Need advice please & opinions

Claudette - posted on 02/22/2014 ( 15 moms have responded )

14

0

3

Is it ok to have 3 daughters ages 4,6,7 to watch their father or mother shower & shave their private areas? To sleep with them naked? I am old fashion & believe that it's not ok or normal... I find it disrespectful what do you all think about this situation?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Sarah - posted on 02/24/2014

244

0

80

Claudette it is not appropriate to do that so I agree with you. I mean if they were young babies then I would say ok but only for a little while longer.

Michelle - posted on 02/22/2014

3,549

8

3244

If they asked your opinion then it's their problem if they didn't like your response.
I don't ask others if they agree with how I bring up my children or not, it's none of their business, especially since you have only just met. It seems very strange to me.
I would be more worried about their reaction to your opinion than what's happening in their home.

Jodi - posted on 02/22/2014

3,517

36

3906

Well, why would you have your children watching you do this? Or why would you sleep naked with them? That just doesn't make sense. If they happen to walk in and see you naked, or shaving, then so be it, but you make it sound like people actually go out of their way to deliberately do these things.

And you gave who your honest opinion about it and upset them?

15 Comments

View replies by

Claudette - posted on 02/24/2014

14

0

3

I totally agree with you, thanks Sarah! My son is 20 years old & I never showered with him but bathed him till he was old enough to wash himself while I sat close by to keep an eye on him ( not to drown nor hurt himself by slipping ), he respects me, himself and others. He asked questions as he was getting older & I was always honest when I responded. I don't see anything wrong with showering or bathing with our own children under 2 or until they get curious.

Claudette - posted on 02/24/2014

14

0

3

Thanks for bringing a smile to my face I too think it's a scary image... Even though I became a care giver for the elderly.. We all do get old...
I just wish they wouldn't of asked for my thoughts & my opinion about it! To me true friendship is being honest when asked for your thoughts & opinions.
Thank you for your thoughts & making me :-)

♫ Shawnn ♪♫♫ - posted on 02/24/2014

13,207

21

2014

So, you met these friends in October of 2013, and felt that it was your business to tell them what was appropriate and inappropriate?

I'd have said "well, I wouldn't have been comfortable with that, but it's your home", and left it at that.

Either way, since its not your kids, and not in your home, I wouldn't be too concerned. It's not really any of your business what they do in their home, unless the kids are being abused.

And, no, seeing your parents naked is not abuse. Scary, perhaps...LOL...and image I wouldn't want in my kid's head, for sure...LOL...but not abusive.

Jodi - posted on 02/22/2014

3,517

36

3906

Well, if it is their kids and it has no impact on you and your children, it really isn't any of your business, is it?

Claudette - posted on 02/22/2014

14

0

3

Friends of mine, whom I met last October ( 2013 )... I agree yes we are different & have different beliefs & upbringings... The girls walk in at anytime and watch their father shower & shave his private area while they talk no curtain... They can walk around the house naked to them it's ok... They asked my opinion & I was honest they didn't like my response.

Michelle - posted on 02/22/2014

3,549

8

3244

Again, WHO did you tell. Don't just say "them". Are they friends, relatives, your own children?
I think you may be over reacting a bit, my children see me naked quite often, they see me in the mornings getting up and I sleep naked. They have also come into the bathroom while I have been showering but we have a shower curtain you can't see through.
The meaning of respect is consideration, that can be different things for different people. Just because you don't let your children see you naked, doesn't mean you have to force your beliefs onto others.
The joy of being human is that we are all different and have a choice to raise our children different from the next person. As long as the children aren't in danger then there isn't a problem.

Claudette - posted on 02/22/2014

14

0

3

Yes I gave them my thoughts & opinion with my up bringing & told them that it's not ok for parents to do this & they seem upset about it!
I bathed my son till he was 2/3 and had him wash himself while I was in the washroom to make sure he was ok & always checked in till he was old enough to take a shower but never has he seen me naked. I call it respect... Was I wrong?

Claudette - posted on 02/22/2014

14

0

3

I gave them my honest opinion & now they are upset about it... Am I in the wrong?

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms