CIRCLE OF MOMS MEMBERS REVIEW PURE PROTEIN® BARS

Community - posted on 01/22/2013 ( 72 moms have responded )

1,647

2

465

We sent our members a variety pack of protein bars to try out, courtesy of our friends at Pure Protein®, and asked them to share their experience with us:

"Which ones were your favorite and why?"

Here's what these moms had to say:

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Katie - posted on 01/28/2013

1

0

0

I thought they were terrible. I took just a bite of one and almost spit it out. They were full of artificial ingredients and terribly unhealthy things. I would prefer a more natural option like a lara bar or clif bar.

Alison - posted on 01/28/2013

1

0

0

These bars are great and they arrived just in time! As a busy, health conscious mom of three with low blood sugar, I am always looking for healthy on the go snacks and these bars are perfect. First of all they tasted great and that is key with a protein bar, as many are just awful! Second, I was happy with the high protein and low sugar, many of which are loaded with sugar which I try to avoid at all costs. This past weekend I was away working at a Mom Expo and could not leave my booth, so these bars were the perfect snack to tide me over each day with healthy nutrients and give me the energy to talk to hundreds of moms on my feet for 6 hours! Totally buying more of these, I especially love all the peanut butter themed natural flavors!!!

Joy - posted on 01/25/2013

1

6

0

I received the bars yesterday, and promptly opened them. The packaging is nice, but wasn't thrilled with the amount of sugar alcohol in the bars themselves. While filling and tasty, the over scent of the bar left my senses with something to be desired. Overall taste was good, presentation good. The rest needs a little more work. Thanks!

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

72 Comments

View replies by

Jerry - posted on 08/29/2014

35

0

1

Not sure, But I lose weight with these programs

Both their real-life experience and the latest fitness research suggest that low- to moderate-intensity aerobic exercise, while beneficial, is not the fastest route to leanness and overall health that many people believe it is. The real key to fat loss is high-intensity exercise, especially strength training.


Check out my website

http://gerrytech.wix.com/weight-loss-tra...

Mary - posted on 02/12/2013

38

0

5

Rosemary, I feel your frustration! The 1st thing you should look at is why the gain in weight? Change of habit in exercise, eating, frustration? After you obtain the 'reason' then you can try to fix it.
Next Step: Drink water each morning; 10-16 oz. It will motivate and cleanse you at the same time. Drink water 15 mins before each meal too. It will fill you up a bit and you will eat less.
Next: Cut down your portion size and the size of your plate. This will help you visually, not miss the down size!
Next: Each snacks inbetween meals, YES, eat more often, just pick healthy snacks!
Next: Make your movements into exercise. Moms are busy seemingly ALL THE TIME!
So, simply move more intentionally during your day and when you can do so, incorporate and exercise routine. Even 15 mins. will build. Create a goal of doing so every other day.

In 2 weeks you will feel MORE energized and lose weight!
Lastly, Get the toxins out of your home! They interfere with your ability to maximize your metabolism. So if you are a bleach, disinfecting nut you are doing yourself a huge dis-service! I can help you through this as I know 1st hand, how successful this is! Feel free to private msg me, no worries, I don't sell anything! :) Hope this was helpful!

Rosemary - posted on 02/12/2013

1

0

0

I am a mother of two and not wishing to have more babies though babies they are so sweet.By the time i was expecting my second girl,i weighed 70kgs.After delivery,my weight dropped to 59kgs.As we speak i now weigh 78kg and do not like it at all.I need to reduce to 60kgs.Can someone advice me?

Mary - posted on 02/10/2013

38

0

5

Christina,
How long have you been training for races? With 3 young kids, that's pretty incredible!
!

Mary - posted on 02/10/2013

38

0

5

Be aware of samples! Many times they have harmful ingredients... There are so many harmful ingredients in workout products, be aware! I've learned so much about the connection in weakening our immune systems, NOT strengthening it! Be smart; generally that mean to stay away from the 'free' stuff.

Donna - posted on 02/10/2013

1

0

0

I didn't like the taste or texture of these protein bars. They had a weird aftertaste, and I couldn't see myself going to the store with the intention of buying them.

Christina - posted on 02/10/2013

9

4

0

I love Protein bars and would love to try these and the drink.I'm just learning I don't eat enought protein.I'm into training for races and learning I need to eat at least half my body weight in grams even more when I'm in training. Adding meat to my eggs in the morning is my new thing. Elk burger is great.

Mary - posted on 02/04/2013

38

0

5

How were you introduced to these bars? Manufacturers see this venue as a great way of advertising. Most ppl won't question the type of protein that is used, which is very important for digestive and side effects! Free trials usually occur because the manufacturers know we love the word FREE and that we will be the experiment for them! That's how the pharmaceutical solutions got so widespread... and now we are experiencing the ill effects in our health... UGH!

Jessi - posted on 02/01/2013

13

7

0

In the past I have avoided protein bars because of their bland flavors, chalky or even saw dust textures. I used to consume them from time to time out of necessity, but I had since stopped because I dreaded having to eat them. I was skeptical but grateful to have been given the opportunity to try the Pure Protein bars. My body needs something better in the morning.

The morning after my package arrived, I chose the caramel surprise bar. The name, alone, made me nervous. I would never have chosen any food that was named anything with the word "surprise." This bar was my first choice because it has been so cold, I didn't want to ruin my day by starting off with a bar that would be hard to chew. The flavor was great. The consistency, though, was much gooier than I anticipated. The photo on the wrapper was very accurate. Because the caramel was so gooey, my first bite was messy. I thoroughly enjoyed starting my day with this bar. It tasted good, wasn't hard, and kept me feeling full longer than I usually am. I wonder where they hid the protein! If I could change anything about this bar, it would be the name. One of many things I remember about my gourmet cooking class in high was a weekly assignment to prepare a dish to give a family whose home had recently burned down. Each cooking group would prepare a dish to give the family an entree for each day of the week. Our teacher specifically cautioned us not to choose casseroles, dinner pies, or any other dish that would conceal its contents "because if you haven't made it yourself, you wouldn't want surprises." Perhaps a name more "delightful" would be more appropriate.
The second morning I chose the peanut butter bar. The flavor was okay. The peanut butter mix did have a bit of chalky texture to it, but this bar is a thousand times better than the bars I have avoided in the past. Overall, the bar kept me feeling fuller longer, the had a good chewiness to it, with a slight after taste. If I had an assortment of Pure Protein bars on hand, I would probably chose another flavor first, but I wouldn't mind eating one of these peanut butter bars once in a while. It definitely was not unpleasant.

For my third, and final, taste test, I ate the chocolate chip bar. I saved this bar for last because I generally don't eat chocolate chip bars in any brand. Usually I find them to be too hard and too sweet, and I don't care for the rice or granola. I was pleasantly surprised that this bar had a great chew to it, wasn't too sweet, and the flavor was good. The recipe has a perfect balance for my tastes.

All in all, I am happy to have found a silver lining to my mornings. The Pure Protein bars may be a wonderful addition to my "on-the-go" lifestyle. My body needs something better than I have been giving it in the morning. The flavors were nice, there was little after taste, the bars were easy to chew, not too sweet, and very convenient. I would have liked to have received more information about the product included in the package. I am a Bzzz Agent, and all samples we review include information about the product. At least an idea of how much the bars would cost, how they might be packaged (ie: how many in a box or whether they might be sold individually), and where and when you might be able to purchase them would have been a wonderful addition to the package. I suppose I will need to look up that information myself. Cost would be the deciding factor as to whether or not I would purchase Pure Protein bars in the future. Thank you for introducing me to this product.

Amanda - posted on 02/01/2013

15

17

0

The bars were real convenient for a late night snack. Since I am breastfeeding I can hungry at all hours of the night and they were easy and healthy that I could eat one and not feel guilty. They were pretty good for a protein bar. I really liked the chocolate chip one. It was definately my favorite of the three that I had tried. My least favorite was probably the peanut butter caramel. It just tasted fake.

I don't know if I would continue to choose it as a healthy snack option as there was a lot of sugar. I was actually really surprised by the amount of sugar that was in each of the bars. When I look for something healthy I try to avoid anything with sugar in it.

For an occassional I would probably purchase them if the price is right. For someone that is looking for a convenient healthy snack or meal relplacement that likes protein bars they are one of the betters ones that I have tried. However you will have to find which flavor you like because I really liked some flavors and really struggled to finish others.

Monique - posted on 02/01/2013

2

1

0

Based on size and ease of opening, Pure Protein bars would be very convenient for me. Because they were readily accessible, I used them as a meal replacement. I'm currently sick with the flu, so I must work harder to keep my energy up to keep up with my active two year old. By eating them, it gave me the ability to do just that. I received three bars: Chewy Chocolate Chip, Peanut Butter Caramel Surprise, and the Revolution - Chocolate Peanut Caramel. I ate all of the Peanut Butter Caramel Surprise, which was my favorite. However, I took a few bites of the Revolution - Chocolate Peanut Caramel, my second favorite, and the Chewy Chocolate Chip, my least favorite, and gave the rest to my husband. My main reason for doing so was due to the fact that I did not like the chalky, unappealing aftertaste. I also don't like how hard the bars are, so those with sensitive teeth should be especially careful not to eat them. As I don't particularly care for the bars, I couldn't see myself voluntarily choosing to eat these bars, again, even in lieu of an unhealthy snack. In addition, I wouldn't go out and buy them. Conversely, I might recommend the Revolution - Chocolate Peanut Caramel bar to those who like Snickers or the Peanut Butter Caramel Surprise to peanut butter lovers, but it would be a recommendation based solely on their preferences, not my own.

Tricia - posted on 02/01/2013

1

2

0

So, I tried them all.... Let me first say that I like most foods. I simply enjoy eating. I have been on a mission to increase the protein in my diet to get to the 70-80 grams recommended for me to lose weight. You can imagine my excitement when I saw the amount of protein and minimal amounts of sugar in these bars. Sadly, I can't stomach the taste - of ANY of them. Sigh. The taste was really, really bad in all three flavors. I intended to use these as a mid-afternoon snack. They are reasonably priced and convenient and would be a perfect fit for my lifestyle. For me, I won't be purchasing or recommending them based solely on the taste. Thank you for allowing me to participate.

Remy - posted on 02/01/2013

1

27

0

Like so many others, the peanut butter ones were my favorite. My least favorite was the chocolate chip one. These bars were great to take with me when I was out running errands and didn't want to eat junk food. I did notice that they were a little dry, so yes you do need to drink a lot of water when you eat one.

Overall, I was please with the bars for an occasional substitute for a light meal. The bars work great for throwing them in your bag when you're on the run. I will definitely buy these again and recommend them to friends.

Beth - posted on 02/01/2013

1

0

0

Of the three bars, the Chocolate Peanut Caramel bar was the best tasting. The textures of all 3 bars were similar, and I'm not a fan of the sort of plastic-like texture of the outside coating - the caramel, however, was very nice in the 2 bars that included it. The Peanut Butter Caramel Surprise bar had a revolting smell to it, but it thankfully didn't taste the way it smelled; that being said, it's the only bar of the three I was sent that I could not stand to finish eating. The Chocolate Chip bar was mediocre in flavor.

As other reviewers have pointed out, there is an issue at hand with these bars due to the levels of Sugar Alcohol in them, and the associated GI problems with that ingredient. If I was starving with no other food source available, I would eat one of these bars again; but if a Clif bar or Luna bar were in sight, I wouldn't hesitate to toss the Pure Protein and go with one of the other much tastier brands.

Tamra - posted on 02/01/2013

2

20

0

These bars were not for me. I didn't enjoy the taste of any of them. They all had a weird texture when chewing and it made me not like any of them. The only taste I was able to bare with for the entire bar was the Peanut Butter Caramel Surprise. The other flavors I gave up on after just a few bites. I normally don't have a problem with eating things like this, as I try a different variety of protein supplements. But these bars were too much for my stomach. I enjoyed the opportunity of being a taste tester!

Stephanie - posted on 02/01/2013

2

0

0

I liked the caramel chocolate one the best. It was less dry than the others. They did have a odd after taste that I did not like. I was also bummed to see that they have sugar alcohol in them.
I would not recommend these bars to people. There are far better tasting bars on the market at a better price.

Chloe - posted on 01/31/2013

2

3

0

These bars were ok to me. I first tried the caramel nougat type one and the texture was more
gritty than I was expecting. The taste was okay but definitely a very noticeable "protein" taste. I also tried the chocolate chip one, which was a little better tasting. However, I not a huge fan of the fact that these bars contain maltitol which can cause negative gastrointestinal effects. I would probably not buy these again as I prefer a slightly more "natural" bar.

Jennifer - posted on 01/31/2013

3

47

0

My husband and I tried the three protein bars that we were sent. Here are our thoughts!

The caramel surprise had excellent flavor, but the caramel "surprise" was a bit messy. I think I would have a hard time eating it on the road, on my way to the gym.

The chocolate peanut caramel was bland. My husband, when asked for descriptive words, simply said "cardboard, it tastes like cardboard".

Chewy chocolate chip had good flavor and texture. This one, we both agreed, we would eat again, and recommend to friends and family.

Overall, two of them had really great taste, and we would recommend them to others.

Thanks for the opportunity to try and give feedback!! Such a fun thing to do!!

Amanda - posted on 01/31/2013

1

0

0

The bars were great for me to just grab when in a hurry to work. My favorite was the chocolate peanut caramel. The caramel was so rich and tasted so good. I used them for in between meals as I work 12 hr shifts so they were very handy to me. I would deff recommend them to any mom that needed a quick snack or even a meal. Thanks for letting me participate!

Christine - posted on 01/31/2013

10

28

0

Thank you for letting me participate in sampling these bars! I used them as a meal replacement when I was too busy to grab something in between taking care of 3 little ones 4 and under! They were convenient and I was surprised at how tasty they were. I've never really enjoyed any type of protein bar, but these were good! They kept me from reaching for the kids' cookies to tide me over (not that I EVER do that ;-))! The peanut butter caramel flavor was my favorite and had a great layer of oozy caramel in the middle.
I did wish that they had a shorter ingredient list, but I liked that they were so low in sugar. I was surprised at how much sugar alcohols were in them, but I didn't have any adverse side effects from it. I know some people may have digestive issues with this, but I thought this was a good alternative for me to cut back on sugar.
I would buy these to have on hand and would also recommend them to others. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked them and how well they kept me full!

Angela - posted on 01/31/2013

1

0

0

I've purchased Pure Protein Bars in the past since there are often coupons available and I like to have protein bars on hand. For some reason I only purchase the peanut butter flavor so getting a variety pack to try was nice. I think I had a bad experience with one of the other flavors in the past (a fruity one) so I tended to play it safe and stick to the one I knew my family liked.

The main consumers of protein bars in my family are myself and my teenage son. My husband (who is into bodybuilding) will occasionally eat one but only if we are out and he is starving. I shared the sample pack with my son and his favorite was the chocolate chip. My favorite was the chocolate peanut caramel. I'm happy to know that I can now branch out and get some other flavors when I buy Pure Protein bars.

Yes they do have sugar alcohols, which don't bother me personally, and they don't taste like a candy bar, but they meet the criteria that I'm looking for in a snack/meal replacement. I want something that is low in calories, high in protein, and will stop my hunger pangs. I tend to eat erratically since I have a baby and a toddler and sometimes my blood sugar gets so low that I will eat anything I can get my hands on. Pure Protein bars are perfect for these moments. I also have a teenage son that is very active but doesn't always eat as well as I'd like him to. I like having protein bars on hand for him so that he has an alternative to sugary, fatty snack foods. He is also growing very fast and plays sports so I want to give him as much protein as I can.

Amy - posted on 01/31/2013

1

0

0

I liked that these bars had alot of protein in each bar (20 grams), which is twice what my normal protein bar has. To me, I didn't really like the taste of any of the bars, but I guess that amount of protein you get in each bar outweighs that. They didn't taste horrible, just not particularly good. I prefer to eat things that taste a little more "natural" & these tasted artificial. I think that they could replace another protein bar or be used for a snack, but I don't these could replace a meal.

Marisa - posted on 01/31/2013

23

9

2

My favorite was the chocolate peanut caramel because it tasted more like a candy bar instead of the traditional protein bars that taste like a block of chalk covered in chocolate. I would chose this flavor over the other 2 due to the consistency and taste like a candy bar.

Jennifer - posted on 01/31/2013

2

24

0

I loved them! They were delicious and so much better than fruit breakfast bars we usually get. Plus they had folic acid OB it, who h I'm pregnant so that's w plus! Delicous and nutritious!! Def will buy in store!

Erica - posted on 01/31/2013

2

3

0

I tried the chewy chocolate chip one. Honestly, I thought it was disguisting. I didn't like the taste or the texture. It was way to gritty. I had my 8 yr old try it too and he said it tasted like the chocolate had gone bad. We didn't even eat half of the bar. We threw it away.

My husband ate the other 2 because I don't like anything with peanuts or peanut butter. He said they were ok. He had them as a snack between breakfast and lunch.

Personally, I won't be buying these protein bars and I don't recommend them.

Amanda - posted on 01/31/2013

1

0

0

Honestly, I only ate the chocolate caramel bar and was so grossed out by the chemically taste I gave the other 2 to my husband who will eat anything :(. Sorry

Anne - posted on 01/31/2013

10

24

0

I was sent and tried three different Pure Protein bars: Chewy Chocolate Chip, Chocolate Peanut Caramel, and Peanut Butter Caramel Surprise. I had a third of each and shared the rest with my family to get more opinions.

They all had the distinctive taste of protein supplements (very chalky). More importantly, they all had a very unpleasant chalky aftertaste. (My husband has had more protein bars than I have, and he said they were comparable to others in that respect.) The kids didn't seem bothered by it.

The Chewy Chocolate Chip was the worst. It was coated in chocolate and there were a few mini-chocolate chips scattered throughout the protein, but the dominant flavor was definitely their protein blend. My 4yo said it was her favorite.

The Chocolate Peanut Caramel was okay. They were obviously trying to imitate a Snickers bar. The peanuts and caramel did a better job of masking the protein flavor, but it was still stronger than I cared for.

The Peanut Butter Caramel Surprise was surprisingly good. It had a peanut butter coating and a gooey caramel center. It only had 18g of protein rather than the other two that boasted 20g each, but it was the only one that was really pleasant to eat. However, it also has 15g of Sugar Alcohols, which concerns me. Malitol and other sugar alcohols can have a laxitive effect and cause other digestive distress. I would be hesitant to eat an entire bar unless I was trying to self-medicate for constipation. This is the only one that my 4yo didn't like.

I think they would be more suited as a snack than a meal replacement. My husband liked that they were chewy, so they take you longer to eat and it feels more substantial. I found that after eating the bars I needed to eat something else to get the taste out of my mouth, so I'm glad I didn't bring them out and about as a snack. If you are used to protein bars and either like the taste of the protein blend or don't mind it, these may be worth trying. Depending on price, I might get them on occasion for my kids to share as a snack, but I probably wouldn't eat them again myself. It's more likely that I will continue to buy high-fiber granola bars that serve the same purpose.

Vicki - posted on 01/31/2013

12

0

0

My favorite was the Chocolate Peanut Caramel flavor...but really all 3 had a chemical aftertaste that I wasn't crazy about. We try to eat natural/organic so maybe I'm not used to this type of bar. The bars do fit my lifestyle because they are very convenient for a busy mom. I used them as a snack, not really as a meal.I probably wouldn't buy these again, and wouldn't choose them over other snacks or recommend to others. Again, I think this is mainly because we prefer natural/organic foods when possible. Also, my mom is a dietician and read the nutrition info, she said it was too much protein for proper absorption....I don't know what she means by that exactly but that was her opinion. Thanks so much for the opportunity!

Melissa - posted on 01/31/2013

8

14

0

I liked these bars. The only one I got to ear was the chocolate one. My son ate the other two. He really enjoyed them. I might buy them depending on their cost.

Alicia - posted on 01/31/2013

1

0

0

I was not a fan....at all. The taste and texture were not appealing. The list of ingredients was scary and it gave me a pretty bad stomach ache to boot. Furthermore this would never work as a meal replacement for me, it just was not satisfying nor filling enough.

Charity - posted on 01/30/2013

2

0

0

I enjoyed the Peanut Butter Caramel Surprise, I was happy with the amount of protein in them. My family liked the other flavors Chocolate Peanut Caramel and the Chewy Chocolate Chip, I found them a bit dry and bitter. I don't have alot of time to eat with seven kids so this was a good snack to keep me satisfied and give me energy throughout my day.

Thanks again for the samples!

Brooke - posted on 01/30/2013

1

0

0

My favorite was the Chocolate Chip (although I enjoyed all three flavors!) I was anxious to try these protein bars as I was curious to see if they tasted better than other protein products - and to me they do!! The protein bars had a great consistency (werent hard, but chewy.) They didnt have a weird after-taste like some other products have. I did notice that it curbed my hunger for a bit, which I am definitly grateful for. ;) I think this is a great product, and I will definitly buy and use this product again!

Jill - posted on 01/30/2013

1

0

0

I really loved the bars. My 8 year old boys did too. We all shared them each day, They begged to open each one, I found that even eating just a third of the bar it sustained my hunger for a while. I am usually too busy to eat and kind of have to force myself to sit. So these bars were perfect for an on the go breakfast or snack. Our favorite flavor was the peanut caramel surprise.

C Ann - posted on 01/29/2013

12

36

0

The protein bars were convenient to pack as a quick breakfast at work or for an afternoon snack. I ate the Peanut Butter Caramel as a breakfast replacement. Not only was the Peanut Butter Caramel good but it held me over until lunch. The other bars, Chocolate Chip and Chocolate Peanut Caramel, were eaten as snacks over the weekend. I was not impressed with the taste of these two bars but they were an easy,quick snack. I would definitely prefer and recommend the Peanut Butter Caramel over a less healthy snack option, but not so much the other two flavors.

Nicole - posted on 01/29/2013

1

0

0

I enjoyed the bars (my favorite was the peanut butter). I found them to be really convenient, I used them for breakfast as I was driving into work and they kept me full until lunch time. For someone who usually doesn't eat breakfast because of time, this was a great option. I would choose them over something unhealthy or nothing at all. I would go out and buy them myself; where can I get them?

Catherine - posted on 01/29/2013

1

0

0

The bars were convienant, I kept them in my purse and I used them as a snack. The only thing is I wish I got different flavors because I dont really like caramel or chocolate chip so I felt like right off the bat I didnt really enjoy it but it was a big help when i needed a snack while running my errands during the day. If I had other flavor options I would definately keep them on hand for those busy days when I cant stop to eat.

I also liked the fact that they had a good amount of protein without all the fat and I felt like they kept me full until i was able to eat a healthy meal so I wasn't tempted to eat fast food or grab and go junk food.

Monique - posted on 01/29/2013

2

1

0

I never received my bars, so I cannot submit a review on them. I guess I got excluded from participation, somehow.

Krystal - posted on 01/28/2013

3

1

0

I liked the chewy chocolate chip one the best. I used one as a meal replacement, and the other two as a snack. I felt that these weren't my favorite protein bars. You could really taste the soy in it. But, I would buy them if I needed something to hold me over until dinner.

Annette - posted on 01/28/2013

1

8

0

I LOVED the chewy chocolate chip and would definitely grab a bar instead of having another possibly unhealthy snack. The chocolate peanut caramel was also very good. My five year old son wanted to share each bar with me and he enjoyed them all, except the peanut butter caramel surprise which he gave back to me. The caramel was good, but the bar itself seemed dry with an odd flavor and after-taste. Overall, I believe I would purchase these bars in my favorite flavors as they are very convenient. Thank you.

Jessica - posted on 01/28/2013

1

14

0

The bars were great for a quick snack.....I wouldn't think they would replace a meal though. My favorite was the caramel one. They all tasted really good and would be a great alternative to an unhealthy snack. I don't think they would be good if you consume a lot of them but in moderation they would be ok

Erica - posted on 01/28/2013

2

15

0

I enjoyed the PB one.
Used the other two between my hubby and children while out for a walk.
I'm personally allergic to chocolate but I'm told that they tasted great.

I recommended or let my stepdaughter's mom know because she did enjoy them and well finding something that a child will eat is ALWAYS a plus.

Amie - posted on 01/28/2013

1

10

0

I must say the Pure protein bars were pretty good, the peanut butter flavors were my favorite. Super filling, forget eating them as a snack they are more like a meal if you ask me, my 10 year old son who hardley eats anything ate one at school and enjoyed it too. Great for on the go or at home.

Jacqy - posted on 01/28/2013

10

0

0

I used one as a snack and the other two I received as 'breakfast' since I'm trying to get kids ready for school at that time and usually skip. For me personally, the taste was great and the effect was even better. I'm usually ravenous by lunch for having to skip breakfast in order to get kids in the car and to school, these bars would definitely be suitable for meal replacement in my book. I wasn't hungry at all. Oddly the Peanut Butter Caramel did it for me(I'm not usually a fan of peanut butter), it had the sweet and salty I usually crave. Very good texture for a protein bar, not too heavy. I would buy these in the future over other protein bars as it's one of the few I've tried that hasn't felt like I swallowed a brick. I'll likely be craving that peanut butter caramel in the future, so in my case they've gained a customer.

Lori - posted on 01/28/2013

27

0

4

Thank you for allowing me to participate! I can't remember the name of it! darn..Revolution maybe? Anyway, it reminded me of a snickers bar after a few bites. It was a little too chewy for me therefore I only had half the bar. It did replace my breakfast that day and held me til lunch time. For someone that tends to go for Protein bars, these are pretty good. I'll let you know how the others are.

Jill - posted on 01/28/2013

1

0

0

Peanut butter of course was the favorite I snuck one in my husbands lunch box when he left for work said he was going to eat out that day well he didn't get too he loved the bar used it as a meal replacement and said he would love more!
I would recommend these and love taking snacks on the go as a mother of 2 young ones I am constantly packing them snacks and forget about myself so these are perfect.
I loved them they were very satisfying and I would purchase them in the future thank you for letting me try them they were great.

GnCBishop - posted on 01/28/2013

1

0

0

I received these bars last week and used them as a snack in between meals:o)

I am currently pregnant so the high protein was great!! I was a little concerned about the sugar alcohol in all of the bars but I didn't notice anything out of the ordinary after eating.

I didn't really like the taste of any of the bars but I am a very picky person with texture. They all seemed a little gritty which is what turned me away from them. My husband though, LOVED them!! So did my son (he only got a few bites) but as on the go snacks they worked PERFECTLY!!

I would recommend these bars for anyone who enjoys the tastes of peanut butter or protein bars in general. My husbands favorite was the Peanut Butter Caramel as well!! :oD

Kimberly - posted on 01/28/2013

4

0

0

I did not care for the Pure Protein Bars. I found them to be dry and chewy. I had one for a snack and one for an early breakfast. The Chocolate Chocolate Chip was tolerable, but I needed half a bottle of water to go with it. It did keep me full for several hours. I was turned off by the warning about the bar with Sugar Alcohol in it and decided not to try that one since I had no desire to risk the GI distress.

Rebecca - posted on 01/28/2013

2

0

0

I received the Pure Protein bars last week for review. The varieties I received were Peanut Butter Caramel Surprise, Chocolate Peanut Caramel and Chewy Chocolate Chip. My favorite flavor was the Peanut Butter - the caramel was a little gooey complemented by the peanut butter taste, which I enjoyed. The other flavors were good also.

I was impressed by the fact that there didn't seem to be a lot of sugar in the bars ( 2-3 grams of sugar per), but there were still tasty. I would use these as a snack, and can see myself reaching for this rather than a less healthy snack option or when I'm craving a little "something sweet" (at a calorie count of 180 - 210, still a better alternative to cookies). Easy to pop into my bag and surprisingly filling (between 18 -20 grams of protein per bar) and use as a quick snack to take the edge off my hunger if I'm on the go and can't sit for a regular meal.

I would limit myself to one bar a day though, as I did experience some gas after eating the bars each time, perhaps a side effect from the sugar alcohol as noted in some of the other reviews. Overall, I would purchase these for use again. Thanks for the opportunity to review!

Jennifer - posted on 01/28/2013

1

0

0

I enjoyed the bars. I use them as an easy carry snack for on the go and for a quick lunch if I am just swamped at work. I really like the chocolate chip best. The caramel flavor was also good but I am a chocolate girl. I will buy these for myself for sure and I highly recomment them as well!

Marcela - posted on 01/28/2013

1

1

0

I enjoyed the chewy chocolate bar best! I ate all three as a snack between lunch and dinner (afternoon snack) and it gave me the boost to get through the rest of the day and my workout. I'm not a big protein bar person, but these were yummy!

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms