

13

0

My son is the smartest in his class and has done exceptionly well this year. I thought about a Wii and DSi but changed my mind. These computer concept games change so regularly and the kids always want the latest versions. My 6 yr old originally said he wanted these, but when I asked if he really thought he would use it, he said, probably not. We were given an Xbox and he hardly uses that. We have opted for a new bike, and some board games, so we can have fun playing together and having quality family time!!

Kelly - posted on 12/01/2009

2

13

0

I ended up letting my wii go! Also our psp my kids got overly addicted thats all they wanted to do !!!!! This year we are doing things like legosblocks, and board games!!!!! I think that kids now a days are too into electronics and they just need to learn how to be kids again!!!! BTW ,y kids are ages 9 8 6 and 5

Christie - posted on 12/01/2009

70

17

22

My girls just play theirs on car trips,waiting at doctors offices or during another siblings practice. Naturally the first couple of weeks they wanted to play a lot but give the disclaimer that it's not something to sit and do all day..

Jenn - posted on 12/01/2009

0

0

46

I personally think its a little ridiculous to to get a young kid something that expensive, but not only that I don't like giving games unless they learn something out of it. I keep my daughter active and when my step-son is here he is not to play his DS, or anything more for than 30 min. His mother lets him play way to many games for way to long, an it shows in school an his behavior. You are the parent, its your choice in the end what you want to get for your child. I would wait till he was older at least, or maybe set strict guide lines as to when an how long he can play it.

Mary - posted on 12/01/2009

1

8

0

Hi, I got my five year-old one when he just turned 5 in August. I was worried, but it has been great. He doesn't play it all the time and when he does, he plays in spurts. It's been great for going for long rides in the car, and I was thanking God for it this past weekend when we had to take him and his little brother to the E.R. (flu)... we were there for 5 hours. He played it off and on and there are lots of games he plays. My oldest son got one when he was 5 (he's almost 8) and he is a more serious gamer, but even he didn't get addicted to it.

In my opinion, it's GREAT! They each have one and when their little brother turns 5 in a couple years, I am assuming we'll be getting him one too.

My kids do well in school and all of that too... won't distract from that at all. At least in our case!

Good luck and Happy Holidays!!

Mary

Melva - posted on 12/01/2009

7

4

1

Quoting Helen:

y do people feel the need to buy such young children all these un nessaseray things my eldest girls ave a tv dvd combi but r only allowed to watch it while they fall asleep then its off which only is on for 15 mins max lol the rest of their time is spent doin things as a family like visiting parks gettin fresh air running roiund like kids should on rainy days its colouring an making sticky pics or playing with toys helps to develop there mind a lot better than watching a games console screen for wat ever lenth of time alot of people i think shove one in there kids hands just to shut them up instead of doing things there selves as for giveing them one on car journeys ect how silly we play eye spy or the kids write down things they see an how many let kids b kids i say was all us adults shoved a ds wen we were younger no we were told to play toys or get sum fresh air



i completely agree with you and i've been on the same boat thats why i've been skeptical about getting him one. I don't want it to be a baby sitter for me either and I know a lot of parents use it as that and I would not shove a DS in my son's hands, the only reason why I'm even considering it is because he asked for it and I think he deserves something that he wants. I really appreciate your insight though. thank you!

Heather - posted on 12/01/2009

27

20

5

I will be getting my daughter who turns 5 in January a DS for Christmas. Her older brother age 7 already has one. I think it is fine as long as you set limits. I don't allow them to play for hours on end, just as one activity they enjoy from time to time. You might consider keeping it somwhere out of reach and under your control as well.

[deleted account]

my son is 6, and we got a wii last year as a family for christmas. i know how you feel about him becoming addicted to it, i felt the same way. but we set up some rules, 1st, he doesnt play it during the school week, unless he is off of school for a holiday or inservice day. then we set a time limit for him, he can only play for so long before he takes a break. as a family we ALL have a lot of fun playing the games together. (oh, and for those who think it makes kids stupid.. my son reads better than 87 percent of his classmates.) i think a wii is a great investment if you are going to keep it somewhere where all of you can play it...

Kayla - posted on 12/01/2009

2

17

0

My daughter is 6 last year we got her wii which she hardly even touches now but i think it was a good investment. this year she asked for a ds lite which we got but i was looking at the games and they have a lot learning games with it so not only are they playing a game they can learn from it to.

Tiffany - posted on 11/30/2009

2

10

0

My son got a DS at about that age, and he does well with it, and does not have problems being addicted to it. Mostly uses it in the car or out doing errands. He got a WII also at a different time and plays it for an hour or so then moves on to something else. I think younger kids like a variety of things to do, so when the "new" wears off then they usually stay on one task or toy for a short amount of time. At least that is what is was like for my son. But if choosing a WII or a DS I would get the DS first as it is less expensive to see if your son likes it as they are similar and made by the same company.

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms