what are your opinions on ear piercing? what age is too young?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Lauren - posted on 08/09/2011

9

30

0

thank you for all of your opinions. my hispanic side of the family keeps pushing me to pierce her ears because its "tradition" and im like back the fuck off! jeeze... i think personally i would want her to have the choice. make her, her own person..

Charlie - posted on 08/09/2011

11,203

111

409

I think any age too young to ask , consent , or take responsibility is too young.

Lauren I had mine done when I could ask for it and my mum made it a super special day that I will never forget Im glad she gave me the choice and she made it such a wonderful experience for me .

Krista - posted on 08/08/2011

12,562

16

845

Well, if you want to hear 151 opinions on it, we just recently had a thread about this:

http://www.circleofmoms.com/welcome-to-c...

Basically, about half of the women here feel that the child's ears should only be pierced when she (or he) is old enough to ask for it and old enough to care for it properly. The other half of the women here think it should be done in infancy.

Personally, I don't see the point in piercing a baby's ears. Their ears are perfect as it is, so why put them through pain just to put sparkly stuff in their ears because WE think it looks cute?

Jodi - posted on 08/09/2011

3,560

36

3907

Ah, Sara, you will have the ladies who tell you it will grow over. But quite honestly, they never quite do. I have a second hole in each ear that I haven't had earrings in in about 15 years, and there are still holes. I can't quite get earrings in them, but the holes are still there.

Lauren - posted on 08/09/2011

9

30

0

thats the exact same thing i was thinking jodi! i would rather it be a special day for us to bond, maybe a birthday or christmas etc. not a day for me to torture my 2 month old!

21 Comments

View replies by

Cheyenne - posted on 08/09/2011

406

17

27

i got mine when i was a baby. and when i wanted more i asked my mom and she took me. ive had my ears peirced 4 times but only have the firs 2 sets open now. im having a girl due december and ill probably take her when shes a few months old

Stifler's - posted on 08/09/2011

15,141

154

604

I used to have my navel pierced and if you took it out for half a day it would be hard to put back in. You can still see the holes though even though they've been out since I was pregnant with Logan.

Stifler's - posted on 08/09/2011

15,141

154

604

I have a lot of piercings which have been out for years and they still get pus lumps in them and you can still see the hole.

Charlie - posted on 08/09/2011

11,203

111

409

I took my earings out at around 12 years old for two years and they never grew over I could slip earings back in easy.

Jennifer - posted on 08/09/2011

4

12

0

My daughter had her ears pierced at 4 months. For some reason, the pedia who pierced it, will not do it if the baby is already 5months above. I guess the reason is the baby gets more active when they reach 5months and above. So far, I haven't encountered problem with my daughter. She just cried for a while and then she's fine after. I just make sure to clean with 70% alcohol everyday till it's totally healed. I hope this answers your question as to how young can you have the ears pierced.

Stifler's - posted on 08/09/2011

15,141

154

604

My sister is 18 and has never had hers done either. I've had a lot of ear piercings on the other hand.

[deleted account]

Same here. It was my present for my ninth birthday. Mom took me to get it done. I got to pick my own earrings. Then we ate lunch at a restaurant and went shopping. It's a good memory. I plan to do the same with my daughters should they want pierced ears. My sister is 24 and has unpierced ears by choice. How aweful would it have been for her had our mother decided to pierce her ears as an infant?

Jodi - posted on 08/09/2011

3,560

36

3907

You tell 'em Lauren :)
I have a 6 year old daughter, and my plan is to make it something special for her. She doesn't want them at the moment (her friend had them and her ears got really badly infected, so my daughter has gone off the idea), but I was thinking of when she graduates primary school, as a gift, we'll have a girl's day out, manicure, pedicure, and ears pierced if she wants it done. Make it something special for her.

Yvonna - posted on 08/09/2011

21

110

3

Absolutely monitor their online life, too many of our young ones are falling into a trap.

Stifler's - posted on 08/08/2011

15,141

154

604

I think it's mean and unnecessary. Why the rush to pierce their ears? What's the big deal if their ears aren't pierced?

Jodi - posted on 08/08/2011

3,560

36

3907

When they are old enough to ask for it. And even then, as a parent, I guess it depends. Personally, I wouldn't let them until they are also responsible enough to look after them too, but I know some parents are happy to take on that responsibility too.

I just can't see the point in piercing them as babies either when it is really unnecessary.

Kellie - posted on 08/08/2011

1,994

8

175

Only 151 Krista? hehe

I'm with the half that believes when The child is a) Old enough to ask for it and b) old enough to take care of them.

Wendy - posted on 08/08/2011

285

29

59

i agree with most when they ask for it for awile like are serious......explain the bit of pain and care of it and no problem. my girls were 7 and 8 when done ....i realise there just ears but they should be given the choice to have them or not

Jennifer - posted on 08/08/2011

1,431

1

298

IMO, I think it should be when the child asks for it. My daughter asked for it when she was 5. I told her about the pain, and what to expect. I told her about having to keep it clean and all that takes, before hand, and she still wanted it done. So, that was her 5th birthday present. I would just be way to scared for a baby. My girls always pulled on their ears when they were tired, and I'm scared they would wiggle the backing off, and would try to swallow it. Plus, I have a hard enough time with them getting shots. I wouldn't want to put them in pain for no reason without them having a say.

[deleted account]

Ditto Krista.

My girls are 9.5 and not done yet... even though they've been asking for a few years. I'm thinking they'll be ready to care for them on their own w/in the next year or two though.

Yvonna - posted on 08/08/2011

21

110

3

I feel there is no age limit, not ever too young, as long as a good eye is kept on the areas pierced, use alcohol swabs and or peroxide. That's all I was concerned about, but after 44 yrs. and my other daughter is 37 and there has never been any problems.

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms