Mirena birth control... opinions and advice please!!! Good and bad would be nice!!!

[deleted account] ( 22 moms have responded )

My doc has suggested Mirena for me, but I am unsure... It seems like a great deal, but I have heard mixed reviews. Please tell me any opinions, advice, stories, etc... GOOD AND BAD PLEASE!!! Thank you all so much!!!

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Betsy - posted on 11/07/2009

469

22

22

I have had it since July 2007 and love it. I've tried practically every method since 1985, and this is by far the best. I never gained a pound, have had no problems, and it reduces your period. Where I have always had very light cycles (1, maybe 2 days normally), the doctors expected mine to stop, and they have....no bleeding in over 2 yrs. Like with any hormonal bc, it can cause sugar/carb cravings for some women sensitive to them. You only can gain if you cave into the cravings and eat those foods in excess. The medications themself don't cause weight gain. Same with some antidepressants, like Prozac or Paxil. The serotonin can cause sugar/carb cravings, but the person controls in they indule! I love how you can get pg immediately after Mirena is removed. I have many friends who ar using it as an alternative to sterilization, not wanting surgery, so after the 5 yr limit, they just had another one inserted that was good for another 5 yrs. I'll never use another form of birth control besides this now.

I was nervous about the actual insertion, but I didn't realize they started and it was already in place. I had just had twins and have delivered 6 children, which may be a factor since they only want to use with someone who has delivered before, but friends who have only had one child say it was nothing taking Motrin prior to the visit didn't solve. As for concerns about drs not taking a pregnancy test, most reliable doctors will only insert DURING a menstral cycle to ensure there is no pregnancy. Even a pg test can't tell them the first few weeks, so inserting during that time guarantees no current pregnancy is in its early stages.

I also have sufferend from severe migraines since I was 13 and have to take preventative meds every day to reduce frequency which lead to hospital stays. They have not bothered my migraines at all. In fact, they are rare less frequent than any other time in my life. With the pill, it can take many tries of dosing to get the correct dose. Unlike dosing of other medications, finding the find combination is trial and error by user feedback, so if you are still considering the pill, remember there are so many prescriptions, and no pill is a one size fits all for every woman. It can take 20+ tries to find the right dosing for you.

Heidi - posted on 11/07/2009

11

10

0

A friend of mine has the Mirena but is about to have it removed. She has had it for about 6 months and has gained 50 pounds because of it. She had not changed anything in her life that would cause that kind of weight gain. She had the same diet and exercise program but still the pounds added up. Come to find out, that is one of the possible side affects of the Mirena that the doctors had failed to tell her about. If you google "Mirena weight gain" there are sites that talk about it.

Kristen - posted on 11/05/2009

7

29

0

I think it is the GREATEST birthcontrol EVER!! This is my second time using it. The first time was right after I had my first kid, and then I just recently had another one put back in after my second pregnancy.

You DONT have remember to take a pill everyday, or remove the ring and replace it every month.

I DONT have a menstrual cycle on it, at all. Which is perfectly healthy- I had 4 Dr tell me that.

If you do decide to have another child, you can have your Dr. easily remove it, and getting pregnant is pretty easy once its removed.

There is no surgery involved. Its just like getting a pelvic exam, you are in and out in no time.

Once it is put in, you may experiance some spotting and very mild cramping for a day or two, but either than that- I LOVE IT! :)

Michelle - posted on 11/09/2009

25

3

4

Hi Holly,

I have been on Mirena for 3 months now. It hurts to have it put in, I got cramping whilst it was inserted and for a few hours following. You can take painkillers like ibuprofen before you go to the appointment to help with that.

My first period after was very long (18 days) but the last two have been around 8 days. The periods have been VERY light, more like spotting. My Dr. said that the amount of days should decrease too.

I have found it very good, you don't have to think about it, my husband did not notice it at all.

You have a check up 1-3 months after it is placed, but hat is pretty quick.

I would recommend it. I have found it great. :)

Sarah - posted on 11/07/2009

3

4

0

I have one and I LOVE IT!!! I haven't had to deal with a period since I got it almost a year ago. I can't ever go on birth control again, so this was a great option for me. Definately talk it over with your doctor and your husband, but ultimately the decision is up to you, as it is your body. Good luck!

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

22 Comments

View replies by

[deleted account]

i have had this birth control for 2 years now and it is the wost thing i have ever tried. since i got it put in sex is miserable,period cramps are 100 times worse and they aren't just that time of the month anymore they are all the time. i have a appt. next week to get it removed i'm going back on the depo shot much easier and way less pain full.not to mention the irregular periods-seem to spot offten but remember everybody is different.

Ashley - posted on 11/05/2009

794

34

74

My sister-in-law had it put in. It would have been great, except for the fact neither her or her doctor did a pregnancy test before it was implanted. Soooo, she was pregnant, and they are unable to take out the implant due to where it is near the baby. She is pretty much the guinea pig out here since none of us could really find anyone who went an entire pregnancy with one in.

So far, the baby seems ok. She is about 20 weeks along. But, with all the hormones (apparently it has higher levels than a pill), she could miscarry at any point. We are all very nervous... :(

Please if you are going to get it, MAKE SURE you are not pregnant. Do an at-home test and then request a blood test.

Good luck!

[deleted account]

Thanks for all the advice ladies! I have been getting very severe migraines during my period since my baby was born in February of this year. It started 2 months after she was born (during my first period after birth - I went on the pill when my baby was a month old) and it has come back every single month since. I have switched to different pills 3 times and even tried the Nuva Ring (my hubby didn't like it because he could feel it when we were intimate). With every single method of bc the migraines came back. It's been horrible! At my last visit the doc suggested an IUD, specifically Mirena. She gave me a 6 month supply of pills (although I am going to try skipping the placebo weeks to see if the migraines are connected with the blood loss of my period - I am very anemic and had to take iron pills during both my pregnancies), and when I run out I am going back in with my final decision regarding the IUD.



I am kind of concerned about the IUD moving around and how common that seems... maybe I'll look up the stats on that particular issue. I have not been getting bad cramps, though I used to in High School (the cramps stopped when I got pregnant with my now 2 year-old and have not come back since).



I still have a lot of research to do on this, but your advice realy helps! Thank you all so much!!!

Johanne - posted on 11/05/2009

1

8

0

i have one for 5 yrs, i got to renew mine, the first few month your period will be very heavy but then it will lessen until you dont have any at all, personally i love it and cant wait to get my new one :)

Samantha - posted on 11/05/2009

14

12

1

I've had the Mirena since March 2006 after my youngest was born. The bill gives me migraines. I was at the point that at the age of 27 I was going to have to have a hysterectomy to stop by heavy bleeding. They would last 10 days HARD! and afterwards I was so weak I would be out of commission for a couple days. That is hard with 3 kids under the age of 4, and no help to my hubby. So far it has been wonderful. At first I had a few periods. They got lighter and lighter each month. Finally no more awful doubling over cramps and no more heavy bleeding. I may have a small 1-2 day cycle once a year if that. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Amber - posted on 11/05/2009

1

8

0

I had this for a while. It was great because it nearly erased my periods. However, the hormone in it caused me constant headaches.

Tara - posted on 11/05/2009

20

11

2

I had the 5 yr Mirena put in at my 6 wk checkup after my daughter was born in Jan 09 and I love it. I have had no periods, cramping, etc. I have had some very light spotting on occasion but that is it. I have used the pill and the depo provera shots previously and think this is a great option and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Arenda - posted on 11/05/2009

2

32

1

As a nurse in OB/GYN i alway tell the ladies that if you get cramps (real bad ones) it is not for you because it can move and if you have more than one partner then it is not for you because it cause infection with more than one partner and the best time to get it inserted is when you are on your cycle the second day to be exact less pain in inserting it but alot of my patients love it they would not change it for nothing it is very safe and no worries

Megan - posted on 11/05/2009

2

17

0

I tried Mirena for 9 months. I never stopped bleeding, it was pretty much everyday for 9 months. Sometimes light and others heavy. I had it removed due to a pregnancy scare and come to find out it was not even in place anymore, it had dropped down and i could no longer feel the strings. I will never get a foreign object like that put in my body again. Just before i had it removed i felt terrible, sick all the time and headaches, not sure why but once it was removed that all went away.

RENITA - posted on 11/05/2009

4

5

0

i have never had mirena but my very close friend did and she had some complications with that it got lost had to have and ultrsound dun to find it finally got it removed and then bled for 3 1/2 months straight finally i told her to get on depo and about 4 days after her bleeding stopped and havent had a problem since so me personally i suggest depo people are scarred to get on depo because of weight gain but if you get it right then there is not much weight gain at all and i have been on depo for almost 7 years and i havent had a problem the only side effect is that i dont get a monthly at all!!!!! and i love it well hope this was helpful drop me a line if you have any more questions or if i can help

Melissa - posted on 11/05/2009

11

6

1

I had no problems, except breakthrough bleeding the first 6 months, after that I had no periods for a year, then last year I have a few days of spotting a month now, but having problems with cysts now and cramping, I will be going soon to get it checked and may have it taken out, but hoping to get the novasure procedure done, but looking into that more before making a decision, good luck on whatever you decide, I don't regret getting mine, because periods have definatley been lighter and not near as many cramps.

Simone - posted on 11/05/2009

150

20

12

hi, i'm having a copper coil fitted next week.i wouldn't have a coil that pumps hormones in my body. i've had 1 fitted before i had my baby and getting 1 done again, i've never had any problems with it. my periods are normal, but everybodys body's different when it comes to periods. but it's up to you, do your research before you do anything.

[deleted account]

Personally, I have been a condom girl since my early thirties when I met my husband and he said that he didn't like the idea of me on pills all the time. I realized how right he was, and that's how we've done it ever since.

Laura - posted on 11/05/2009

3

8

0

I love mine. I tired three different pills after my twins were born and i had horrible side effects from them. My doctor has one also and said she love it. I didn't have any cramping after it was put in. I did have some light bleeding for the first three months but nothing after that and I have had it for 2 1/2 years. Its wonderful not having to worry about birth control and not having period.

Ashley - posted on 11/05/2009

45

19

11

i have one and i hate the damn thing. i would have it taken out but my mom would flip out. i dont even have sex. when i first got it they told me i would bleed lightly for the first month and after that i should be only having light periods until i dont have one. well i bled for the first few months and now my periods are 7 days long! i wouldnt reccommend it to anybody. my period cramps are just awful. sometimes i cant even get out of bed cause they r so bad and they say its normal. but everybody IS different and they do get lost very easily.

[deleted account]

I just posted something about this. I have mirena and now they can't find it, I had it checked and I have to have an ultrasound, and I am having two periods a month for the last three months. And I have to use protection now, and if it is not where it is supposed to be I will have to have surgery to remove it. And the big kicker is I have no insurance now. So if you will have insurance then it's a possibility, but really research this, some women have no problems, I have no side effects, except it's not where it's supposed to be. Which is a BIG problem.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms