Opinions about my pregnancy.

Amanda - posted on 05/25/2012 ( 34 moms have responded )

5

0

0

Okay, I am 18 weeks pregnant. I am having really bad sciatic nerve pain. I have a hard time sleeping. I can't sleep on my back or my right side because it hurts so bad. It's even uncomfortable to sit down. And my back is killing me. I've called my OB numerous times to find ways to relieve but every time she says the baby is too little. Well. I look like I am about six or seven months. We went in when I was at 9 weeks to get it confirmed and we just saw one baby. Well, I went back in at 14 weeks and the lady was surprised when she had heard the heartbeat real quick. Once she laid that Doppler on my belly, boom you can her the baby. My fiance indicated to her that we think there are twins. Well, all she said was, "Be careful for what you wish for." THAT DID NOT HELP. I've had dreams of having twins. I've had dreams of having a boy and a girl.



Would any of you think that there are twins or just one. A pic is up on my profile to see my belly.

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Bonnie - posted on 05/27/2012

2

11

0

You simply need to sleep on your left side! My second pregnancy effected me like that. My friends told me to lay on my left side. I thought that was too simple... But the nurses in the doctors office even agreed laying on your left side allows the baby to get more oxygen.

Rebecca - posted on 05/26/2012

4

0

0

Can't help you with the twins questions but I had insane sciatic pain in my last pregnancy from around 16 weeks on. I went to a physical therapist who gave me a set of simple, safe exercises to do at home and at the PT center. I got immediate relief and each week it improved more & more. And I know it was the PT because whenever I got lazy about doing the exercises the pain would come back. Bonus: the weekly PT sessions ended with a massage. Ahhh.... :-)

Mary Kaye - posted on 05/26/2012

1

12

0

yes, I agree with the other posts. Find a good chiropractor . They can make a world of difference.

Kim - posted on 05/26/2012

42

3

2

Go to the Chiropractor! I did with my last pregnancy because of the same kind of pain & it made all the difference! As for twins... I thought I was pregnant with twins with my last one (my 4th), but it was just 1. Good luck!

Cara - posted on 05/26/2012

4

15

0

I went to my chiropractor Before, during and after BOTH of my pregnancies. My son sat cross-legged on my bladder , and I had horrible pain, like sciatica, but, apparently my son pushed my pubic bone out of alignment. Both of my kids went to the chiropractor within 2 weeks of birth, and have gone ever since.
As for twins, I agree with the other ladies, only time will tell. I felt I knew the sex with each of my children, they couldn't tell with the ultrasound (that's when I found out my son was sitting cross-legged on my bladder - he was stubborn, and wouldn't move). Technology gets better all the time, but it's not always perfect.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

34 Comments

View replies by

Miriam - posted on 05/29/2012

334

2

15

I had twins 16 months ago, and when I went in for my first check up at 9 weeks they saw and heard both heartbeats and sacs :) my sciatic started bothering me right before I got pregnant, and I started going to the chiropractor and actually continued throughout my pregnancy and it helped so much!! you might want to try that, it helps the pain and you dont have to worry about taking meds. I also had horrible morning sickness for the whole pregnancy and migranes with the twins. I have a singleton that's 8 years older and with him I actually gained more weight than with the twins, even though with them it was all in the tummy. is this your first baby?

Cara - posted on 05/27/2012

4

15

0

Its funny you should say that, because pre-pregnancy, I slept on my right side, but after I found out I was pregnant, I began sleeping on my left side. No one had told me that, I just did. And a knee pillow or body pillow helped as well.

Cara - posted on 05/27/2012

4

15

0

I agree, stretching DOES help, and luckily, my chiropractor had enough knowledge about the spine, discs, muscles, etc, that he not only adjusted and massaged, but recommended simple stretches that were mentioned by others. I agree as well, do not do any stretches, etc, that causes discomfort. I pray that your baby(ies) are healthy, and you get relief!

Rosie - posted on 05/27/2012

8,657

30

315

i was enormous while pregnant and had bad sciatica pain as well. each time i was asked it there was triplets in there, lol. but no, only one. i measured 47 cm when i was 38 weeks with my last one. some people just get bigger faster, and with that comes more discomfort (at least in my experience).

Jessica - posted on 05/26/2012

230

46

0

I would NOT recommend a chiro while pregnant. I work in the medical profession. You would be better off going to physical therapy. With my oldest I had HORRIBLE sciatic problems. I went to physical therapy and it took care of them. Also a great relief is to lay on the floor at the bottom of a set of stairs and, alternating legs with one resting, push for 10 seconds as hard as you can against a step. Then switch. This can help "reset" your pelvis back to neutral, which is often the cause of sciatic problems when pregnant. I found great relief in this, along with the PT.

Good luck!

Pamela - posted on 05/26/2012

711

9

6

You start out talking about your sciatica pain and end up asking if we think you have twins growing inside of you. I'm not confused, just curious.....what advice do you REALLY want.



My suggestion for the sciatica pain is to use the areas of your own hand and feet that coincide with your sciatica and massage those areas gently but with enough pressure to help ease the pain. I know what sciatica pain feels like because I have suffered from it in the past. You should be able to locate the laminated cards that show the points on the hand and foot that coincide and use them.



I just checked the cards I have. They say copyright 1977 by Eilen McGarrigle. If you cannot locate her cards, check at your local health food store, or at a local massage therapy office. They may carry these kinds of cards as well.



The card says that the heel, right in the middle is the point for the sciatic nerve. So if it is your right sciatic massage on the left heel, right in the middle, close to the edge of the back of the heel. I don't see the sciatic nerve specified on the hands. Hope that helps.



As for the babies.....eventually the ultrasound will pick up the heart beats if there are two. Why 'worry' about it? Worry is based in fear. If you feel strongly start preparing for two. If there is only one you can always share any extras that you may buy, or you can resell.



The highest and best to you all!

Mandy - posted on 05/26/2012

1

1

0

I don't know about twins but ironically when i was pregnant with my twins (boy & girl) i experienced pain with my ciatic nerve & my OB recommended the chiropracter! Best advice everyone

Sally - posted on 05/26/2012

963

14

8

There is no way to know for sure without an ultrasound and even then one can hide behind the other and their heartbeats can synchronize. After several ultrasounds, my aunt found out she had twins in the delivery room.
My mother was sure I was having twins with my second because I showed so fast. My husband thought that might be why I was so sick with her. Due to disagreements about care (Doctor and hospital procedures were really dangerous for my first baby and my insurance was being twitchy about a midwife.), I didn't see a midwife until almost 6 months along. After measuring my belly, she said ,"Are you SURE when your last period was?" and my ultrasound moved form 'some time in the next couple weeks' to TOMORROW.
I was just carrying high. She wasn't even very big.
I also had brutal sciatic pain for months 6 and 7 because of the way she pushed on my pelvis. Get a massage therapist to show your fiance the right pressure points to fix it. The fix may not last long (My husband had to fix my back every couple hours.), but it really helps for a while.
Good luck

Danee - posted on 05/26/2012

3

16

0

About where you are in your pregnancy and what/ how you can relieve your back pain since your doctor isn't giving you an answer.

Hillary - posted on 05/26/2012

18

48

0

when i was 17 wks along w/my 3rd child i was in a car accident and started premature labor for the 1st time. i was immediately put on full bed rest so i wasn't able to do the physical therapy exercises when my sciatics started getting bad. you should definately look into physical therapy and massage therapy options. all i was able to do was the massage but it helped a lot. as long as you're able do the physical therapy exercises. i wish i could have becasue i still have problems w/my sciatics on long drives 8+ years later.

Danee - posted on 05/26/2012

3

16

0

I suggest going to a different health care provider. Just to get a second opinion.

Kara - posted on 05/26/2012

2

0

0

I had really bad back pain, too. Walking helped as did laying on my side with a couple hard pillows between my legs to prop the other one up. Best wishes to you, I know that hurts.

Mo - posted on 05/26/2012

2

0

0

Hi I have had the same pains and discomfort and I am 15 weeks along my pregnancy. I started getting these pains from 9/10 weeks. I have hardly got a bump yet. After consulting nurses and doctors we have guessed I have SPD and I'm going for physio this week. If you research it online you will find some very useful exercises and tips for relief. It's basically all about the ligaments in the pelvis loosening due to hormones which causes pain in the sides, legs and lower back. I will post the website I found good info on might be worth a look

Karen - posted on 05/26/2012

236

33

3

I had very bad sciatic nerve pain as well. It was so bad, I could hardly walk, let alone stand up, sit down, twist at all from side to side, basically I couldn't move. Physical Therapy worked Wonders for me. There are stretches you can do to move the baby (babies?) off the nerve. One that worked Great for me was to be on all fours on the floor, and arch your back, head to the floor and toward your belly as much as you can Comfortably. This opens up the back and can relieve some of the pressure on the nerve, it also can relieve low back pain in pregnancy. Do NOT do ANYTHING that cause Pain, it should be comfortable, not painful! There are a few other stretches, but I don't remember them as well, it's been a while, and the all fours one worked best for me, so I remember it. Good luck, keep us posted about the possible Twins!!! Congrats either way!

[deleted account]

I have this kind of pain during my pregnancy and my midwife sent me to a chiropractor. the Chiropractor was initially going to work with my one exercises I could do to help but then discovered that my hips had shifted from the pregnancy weight and did adjustments as well. I felt amazing after just two adjustments.

~♥Little Miss - posted on 05/26/2012

18,908

9

3002

Well, we cannot tell from a profile pic, but in a couple of weeks you will have an ultrasound to take measurements of your baby. They will be looking to see if there are more than one babies at the time, and also determine the sex. If you want, you can let the tech know to look for twins, just to say your piece.

Jade - posted on 05/26/2012

6

2

1

Both sides of both mine and fathers family have a backgroud of twins, when i found out i was pregnant i was adiment i was having two. Everyone made jokes and said the same, be careful what you wish for. it wasnt that i was wishing for it, i just had an extreme feeling over me that told me there was 2. like you i had my first scan, and there was only one. then at 15weeks i was listening to her heartbeat which she found straight away but it was muffeled, again a sign i thought there was still two. i had dream after dream about me having two little girls it was asif my body was trying to tell me somthing, but no i wasnt. i think it was just because i had it in my head that much, i slowley and unknowingly convinced myself otherwize. ive had a gender scan, 12weks scan and an emergency one. i go for my 20weeks on tuesday.. but there is definatly only one hehe ul be fine hun, however many there is, good luck :)

Joy - posted on 05/25/2012

350

63

4

I've started having similar pains (I'm around 13 weeks pregnant.) This is my 2nd child. I did not have this much pain as I did with my 1st.

You could be right and it could be twins. I wouldn't know. I only had 1 child (and it looks like this is only 1 again.)

Somethings I've found to relieve the pain:

-Put your feet up as much as possible.
-When sleeping if your left leg hurts, sleep on your right side. If your right leg hurts, sleep on your left (this is really hard for me to do.)
-I also recommend sleeping with a body pillow or a regular pillow to prop up the legs.
-If you must stand for a long time, try standing with one foot on the ground and the other foot lifted up and resting on a stool or box. And if you need to sit for a long time, use a donut pillow or a foam support to balance out your weight.
-put warm compresses on your lower back or take a warm bath
-you could also wear a belly sling or other support to take some of the pressure off.
-wear comfortable shoes as much as possible.
-swimming is recommended for pregnant women & sciatic pain (although I hate swimming so I don't)
-prenatal yoga (if I wasn't chasing a 2 year old around I would try that this time)
-prenatal massage (I highly recommend this.)

Also see if you can take acetaminophen with your doctor. I don't think I'm far enough along to take this, but you may be able to at this point. From what I've read you should only take the absolute minimum and not to rely on it as the only source of pain relief.

If it is severe enough you could also see a physical therapist (some health insurance will cover this.) I'm not sure how to get that. Probably need a recommendation from your doctor.

Hope some of those ideas work for you!

Amanda - posted on 05/25/2012

5

0

0

Thank you you two for your opinions! (:
I'll let you guys know Tuesday what we see.
And I've looked up dreams. They don't help. The 'reasons' for them dreams about the twins, according to the internet and what not, says that it's something I want, I've lost a twin, or there is someone that I'm really connected too. Idk. Lol.

Michelle - posted on 05/25/2012

467

4

115

My mom was a skinny woman when she got pregnant. But, anyways , She didn't start showing until she was around 6 months pregnant. So,it doesn't always have to be that you're going to show right off the bat because you are skinny. I didn't start showing until I was around the same as my mom and i was carrying 1 baby at that point in time. I however felt huge when pregnant with 2. My sister got pregnant and they had found out later on that she was having twins. But at first they couldn't tell. As time went on, she started to bleed and lost a baby. No she didn't loose any of the twins she thought she had, come to find out it was triples. So, she ended up with just the 2. Not all babies are seen with the ultrasounds. Babies can hide.
As for the dreams, sometimes dreams can mean something. But sometimes your dreams can be a conscience of something too. Read up on dreams. Sometimes a dream can come true.

Sarah - posted on 05/25/2012

1,258

14

164

It's so hard to tell by just looking at a picture. You look pretty tiny (body wise) so you'll be bound to show faster than someone who is larger. Could there be a discrepancy of dates? It could be a large single baby, or more than normal amniotic fluid. How quick and how much someone shows also has a lot to do with the babie's lie, where along the uterus the placenta formed, the tilt of the uterus, etc. Pregnancy dreams are weird, when I was pregnant (about 9 weeks), I dreamed I woke up the next morning and had given birth. They passed me a black baby (sorry for the non-politically correct term, but this was the language in my dream), and I told them it wasn't mine because I wasn't black (I'm white). The nurse said, "sure you are," then proceeded to poke me. Everywhere she poked turned black. Well, needless to say, this didn't happen. Pregnancy dreams just play tricks on your mind and don't necessarily foretell the future. If they couldn't see 2 in there after 2 ultrasounds, would be pretty certain there is only 1. Also, it doesn't matter how quick they find a heartbeat or how strong it is, it's whether there is 2 of them or not. Anyways, my guess is no twins (for the reasons I've stated). Good luck and congratulations with your pregnancy! Your belly is super cute anyways!

Krista - posted on 05/25/2012

12,562

16

842

I would consider acupuncture. Ask around and get recommendations. It can work wonders on sciatic pain.

Amanda - posted on 05/25/2012

5

0

0

I have a feeling that there is two but then again, this is my first pregnancy. Lol. And I've had dreams that there is two. My first one was that they were in front of each other and my second one was that they were laying side by side. I've been feeling movement since like.. week 16. But. Idk.

I'm sorry about what happened to you. /: That sucks.

Michelle - posted on 05/25/2012

467

4

115

I hope it works out for you. A mother usually knows how her body is. I had a miscarriage one time and found out there was 2.

Michelle - posted on 05/25/2012

467

4

115

Put it this way a baby can be hiding behind of the other. So it is diffently possible. If you have a bad sciatic nerve >There is homeopathic tissue salts that can work and it's safe during pregnancy , I beilieve. You can check it out yourself, if you want. My mom uses it and she said it helps releive the pain. Good luck.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms