Fact or opinion. Do girls potty train faster than boys?

This conversation has been closed to further comments

63 Comments

View replies by

Sherry - posted on 06/22/2011

53

45

1

Honestly, I started potty training my 3 year old daughter when she was 1 /2 years old and it took her until this past May to actually potty train and get it down before june which is her birthday.

Lucy - posted on 06/22/2011

83

27

10

Having not had any experience potty training a girl, I can't say for sure, but my son pretty much potty trained himself just before his 2nd birthday. Now, 2 months down the line, he is the only one of my friends' kids of the same age, boys and girls, to be potty trained at all, so I'd say it's certainly not an absolute!

Lynn - posted on 06/20/2011

22

48

1

Mostly, yes : ) My son was almost three. My girls were 18 months to two. I rest my case ; )

[deleted account]

It's an opinion. I was about 4 when I was potty trained.My nephew's 2 and already trying to use the potty. My cousin Madisyn is gonna be 3 and still didn't use the potty yet. She might do it after she turns three or later. My other cousin Carlie she was late with potty training.

Elaine - posted on 09/30/2009

8

2

1

In my opinion, I say that girls are easier and quick on learning to use the potty. My experience, and this is from my mom's words, is me being a twin to a male...lol... She said that I was much quicker than my twin brother... his took about a year... mine took about a week....



I've also heard from friends and relatives that their daughter potty trained at an earlier age than opposed to their son...

Jaime - posted on 09/28/2009

3

9

0

I work at a daycare with potty training kids everyday. Let me assure you girls potty train so much quicker. They have an easier time because they sit. Boys have to learn to sit and stand not really as easy.

Summer - posted on 09/28/2009

5

31

0

Totally not FACT!!! I have 2 boys (7.5 years and 2 years) and a girl (3 years). She hasn't wanted to potty train until recently. Both my boys have wanted to potty since 2 years. It's an individual thing not a thing you can say about all kids.

Frances - posted on 09/28/2009

1

16

0

it depends on the child i have 6 children 3 boys and 3 girls they each have potty trained in their own time. i have 1 daughter that wanted to start at 18 months and never had an accident ever! and i have another daughter that always had accidents and just didnt get the hang of it. I have a son that did it at 18 months and never had an accident and one that didnt get the hang of it until he was 3 the other son got the hang of it but was a deep sleeper and had accidents at night and right now i am training my 22 month old daughter and she is doing a great job by the 3 day she was going on her own, and has not had an accident so far!! so i think it depends on the child

Alana - posted on 09/27/2009

73

78

16

I have 2 boys and a girl (triplets). We tried to potty train them all at the same time. My daughter and one of my sons got it right away but my other son seems to be needing more time and a later restart. Mind you we trained them really young (22 months) so 2 out of 3 is not so bad.

Elizabeth - posted on 09/27/2009

11

27

1

I would have to say FACT. All my girls had no trouble but my son he was 3 before he finally got it.

User - posted on 09/27/2009

1

7

0

It all depends on the child. When their ready they will go. My oldest son was three when he was potty trained my second child, a girl was almost three when she trained, my third child, a boy, was trained at two, and my fourth child, a girl was trained at almost two.

Arria - posted on 09/27/2009

1

0

0

I think so. My daughter was potty trained at 18 months. My son would not potty train until he was 3. Drove me crazy.

Susan - posted on 09/26/2009

19

20

2

FACT, FACT, FACT!!! LOL I have 3 boys, 1 girl. The boys were nightmares to train. All of them were 4 when I can officially say they were potty trained (no accidents). My daughter? I started on her 3rd birthday and it was practically overnight!

Jennifer - posted on 09/25/2009

2

4

0

I would have to say in personal experience boy or girl - they will use the potty when they want too no sooner or later

[deleted account]

my two boys were way easier than both my girls!! IO think it may have been more fun for them. Good luck!!

Karen - posted on 09/25/2009

5

27

1

Dont know if it is a fact but my daughter trained at about 18 months and my son at 3 years

Delicia_ridley1076 - posted on 09/25/2009

3

11

0

I really think overall it depends on the child b/c my oldest is a boy and he was potty trained literally in about a week and he never needed a pull up or pamper at night and he was 2.5 years , where as my middle child that is a boy and my last child; a girl and both were not completely potty trained until they were 3 years old. So I truely think its more of an opinion than a fact

Wendi - posted on 09/25/2009

40

19

1

I have 2 girls and one boy that are potty trained. My first girl was potty-trained at 21 months and stopped wetting at night at 3 1/2. my second girl was 2 1/2 when she quit wetting day and night. My boy was over 3 when he quit wetting during the day and he still wets at night (and I mean he often floods the overnight pull-ups!). So for me girls were definately easier, but I think it has more to do with personality. My son also has a mommy and two big sister mommies so he's a little bit (okay, ALOT) babied.

[deleted account]

my mom had 3 girls and one boy. she said my brother was the most difficult because boys will sit in a wet diaper but girls will get irritated more quickly. my borther is 2 years older than me and i potty trained before him. i was one and he was 3

Tina - posted on 09/25/2009

3

11

1

in my opinion my girls were awesome at potty training!!!!! they were both trained by 1 isnt that amazing? i truly believe if you introduce them as soon as they can take baths sitting up then they are ready to be put on a potty whether they do anything on it or not that doesnt matter the introducing is the important part then when it comes time they are not so afarid of the toilet :)

Betty - posted on 09/25/2009

6

8

0

i have 4 children 3 boys and 2 girl and the boys were soooo much easier to potty train than my daughter.

Connie - posted on 09/25/2009

1

14

0

My opinion is that it's not necessarily the gender but the child that makes potty training easier or tougher. I have two girls. I trained my oldest along side three other little boys (when I had a home daycare) and all of the boys were trained before she was, however she wasn't too far behind them (she was 3). My second daughter (with no other children around to model after other than her big sister) trained much earlier than her big sister (she was 2), once she decided she was ready. Once she figured it out, she never looked back, I just think she was more mentally prepared to choose the potty over other options. I hope this helps.

LINDA - posted on 09/25/2009

1

20

0

no,I had 3 boys[easy] then theres my neices my sister had such a hard time,so GOOD LUCK

Tamakia - posted on 09/25/2009

4

8

0

I have helped to potty train 3 nephews and 1 son and only observed the potty training of my niece's they picked it up much faster the boys on the other hand were a job.

Melony - posted on 09/25/2009

1

5

0

It is in my experience boys do not do number 1 & 2 at the same time. Unlike girls, they do. Boys don't usally do that.

[deleted account]

PS: Night time is a whole other ball of wax! some sleep harder than others, drink more at night than others, have larger bladders than others, etc. Some trined early in the day, but wet the bed for years, others trained late & wet for years. The opposite is true, too. some never had issues w/ night, early trainer or late. For those who needed it, I snatch them up before I hit the sack (about 11:30), and have them empty, although 1 was too alseep to do that often. Less laundry is worth it (I hate Pull Ups!)

Pamela - posted on 09/25/2009

4

26

0

OPINION...... My daughter was almost 3 when she FINALLY started doing number 1 and 2 in the potty and stopped having accidents and needing pull-ups overnight. My son, however, was COMPLETELY potty trained well before the age of 2 and NEVER had an accident after his first time going potty. So my opinion is BOYS ARE FASTER AND EASIER!

Shontay - posted on 09/25/2009

11

31

0

Opinion, I believe that girls potty train faster than boys I had a hard time with my boys but my daughter was a piece of cake

[deleted account]

I aim for age 2. We have 4 boys & 3 girls. Girls by 2, 1 boy by2, 3 boys by 3. The obiedient children were the easiest. If they obey the common things, than they will learn to obey the potty command, Assuming they know what to to where. Don't worry about the potty, till you know they obey (like when you say "come here, now") Otherwise it's just another power struggle. Keep the sippy cup on your schedule, not on demand, it is a potty training sabatoger! We use the rule, juice & milk w/ meals, water inbetween, and the cup stays at the table, which means your butt needs to be in a chair when you drink. I've had a few who wish to drink more than they eat, can ya tell!

Cindy - posted on 09/25/2009

449

16

40

fiction. My friend and I tested this theory. We both tried to potty train our kids. Me- boy, her-Girl. Started on Dec 1, 2008. Before X-mas my son was trained. Her child still wets the bed every night.

So. It depends on the Child, not the Sex. And How much effort the Mom has to give.

Colleen - posted on 09/25/2009

2

16

0

Opinion, but my personal experience with my daughters,grand-daughter,nieces,great nieces and friends daughters has shown that girls are easier to potty train.

Julie - posted on 09/25/2009

2

9

0

yes the problem i had with my son that i didn't with the girls was him not pooping at the same time he pees so he had a delaied respose the girls did it all at the sametime

Sara - posted on 09/25/2009

10

4

2

I guess opinion.From my experience I potty trained 1 daughter and 2 sons and my daughter was fully potty trained at 2,I thought that was great but then came my son...and he wanted nothing to do with it!!He finally started about 3 1/2 but only pee,he has bad constipation issues so getting him to poop on the potty took longer,but finally he was fully potty trained at about a little over 4 years old.My youngest boy is 2 1/2 and has been going pee on the potty since 2 (not all the time though) and he pooped a couple times but that's it,we're working on it!! It all depends on the kid and how much the parents really try.

Emily - posted on 09/25/2009

1

20

0

Yes, my daughter was done by 22 months my some is now 2 and 1/2 and we are still trying, he just is not ready.

Tiffany - posted on 09/25/2009

4

14

0

I have been around to witness the potty training of 6 children, 3 boys and 3 girls, one boy was mine and I have noticed that just about all of the girls were potty trained by the time they turned 3 were as the boys were already 3 by the time they were ready for full time underwear.

Tracey - posted on 09/25/2009

1

18

0

i have 2 of each - boys potty trained a bit over 2 years old - the girls were 3 - i think the boys were compliant and the girls just had to do it their way when they were ready lol

Amanda - posted on 09/25/2009

14

28

0

I have 2 girls and now 2 boys. The girls were a breeze to potty train. My son on the other hand is either not interested or just wont do it. We have been working with him for a couple months now. So I believe that it is fact that girls potty train faster than boys.

Rose - posted on 09/25/2009

69

10

1

I think it really depends on the child. My older son was fully potty trained by 2 1/2 (and he was easy to potty train), my daughter was closer to 3 (and a horror story) and my youngest son (who just turned 2) won't even sit on a toilet!...who knows when he will be ready!

Desire - posted on 09/25/2009

10

41

0

lmbo..lol.. Yes, I will try the friutloops and the m&m's. You all are giving me like all of the funniest tips ever. But the funniest thing is that they have really worked out for you, obviously.lol

Kirsten - posted on 09/25/2009

7

10

0

girls are harder to potty train because boys can acually see what they are suppose to do girls can not they just know that mommy sits down.... thats all.. but boys can acually see what is going on!!!! you can also put fruit loops in the bowl to help there aim!

Erica - posted on 09/25/2009

1

5

0

my son was potty trained in one day. I didn't do it until he was three, and I had him in pull-ups to prepare him for potty training, but it took only one day, and he had no accidents.

Jan - posted on 09/25/2009

205

75

46

Personally, I believe girls learn to use the potty quicker than boys. Boys tend to stick the potty over their heads 1st, maybe practising to wear hoodies!! from my experience all 3 of my girls were trained earlier than my lad. x

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms