Honest opinions on this boys name....

Krystal - posted on 01/20/2010 ( 134 moms have responded )

283

46

22

I absolutely LOVE the name Fletcher George...

We have one son Wil Archer.....(who i wanted to be Fletcher)

The thing is our last name is Merchant and i think it sounds kinda funny together.

Fletcher Merchant - write your first opinion that pops to mind! xx

This conversation has been closed to further comments

134 Comments

View replies by

Krystal - posted on 01/24/2010

283

46

22

Sharon - i didnt ask on opinions on Wil Archer - that is my first born sons name already. The only "issue" we have with his name is that people spell Wil with 2 L's.

Janine - posted on 01/24/2010

2

14

0

i actually like it with ur ;ast name. I am having twin boys and am racking my brain for names. boys names r tough

Krista - posted on 01/24/2010

4,111

52

264

If you like it, then what's stopping you? I've given up on trying to make other people happy in regards to naming my children. It's never going to work.

Natalie - posted on 01/24/2010

1

0

0

Who cares what other people think. Not everybody has the same opinion of things so if you like it then use it.

Lisa - posted on 01/24/2010

1

1

0

I love it! All together, too. Sounds really masculine, unique (without being strange) and strong. Wil and Fletcher go together well, too.

Brenda - posted on 01/24/2010

3

10

0

It doesn't matter what other people think of the name. Believe me, my son's name is BREVIN GUISEPPE. We didn't tell anyone until he was born, so they couldn't talk us out of it and so we didn't have to see the looks or hear the comments. I got Brevin from an NBA basketball player (we are both coaches), Guiseppe is from great Nonno on my husbands side. Who cares what other people think. Now the name suits him. He plays basketball (and is pretty good at it) and everyone says he reminds them of his Nonno (who he never got a chance to meet). But if you do want opinions I think Fletcher George Merchant is a great name. You won't ever have to worry about there being two or three of them in his class. The only thing my son complains about is he can never find a pen or cup or whatever with his name on it. But then he thinks it's really cool that he's one of a kind. I hope this helps, because believe me, I know what you're going through.

Amanda - posted on 01/24/2010

6

1

0

personally i dont like the name :( but then again alot of people dont like my sons name and I love it. Wyatt Jaymes :)

Monique - posted on 01/24/2010

5

14

0

all i can think about when i hear the name Fletcher is the movie with jim carey playing Fletcher Reede in liar liar. haha. but i dont think its a bad name. not one of my choices. it doesnt matter what other people think, you name him what you want.

Gail - posted on 01/24/2010

2

7

0

Have to say at first I thought no kinda nerdey but the more I say it the more I like it and particularly with the last name. George not so crazy about, But do choose a 1 sylable name for the middle. I like James better personally but like I told my own daughter, your baby, you get to name them.

Lori - posted on 01/24/2010

1

8

0

I think it sounds great! It's original, not like the everyday Mike or John!

My sons name is Chaos, so I'm all for different names! I don't think it sounds funny! Just think of the nicknames though, his friends will call him "Fletch" which still isn't bad!

Rachel - posted on 01/24/2010

2

4

0

I like the name Fletcher. Dated a guy with that name once, but everyone ended up calling him Fletch. Might want to think about whether you like that or not.

[deleted account]

When I gave my son the name Sebastian, everyone in my family either couldn't pronounce it, or just didn't want to cuz it's different. He's 9 now, and everyone likes his name, you name your kids what you wana name them, it will catch on the longer people here it, theres a lot of names that don't slide off the tongue right at first, but after a few weeks, people seem to really like it.

[deleted account]

When I gave my son the name Sebastian, everyone in my family either couldn't pronounce it, or just didn't want to cuz it's different. He's 9 now, and everyone likes his name, you name your kids what you wana name them, it will catch on the longer people here it, theres a lot of names that don't slide off the tongue right at first, but after a few weeks, people seem to really like it.

Claire - posted on 01/24/2010

12

4

5

It will only rarely happen that your son will be called by his first and last name (graduation, etc.). You/he is most likely to see it written than spoken, and his friends WILL eventually just call him "Fletch". SO, if you love it, go ahead!

Sharon - posted on 01/24/2010

2

0

0

It's better than wil Archer. Sounds like wheel Arch. he gonna ge tteased at school....Poor thing..

Katie - posted on 01/23/2010

9

15

0

Honeslty I think he will get teased with Fletcher as a name. Too old fashioned. Sounds geeky, but it's your son, your choice.

Katie - posted on 01/23/2010

9

15

0

Honeslty I think he will get teased with Fletcher as a name. Too old fashioned. Sounds geeky, but it's your son, your choice.

Ashley - posted on 01/23/2010

1

1

0

Honestly, and Im sorry.. No!!!! To me, it sounds like a lifetime of torture! Plus, it makes me think of Chevy Chase in Fletch... Not too appealing.. Good luck and best wishes!

Karla - posted on 01/23/2010

1

6

0

I love it! Different, but not geeky or weird at all. Sounds like it is spelled...can't go wrong with it!

[deleted account]

I really do like the name Fletcher, but it feels a little funny rolling off the tongue when you add Merchant to it. If you are having doubts, that should be your first clue to whether you have picked the right name or not. If you are dead set certain, and have no niggling worries - then go with it!

But Fletcher Merchant is definitely better than Phillip (Phil) McCracken, or Jenna Taylor, or Landen Lilycrap!

Christel - posted on 01/23/2010

91

13

0

I like the name but why dont you put it like this Fletcher Albert George might sound alittle better the best of luck to you with whatever you pick out!

Bonnie - posted on 01/23/2010

6

7

0

That's not bad at all. It could be much worse. I've always liked the name Nancy, but after marrying Ernie Fancy, decided against it. Soem of the names coming out of Hollywood are just setting kids up to be teased.

Catherine - posted on 01/23/2010

84

30

11

I like it.. I named my kid Kellan & no one can say it.. Everyone can say Fletcher!

[deleted account]

IT IS REALLY WHAT YOU LIKE IN THE END BUT REMEMBER IT IS A LONG TIME THAT KIDS HAVE TO LIVE WITH THESE NAMES AND KIDS WILL POKE FUN AT WHATEVER LITTLE THING THEY CAN WHEN YOUNGER AND NAMES ARE A GOOD TARGET., I WOULD THINK CAEFULLY

Shirone - posted on 01/23/2010

3

6

0

I really like it (not too fond of george though). But like a few others say...it doesn't matter what we think. as long as YOU love it.

I got my daughters name from a movie I saw. A few years before I had her I saw Mortal Kombat and loved the name Katana...so that is what I named her. I wanted 7 letters instead of 6 so I changed the spelling though (to Kitauna)...but I had one person tell me "I wouldn't tell people where you got the name from." do I care what she thought...no, it is my child and I loved the name so why lie about it. Also in Japanese it means "sword" so (a Japanese man) asked me "why you name your child after a sword" ... I like the name...so that is all that matters. They are only a few out of thousands, cause many others like it, but I am not catering to any them.

so again if you love Fletcher George...go for it! ^_^

[deleted account]

My husband always thought of what the name could rhyme with & some names we just had to no to because what they rhymed with. Maybe silly on our party, but if you can think it, then kids will sing it. It is a very nice name, I not too common.

Marissa - posted on 01/23/2010

37

7

3

Fletcher Merchant ... it's a tongue twister.
He's going to get a lot of "sorry what?" in response.

Julie - posted on 01/23/2010

13

4

0

i love it, it sounds like a very important name and i think he is going to famous in some way LOL

Jolene - posted on 01/23/2010

169

43

19

I thought of the Chevy Chase movie too. No, I don't care for the name, but who cares its your baby. :D If you like it use it.

Margaret - posted on 01/23/2010

6

8

1

I think it is nice. If you really wanted it examined, on the positive both first and last name are well balanced with each other, on the negative may sound like the name of a corporation...but that may be a good thing, maybe one day he will have a big business named after him!

[deleted account]

If you say his whole name together, it really isn't that bad. Without his middle name, it does kinda sound funny. Then too, how often will he be called by his first and last name? The thing I feel you need to think about the most is, not how "you" would feel about the name, but how "he" would feel about his name as/when he gets older. Fletcher is a nice name, but It does sound kinda funny with your last name.

Christine - posted on 01/22/2010

59

32

1

"Sorry.... but you said the first opinion that pops in. I thought of Jim Carey in that movie where he lives in a pretend world (oh dear I hope you know what I'm rattling on about)."



Truman Show?

Jess - posted on 01/22/2010

1,806

3

96

I love it.... I have a pet fish called Fletcher, I just think its the cutest name. And its a name that can grow with your son too. Its a cute baby name and can be a nice strong manly name when his an adult. I think George is nice with it too its a nice strong name ! And Fletcher Merchant works, its a long name but he will get his tongue around it. My daughter has 4 names, she doesn't know any different so its normal to them !!!

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms