Opinion on girl name.

Danielle - posted on 04/14/2012 ( 58 moms have responded )

778

25

110

Hi ladies,
After three long years of trying to conceive, my husband and I are expecting baby number two. I am 19 weeks, and in a week we will have our gender ultrasound. We already have a boy name, but we are stuck on a possible girl name.
Our first born is named Jack Thomas, and if we have another boy it will be Reece Clement (name passed down on my husbands side).
If we have a girl we liked Quinn, or Quinley. The middle name would be Elaine. We also liked Claire Elaine. The problem is that no one in our family likes Quinley, or Quinn, and that was our main name.

What do you think? Any other name suggestions for a girl would be awesome!

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Merry - posted on 04/18/2012

9,274

169

262

Quinn is a boys name so I wouldn't use that. :-/

Quinley is cute but I might still think its a boy. Maybe Quinleigh or Quinlee or Quinlie

But those don't sound good with Elaine.

I do love Quinna for a girl! Very cute and strong yet feminine. But again, doesn't work with Elaine.

Claire Elaine is very nice, beautiful and sweet.

Also a nice option may be Quinna Claire. That has a lovely ring to it!

Kate - posted on 04/17/2012

12

14

2

i was told first time pregnant that my boy name Max was what you would call a dog, turns out i had a girl and named her Zarli which means princess still alot of my inlaws didnt like it but thats what she is as for second time round i copped a lot from same people until we told them the names which are after family much to their surprise and shock shut them up fast lol.
my mum said to me before having my first if you can yell the name in the shopping center when you loose them and not feel embarrassed then thats the name for you.
i think Quinn is cute and can be grown into as well you can always use Quinley as a pet name for her good luck :)

Pamela - posted on 04/15/2012

711

9

6

Is your family carrying the baby? Will they be the one feeding and caring for the child? No, the one carrying the baby is YOU. You and your husband will be feeding and caring for the child. IT IS YOUR CHILD!!! Why do you care what your family thinks of the name you have chosen?



It will be such a more beautiful world when we EACH find the strength to be who we are....NOT WHO OTHERS expect us to be or do.



I am soooooooooooo happy to be in my 60's where I no longer care what others think!!! It is so very liberating. YOU DON'T HAVE TO WAIT TO BE 60!!! Liberate yourself from what your family thinks of your choice of names. It REALLY IS NONE OF THEIR BUSINESS!!!!!!!



Oh, and BTW, I believe it is best NOT to name a new child after a name in the family....passed down or not. Each child is unique and deserves their OWN NAME... NOT the name of a predecessor....I don't care how well loved, or respected or whatever that other person was.



I named my oldest after others. The next two I freed myself from that OLD pattern that SOCIETY has. It is NOT your thinking....it is society's thinking. Liberate yourself from all of that BS!!!! And I don't mean Bull****, I mean Belief System. That's the new BS....Belief System!



Call the baby Quinn or Quinley.....if your family doesn't like it.....too bad! Tell them not to take it personally! LOL!!!

[deleted account]

OK, you asked for an opinion so you're going to get it!!

I do not like Quinley and I think Quinn is more a boy's name than a girl's name. Claire is nice.

HOWEVER, this child is your child. You get the privilege of choosing her name. You choose a name that means something to you, do not worry about what your family think. They get their own time to name their own children.

My Mum did not like the name Hayden when it was on the list for my Nephew's name. He ended up being named Nicholas. We named our son Hayden even though we knew Mum wasn't so keen on it. Why? Because WE liked it. No regrets there and Mum has got used to it and now she even quite likes it.

So do what makes you happy :-)

Kellie - posted on 04/18/2012

13

13

0

Quinna is a lovely name, Laura Zoey Black! Quinna Elaine Boughen.....I do like the sound of that! What do you think of that, Danielle? It could be a compromise that you and your family could use.....I don't think they would have a problem with that at all! It is lovely!

58 Comments

View replies by

Britt - posted on 04/19/2012

6

10

0

I know an adult woman named Quinn and there is a girl in my school named Quinn (she is a 3rd grader). I also recall an actress by the name of Quinn Cummings on a show when I was a kid (it was called "Family"). No matter what 'tradition' dictates, I have never met a single boy named Quinn.

Ricki Lee - posted on 04/19/2012

21

37

3

Could you not use Reese as a girls name as well? We named our daughter Ireland.

Bernadette - posted on 04/19/2012

623

5

8

Kate Boslem, funny you should mention using names that sound like they should be for a dog (not that I think Max does - it was definitely a human name first, then went out of fashion but now it's back), but there seem to be a lot of Spikes being born lately! Talk about dog names! That name brings to mind the image of a bulldog with a massive underbite and a studded collar!

Sherri - posted on 04/18/2012

9,593

15

391

Blake, Ryan, Riley and even Tracy are most definitely unisex names. So is Addison, Jaidyn, Colby and a whole slew of others. I just don't see the problem with it. There is no right or wrong when you name your child regardless of gender. If you love the name then who cares.

I have all boys and I never had a problem choosing names that were more masculine. Colby(I have heard of 2 that are girls but typically masculine), Austin, Brady and Bentley.

Merry - posted on 04/18/2012

9,274

169

262

Post a reply!Well technically everything is a unisex name since odds are there at least one child of both sexes named every name available somewhere in history. What about Isabel? Do you consider that unisex? I know of a man who was named Isabel.

Or Blake, Dylan, Ryan, mason, Kyle, Thomas, James. Do you consider all these unisex? Cuz theyve also been used for girls. Idk, I feel like there should be a difference between boys and girls names but obviously others disagree. I think it's messed up how all the girls are taking boys names and yet it's so unaccepted to name a boy a 'girls or unisex name' boys named Morgan or Riley or Shannon or Tracy are condemned as having girls names when in reality it is a boys name that girls have just taken over.

Sherri - posted on 04/18/2012

9,593

15

391

Laura it is actually a unisex name I know a little girl named Quinn.

Sarah - posted on 04/17/2012

1,258

14

164

Personally I'm not a huge fan of Quinley. I wouldn't say I love Quinn, but I think it could be cute and grow on me. I'm 50:50 on Elaine. I myself prefer a more traditional name with traditional spelling (our children are named Benjamin Raineri George and Natalie Elizabeth Grace), but everyone likes different kinds of names. I think people need to pick a name they like. It always bugged me people who would criticize our name choices (and yes, we heard it with both names). There's always going to be SOMEONE who won't like what you choose, as long as you are happy with your decision, that's all that matters.

Kellie - posted on 04/17/2012

13

13

0

When my daughter told me the name she and her husband picked out for their daughter, who is now 4, I wasn't thrilled with it at all! It was so 'old fashioned'....they named her Lilian Rene. I told her how I felt, too! My mistake. This was not my daughter and I had no right to express an opinion that might have made them second guess themselves.

Well, guess what? I started calling her Lily but her personality is sooo Lilian and that is what I call her mostly now!

Choose what you like because you and your husband get to decide what to name her and how to raise her.

But here is another side to the story: My mom and dad named me Kellie Jean Kelley. Growing up with that was NOT fun! When my children came along, we decided to give them very simple names.....John Edward, Amanda Jean and Adam Michael. I was determined not to put my children through the hell I had gone through until I got married.

User - posted on 04/17/2012

14

0

2

My style of name selection is by my vision of the baby that am about to have. So i choose names in a more spiritual manner. That way, the significance of it makes all d sense to me and it sounds CUTE! Who cares what other people think anyways?

Britt - posted on 04/17/2012

6

10

0

Seriously, when I was pregnant with my daughter, we did not want to share the names we were considering for this exact reason. People are really quick to share their opinions, and if you ask for them, you will get them! That being said, we started telling people that we were going to name our daughter Hortense Agrapine. No offense intended to anyone who likes the name Hortense or Agrapine, but we thought it was amusing and strange enough that people would not be able to say much about it, and we were right. People's reactions were mostly, "Oooooh, that is...interesting." and then they would shut up, not wanting to offend us. For my son, we used "Road Glide" (a kind of Harley motorcycle) for his "in-utero name" and by then everyone got the joke and stopped bothering us about it.



Bottom line...I would honestly stop asking for opinions, especially from family members who somehow take ownership and believe that their opinions should be honored. This is *your* child; name her something that you love and that you find to be dignified.



Good luck! (...and I like Quinn, since you asked!) :-)

Misty - posted on 04/17/2012

7

5

0

I think its your child and only you should care if you like the name. I have 2 friends that refused to tell the name of the baby - even to their families - before it was born simply because they didn't want to have to listen to people say they didn't like it, knew someone with that name who is in jail, etc.

Name her Quinn - I like it.

Bernadette - posted on 04/17/2012

623

5

8

my sister purposely didn't tell anybody (even family) the name she had picked out for her second son, simply to avoid this situation. When you tell people, they either don't like it or tell you stories (usually horror stories) of someone they once knew with that name that they didn't like, etc. She named her son Charlie, which is certainly nothing out of the ordinary but it's not something any of the family were expecting and she did get the whole "why not just make it Charles, don't forget he's not going to be little forever" (that was from our mum). But it didn't take long for everyone to get used to it, because that was his name from the moment he was born and that was it. If she'd told people beforehand and got that reaction, people would have tried to change her mind and she might have ended up feeling bad about using it. Now, it's impossible to imagine him as anything other than Charlie! If people don't like it, that's their problem, but people tend to be a lot more accepting of a name if they don't know it beforehand, and are simply introduced to the baby as that name after it's born. (Oh, and by the way - the same sister is also named Clare, although hers is without the i)

Nina - posted on 04/17/2012

2

71

1

Why are you telling people the names you have chosen? As a mom of four, after our chosen names for our first child got shot down, we didn't tell anyone the names we had chosen until WE named said child. How fun to have a secret only you and he can share?! Everything else about your pregnancy is fair game it seems- "when are you due," to "how much weight have you gained?" I even had strangers ask "how many are you going to have?" (Especially during my second pregnancy- lol!) Names are SO important! Your reasons for choosing the names you have chosen are important to you and your hubby, the two people who made this baby are the two people who get to weigh in! I vote to keep it between you and hubby and MAYBE your bestie who supports everything you do! ( :

D - posted on 04/16/2012

4

0

0

Go with your gut.
After two boys we had too many names for girl. Both of my daughters have two middle names. my elder daughter is in 10th grade and her very best girlfriend is named Quinn.

The best advice I received, from my sister, was to yell the name loudly 7 time out the back door. If you still like it, the name is In the running!

Good luck!

[deleted account]

Who cares what the rest of your family thinks! This is YOUR baby. I personally don't care what people think of things that is mine and my husbands decisions. Yes they can offer their opinions but overall it's not their choice

Nancy - posted on 04/16/2012

4

66

0

I don't personally like Quinn or Quinley much myself. Here are a few suggestions: Lily Kate.

Emma Kate. Julianne. If you are sold on Elaine for a middle name, then Claire Elaine sounds good together.

Kathleen - posted on 04/16/2012

8

16

0

Name your baby Girl what YOU want. My daughter is a Chenine, (rhymes with Jeannine). Most of my family hated it, but we loved it and still do. She loves her name, she is almost 30. If you like Quinn or Quinley use it. Personally, I like the Quinn, because it is a name that will sound grown up when she is older, I grew up a Kathi and always felt it was a baby name. I now go by Kathleen. Either of your choices are beautiful!!

Elizabeth - posted on 04/16/2012

14

8

0

I think you should go with what you and your husband like.... When my sister in law was pregnant, she said she was going to name her daughter London and I didn't like it at all but now that she is here ~and named London~ I LOVE her name and it fits her perfectly!!!!

Jennifer - posted on 04/16/2012

10

17

0

I have two daughters, M'Kayla Marie and Adara Grace. M'Kayla got her name from her dad before I adopted her when she was four. We call her Katie for short, which I like much better. Adara got her name from an Internet site for baby names. It is Greek for "beautiful maiden" and Grace was passed down from her father's great-grandmother. I also considered Bethany, Isabella, Catherine, & Victoria.

Maya - posted on 04/16/2012

1

14

0

We had a name chosen for our daughter as well... and were talked out of it by a family member. We still regret not having chosen that name 6 years later. Name her Quinn or Quinnley if YOU like it. they will have to get used to it. It will grow on them... it's your choice.

Jessica - posted on 04/16/2012

5

6

2

I think that Quinlet is wonderful. I like names that are unique and individual. My sons name is Kenneth and everyone hated it when I told them... But you are giving birth to the little one and you get that wonderful option of a name. God has a plan and you will make the right decision for YOU and your little one... It doesnt matter it is what you and your husband decide and they will love your son or daughter no matter his or her name.

Krista - posted on 04/16/2012

12,562

16

845

Heck with them if they don't like it. If you and your husband both like it, then that's what you pick. They'll get used to it, and will eventually grow to love it, because they'll associate the name with your adorable baby.

[deleted account]

It's your child, so your choice. However unusual, people will get used to it. As you asked for suggestions. KAYAN, means long awaited. As it took a while for you to fall pregnant, that name came to mind.
Quinn reminds me of Doctor Quinn medicine woman, the show with Jame Seymour.
Good luck with the birth. Best wishes to you and your family. Let us know which me you decide on.

Amy - posted on 04/16/2012

20

0

0

I agree with many of the others...never ask. We didn't ask, AND we didn't tell until he arrived. Then, even if people don't love the name, it's hard to say that (or even think it!) when they're holding that sweet little bundle! My niece is Hadley and my son is Cohen--several family members admit they didn't love the names at first, but immediately couldn't imagine them as anything else! Go with what you love--and don't announce it until it's official! :) Good luck.

April - posted on 04/16/2012

1

1

0

I was absolutely set on a name when I was pregnant with what I was certain was a boy. Well it was a girl and I still wanted to use one of the names because it was an important family name to me Our families were flipping out but in the end guess what?...it's your baby. So I did what I wanted and I can't see he being anything other than a Layton Riley.

Tammy - posted on 04/16/2012

40

33

4

Although I do like the name Quinn, I have only known little boys with that name and i have never been fond of Claire. I wonder if you ever thought about the name Rhysa Elaine? Just a female version of Reese and hardly heard of. I also like the name Zophia, Nevaeh, and Paige. Good luck, picking the best name for your child is the hardest part.hy

~♥Little Miss - posted on 04/16/2012

21,273

9

3058

I would suggest if you do find a name that you like, don't tell your family until you have put it on the birth certificate. That way they can keep their opinions to themselves.

~♥Little Miss - posted on 04/16/2012

21,273

9

3058

You can TOTALLY use Reece as a girls name. I like it!

Donna - posted on 04/16/2012

204

23

2

It doesn't matter what your family likes it matters what you and your husband like. No matter what name you pick there is bound to be someone who doesn't like it. I have a niece name Quinlan and I think it's a nice name. Not much different than the names you like and Elaine is my mom's name so I like that. Go with what your heart is telling you.

Janice - posted on 04/16/2012

1,890

18

63

It is not anyone's choice but you and your husbands. This is my personal opinion.

I love the name Claire but I dont like the way it sounds with Elaine. Quinn is okay but again I dont like it with Elaine. I don't like Quinley but it sounds the best with Elaine of the three choices.



Seriously, if YOU love Quinn or Quinnley then go with it. It is not your family's decision. And once the baby is born it wont matter. I have disliked names before but once it is attached to a child I love, suddenly the name is great too.

Katy - posted on 04/16/2012

67

0

0

My sister in law just named thier baby girl Lauren. I hate that name!!! When I was teaching I had 3 or 4 girls named Lauren in my classroom. I'm glad they didn't tell me what it was before she was born. It's your child name it whatever you want.

Gina - posted on 04/16/2012

5

26

2

No, I don't like Quinn or Quinley. Claire Elaine is nice! I like "normal-sounding" names though! Not a fan of these "different" ones!

Heather - posted on 04/16/2012

534

65

0

Ok, first of all, NEVER tell your family members what your name choices are. Wait until after the baby is born to tell them the name you have chosen. It's none of their business, they don't need to know. We did that because every name that we picked for our son was shot down by other members in our family. Everyone had their own opinions and feelings about the names that we liked. So once we decided on a name, we kept it quiet until both kids were born. It made it a nice surprise for everyone. So don't tell anyone the names you choose. No one is going to care once your baby is born what you named them. It's up to you and your husband. They aren't going to care if you name her Quinley, Hayley, Apple, or Blue Ivy. Once she is born, people will love her because she will be so cute!



I love Quinley Elaine by the way! It's beautiful! Elaine Claire is also cute!



I don't share names with anyone because I have had pregnant friends steal them before my child was born. Oh, they say, Lily or Hayley is such a cute name! Then their baby girl was born, or boy, and they would steel my name choices. So not cool of them!

Tracie - posted on 04/16/2012

317

9

1

Don't listen to your family. Choose a name that you like. No matter how much they dislike the name, they will come around when they get to know her. All the names you picked are beautiful, classy, strong & intelligent. If I ever had another girl, I'd name her Emerson. Good luck!!

Anne - posted on 04/16/2012

130

1

17

Don't tell anyone what name you will give your child until AFTER he/she is born. That way, it's done, the name is registered and no one can talk you out of it! Make the name a surprise!

Laurie - posted on 04/16/2012

9

0

0

This is YOUR child, no one else's. I love Claire Elaine (reminds me of the DeBussy tune Clair De Lune - which is French for "moonlight"). I also like Quinn though, and think you should pick your favorite. The "family" can get over it.

Kirstin - posted on 04/15/2012

101

15

8

It shouldnt matter what your family thinks. Its your descion in the end. I named my daughter Lawrenique Kaitlyn (middle name after half sister) and at first no one liked it because of its length and hard pronouniaction but in the end I loved it. Now everyone I met comments on how beautiful her name is and all the kids at her daycare have no worries saying it. Go with your gut instincts.

S. - posted on 04/15/2012

1,182

9

312

When i had my first daughter cydnee-lorelle I had a whole host of people saying"oo you can't call a little girl cydnee" then when I had my second daugher Sienna I got sick to the back teeth of people telling me names that they thought was better then the one I picked, when I was pregnant with my third daughter Kaden Rose (kadie) We never told a sole, you can just tell if people like there names or not but since we have already called them there names I find people are a bit more polite with what they say. I have a few friends and family members who's childrens name arnt for me but I can promise you this they don't know what I think as it's none of my business what they call there kid's.
I do like unusual names, I love Quinn and quinley I also like Reece for a girl too :)

Bonnie - posted on 04/15/2012

4,813

22

261

No one has the right to choose a name other than you and your husband. You both are the parents. Other people don't like what you choose, that is too bad for them. Personally, I like Claire the best out of all three names you listed, but it is totally up to you.

Laura - posted on 04/15/2012

4

0

0

Savannah is a name that I would have loved to name one of my girls had I thought about it back ...good luck..wishing you a healthy baby....

Sue - posted on 04/15/2012

2

6

0

Choose the name that you and your husband like and want & don't worry about anyone else. x

Alyson - posted on 04/15/2012

2

6

0

Go with whatever names YOU like. I named my son Cillian as I loved the name and it wasn't anyone elses place to tell me different, though they definitely tried? My sister (who has no children ) argued with me on the day I came home from hospital I just ended up crying but did manage to say "its MY son not yours and i will name him whatever i want to!" My boyfriend was sooo cross with her!

Kathy - posted on 04/14/2012

1

15

0

We were just the opposite, we had girls names pick out right away, but couldn't come up with boy names for either time, so of course I had boys both times. By the time I had my first one we had decided on Kevin Michael or Jennifer Renee, Kevin who is now 28 tells me he sure is glad he was a boy because he doesn't like the name Jennifer at all. My second one was also a boy and I didn't have a boys named picked out, I thought for sure I was having a girl her name was to be Lauren Michelle, after I had him and they asked me what's his name I told them I didn't know yet. The next day he was named Kristopher Stephen.

I think Quinn is cute, and so is Quinley also plus it is original. Go with what you and your husband like, that's all that matters.

Lori - posted on 04/14/2012

3

20

0

I love Quinn. And Quinley is so cute and original. Your family will get used to it. When we named my son Tannis some people complained but they are fine now!

Lori - posted on 04/14/2012

3

20

0

I love Quinn. And Quinley is so cute and original. Your family will get used to it. When we named my son Tannis some people complained but they are fine now!

Sally - posted on 04/14/2012

577

5

11

Its your child so both of you give them the name you want and sod what your family think. I think they are lovely names.

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms