Any opinions about Nutramigen formula?? Nutramigen reviews?

Brittany - posted on 08/02/2009 ( 48 moms have responded )

40

15

1

Im trying my son on the Nutramigen formula because he seems to be very colicky. Ive tried EVERYTHING...just wanted to know if any one had good experiences with Nutramigen formula? Any Nutramigen reviews?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

STARLA - posted on 08/06/2009

12

22

4

MY SON HAD SEVERE REFLUX AND COLIC. I MIXED NUTRAMIGEN FORMULA WITH HIS OTHER FORMULA 1/2 & 1/2,BECAUSE HE DIDNT LIKE THE TASTE. I ALSO GAVE HIM A PROBIOTIC CALLED "CULTURELLE" FOR KIDS. IT HELPED WITH THE REFLUX AND THE COLIC. FOR US, IT WAS AMIRACLE. THE ONLY PLACE I COULD FIND IT WAS CVS PHARMACY,THOUGH ANY OF THEM CAN ORDER IT. ONE CAPSULE A DAY, SPLIT IT AND EMPTY INTO THE BOTTLE. ITS ALL NATURAL AND FAIRLY EXPENSIVE,BUT I SWEAR BY IT. THE PEDIATRICIANS AROUND HERE ARE ALL RECOMMENDING IT NOW. ITS ESPECIALLY GREAT FOR WHEN THE BABY IS ON ANTIBIOTICS. IT HELPS WITH THE STOMACH UPSET AND DIARRHEA. THEY ALSO HAVE IT FOR ADULTS. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND NUTRAMIGEN FORMULA AND CULTURELLE,ALONG WITH MY PEDIATRICIAN. THEY HELPED GET MY SON OFF OF REFLUX MEDICATIONS FOR GOOD.

Rachael - posted on 08/04/2009

15

9

0

Oh, and he's probably not 'just gassy' or 'just collicy" Two things to look into...if he is arching has back and screaming, especially during and right after feedings then there is a good chance he has GERD (gastro esophogial reflux disease)....also, the reason behind using Alimentum (it's the similac version of Nutrimigen) is that it is hypoallergenic. The milk proteins are broken down so small that the babies system doesn't have to do much digesting...a big reason to use this is if you baby has what they call MSPI (Milk-Soy Protein Intolerance)...basically the babies system can't break down the proteins...Both of children had sever colic and turned out to have both reflux and the milk protein intolerance, Alimentum was the only thing that helped (however my son did have to be medicated also)...hope this helps!

Jenny - posted on 08/02/2009

48

30

5

My daughter was on Nutramigen...she was first put on Prosobee soy formula by request of my mother and ended up being allergic to it. Nutramigen worked great! The only side effect from Nutramigen is really stinky spit up when I burped her.

Philomena - posted on 09/05/2011

14

22

1

Yes, my daughter had to be on Nutramigen because she could not take the milk based formula. They did not think she was lactose intollerant, just could not take the formula. It worked wonderfully. No problems with tummy troubles or anything like that. It is worth trying.

Brittany - posted on 08/05/2009

40

15

1

Ive tried gripe water...didnt work at all for him nor did mylicon. Hes drinking the nurtamigen formula even though he doesnt like it...and I can already tell a huge difference. He seems like his tummy feels better and hes not as miserable! I will def start looking around for another ped! Thanks!

This conversation has been closed to further comments

48 Comments

View replies by

Shannintipton - posted on 09/05/2011

36,025

50

548

Thank you for your response but this post is a little old so I am going to close it. Okay???

Brittany - posted on 08/09/2009

40

15

1

hmmm..the stuff ive been feeding him has dha and ara....it does smell horrible but its working so far!

Tina - posted on 08/06/2009

2

15

0

YES! My son had colic when he was a baby, Nutramigen formula was the ONLY thing that he could keep down. We also tried EVERYTHING! My youngest was on it for about 2 weeks when she was about 2 months old. She's now 4 mo. and my son is 13. All of my children were on soy formula. Anyway, it was great for us. Good luck!

Lauren - posted on 08/06/2009

1

23

0

My daughter was put on nutramigen formula by our pediatrician, but after it hadn't helped much, we switched to a hypoallergenic formula called Neocate, which solved all her problems.

Danyalle - posted on 08/06/2009

8

40

0

Nutramigen formula is the only one that has worked for my son.

Brittany - posted on 08/06/2009

40

15

1

He rarely spits up...his problems were all with fussiness and gas...he had like really painful gas...he would scream for hours at a time and nothing seemed to comfort him...we had already tried 5 different formulas. Hes been on Nutramigen formula for about 3 days...I can already tell a difference, he still seems to have some gas, but not as much as before and he doesnt act like it bothers him as much. Thanks for your Nutramigen reviews! :)

Stephanie - posted on 08/06/2009

285

35

38

My son was on this formula from 2 months till about 9 months. He started on on Similac advanced, move to isomil, and then on to Nutramigen formula. He has severe reflux, Gastroparesis ( delayed stomach emptying) and we just found out at 9 months he has a severe milk allergy. He was diagnosed as failure to thrive. He was in the 10th percentile at 9 months old. So he is now on Neocate which is an amino acid based formula. Nutramigen formula is completely broken down so it is easy to digest. We actually saw an improvement with in the first few days with him. He was less fussy but still spitting up like crazy.

Is your son spitting up a lot? The colic could be a sign of a milk allergy which can cause gas and irritablity. My daughter who is now 3 had the same issues with the formula and was on Alimentium(similac's brand of nutramigen) for about 5 months to 1 yr old and did very well with it. Since we moved my son on to the Neocate he gain 2 lbs in a month and is a lot happier. Good Luck!

Tracy - posted on 08/05/2009

1

3

0

girl i had the worst gasey baby in the world and nutramigen saved my mind lol!! it stinks it stains and taste nasty but it works!!!!

Heather - posted on 08/05/2009

15

12

2

Had to try to use it with my daughter bc she had a milk protein allergy, absolutely could not get her to drink it as it is so nasty, had to eliminate dairy from my diet and continue breastfeeding....eventually I was able to switch to Soy formula and it worked like a charm.

Jessica - posted on 08/05/2009

177

18

0

Oh and also if you feel you ped isn't listening to your concerns and helping you figure things out you should really look for a new ped one you feel is helpful and informative. Some peds blow off first time moms and they really miss some serious stuff. You are the momma and know your baby. My daughter almost died because no one would listen to me. I was a young teen mom and they never took anything serious. I finally got a doctor listen and she was admitted to the hospital that day. So definitely go with your gut and push those doctors no matter how big or small the concern is.

Jessica - posted on 08/05/2009

177

18

0

I didn't read all the replies so I am not sure if anyone suggested to you yet Gripe Water. It's an herbal supplement to ease the gas and stomach discomfort often associated with colic, hiccups and teething. I used this with my daughter. I have also used nutramigen for my son and it worked great for him. But if you son doesn't seem to like that taste you might want to try this supplement. You can find it in most stores in the baby isle.

Robin - posted on 08/05/2009

36

11

0

Nutamigen was the worst formula I tried for my girl. She had colic (gas) for 5 months and GERD, yes I got hit with it all. The only formula that made things better was Carnation Goodstart, crazy huh? It's the cheapest but has the best nutrition and gentle on the stomach, it takes a while for they're systems to make a change but you should try it. She's still on it now and hardly has gas, poops every day!

Jamie - posted on 08/04/2009

8

17

1

My son was switched to Nutramigen formula because apparently his stomach couldn't handle the formula they put him on while in the hospital. Every night was the same thing he was scream for about an hour. I was at my wits end. As soon as I switched him there were no more problems. I would suggest that you do not use the powder form although. The powder is very hard to mix.

Beverly - posted on 08/04/2009

9

24

0

I can't give you a Nutramigen review as I have never tryed that formula.

Luana - posted on 08/04/2009

65

9

10

Sorry to say but Nutramigen formula didn't work for my twins it just made everything worst.They would drink about 1 once ant them they would start wailing and i couldn't get them to start drinking again for a couple of hours and then it would be the same scenario all over again.What i ended up doing was switch back to goodstart but i would give them a couple of spoons (baby spoons) of cereal before and then give them their milk and the problem was solved. Oh and the pepermint water does realy work!!!

Erica - posted on 08/04/2009

6

0

0

Also... it really helped with his colic!!!.... another thing to help I know it sounds silly but a peppermint stick. If you get a peppermint stick and wet it, you can then take your finger, and touch the peppermint stich then let your baby suckle on your finger for just a second. I read it online and in books. and it helps.

Erica - posted on 08/04/2009

6

0

0

Hello! I used it when my little guy stopped nursing around 2 months ols because I wasnt producing enough. It is really good if you have a colicky baby. It is quite expensive though, so I talked to my Doc and she recommended Good Start with natural cultures. It is designed also to help with the babies immune systems, and let me tell you, it's great! Baby Aaron has never been sick and he is 10 months old, it is easy to digest and is great!!!!!!!!

Brittany - posted on 08/04/2009

40

15

1

Well Im playing doctor here because his pediatrician just kinda ignores what I tell her....Ive already had him on like 5 diff formulas so Id hate to keep switching him...if he does well with the nutramigen but still doesnt like it I might try the alimentum....He has an appt next week so Ill try and talk to his ped and ask about the possiblity of GERD...thanks!

Lisa - posted on 08/04/2009

30

23

1

It worked wonders for my older son. He was gassy, and spit up alot after each feeding. After weeks of trying every formula I could think of, we went with the Nutramigen finally, I only wish I had done it sooner. The cost sucks, we went through a can every two to three days. $26 for each can killed us but we had a happy baby, which meant we were happy too!!!

Brittany - posted on 08/04/2009

40

15

1

Well it seems that he doesnt eat as much since hes been on nutramigen, he went from eating 4 oz to eat 3 sometimes even 2. He also has been having loose stools since last night, I heard nutramigen cleans out their system but I hope this doesnt continue!

Mauren - posted on 08/04/2009

1

0

0

Nutramigen Review - this was the only formula that helped my first son, well worth the money for a few months. Colic is the worst, hang on it will pass.

Jennifer - posted on 08/04/2009

2

0

0

Once we switched to Nutramigen she started pooping more regularly. Our GI doctor said he has had better result with it then the Alimentum but alot of babies do not like the taste of the Nutramigen and spit it out and push the bottle away, luckily we didn't have that problem. Ever since we switched over she has been so much happier. She too would suffer from terrible gas, kicking legs, pushing contantly that it would make her spit up hours after she ate. We would do the bicycles to her legs wich would help, but never really realive it. The doctor said that sometimes if poop is sitting in their intestines it can cause excess gas if not moved out and can be painful, we would have to do the Q-tip trick in her but to get her stimulated to poop which helped move the gas. But once she started pooping more regularly it started to go away. Good Luck!

Heather - posted on 08/04/2009

1

14

0

Yes I have. It worked with my son when he couldnt drink the regular stuff. We tryed the say too and nothing worked. Nutramigen worked, the only thing that its really expencive. Good though if you have WIC. You can rack up gas points too at Giant Eagle.

Brittany - posted on 08/04/2009

40

15

1

Jennifer, my son seems to have problems pooping as well...he'll be miserable for like 2 days trying to poop, kicking his legs and stiffening them etc. He doesnt like the way nutramigen tastes....he eats alot slower and at times doesnt seem to eat as much as he did. I do have a couple cans of it though so Im just going to keep him on it for a week and see if I cant get him used to it. I cant tell if its working yet, yesterday I was having to mix it with his similac so he would drink it, last night he did a little better. Thanks for your help.

Jennifer - posted on 08/04/2009

2

0

0

Alot of babies don't like Nutramigen, mine didn't have a problem. Similac Alimentum is very similiar and that is what my friend uses bc her son didn't like the enfamil either. My daughter was very gassy, but it 4 months now and has grown out of it a bit. She also had problems pooping which made the gas worse, Nutramigen was a life saver for us and has been doing great on it. I would try the alimentum, but they do say to keep them on any new formula for atleast a week to truly know if it is working.

Kim - posted on 08/03/2009

1

14

0

Nutramigen worked great for my daughter. She was very colicky also. She was on this formula till her first birthday.

Sarah - posted on 08/03/2009

3

6

0

Our first son had a severe case of colic. Our doctor didn't want us to switch his formula. He cried/ screamed constantly so I went to the pharmacy and the 70 year old pharmacist who had been a pharmacist all of his life recommended we put Mylicon drops in his bottles before we gave it to him. He said even his twin grandbabies were using it for gassiness (colic). We were desparate so we put the Mylicon drops in his bottles before we fed him, it worked like a charm, no more screaming. Even his babysitter was amazed and relieved at how well they worked. You can purchase them over the counter in any pharmacy section. When I told the doctor what we had done to finally help his colic he told me it was all in my head that they worked and that colic did not exist. All we knew was that it helped our baby be more content and his tummy didn't hurt anylonger, also the pharmacist had a lot of experience and we trusted him, so we promptly changed pediatricians to a pediatrician who actually listened to us as parents rather than chastising us for doing what was best for our baby. It was the best move we ever made. Remember your pediatrician works for you and if he doesn't work with you there are several others that will. As far as Nutramigen, our youngest son had to be on it due to being allergic to milk, wheat, soy, and peanuts. I just wish it was more affordable but the price was well worth it for him. Good luck in your decisions, it is so hard with your first you just want to do what is best for your baby and you think the doctor has gone to school and should know what is best. Unfortunately sometimes you have to take a stand and do what you feel as a mother is the best thing to do, after all you spend a lot more time with your baby than the doctor does. I wish you the best, I remember those feelings of uncertainty but as a mother sometimes you just have to go with your gut instincts and pray, pray, and pray some more!

Dee - posted on 08/03/2009

15

16

0

The pediatrician said that my son needed it because of digestive problems. [I had just started working again and did not have the time to pump breast milk, which is best]While it is more expensive than Similac and such, my husband and I felt that its a small price to pay for his wellbeing. So, we did what we had to do.

Brittany - posted on 08/03/2009

40

15

1

my son doesnt like it....i tried it last night and he wouldnt drink it so i had to mix similac with it which totally cancels out the point of nutramigen!

Alicia - posted on 08/03/2009

196

31

8

My son has to use it because has very bad acid reflux and was not gaining weight. It is really good formula!

Khamisha - posted on 08/02/2009

24

18

1

Understandable. I loved it as did my doc and a few of my friends... I hate to say this but try to relax... By number two you will be a pro... Good luck just do what feels right to you!

Brittany - posted on 08/02/2009

40

15

1

Nope...I went from good start, to similac advance, to similcac sensitive for fussiness and gas...nothing seems to work and my ped. says hes just gassy but he screams like hes in pain all of the time! His tummy always seems upset. My mother in law who used to be a peds nurse said "thats it, we're trying nutramigen!" Im just really nervous...I didnt want to keep switching his formulas...this is my first child so Im really nervous and paranoid all of the time!

Khamisha - posted on 08/02/2009

24

18

1

well beacuse it is synthetic I guess the doc doesnt want to introduce it to your child if it is not necc. Do what you feel is right remember they went to med school but you know your child. They only know what you tell them about your child. If he has any adverse reactions or if you dont like the results quit have you tried gentlease?

Brittany - posted on 08/02/2009

40

15

1

Hmmm...Im just nervous bc his pediatrician didnt recommend Nutramigen, I just wanted to try it bc nothing else seems to be working... Thanks for all your Nutramigen reviews...

Khamisha - posted on 08/02/2009

24

18

1

My daughter took it right away she was 2 weeks old I guess you could do that if it works just not for too long I dont know what the calorie intake is if you do that.

Brittany - posted on 08/02/2009

40

15

1

did anyone have to wean their child on to nutramigen? I tried to give it to my son and he just screamed like he didnt like the taste...so I mixed it with his similac and he drank it then with no problem...Im guessing I should do that for a couple of days until he adjusts.....

Khamisha - posted on 08/02/2009

24

18

1

I used nutramigen formula with my youngest. She was allergic to milk based and could not handle soy. For me it was awesome..... I saw results in 48 hours. Reduced gas and all... Biggest problem was the cost... Other than that I loved it and suggest it.

Brittany - posted on 08/02/2009

40

15

1

Well the good thing is, my son NEVER spits up...hes just EXTREMELY gassy and his little tummy is always upset. His pediatrician isnt too helpful so I just decided to try nutramigen...hope it works for him as well as it worked for your children!

Vicki - posted on 08/02/2009

27

28

7

Hiya, yes I highly recommend it. My dd was very fussy and colicky, it took a few weeks but the dr's finally advised that she had reflux, even though she wasn't spitting up, they put her on zantac and told me to switch her to Nutramigen, with in a day the change was dramatic, she was feeding much better, burping much better. I also changed to Dr Brown bottles which I also think where great.. She was on the nutramagen until 10/11 months old. Unfortunatley it is expensive but it is well worth it.

good luck, hope it helps

Stacey - posted on 08/02/2009

156

19

35

My friend used Nutramigen Lipil and it was good. I used Alimentum for my sons colic and milk allergy.

Tina - posted on 08/06/2009

2

15

0

YES! My son had colic when he was a baby, Nutramigen formula was the ONLY thing that he could keep down. We also tried EVERYTHING! My youngest was on it for about 2 weeks when she was about 2 months old. She's now 4 mo. and my son is 13. All of my children were on soy formula. Anyway, it was great for us. Good luck!

Lauren - posted on 08/06/2009

1

23

0

My daughter was put on nutramigen formula by our pediatrician, but after it hadn't helped much, we switched to a hypoallergenic formula called Neocate, which solved all her problems.

Danyalle - posted on 08/06/2009

8

40

0

Nutramigen formula is the only one that has worked for my son.

Brittany - posted on 08/06/2009

40

15

1

He rarely spits up...his problems were all with fussiness and gas...he had like really painful gas...he would scream for hours at a time and nothing seemed to comfort him...we had already tried 5 different formulas. Hes been on Nutramigen formula for about 3 days...I can already tell a difference, he still seems to have some gas, but not as much as before and he doesnt act like it bothers him as much. Thanks for your Nutramigen reviews! :)

Stephanie - posted on 08/06/2009

285

35

38

My son was on this formula from 2 months till about 9 months. He started on on Similac advanced, move to isomil, and then on to Nutramigen formula. He has severe reflux, Gastroparesis ( delayed stomach emptying) and we just found out at 9 months he has a severe milk allergy. He was diagnosed as failure to thrive. He was in the 10th percentile at 9 months old. So he is now on Neocate which is an amino acid based formula. Nutramigen formula is completely broken down so it is easy to digest. We actually saw an improvement with in the first few days with him. He was less fussy but still spitting up like crazy.

Is your son spitting up a lot? The colic could be a sign of a milk allergy which can cause gas and irritablity. My daughter who is now 3 had the same issues with the formula and was on Alimentium(similac's brand of nutramigen) for about 5 months to 1 yr old and did very well with it. Since we moved my son on to the Neocate he gain 2 lbs in a month and is a lot happier. Good Luck!

Jamie - posted on 08/04/2009

8

17

1

My son was switched to Nutramigen formula because apparently his stomach couldn't handle the formula they put him on while in the hospital. Every night was the same thing he was scream for about an hour. I was at my wits end. As soon as I switched him there were no more problems. I would suggest that you do not use the powder form although. The powder is very hard to mix.

Beverly - posted on 08/04/2009

9

24

0

I can't give you a Nutramigen review as I have never tryed that formula.

Luana - posted on 08/04/2009

65

9

10

Sorry to say but Nutramigen formula didn't work for my twins it just made everything worst.They would drink about 1 once ant them they would start wailing and i couldn't get them to start drinking again for a couple of hours and then it would be the same scenario all over again.What i ended up doing was switch back to goodstart but i would give them a couple of spoons (baby spoons) of cereal before and then give them their milk and the problem was solved. Oh and the pepermint water does realy work!!!

Mauren - posted on 08/04/2009

1

0

0

Nutramigen Review - this was the only formula that helped my first son, well worth the money for a few months. Colic is the worst, hang on it will pass.

Brittany - posted on 08/02/2009

40

15

1

Hmmm...Im just nervous bc his pediatrician didnt recommend Nutramigen, I just wanted to try it bc nothing else seems to be working... Thanks for all your Nutramigen reviews...

Stacey - posted on 08/02/2009

156

19

35

My friend used Nutramigen Lipil and it was good. I used Alimentum for my sons colic and milk allergy.

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms