Vaccines yes or no??? What's your opinion

April - posted on 01/29/2015 ( 35 moms have responded )

24

0

3

I'm hoping someone will help me. I have four children ages 11 8 5 and now three months old. I'm really curious about what other mom's think of shots and vaccines?? I had almost all the shots SBS vaccines for my 11 8 and 5 year old done then last year basically stopped because of all the horror stories about deaths and links to autism and ect due to some of the vaccines and all. So now I'm really scared about starting my youngest daughter on getting any shots or vaccines she just turned three months old and I was about to call to set her appointment up but something keeps telling me to put it off just a minute more???? Gut instinct I don't know call it what you will I just need any info or help on making the best decision possible for my babies.. Any help or info is greatly appreciated

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Gena - posted on 01/29/2015

306

1

655

I have not read all the comments. I am pro vaccination. My son got all his shots and i am glad. I would never want to see him sick from a disease that i could have prevented by letting him get his shots.

Sarah - posted on 01/29/2015

3,880

14

1082

The HPV one is a hard one for me. I am one that believes you should teach abstinence to teens if I have my kids get this vaccination what message am I sending. On the other hand this is something that can prevent a lot of pain and suffering. So here is where I have landed and feel comfortable with......my kids (boys and girls) will get it after they have finished high school and before they start college. At this time they will also receive some of the vaccinations that they did not receive earlier due to not being in a high risk area for that disease at the time......for example Hep. A vaccination. Those at a higher risk are people that live in a high Mexican/Hispanic area.

Sarah - posted on 01/29/2015

10,410

0

26

I am curious what the mom's think about the HPV vaccine. Did you give it to your daughters? Now it is advised for boys as well..

Dove - posted on 01/29/2015

12,474

0

1354

My first two were vaccinated all on time. My youngest was vaccinated on time til his 12 month check up... then I decided to slow it down a little. He still got all the shots (except flu shot... that one we don't do) just at a slightly slower rate.

I am definitely pro-vaccine.

Sarah - posted on 01/29/2015

3,880

14

1082

What people are saying April is before you make a decision is to do your research and not go off of opinions. The autism/vaccination news was a national story when it broke. It is not hard to find that story. They are also saying to look at the facts. You have 3 children you have already vaccinated. If what you are saying was true then they would have issues. You can ask for opinions. You are going to get all kinds of them. Some people are straight forward and others are not. But what ALL have said to you is to do your research before you make a decision. Which is GREAT advise. We are all busy. We all have kids. But part of having kids is doing our own research and asking the appropriate people (teachers, doctors, etc.) questions when we have them to get the correct information. For example your 11 yr old is getting close to the age where sex education is going to be taught. If your 11 yr old only makes decisions off of hearsay and what others' opinions are then he/she will have some misinformation coming at them. Instead you are going to want your 11 yr old to be educated by you and possibly the school on the correct information about STD's and pregnancy so they know the risks. I remember the many different "truths" that many teenagers thought could or could not happen that many believed and many teens still believe today......you can't get pregnant your first time, you can't get pregnant on your period, you can't get an STD if you do oral sex. So the same as you would not your child to be misinformed on sex this is also what people are saying about vaccinations. You stated that you have a Gut instinct to not vaccinate, but why? What people are saying is to not just do or do not do something just because. Find out the facts first before deciding.

35 Comments

View replies by

~♥Little Miss - posted on 01/30/2015

21,273

9

3058

As far as the HPV vax goes, about 70-90% of the population has some form of HPV. I cannot remember the exact stats, but the percentage is wicked high. By the time my children are old enough, it will have been out for a long time.

Do I feel like it is a free pass to have sex? No. At this point, I feel like it is all a part of sex education. Just like talking about different forms of birth control. If we are doing our job as parents, we are going to discuss birth control, STD'S, emotional damage that sex can have to young, and everything else involved. This vaccination is just as important in my opinion as sex ed. We can preach abstinence all we want, but when it comes down to it, our kids will have sex when they want to. I want my children to be armed with information and be protected against a very preventable STD.

So, until any research tells me how truly harmful the HPV vaccination is, I will be getting it for both of my kids. I will also tell them WHY they are getting the vaccination.

Sarah - posted on 01/30/2015

10,410

0

26

I have a question for you Amy and this is just a question, not an argument for vaccinations. What, if anything are you doing to protect your kids from the recent measles outbreak? There are cases from California, Arizona, Colorado, Nebraska, Oregon, Utah and Washington, Mexico, New Mexico, Illinois and New York. The CDC expects that all of North America will see cases related to this Disneyland primary case.
Would ever allow your kids to travel internationally? To volunteer in more endemic areas? I do encounter non-vaccinated kids but I rarely get a chance to talk to their parents about "how" they prevent illness. The parents usually get super defensive about the "why" and the conversation goes nowhere.

Amy - posted on 01/30/2015

16

0

5

Do your research if you are unsure. I'm non vaccinating because I've done plenty of research and know the side effects of the vaccines. You have your gut instinct for a reason. Listen to it. You don't need to have an explanation for your gut instinct. Don't listen to what ppl tell you from " their experience". Everyone has a different experience. Your kids are not theirs. Every child is different and will react differently. Research, and choose what YOU feel is best for your kids.

Sarah - posted on 01/29/2015

10,410

0

26

I gotta say I have mixed feelings about HPV, It seems common sense, but i just feel kike it is so new. It has been around for several years and they increased the vaccine to males as well. Maybe I need to hit the books and do some research.

Sarah - posted on 01/29/2015

10,410

0

26

I can't say for sure, he is in the process of applying to West Point and the literature indicates that upon arrival, he will receive any vaccines he did not receive as a child. I don't know if it is any different with enlisted personnel. I am new to the whole military topic.

Gena - posted on 01/29/2015

306

1

655

This is my opinion about the HPV vaccine. There are alot of People who have HPV, if the shots can really make one immune against it without side effects then i would do the shot. But i am concerned because of the side effects. Btw Sarah I also got the Hepatitis Shot..It was my doctors idea because he knows what i work.(Tattoo Artist) May i ask why the Military wants your son to get the HPV vaccine?

Sarah - posted on 01/29/2015

10,410

0

26

Thanks, as a school nurse and a former L&D nurse I have seen my share of sexually active teens. I have elected to not vaccinate my teens for HPV. I did give hepatitis A, as my hubby and I both are health care workers. I was surprised at the negative response I got from the doctor when I declined it for my 15 yo girl, and 13 and 18 yo sons. I think it is too new and not well researched. I was lucky that three of my kids had chicken pox naturally in early 2005. The only one of my four who was not infected was my nursing infant. My eldest is pursuing a military education and i think HPV is a required vaccine for him. but at 18 it is up to him.
Any more input? pro or con?

Dove - posted on 01/29/2015

12,474

0

1354

None of my kids will get the HPV one unless THEY decide to do so when older.

Michelle - posted on 01/29/2015

4,566

8

3247

No one was being rude at all. The argument about Autism were debunked years ago, not recently at all.
I am for vaccinations as I look at the outbreak of measles and my heart breaks for the babies that have got it because they were too young to be vaccinated and it originated from an unvaccinated child.
I couldn't live with myself if my child got a disease and was maimed or died and I could have helped prevent it. Some horrible diseases are now mainly eradicated in a lot of countries because of vaccinations, why would we want to go back to those days where the infant mortality rate was very high.

♫ Shawnn ♪♫♫ - posted on 01/29/2015

13,264

21

2015

April, no one called you ignorant, no one said that you weren't busy being a mother.

We did say DO RESEARCH. And, regardless of how busy you are as a mom, you ALWAYS need to find the time to research topics such as vaccines, etc, regarding your children, well...because you ARE a mom!

As far as the common sense comment...I don't see a comment about common sense except yours...(I could be missing it, though).

Not a one of us was being judgmental, unless you count my comment about holding parents who refuse to vaccinate responsible if an outbreak is traced back to their kid. That's not judgement, my dear, that's my opinion of what should happen in case of a traceable outbreak.

The only vaccine I did not do with mine was varicella. That was a VERY new vac when my eldest was born, and tests weren't in on it yet. When my youngest was born, it was an optional vac.

Dove - posted on 01/29/2015

12,474

0

1354

I will add... the reason I slowed down my son's shots was because I was filled w/ a very uneasy apprehension that I just could not shake. I have no idea WHY or where it came from... I know the vaccine/autism stuff is bunk and I know the benefits of vaccines most oftentimes outweigh the risks... but still... that 'mommy gut' thing is very powerful and not something (IMO) to completely ignore.

Why don't you look into alternate schedules... or make up your own? They do typically get a lot of shots at once in infancy, but you can always break it up... one or two shots per visit and just have a few extra visits. Or maybe once you start researching more you will be able to put your fears at ease..

Sarah - posted on 01/29/2015

10,410

0

26

For every pro-vaccine post you'll get an anti-vaccine post. The anti-vaccine camp has just not found this thread yet.
This is a hot, ongoing debate. I think the moms who answered did a good job of explaining why they feel that way. I am firmly pro-vaccine. Period. I did tons of research before making my decision. My father was born in 1925, and had polio at 5. He lost 6 siblings at the same time and was disabled as a result. These illnesses have real risk, serious life-ending and life-changing risk. Vaccines, as I have researched pose a smaller risk, usually an allergic reaction or a fever. Certainly not a life-ending or life-changing risk. Elisabeth Sandberg, Phd. is a well respected professor in cognitive development and she has researched the link between vaccines and autism extensively. As the AAP recognizes, there is no reliable study or evidence to prove that vaccines pose a health risk to the nation.

Trisha - posted on 01/29/2015

551

0

13

April, they were just giving you the fact as they found them. (I am assuming) The reason they suggested you do research is because you are going to have to be the one to decide, based on the information YOU find.
Too many people make decisions on hearsay, just to find out that the information is false.
I don't think anyone was intending to offend you.
As I said before, I am on the fence as well, but for an entirely different reason. In fact, I bet no one here thinks of it from my point of view.
It is completely appropriate for you to be worried about giving these shots. My suggestion is to google "deaths caused by vaccines" and see what you find. Compare that to "deaths caused by outbreaks". I am sure there are going to be a lot of different articles about it, since people are so passionate.

April - posted on 01/29/2015

24

0

3

You can be passionet about a topic that's fine but don't act like that cause someone don't know something you do

April - posted on 01/29/2015

24

0

3

So because I didn't the idiot that made the statement about the vaccines and autism decided to go back and say OK no now it's not linked makes me ignorant and I should use common sense obviously I'm busy doing other things vs being on the internet all day like others get the luxury of doing so I may not know things they knew or may have not heard about it... So don't act so rude and judgmental because you knew something I didn't... WHOLE purpose of asking for opinions you can give them nice rude mean however you want but if it's going to be rude or judgmentle I'm going to say something b

♫ Shawnn ♪♫♫ - posted on 01/29/2015

13,264

21

2015

What is rude about asking you if you've done any research, and if you're prepared for the consequences if you choose not to vaccinate, and your child ends up being a carrier of one of these diseases?

Not to mention that it was pointed out that, were vaccines as fatal and dangerous as the propaganda states, your other 3 children would have had problems.

So please let us know what you perceived as rude. IMO, it is inconsiderate of one to not want to vaccinate their child, thus potentially increasing the danger of contracting diseases. I also personally believe that, if an outbreak is traced back to a child who's parents chose not to vaccinate, that those parents should be held partially responsible for the repercussions of the outbreak caused by their kid.

Trisha - posted on 01/29/2015

551

0

13

April, The responses are not rude... They are giving their opinions. Many people have VERY different views on this, and some are just very passionate about this topic.

April - posted on 01/29/2015

24

0

3

I was asking for opinions not rude comments this is my first post and the welcome is real..... God bless

♫ Shawnn ♪♫♫ - posted on 01/29/2015

13,264

21

2015

Have you actually done any research on your own, or are you depending on the propaganda that's been proven false?

If vaccinating was a deadly or as dangerous as you are thinking, your other children would already be severely maimed or dead.

do your research. Find out which vaccines are preventive, and worth getting and which may not be. For me, the only "not" one was varicella. If you choose not to vaccinate, don't be surprised when people don't include your children in events, etc, if you do not vaccinate. Yes, it is your choice, but when you do not do so, you do run the risk of your children being carriers of the very diseases you chose not to vaccinate against, as turns out to be the case in the measles outbreak at Disney. They've traced that to unvaccinated children who spread the disease at the tourist attraction. Do you really want that type of responsibility on your shoulders?

Sarah - posted on 01/29/2015

3,880

14

1082

You need to sort out what is fact and what is fiction. Fiction vaccinations cause autism. The doctor that linked autism to vaccinations has since stated that this is not true and he tainted his research to link this. Second vaccinations cause death. This is true, but so do the diseases you are vaccinating against. Fact vaccinations cause less death then the diseases you are vaccinating against do. So if you are worried about death then you would lead more towards vaccinating as you have a high risk of death with not vaccinating. Don't go off of hearsay or unreliable resources for your information. You would not choice to send your children to a certain school or other things you decide for your kids on hearsay and unreliable resources......you would do your own research and talk to the schools, etc. Do the same with vaccinations. Going off of "lifetime" movie information is going to lead you to the drama and not true facts. As I tell my kids anyone can post things in the internet or write articles about things that does not mean the information is true. Also look at the ages of your children. Your oldest is 11 years old if the so called facts were true then your kids would either be dead or have autism. You have to put common sense into the equation.

~♥Little Miss - posted on 01/29/2015

21,273

9

3058

I feel the benefits of vaccinations out weighs the fear and potential "what if's". I feel it is more of a gamble to not vaccinate, and your child die from a very preventable disease.

Also, as a side note, if your children attend public school in the USA, they must be fully up to date on vaccinations.

April - posted on 01/29/2015

24

0

3

I understand completely Trisha... I don't want to do the wrong thing and it just really bothers me and scares me. What if I do or don't?? Then god all of my babies are fine great healthy and growing right on track but what if I do that first shot and it changes my world forever and something terrible happens? It feels like a gambling game with my child's life and that just don't set well with me...

~♥Little Miss - posted on 01/29/2015

21,273

9

3058

Well first of all, any link to vaccinations and autism has be debunked. The Doctor who initially made the "discovery" has come forward and retracted all claims, and research. It was falsified. Vaccinations do NOT cause autism.

Secondly, speak to your pediatrician about any and all concerns. Your childs health care provider along with you will make the best medical decisions for your child, and he/she can help explain the vaccinations to squelch your fear. You can also ask your pediatrician about spreading out vaccinations to ensure your child is not receiving and over load that you don't feel he or she should have.

IMO, vaccinations are very important for the health of children, and our world. The reason they were created, was to stop terrible diseases that maim, kill, and deform people and children. I feel it is our responsibility as parents to protect our children against preventable diseases. Just look at the current Measles outbreak in Disney. It was totally unnecessary that it happened, but really helps show all the anti-vaxers that their children are NOT protected from these diseases.

I ONLY feel that there is an excuse to not get vaccinated when there are real MEDICAL reasons. Not just cause "you don't wanna".

Trisha - posted on 01/29/2015

551

0

13

I am worried about vaccines as well, but mostly because I work in the cancer research industry, and the most successful ways they have been able to attack cancer cells (well, just initial researching phases) is with modified virus's. As I understand it, if people are immune to those viruses, they won't be an option. But at the same time, I do not want to be the reason potentially deadly viruses are spread.
More opinions wanted...

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms