Opinion on this name please?

Mausie_no1 - posted on 05/24/2012 ( 103 moms have responded )

5

0

0

Please say this name aloud: Kaydence Sullivan

Does it flow nicely? Is it a mouthful? Does it merge too much together or is it ok? What are your thoughts please? :)

Thank you!

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Corinne - posted on 05/26/2012

9

15

0

Names are a big pet peeve with me. I grew up with a name that no one could pronounce or spell correctly and I swore up and down that I would not do that to my kids. I married a man with a basic name (David) so he doesn't understand what I went through. Some kids don't care or they even like having a unique name but most kids I have met (I am a dance teacher, so I meet alot of kids) don't like the fact that people have to ask them how to say their name or have it misspelled all the time or whatever. Do you want to be different then name your kid Natalie or Jennifer or Ashley because in the 16 years I have had my dance studio I have only come across 2 Ashley's and no Jennifer's or Natalie's. Go normal, that is different. My mom used to say to me, "yell the name up the stair case and if it sounds good to you because you are going to be yelling that name for the next 20 years and then some". Also, think about that little girl and when she becomes an adult. I have a grandmother at the studio and her name is Kandy. Can you imagine a 70 year old lady playing poker with her friends and they have to call her Kandy? All I ask is that you think about it before you name this child. There are alot of pretty names out there and my rule of thumb was - the names of our children had to be found on a placemat, toothbrush, cup and/or hairbrush. If I couldn't find the names on any of those items then i just didn't use it. My kids are 11, 8 and 7 and not once have they ever had to spell or say their names to people. I wish you the best of luck. BTW... my kids names are Daniel, Samantha and Jessica.

Merry - posted on 05/26/2012

9,274

169

262

Incidentally, kaydence is the most common spelling as of 2011.
Cadence may be the original way to spell it but now kaydence is the most used form.

Elfrieda - posted on 05/24/2012

2,620

0

462

Just out of curiosity, why would you change the spelling of Cadence to Kaydence? Cadence means the rhythm of something, like the beat of music or the way a poem sounds.

Sherri - posted on 05/24/2012

9,593

15

391

Really Elfrieda I use all my kids entire names ALL the time especially when I am trying to get their attention or if they are in trouble I use their first, middle and on occasion last too.

~♥Little Miss - posted on 06/07/2012

21,273

9

3058

It is a bit difficult to say together. It really runs into one another. I like the name seperately, just not with sullivan.

103 Comments

View replies by

Mexi - posted on 09/11/2012

7

0

0

i think it's really nice. It may be a mouthful but when is someone going to call her by her full name. It is also really pretty when it is shortened to Kay.

Melissa - posted on 06/17/2012

1

0

0

It's a pretty name but I'm gonna have to agree with sherri c. It is a little bit of a mouthful. How about Candace?

Miranda - posted on 06/16/2012

3

0

0

You could always go the double-barrelled route ie 'Kaydence-Anne' It would solve the prob because the first and last name would never be said together. My daughters name is Ruby, middle name Jean, and we always call her Ruby-Jean because we love the sound of it. but i agree with the S-S issue, bit of a tongue twister, specially if she grew up to have a lisp, now that would really suck.

Sara - posted on 06/12/2012

2

4

0

Honestly, if you and your husband like the name, stick to your guns and use it. Our first daughter was almost named something else because I kept letting other people insist strongly that they didn't like it or that something else sounded better to them. I'm so happy I went with my gut because I think I would have regretted it forever, and I also can't imagine her as anything else! Also, keep in mind that should she marry when she's older that her name will no longer be Sullivan. It could be something that flows easily or something totally off the wall. :)

Jessica - posted on 06/12/2012

6

41

0

i think its a lovely name and yes i would choose the old spelling cadence i also think it suits boys and girls :)

♫ Shawnn ♪♫♫ - posted on 06/07/2012

13,259

21

2015

Oh, you'll say it MUCH more than the first couple of days. My eldest is almost 18, and I still use his first & middle names. Same with my nephews.

♫ Shawnn ♪♫♫ - posted on 06/07/2012

13,259

21

2015

Beautiful name. And, you can tell how to pronounce it!

Kaydence...I hadn't even thought of that one, even tho I've heard Kaden for boys...I think its great!

Sarah - posted on 06/04/2012

56

20

0

The horses cadence is a rhythm and tthat's why they say anything about horses and cadence together.i I think Cadence/Kaydence is beautiful; original, yet easy to pronounce and spell. I would make sure the two don't run together, but tthat's easy enough with the right... cadence. Sorry, just slipped out.

Heather - posted on 06/03/2012

4

2

0

Don't like it at all, it sounds like you are commenting on a horses movement! If you have to use it then it is a boys name and not a girls name. Amelia is much more feminine and pretty name and it goes with Sullivan as well. Sorry, don't mean to offend : )

Sarah - posted on 06/03/2012

56

20

0

I love the name Kaydence, though like others, I prefer Cadence, as in a rhythmic cadence. Probably because I've always enjoyed music. And I love Cady for a nickname. Anyway, and either way, it's cute and will be a strong name for a woman.

April - posted on 06/03/2012

4

9

0

I think it's great. I love the name Cadence (either spelling), but my best friends has dibs on it so I can't use it! Haha.

Lara - posted on 06/02/2012

25

3

0

I don't think you're "over-thinking," here. I think Kaydence Sullivan, if said too quickly, would come out sounding like, "Caden Sullivan." I would also go w/ the traditional spelling, of "Cadence," if I were to use the name.

Gwen - posted on 05/31/2012

1,345

7

220

Personally, I've never been a fan of Cadence, or Kaydence. I see it in the birth announcements a lot lately.

Colleen - posted on 05/31/2012

4

0

0

Hi I love the name. My great grand daughters name is spelled different but its Kaydience. and I think that name sounds good with any last name lol. Her's is Kaydience Grignon. good luck and best wishes

Janice - posted on 05/28/2012

1,890

18

63

To those promoting a switch to a more traditional name - I HATE my name. It is boring and an name meant for someone 20 years older than myself IMO. Janice is fairly traditional and yet people still say it wrong -"Ja-neese" and spell it wrong "Janis."

I get wanting to make sure it flows. Flow was super important when I picked my kids names too. However, no matter what a person is named someone will either mispronounce it, misspell it or find a way to make fun of it. All parents should just pick what they love.

Tracy - posted on 05/28/2012

47

5

0

We chose the name Cadence Elizabeth for our daughter :) We got a lot of funny looks when we told people our name choice and almost didn't use it, but when she arrived we knew that was her name. I'm glad we didn't let anybody's opinion sway us because it fits her perfectly.

Vanessa - posted on 05/28/2012

0

0

0

My daughter is Cadence too. Unusual and appropriate meaning for her from the womb to the world! Love your name/spelling too.

Bernadette - posted on 05/27/2012

623

5

8

I think the "ce" sound on the end of Kaydence kind of runs into the "S" in Sullivan. It ends up sounding a bit like Kayden Sullivan.

Christy - posted on 05/26/2012

2

21

0

That is what we named my daughter back in 2008 and we spelled her name Kaidance just to be a little different :) We had that name picked out for 4 years, and within that years the name got very popular!! I think the only reason it may sound like a mouthful is because the name Sullivan...our last name starts with an S too and it does kinda mesh together, but, I wouldn't change it for the world! I think Its a beautiful name (maybe because I'm a little partial to it lol) and ultimately the decision is yours. How does the middle name sound in the mix? We named our daughter Kaidance Brianne Steele :) Congrats on your daughter, and if you love the name, don't let others influence you into changing it!!!

Corinne - posted on 05/26/2012

9

15

0

Ya, but everyone can spell Hunter, but if Devyn walked into my class and said her name I would spell it like Devin. I had a little girl with the name Jade Davina many many years ago. DAVINA was a combination of her parents name Dave and Tina. I thought it was unique and different and easy to spell and say.
Ultimately, in the end it is your choice what you name your child(ren). Just remember they have to live with the name for their whole life.

Trina - posted on 05/26/2012

3

0

0

I love it! I think it flows perfectly and I love the way you spelled it. My sons name is Hunter Mekhi Perez and my daughters name is Devyn Aurora Parsons (2 marriages). Clearly, I love unique names! But, it's obviously personal preference because it's your child. Good luck : )

Caroline - posted on 05/26/2012

13

2

0

If you change your mind and go with Kaydence, you might want to adopt the traditional spelling. The first time I saw this I assumed you were doing some sort of play on the spelling, which I believe is totally fine, but some folks will categorize the child by the name. My own daughter has a very unusual name that I love and everyone assumes is French in origin when it has nothing to do with it. Not a big deal now, but when they are one among many in a pile of resumes it could be an issue.

Liz - posted on 05/26/2012

1,047

15

260

I prefer Amelia Chloe, which I think is beautiful, but Cadence is also a nice name.

Merry - posted on 05/26/2012

9,274

169

262

Kayden/kaden/Caden/Cayden/Kaiden/Caiden had 16,431boys named it in 2011.



Cade/Kade is used on the boys side 1,544 times



Kaydence/Cadence/Kadence/Caydence had 3,206 girls in 2011



And yet on the girls side only 543 girls are named Kayden



I assume it's because it's a variant of the 'Aiden' fad. Aiden jayden Caden Brayden Hayden zayden raiden Layden

Pamela - posted on 05/26/2012

711

9

6

Why do you seek the approval of others? The name flows nicely. But most of all IF YOU LIKE IT USE IT!!!!!!!!!! Don't wait for the opinions of others to live your life with YOUR choices!

FREE WILL CHOICE is just that.....you don't need the opinion of anyone else.

Karli - posted on 05/26/2012

218

0

62

I have known a few women named Cadence and a couple named Caden/Kayden and I do not think that they sound manly at all, I think it sounds more pretty to me. Not a man's name at all.

Betsy - posted on 05/26/2012

22

0

2

I think its a lovely name! she will probably be Kay Sullivan unless you insist on the full name.

Merry - posted on 05/26/2012

9,274

169

262

Well you're in luck because I assumed coreen :) I betcha if your parents had spelled it like that you'd have avoided a lot of confusion.

Corinne - posted on 05/26/2012

9

15

0

The first one - Coreeen is how you pronounce it but I get a lot of Cor-in. I even had one family call me Miss Courtney for a whole year even though Miss Cori is pretty much on every letter or invoice or note that these families get. I also don't like the fact that my name rhymes with sorry. I hate hearing Sorry Cori. Ugh!

Anna-Marie - posted on 05/26/2012

2

6

0

I think it sounds lovely. There is the consonant after the end of Kaydence, so it flows nicely.

Threenorns - posted on 05/26/2012

87

0

1

sounds like "kayden sullivan" to me - pretty, but she's going to spend a lot of time clarifying it.



this is strictly my personal peeve, but "kaydence" is too cutesy - the spelling is "cadence". i get the same eye twitch when i run into "Syndee" or - the worst one yet - "Syndeigh". parents trying too hard to be "unique" while not being quite brave enough to give their child an actually unique name.

Becky - posted on 05/26/2012

10

0

0

The name is pretty but not so easy to say. The last sound of the first name and the first sound of the last name are the same. It makes it harder to separate.(If that makes sense!!)

Lynn - posted on 05/26/2012

7

175

0

I like your MN better... Paige Sullivan. It sounds better together because with a 3-syllable LN, you should use a one-syllable FN. I know because I have the same situation and used this formula for naming my 3 children! Good luck.

Helen - posted on 05/26/2012

31

24

2

Personally I'm not keen. We had a similar issue with chosing a name, we loved Jacob but our surname begins with B and it just became too much of a mouthful. I also agree with the temptation of cruel school children to call her Dense :(

Merry - posted on 05/26/2012

9,274

169

262

How about Chloe Sullivan. Ya know, like the girl in the superman series 'smallville' lol she was a great character.

User - posted on 05/26/2012

1

0

0

I do like Kaydence but with the traditional spelling. Cadence is feminine, Kaydence is not, altho' keep the "y" in Caydence and it's a beautiful and unique name. Then, think of all the nicknames the school kids will call her as she grows up. She'll of course get Cay, that's a given and Caydence is traditional enough that no one should or will think up less than nice nicknames. Kaydence is sort of off the wall and it immediately brings to mind kaydunce, at least to me when trying to think of nicknames.
My daughters name is Amy, simply because I wanted her to be able to spell it early and there's not too many nicknames for it; Ames, Amos Moses are what family calls her along with her middle name Amy Lynn. It also has a wonderful meaning. Amy is Love.
Her daughters name is Morgan Lynn. A strong Celtic name paired with all our middle names. She's called Little Mo or just Mo which suits her.
It's your call and yes, I do like Caydence Paige Sullivan far better than Amelia Chloe Sullivan. Caydence just seems to have the "right feeling" to it.

Merry - posted on 05/26/2012

9,274

169

262

I don't mind the name kaydence, personally wouldn't use it because it sounds masculine to me with the 'Caden' base in it but it is a girls name and I like K names as well"
But with Sullivan I would worry. It sounds like kayden Sullivan IMO.
You have to really enunciate to say the full kaydence Sullivan properly.
Amelia isn't a fav of mine but it is a nice name and does sound much better with Sullivan IMO.

In the end, it's your daughter! And whatever name ou choose is your decision.
If you worry this pronunciation ruins the name for you then don't use it.youdont want to regret it for her whole unmarried life.
Then again, some women never marry and some do but keep their names so I do think it's good to pick names that sound good together.

I kind of wish I had thought about this when I named my son, Eric Hoffmann. Sometimes it comes out sounding like Eric Kauffman and I've had people over the phone ask me to clarify.
With the middle name it's fine, Eric Ryan hoffmann. But I rarely said just erichoffmann when pregnant with him.

So go with your gut. If you feel this is a deal breaker then go with Amelia. Or another name. If you really love it, then who cares what others think!

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms