Tattoo, needing Opinions

Amanda - posted on 01/17/2010 ( 25 moms have responded )

67

10

1

I'm very interested in getting a tattoo on my back(shoulder) of my daughters name(Emilie) with both herhand and foot print beside it. Alot of people I talked to said it was a great idea then my mother ruined it for me by saying. "How would you feel if I had that tattoo done for you?" For her to have that for me I wouldn't like it at all. But that's just because of the type of person she is. What's your opinions?

This conversation has been closed to further comments

25 Comments

View replies by

Emily - posted on 01/23/2010

69

41

3

go for it girl. its ur tattoo not hers, i have my daughters foot print.i LOVE it! :). its something special. she will love it whens he gets older.it shows she is always with no matter where u are.

Minique - posted on 01/22/2010

47

36

9

I think its beautiful its unique i have my daughters name on my arm Taliyah the T is large and the aliyah is small it has a heart around it with bricks n the backround that have her birth weight height and time in it. But my thing is do you want other kids thats wat I think about havin other kids and how they would feel if they didnt have the same tattoo even though Taliyah is my first.

Mercedes - posted on 01/22/2010

21

35

3

yeaa its a great idea bu try to add a little more to it. because SOOOOOO many people have tht simple tattoo try to make it more original and more you!

Tiffany - posted on 01/21/2010

3

25

0

ITS A GREAT IDEA!! My dad has our last name & all us kids names around it & my mom is have a tattoo drawn up of a mommy turtle & 4 babys that rep. each of us kids & just as soon as i have my baby & am done breast feeding i'm getting my daughters footprint, birth month flower, & her name i just havent decided where yet :)

Kayla - posted on 01/21/2010

43

11

0

I wanted to get a tattoo like that, but I realized that when I have more children in the future, they'll wonder why they don't have one devoted to them too. And it'd look funny to have feet and hands all over you. So I'm going to get a violet which is the birth flower of february (so is the iris i think) and then just add on flowers as I have more children so it's a vine of different flowers. I'll get his initials and birth day around the petals. it's pretty and simple, and none of my children will feel left out. my best friend is getting different colored stars, representing her and her sisters, so that's another idea.

Katie - posted on 01/20/2010

25

6

1

It is your tattoo for your daughter. It is a dedication to her. She will always be your daughter. You will never regret a tattoo that is dedicated to your child. It is ultimately your decision, I think that it is a wonderful idea. I am going to get one of my daughter's name, but I am going to wait until she is 5 or 6 and can write her own name so that she can write it for the tattoo. :)

Brittanie - posted on 01/20/2010

36

20

3

I think its a Great Idea. I was going to do the same with Both My kids But I just ended up getting There names in a cool design.

Sarah - posted on 01/20/2010

36

52

1

I think it's a great idea. My dad has all his kids names tattooed on him and I used to love pointing out mine when I was little. My fiance has our daughters name and handprints tattooed on his arm and it looks really good. Do what you want, you aren't your mother.

Hayley - posted on 01/20/2010

6

16

0

i got a tattoo of my sons name (Zeth Oliver )with a pumpkin vine and a bee on my foot because they have a special meaning to me. i love my tattoo an dont regret it for a day! i say go for it im sure your daughter will feel very special when shes old enough to no that you got that tattoo for her :)

Taylor - posted on 01/19/2010

12

22

3

Because of the type of person you are, you're daughter will probably love it after the teenage years when they hate everything. :) I have a tattoo for my daughter and I love it. Later I think it will definitely help her feel loved and special.

Brittany - posted on 01/19/2010

453

30

48

I think it's an adorable idea. That sounds kind of like the one I'm getting for my son in March.

Kayla - posted on 01/19/2010

23

29

2

I think that sounds really cute, when I had my son I had a Winnie the Pooh theme and got a tattoo of winnie the pooh with a D on his shirt for my sons name. Its your body dont let anyone tell you no. Good Luck

Maggie - posted on 01/19/2010

4

5

0

I am also getting a tattoo for my son! i think it is a wonderful idea! thats your baby and you shouldn't feel bad for wanting to show the world that too! I think you should go for it! and when she is old enough to understand, im sure she will be flattered!

Jasmine - posted on 01/18/2010

2

6

0

i have my baby boys name on my wrist and alot of ppl thinks its a great idea some suggested to do the same as u but i couldnt coz i was to chicken lol but i think its a wonderful idea

[deleted account]

I have my daughters foot print with her name above and birthday below on my shin, right above my ankle and it looks beautiful to me and her dad has her name and birthday on his chest.lts really up to you and how you feel about it. not how someone else feels. Remember a tattoo is life long so make sure its what you and only you wants. And research your tattoo artist first and look for good references.

Iysha - posted on 01/17/2010

1,914

26

201

I personally don't like the foot print/ hand print thing. I think it is over used. If you want to do it, do it, nobody can tell you not to. I am getting a butterfly that is very uniquely drawn and putting it on my shoulder or in the middle of my back/neck as a mirrored image with my daughter's name along the wing of the butterfly.

Tiffani - posted on 01/17/2010

16

17

1

well i am eighteen and i got a tattoo on my 18th bday of angel wings with my little girls name in between the wings and i wouldnt change it for the world and my mom didnt want me to do it but after i did she was like wow that looks really good so its really up to you

Belinda - posted on 01/17/2010

35

36

4

my friend got exactly wat your idea is and it looks amazing... i dont care how many people have that tattoo it is a beautiful tattoo... it is a piece of memorabilia for u to show off and cherish forever :D

Britny - posted on 01/17/2010

42

27

2

I think that a tattoo is a wonderful dedication to your child! Your daughter will be your daughter no matter what happens, and you'll always be her mommy, so it's not something you might regret later! I got a tattoo of my daughter's footprint with her name above it and her birthdate below, and I love it! I get many compliments about how sweet it is. I think you should go for it!

Brittany - posted on 01/17/2010

24

2

7

My husband and I plan on getting our daughters name and footprints tattoo, alot of people i talked to also told me it was a good idea and then my gram gram (which is more of a mother too me) ruined it as well. But I see it like its our decision and we want too. So when we have some extra money we are going to do it...So i think you should if thats what you want to do!

Amber - posted on 01/17/2010

9

9

0

I got my daughters birth feet on my arm i wanted to get them like they are walking up my back cause they say kids walk all over the moms but i already have her name there so i couldnt do it but u can do that i love the footprints they are too cute and it says around it my life changed because of you!

Jodie - posted on 01/17/2010

204

28

21

my mother has a tat on her shoulder devoted to myself and my brother and i love it! i think its a wonderful idea im guna get a tatoo of my daughters name (crystal-may) date of birth bellow her name and a crystal above it with pettals blowing over it i intend to have a tatoo for every child i have so i think u shud go for it x

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms