Anybody have any opinions on use of IUDs?

Suzanne - posted on 11/18/2009 ( 298 moms have responded )

3

7

0

Looking to try IUD (Intra uterine device) for birth control. Haven't heard too much on this. Does anybody have any opinions or firsthand knowledge of using an IUD.

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Kate CP - posted on 11/19/2009

8,942

36

754

Quoting Suzanne:

If you believe that life begins at conception, it is a form of abortion.


Actually, conception does not occur until the egg has implanted into the walls of the uterus. You are not pregnant until that point. End of story. There is no wiggle room here. You cannot abort a fetus when it hasn't even implanted in the uterine wall.

Alison - posted on 11/19/2009

2,753

20

466

I am surprised to see so many negative comments here. The thing with an IUD is that it is fabulous when it works well, but it's a mess when it doesn't. I was determined to try it out because despite some of the previous posts, Mirenah is the most effective form of BC there is.

As to the ethical debate, let's save that for another thread. Seriously.

Martie - posted on 11/22/2009

1

6

0

I have Mirena, had it inserted on October 17th, 2008. Originally, we chose to not have anymore children, but when it came time for the procedure of permanent birth control, I had second thoughts due to being torn on whether or not I wanted more children, my youngest was only 8 months old. I'm so glad that I chose Mirena, it was a bumpy road for the first 3 months, I will not lie, but your obgyn will also warn you about it too, the cramps, mood swings, bleeding, break-through bleeding, etc. etc. etc....

If you can deal with it all, trust me, after the 3 month mark, you'll be a happy camper! =) I will also admit that I NEVER know when a period is coming, BUT, my periods are down to nothing more than requiring a panty liner with no other symptoms like mood swings, bloating, however; I still get the chocolate cravings...LoL

All in all, my friend, I will be keeping the Mirena for the next 4 years and WILL replace it when the time comes. Now that our boys are bigger, I'm no longer torn as to whether or not I want more, I don't, trust me, these boys are enough. I've chosen to keep the Mirena until the E-sure method has become more advanced and by the time I'm in need of a replacement, that may be what I will do. I don't want to be cut into and have a grand recoop time.

Hope this helps in the very least... I love my IU(C)D!!!

I will tell you that if you are uncomfortable in anyway, outside of cramping which is normal, or if your man can feel it during intercourse, if has been dislodged from where it's suppose to be. I & my husband and doing constant checks on placement to ensure that it's not making it's way out through the cervix, this is something that you'll have to check continuously(this is NOT common). This may sound like alot of upkeep, but trust me, it's better than forgetting to take a pill and OOPS! I'm too old for pills and this was the BEST decision that my husband & I made.

WARNING: If you have had a c-section, do not try Mirena, I know 4 women who had to take their's out due to having too many negative symptoms and the bleeding and cramping were agonizing... Mirena and a c-section is NOT a good combo.

Good luck!

Kate CP - posted on 11/20/2009

8,942

36

754

Quoting Timbrel:

i think it is a form of abortion. because what happens is the egg is actually fertilized and when it goes to implant itself in your cervix it is split in 2 killing the child


No, that is not how an IUD works. An IUD works by making the uterine lining an inhospitable place for a fertilized egg. It never gets the chance to implant and thus is passed through cervical mucus. About two weeks later most women will have their period.



I will say it again, you are not considered pregnant until the egg implants itself into the uterine lining. 

Kate CP - posted on 11/20/2009

8,942

36

754

Quoting Stephanie:

Quoting Kate:

Quoting Suzanne:

If you believe that life begins at conception, it is a form of abortion.


Actually, conception does not occur until the egg has implanted into the walls of the uterus. You are not pregnant until that point. End of story. There is no wiggle room here. You cannot abort a fetus when it hasn't even implanted in the uterine wall.



What about ectopic pregnancies then? It's still a pregnancy and not in the uterine wall. I do believe that fertilized is fertilized. Whether it's implanted somewhere or not. Yes, I've used an IUD and it worked well. I also knew that there was a chance I had my egg fertilized and by having that IUD I chose not to have that baby. I am very pro life... now. I didn't fully understand the IUD when I had it placed. Now I do. As well as it worked, I can never in good conscious, use one again.


An ectopic pregnancy cannot survive it's implantation because it is outside the uterine walls. However, it is implanted in uterine LINING which has grown outside of the uterus (endometriosis). While your body may begin producing hCG it is not a viable pregnancy and must either be removed or transplanted.



If you believe "fertilized is fertilized" do you know how many miscarriages you have had? Probably in the hundreds, I would guess. Many many times an egg is fertilized but fails to implant for a number of any reasons. That would be considered a miscarriage for you, right? In the medical community it's considered a "missed miscarriage" meaning the pregnancy never started and hCG was never produced. 

This conversation has been closed to further comments

298 Comments

View replies by

Kaitlin - posted on 12/01/2009

7

31

0

I wouldnt recommend it. I got my IUD put in 12 weeks after having my son. After 3 weeks if fell out and when i got another put in i bled heavily for 8 weeks(a super tampon every 90 minutes) before i decided to take it out for good and still bled for 10 days or more after the doctor took it out..

Noelia - posted on 12/01/2009

14

77

0

Weren't these taken off of the market for causing internal scarring? Have you tried the sponge? They are back on the market + serve as both a barrier device + have spermicide.

Shayne - posted on 12/01/2009

1

5

0

Yes I used one for years (like 15-20 years) .I found it great didn't interfair with anything. Did fine my periods were abit heavier than normal.Didn't have to remember to take pills which I am hopeless at , the injection was suitable ,so for me IUD's were great ,once in you could forget about it for 5 years. Hope that helps.

Karen - posted on 12/01/2009

2

32

0

I think it is the next best thing to absitnence. I got the first one after my first child ten years ago and had it removed to have another child. I had another IUD after our second child who is now 6 and have had no issues. It is good for five years after the five year mark I had it removed and a new one put in and to date still no issues.

Sylvia - posted on 12/01/2009

1

3

0

I was very hesitant to get the Mirena IUD but I can't take pills because of the high estrogen and progestterone levels- I get very depressed. So my doctor did some research and we compared alternatives... the Mirena only has one hormone progesterone and at a very little amount. Truthfully I've had it three months. My moods have been steady- I have not gained or lost weight, but I have not had a period which is kinda nice.... my spotting did start the second month and I still have it, but it's ni=ot enough to really even wear a panty liner with- dont get me wrong I'm not wearing white tight pants or nothing. Haa Haa

So- so far so good- but I do have my fingers crossed. Good luck.

Janelle - posted on 12/01/2009

97

10

4

I had one for 2.5 years after my son was born. I just had it removed because of unusual bleeding, and emotional problems. Now I am having alot of pain in my joints. I won't ever get another one.

GLORIA - posted on 12/01/2009

1

0

0

I HAD ONE FOR 8 YRS. HAD TO HAVE IT REMOVED BECAUSE I HAD A PERFORATED UTERUS AND I BLED FOR ALMOST A MONTH. FOR THE 8 YRS I HAD IT IT DID WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO. HOWEVER THAT LAST MONTH I WAS IN MAJOR PAIN & HEAVY BLEEDING. I DON'T RECOMMEND IT.

Alyssa - posted on 12/01/2009

96

12

6

Quoting Bridgette:



Quoting Alyssa:




Quoting Kasey :





Quoting Suzanne:

If you believe that life begins at conception, it is a form of abortion.










this is completly UNTRUE. the IUD prevents the sperm from getting into your uterus. so there is no way conception is possible. get your facts straight before you say something like this.













Wrong it works in several ways, 1 of which is preventing implantation of a fertilized egg..get YOUR facts straight.









http://www.mirena-us.com/what_is_mirena/... 






Thanks you proved my point



Mirena (levonorgestrel-releasing intrauterine system) slowly releases very small amounts of the hormone levonorgestrel directly into your uterus.



There is no single explanation for how Mirena works. Mirena may:





Thicken cervical mucus to prevent sperm from entering your uterus

Inhibit sperm from reaching or fertilizing your egg

Make the lining of your uterus thin



Mirena may stop the release of your egg from your ovary, but this is not the way it works in most cases. Most likely the above actions work together to prevent pregnancy. Like other forms of birth control, Mirena is not 100% effective.

[deleted account]

Quoting Alyssa:



Quoting Kasey :




Quoting Suzanne:

If you believe that life begins at conception, it is a form of abortion.








this is completly UNTRUE. the IUD prevents the sperm from getting into your uterus. so there is no way conception is possible. get your facts straight before you say something like this.










Wrong it works in several ways, 1 of which is preventing implantation of a fertilized egg..get YOUR facts straight.





http://www.mirena-us.com/what_is_mirena/... 

[deleted account]

Quoting Alyssa:



Quoting Kasey :




Quoting Suzanne:

If you believe that life begins at conception, it is a form of abortion.








this is completly UNTRUE. the IUD prevents the sperm from getting into your uterus. so there is no way conception is possible. get your facts straight before you say something like this.










Wrong it works in several ways, 1 of which is preventing implantation of a fertilized egg..get YOUR facts straight.





http://www.mirena-us.com/what_is_mirena/... 





I suggest reading the facts yourself as too many people either mis-interpret, misread or just have a different interpretation of what is true and what is not.

Kim - posted on 12/01/2009

1

0

0

I have had my IUD for two years now. I spotted for about three months. I love it!

Alice - posted on 11/30/2009

2

37

0

hey i have the iud done ,i got spotting for the first 2 months and i think its the best thing since sliced bread now that the spotting has finished! i now have a new partner and he said that he cant feel a thing!!!!!! as he didnt know i had one until i told him!!!

i would recommend it to all mothers that dont want any little surprises!!!!

Georgette M. - posted on 11/30/2009

1

20

0

Hi, I had an IUD inserted back in 95', had my daughter in 98' and had one put back in after the birth. That one stayed in until 2000. After my oldest daughter had her daughter I recommended that she get one. That was in 07'. I have recommended them to several friends that love them and swear by them as I do. If I had to, I would get it again in a heart beat. The best is Mirena. Good luck.

Kelly - posted on 11/30/2009

1

31

0

Suzanne, I have a Mirena. I got it about a year and 1/2 ago. I love the fact that I don't have to think about birth control, but I can tell you some of the negative side effects. 1) My husband "feels" it on a regular basis, and it hurts him. I have had it trimmed twice, but he still feels it from time-to-time. 2) I also spotted for months...thought I would NEVER stop, but the spotting finally stopped after about 6 months. Now I don't have a period, per se, but I still get the symptoms. 3) I have been getting large ovarian cysts because I'm not longer taking the pill which provide a suppression hormone....I almost died when on burst and cause an ovary to split. 4) My sex drive has decreased...other friends of mine have had the same experience with the Merina. Needless to say, I'm getting mine removed...actually getting it taken out in December...giving the bcp's time to kick in before I get it out. Good luck...whatever decision you make will be the right one.

Alyssa - posted on 11/30/2009

96

12

6

Quoting Laurel:

I guess the question presentation of this "conversation" opened it up to people that wanted to assert their opinions on the spiritual aspects of using an IUD, but I honestly feel like they are being inappropriate. If this person asking the question had even considered that this was a form of abortion and it is something that they would not feel comfortable doing, THEY WOULD NOT EVEN BE CONSIDERING IT YOU JERKS. Anyways, I had an IUD twice, and I have a history of abnormalities. I have spotted a lot, but it has lessened as time has passed. My mother aslo has had an IUD for almost a decade and absolutely loves it. I recommend it as someone that has been on almost every other type of birth control and been unsatisfied with them all.



Why would you assume that?  I considered the IUD and my doctor never informed me of the potential risk that an egg could still be fertilized and then shed because of the hostile enviroment the IUD creates within the uterus.  It was only AFTER i brought the information up MYSELF that she conceeded that YES that is indeed one of the ways that it can work.  Dont just assume because you know this information that EVERYONE does. Informed consent isnt as informed as some people like to think.

Lisa - posted on 11/30/2009

1

16

0

I love it! The spotting and cramping lasted for several months but now I don't even have periods just a once-a-month day of mild spotting. I have had it in now for about 6 or 7 months and I love not having to worry about getting pregnant before I'm ready. I did question having it put in because I worried that it was a form of abortion but my doctor assured me that it absolutely was NOT! She said that it just uses several different methods of making your body unsuitable for fertilization. It also has no permanent effects, after having it removed you could become pregnant as soon as the next day!

Veronica - posted on 11/30/2009

1

12

0

Not everyone has the same experience with it. I for one was not able to use it for long. I bled all the time. 3 weeks out of the month to be exact. It was only in for 8 weeks and then gone. I couldn't take it. I have a friend who used it and had no complaints. As a matter of fact, she had little to no bleeding. Hope that helped

Diane - posted on 11/30/2009

1

4

0

I've had one since 1994, just after my first son was born, but obviously getting it replaced every four years. I've never had any problems with mine. One of my friends bled alot and had to get it removed, another friend had the Mirena and she wasn't very happy with it. She felt very bloated and her skin became very spotty. As Karleen said, we are all different.

Rocio - posted on 11/29/2009

6

6

0

for me Mirena worked great! I dont have to take a pill and it has lessened my periods to almost none at all.. I like that part

[deleted account]

I love my Mirena IUD. I had one in for 5 years with absolutely no problems. I recently had my second one put in because it can only stay in for 5 years. I don't have a period. Every few months I get "a spot" and that is it. I don't have any side effects and haven't gotten pregnant. I highly recommend it. It's been great for me.

[deleted account]

I love my Mirena IUD. I had one in for 5 years with absolutely no problems. I recently had my second one put in because it can only stay in for 5 years. I don't have a period. Every few months I get "a spot" and that is it. I don't have any side effects and haven't gotten pregnant. I highly recommend it. It's been great for me.

[deleted account]

I love my Mirena IUD. I had one in for 5 years with absolutely no problems. I recently had my second one put in because it can only stay in for 5 years. I don't have a period. Every few months I get "a spot" and that is it. I don't have any side effects and haven't gotten pregnant. I highly recommend it. It's been great for me.

Laurel - posted on 11/29/2009

53

19

4

I guess the question presentation of this "conversation" opened it up to people that wanted to assert their opinions on the spiritual aspects of using an IUD, but I honestly feel like they are being inappropriate. If this person asking the question had even considered that this was a form of abortion and it is something that they would not feel comfortable doing, THEY WOULD NOT EVEN BE CONSIDERING IT YOU JERKS. Anyways, I had an IUD twice, and I have a history of abnormalities. I have spotted a lot, but it has lessened as time has passed. My mother aslo has had an IUD for almost a decade and absolutely loves it. I recommend it as someone that has been on almost every other type of birth control and been unsatisfied with them all.

Susan - posted on 11/29/2009

28

36

1

i have one well this is my second one i had one after my 3rd child had that in for 4years before we decided to try again my that i have had my son i have another in i have had no probs with it at all its alot easyer than the pill you will have to try it thow and make your own mind up as everyone is diff but at least give it a try

Kelly - posted on 11/29/2009

11

56

0

i have had one noe for 10 months and i love it best thing only in the last 5 months have i have stopped spotting in the start i had a period every 2 weeks then it settled after 3months can take up to 6 months then i didnt get a period for 2 months and thought i was pregnant but i called the doctor the next day i got a period since then i havnt had a period which i found out is quite common and i love it i hate having a period at the best of times but this is good no pills to forget lol in the end ask your doctor what they think is best cause in the end they know what there doing and you have the final say its your body i have the mirena i know of people who have the implanon it is a pain in the bum but every body is different ive been on about 15 types of contraception and this one is the only one that is working

Lanye - posted on 11/29/2009

13

27

0

I am just letting you know my husband and I dont want another baby right now. I am so glad that I have an IUD in because I dont have to remember when I need to take a pill, take a patch off or take a ring out. This is great because they put it in and your good for 10 years or if you just want it in for 1 year 2 years on up unil 10 years. I am so glad that I have mine in and its great and wonderful!!!!

Biya - posted on 11/29/2009

13

26

0

I am Titilayo. I am a married mother with two lovely children. I have used IUD and the experience was lovely. The discomfort i had was the first two months in which i had so lower abdomen discomfort few days after insertion ( used panadol which helped) and increased menstral flow. Apart from all this which was experienced in the first two month, i will recommend it for any woman. Also as a family planner, it does not have age limit unlike most hormonals like injectables and someone can get pregnant immediately after removal. Please, visit your doctor for more information.

Amy - posted on 11/29/2009

1

23

0

Overall, I'm very pleased with mine (mirena). I've had it since august. Before this, I would always have a crippling headache for 24 hours prior to getting my period, and I've only had one headache before a period since then. I get occassional "pain" in the area where my ovary is on the right side. No complaints from the hubby, once he said he thought the threads (made of titanium) had poked him, but that also could have been in his head :) I don't even really get much of a period anymore and I only spotted once or twice the second month. The cost is high, but after 16 months, it will have paid for itself when you consider how much the pill costs. I highly recommend it

Kelly - posted on 11/29/2009

1

20

0

I have had the Mirena for almost 5 yrs now, and I love it!!! I did have a lot of cramping the day it was placed, but will take 800mg of Ibuprofen next time prior to. Other than that, I have not had a period in 5 yrs. I have had no side effects or problems with it and plan to have it replaced in Jan. Good luck with whatever you decide, but having used several different B.C. methods in the past, this has by far been the best.

Michelle - posted on 11/29/2009

1

32

0

I have had an IUD for 5 years in February. It will be time to remove it then and I will be getting another one. I haven't had any problems with mine. I spotted the first few months in the first year and every once in a while from then on...I'd say maybe twice a year at the most I may see very little spotting...other than that nothing. No cramps...maybe a little bloating and occassion mood swing during my menstral cycle...other than that I would have no clue that it's my "time of the month". Honestly, I forget that "it" is even there.



This is my personal experience. I understand everyone is different. However, I have a few other friends that also use it without any complications. Hope this helps! :)

Heather - posted on 11/29/2009

6

74

0

Ok so in reference to it being a form of abortion... Well Ill tell you what it does & you can make your own opinion. When you have a IUD in & you end up getting an egg of yours fertilized & comes down to the uterus to implant itself & grow into an embryo it can not do it successfully as your body thinks you are already pregnant & the fertilized egg disolves and never gets to show heart beats, blood pumping or anything! So to me that is NOT abortion. Next I got mine in at my very last postpartum checkup about 60 days after my daughters birth. I wont lie for the first 4 months I spotted everyday! Not enough to wear a tampon and to much to go without a panty liner. The first week I had it in it made me bleed a heavy flow but that was from the scraping of the cervix while because of putting it in. After that 4th month though...... Nothing ever for 2 1/2 yrs later. They do move around sometimes & due to that I had to get mine out but I wish they werent sooo expensive cause that would be my permanent form of BC as you cant forget to take anything & get prego, no period after the first couple of months and if you can wait that out then you should be knocking on heavens door as far as BC goes & periods (just a woman's point of view though). very mild cramping during the times that you wouldve had your period but nothing like the cramps I had when I really did have my period before I got it in! They are safe & you will NOT have to be concerned w/whether or not you took a BC that has caused major health issues & is now taken off the market & lawsuits all over america. Thess IUDs have been around for a very long time. They took them off the market a very long time ago cause they were made of metal which caused to many infections & they have redesigned them. They are better than ever & plyable plastic & have been back on the market for a bit now as my daughter is almost 5. Well I have to go hope this helps I have the flu & cant sit here anymore sorry anymore questions message me & Id be happy to help. Oh yeah I had the Mirena kind & heads up my doctor had to change the way he handled his patients when putting this in cause I went into shock right after he put it in & had to send one of his nurses down the street to the hospital to pick up a morphine shot to kill the severe pain BUT he said in his 30yrs of practice he NEVER seen anyone react like this and he has put in 100's of them. So now he gives pain killers first & then waits for them to kick in and then does the procedure.

Wendy - posted on 11/29/2009

39

28

0

I have had mine in for about a month and love it. I did a lot of researching and asking friends before I made my decision. Having 2 children I knew that I probably wouldn't be able to remember to take a pill at the same time everyday. Your boyfriend/hubby shouldn't be able to feel it when you have intercourse and if he does then you should go back and have your doctor trim the strings. After I had mine in I could feel the strings on the outside so I went back and had them trimmed and now I don't know that I have it in there.

Donna - posted on 11/29/2009

1

11

0

I have had 2 in and they are the best form of contraception however I have been told due to my lack of periods for 10 years that they have contributed to me having brittle bones I now have to take calcuim supplements every day and after trying the depo which resulted in no periods for 2 years after 1 cycle I have decided to try a less invasive option!

Sarah - posted on 11/29/2009

3

17

0

I have got mine put in directly a month after having my daughter who is now 6, I was told this would be the best form of birth control due to my weight, I have since went back to have a new one put in due to the 5 yr period. Over this entire time I have loved the fact that you don't have to keep up with remembering to take the pill or anything. Every 2 months or so I break out really bad, and my hormones are sometimes out of fact but other than that I love it. Good luck but remember it may not be for everyone.

Shirley - posted on 11/29/2009

1

0

0

I will suggest you go will the pill..or the ovulation method. The IUD is not safe, it can cause you internal bleeding of if it has move from if original position, it can cause you to have very bad back and abdominal pains. You can bleed for weeks to. I will say no it IUD,

Deedra - posted on 11/29/2009

7

12

0

they are dangerous my auntie had it and still got pregnant she nearly died from so much bleeding.

Penny - posted on 11/29/2009

1

12

0

Hi. I know friends that they work great for. However myself and two other girlfriends continued to have problems with bleeding after having them and all just had hysterectomies this year

Sharon - posted on 11/29/2009

1

0

0

hi i have had really bad periods for as long as i can remember i had a coil fitted when i was 18 yrs it didnt suit me but i had the merina coil fitted and it is absolutley fantastic i dont have a period now and i have had no problem's at all with it so i would recomend this 1 hope you sort it out soon hunny xxx

[deleted account]

I had one, I had it checked after 18months and all was well. Three months later I was pregnant even though the IUD was still in place. I kept threatening to miscarry so the Doctor had to pull it out. I had to take medication throughout the pregnancy to stop the labour that kept coming on. After a troublesome pregnancy I gave birth to a healthy son.

Lindsay - posted on 11/28/2009

1

20

0

I have had my IUD going on 3 years now! I LOVE IT!!! I never had any spotting or cramping when I first got it, but a friend of mine had both for about 3 months. After a year of having the IUD I NO longer have a period, which is AWESOME! I recommend the IUD to ALL my friends...I will def. get another after 5 years!

Michelle - posted on 11/28/2009

1

0

0

Hi,



I had one (Mirena) and it was terrible for me, I finally had it removed after almost 12 months. But it must be very dependent on the individual. My experience was not just spotting but very bad bleeding on a very regular basis throughout the entire time I had it in and my husband could feel it.



A friend had exactly the opposite experience. She has had it removed recently to try for another baby but in the time it was in, she had very occassional spotting around the time she would normally have had a period in the first few months decreasing to nothing after a while.



It worked well from a birth control perspective for her, she didn't gain or lose weight and her husband couldn't feel it.



They are really easy to remove and when they work it sounds like bliss, which is why I decided it was worth a try.



Best of luck with your decision and if you do try it I hope it works for you.

Cherice - posted on 11/28/2009

26

27

0

I love Mirena Birth Control which is an IUD. I got it after my daughter was born back in 2002 and I love it. You keep it in for 5 years and take it out. The best part about Mirena is that you can take it out anytime before the 5 years and get pregnant very easy. Onething that I liked about this IUD is that i didn't have any periods the entire time I had it in. Currently I have my daughter now whos going to be 8 in January and thngs are perfect the way they are so I choose to keep it in. As for my birth control method i wouldn't have it any other way. I hope my advice helped you out.

Ranyia - posted on 11/28/2009

10

20

0

This is anyone that says the IUD is not made to prevent conception. It is a form of birth control, just like the pill or a condem, etc but it actually has a higher % than any other form to prevent conception. It does not let the sperm get to the uterus it blocks it from entering. This is not for pro-life or pro-choice issue this is about Suzanne is looking into birth control methods AND asking about the IUD method. Before sharing your fact views get it right before saying it, IUD IS TO PREVENT CONCEPTION.

Ranyia - posted on 11/28/2009

10

20

0

I had two in before it was the best decision I every made. I loved not having to worry to take a pill everyday on time or worry about hormones every month. I had one when I first got married and took it out to get pregnant with my first child was pregnant within two weeks. As soon as I had him had another one put in until I wanted to get pregnant with my second child. Never had any problems. No spotting no pain.

Gen - posted on 11/28/2009

17

25

2

I had the mirena for 5 years & absolutley LOVED it! My periods before were a nightmare & with the IUD I was in heaven. I didn't have to worry about birth control(all my babies were literally every type of control) & if I had any monthly symptoms they were extremely bearable.

Natasha - posted on 11/28/2009

33

34

2

i use them and in fact are now on to my 2nd one, i love it it has really worked well for me, my first one lasted 5 years and i have now had it replaced with another cause the hospital refused to tie my tubes [as im only 29] it doesnt hurt just like having a pap smear, lasts about 5 years, u will get abit of bleeding but that goes away after a couple of wks, and for me never got a proper period after that, and if i did very light and lasted a couple of days maximum i have never suffered any side effects and the protection was great, i suppose u can only give it a go, see if it works for u and if it is not right 4 u and it can be removed easily good luck

Susie - posted on 11/28/2009

1

0

0

My main concern with the IUD is that it is not a contraceptive. It does not prevent conception. It prevents implantation of a fertilized egg by making the uterine lining incompatible with implantation. I would not choose this method of family planning because I am pro-life. Since life begins at conception, the mode of operation of this device stops the development of a life.

I have also read of possible dangers to the mother (example: punctured uterus), but I do not have any personal experience or know of anyone who uses an IUD, so I can't offer any advice in that regard.

Melissa - posted on 11/28/2009

8

0

0

Quoting Clare:

There is a newish thing called a meranda (or miranda) it is supposed to be the bees knees and will even stop your period if you are lucky.


 



 



Yes, it has almost stopped mine! Every six weeks or so, I'll spot but nothing heavy enough to wear even a panty liner..

Melissa - posted on 11/28/2009

8

0

0

I have one now for two years after having my twins. I spotted, sometimes heavy, for 10 weeks after getting it! I had to take birth control pills to stop it but I must say it's the best thing I've done. After getting it I was worried about everything, the strings, the possibility of it growing into my uterus, etc etc but all in all, it's great! He has felt it a couple of times but longer fore-play will end him feeling it bc it lengthens you. It did hurt a lot when I got it but they said it was bc I had a c-section and never opened my cervix for kids..but take the prescribed amount of pain killers before you go!! It will be okay and after the first stuff is over with, it's great! I only spot now and only every six weeks..which is what it's suppose to do! Good Luck!

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms