What's your opinion of Wellbutrin and/or Chantix?

Meredith - posted on 02/23/2010 ( 23 moms have responded )

74

46

1

Unfortunately I have begun to smoke again six weeks after giving birth to my daughter. Although not a heavy smoker (persay) I am still in need of help to quit.



I have had friends on both medications and have gotten mixed reviews from both sides for each medication. Although it seems that there are worse reviews for Chantix as opposed to Wellbutrin. I am going to my obgyn in a couple of hours and plan on discussing my options with him.



Please let me know your opinions of these. I am not breastfeeding so I'm not worried about that. Also, I am aware of the dangers of smoking (hence that's why I need and want to quit for good) so please no mudlsinging, etc. I'm not looking to get scolded.

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Veronica - posted on 02/25/2010

176

13

23

well, I tried both. With the Wellbutrin I felt like I was on speed (I was cleaning my floors at 2am) definately didn't like that. With the Chantix I was extremely moody, tired, and couldn't sleep for the life of me. I too am attempting to quit again. This time I am taking an antidepressant/anti anxiety med and also using the nicotine patch. so far so good. I have found with the patch that even though I was smoking enough to use the step 1 (21mg) according to the box, it was still too much nicotine for me and made me jittery. I'm using the step 3 patch (7mg) which calms the cravings without making me jittery. Good luck and hang in there. And dont let anyone make you feel bad about starting again, I too started again when my son was about 6 weeks old. It is very stressful being a first time mom.

Kate CP - posted on 02/25/2010

8,942

36

758

Well, I *liked* Wellbutrin...then it gave me severe pancreatitis and now Wellbutrin and I don't get along very well. However, I was on a large dose (300mg) for over 7 years. Plus, the pancreatitis reaction to Wellbutrin is VERY VERY rare (less than 1 in 10,000 I believe). So, it worked great for me and I think it would be a good medication to try if you are trying to quit smoking. Just don't take it too long. :P

Lanabreanne - posted on 02/24/2010

34

10

3

you could try cold turkey with support. Check out www.becomeanex.com, or whyquit.com. Both helped me alot. im on day 23!

Cheri' - posted on 02/23/2010

53

43

0

one of my good friends went on chantix, he had crazy night terrors where he was afraid to go to bed and he would sleep walk. good luck!

23 Comments

View replies by

SARA - posted on 03/26/2015

2

0

0

VERONICA, I KNOW THESE POSTS ARE OLD. I RAN INTO THEM SEARCHING OTHER TOPICS (YOU KNOW HOW THAT GOES)! HAVE YOU TRIED THE E-CIGARETTES? THEY'RE CHEAPER THAT CIGARETTES (ACCORDING TO HUBBY), YOU CAN DECREASE NICOTINE GRADUALLY TO NONE!

SORRY ABOUT YOUR SIDE EFFECTS WITH THE CHANTIX AND WELBUTRIN.

Jackie - posted on 02/25/2010

1

0

0

i've been using Welbutrin. I like it because I have been cutting down drastically on my smoking without even trying or realizing it, and that's with another smoker in the house. Instead of a pack a day(sometimes more) to 4-5 packs a week. I would recommend this for you since Chantix may initiate or enhance post partum depression. I was going to try Chantix, however I really didn't see a good results from people I know that tried it and I have depression and didn't want to chance the risks that come with it.

Angel - posted on 02/24/2010

42

0

5

Wellbutrin is alot cheaper so if financially it is wiser.And with wellbutrin it can help lose weight. Good Luck

Meredith - posted on 02/24/2010

74

46

1

well i turned in my prescription for Chantix yesterday, and called this morning to see if it was ready...it is and to the tune of $164.99!!! Holy cow! I'm going to have to wait until I get my tax returns in, in order to afford to pick it up. And that price is WITH insurance too! Good Lord almighty! :(

Kim - posted on 02/23/2010

2

4

0

My husband and I have recently quit using the Wellbutrin. We took it for about 2 months while slowing down. Then we picked a date and quit. I believe it really helped us. My brother used the Chantix. He quit after 7 days. My opinion is that you really have to want to quit before anything will work. On month 2 and going strong. Still have the urge every once in a while but do something else and you forget about it. Hope this helps.

Meredith - posted on 02/23/2010

74

46

1

Kati...congrats on quitting and im sorry to hear you started back up. With all this back and forth crap ive been doing it makes me kick myself in the butt for ever picking it up in the first place let alone starting back up after i gave birth. I guess I need to find a new way to handle stress. Thank goodness for a great husband (who doesnt smoke) and is really supportive.

Rosie - posted on 02/23/2010

8,657

30

321

hi meredith, i have myself taken wellbutrin and it worked fabulously!! although i started up again 2 years later in a bar (don't ever give in, i thought i could handle it, but obviously couldn't). as a matter of fact today i started on wellbutrin to help me stop again. with wellbutrin i had some side effects of severe hunger. if i didn't eat, i felt like i was going to puke sometimes and other times it felt like my stomach just hurt. i stopped taking it after 2 1/2 weeks because i was done smoking within a week and a half. wellbutrin affects the pleasure receptors in your brain while chantix affects the nicotene receptors in your brain. i have 2 aunts that had great success on chantix, no side effects, but the whole nightmare, going crazy thing really scared me, so i didn't choose that.

when i got a craving after i quit i would just redirect myself. i usually ended up cleaning something-my house was spotless- at least for a little while!! :)

good luck, maybe both of us will have something positive to celebrate together!!

Jodi - posted on 02/23/2010

3,560

36

3907

Hang in there Meredith. It really can work :) What you really need to do is focus a lot on the psychological addiction while you are on the meds. We really focused on that a lot, and found other ways to do some things, and changed our routines. That really helps. For instance, the first thing I used to do when I got out of bed in the morning was switch on the kettle and go outside for a cigarette. Now, I switch on the kettle and then go and have a shower instead. I just readjusted my routine so that first mental craving would pass more easily.

Meredith - posted on 02/23/2010

74

46

1

well i talked to my obgyn and he gave me a prescription for Chantix. He said that wellbutrin doesn't work as quickly or effectively as Chantix apparently. Hopefully this will work good for me with little to no side effects. I understand that this is a mental addiction as well, but believe me I am willing to quit...I just need a little help.

Julie - posted on 02/23/2010

8

8

0

I quit 3 years ago cold turkey, and I used a program you can download for free. It is quit counter...it really helped sows you how much money you save, how many you have not smoked, and about how it improves your health...it was a real motivator(and I loved to smoke, a pack a day) YOU CAN DO THIS!!!! GOOD LUCK!!!

Jodi - posted on 02/23/2010

3,560

36

3907

Meredith, my husband and I had success with Champix. However, if you took up smoking again after not smoking during pregnancy, your issue is psychological addiction, not only physical??? It could mean you are not in "the right place" to give up? You need to make sure you work on your psychological needs, and changing YOUR habits. You can't simply rely on the medication to do the job for you or you will end up going back to the smoking again.

Alison - posted on 02/23/2010

2,753

20

471

I am on Welbutrin for depression and I really like it. I have had absolutely no side effects. Good luck!!!

Ashley - posted on 02/23/2010

910

45

83

Both my boyfriend and my cousin (hard-core pack smokers a day) quit using Champix (the Canadian version of Chntix) they both hated the messed up dreams, neither got depressed. My boyfriend has been smoke free nearly 2 years now. and my cousin going on 6 months. It is hard to use a medication to quit anything, but continue to do your research and talk to the obgyn to figure out what is best for you.

Meredith - posted on 02/23/2010

74

46

1

thank you....yes im considering the wellbutrin route.....chantix is too risky....

Lisa - posted on 02/23/2010

27

22

2

Congrats on wanting to quit. My husband tried quitting with Chantix without any results. My husband never experienced any of the "side effects" that some people complain of.

I also agree with Summer Lighner on finding a good support system.

Good luck.

[deleted account]

Congrats on wanting to quit! I know it is hard, I have been there. Just keep pushing through and expect it to not be easy. Wellbutrin! Chantix is a horrible drug. Wellbutrin is also a antidepressant which will help with your anxiety of quitting. Chantix will cause terrible nightmares and will really depress you. To say it is bad is a understatment. I have friends who have tried it as well and they lost their minds. Trying to quit is hard enough without bad side effects that make you want to smoke.

I wish you the best of luck. Find a good support system, no your triggers and advoid or prepare for them, and push through...

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms