Pregnant and smoking....What's your opinion?????

Tanya - posted on 02/02/2009 ( 231 moms have responded )

247

1

35

Hi Ladies!
Well...here's a very touchy subject for most people.
What's your opinion on smoking while pregnant? I know of one pregnant woman who continues to smoke though she's four months pregnant. I'm a nonsmoker myself and I've very opinionated on this topic. What's your view??

This conversation has been closed to further comments

231 Comments

View replies by

Melissa - posted on 02/03/2009

3

25

0

I don't think it's a coincidence that most of the "I-smoked-while-pregnant" responses are inundated with typos, misspellings, and poor grammar. In the United States, smokers tend to be much less educated, have lower economic status, and a more traumatic family history than non-smokers.



That said, I think it is tremendously selfish and irresponsible to continue smoking while you are pregnant. It isn't hard not to smoke if you don't have any cigarettes available. DON'T BUY THEM. Do I think smoking while pregnant makes you a bad mother? YES! Do I think smoking while around your babies and grown children makes you a bad mother? ABSOLUTELY!



If you love your child, seek help for your addiction. Take responsibility for your habit and fight the temptation of what feels good in the moment and think about the health of your unborn child. You are part of the big problem facing this nation. We are becoming an uneducated nation of self-gratifying greedy people who put their own interests first and their children's second. Then people blame their neglect and irresponsibility on other things or people. What a shame.

Marie - posted on 02/03/2009

3

8

0

well i had 4 kids.......on my 1st i give up smokin til after she was born....but on the rest of my 3 kids i smoke on all through 9mths.......still even tho my 1st child had broncitist and then asthma and i didn,t not smoke on her cuz as soon i found out i was pregnant i give up.......on the other 3 kids of mine i smoke through my pregnancy they was all healthy but still end up wiv broncitist and asthma part from my last child he only now got broncitist and he only 8mths......

Kelly - posted on 02/03/2009

88

28

14

Quoting Lisa:

i just dont think anyone has the right to call another mother a bad mother because they smoked, yes you have your opinion, but come on, you dont actually know these ppl so you dont have the right to call them a bad mother. You dont know their circumstances, you dont know how their child is, smoking isnt nice during pregnancy, i know that, but that doesnt make me a bad mother.....if anything im a great mother....just ask my daughter!!


Its ok that you feel guilty for putting you baby at risk for NUMEROUS health problems.  I corrected myself and said SELFISH!  Its very SELFISH of any woman to get pregnant or try to get pregnant WHILE they are smoking!!  And the day you find out your PG you QUIT!! PERIOD!!!  There is NO justification, I have TONS of friends that smoke and the moment they found out there were PG they quit for the sake of their baby!!!  THAT IS A GOOD MOTHER!!! 



 



I'm Hoping ALL your babies are healthy, I'm hoping they don't develop asthma down the road for your lack of judgement.  Sorry I sound mean but It irritates me that "the smokers" are trying to justify themselves for making poor decisions!

Barbara - posted on 02/03/2009

10

4

0

Quoting Candy:



Smoking during pregnancy has been shown to lower not only the baby's birth weight, but its IQ.  So ladies, if you want a slow learner, just keep lighting up...






My partner (not the father of my child) has been off the fags cold turkey for about two and a half months now, bless him.  No patches, no gum, no cutting back- true cold turkey from a pack a day, because he decided that life was good and dying was not (he's 55). It didn't cause him any physical harm to just stop after 30 years' of heavy smoking (he smoked cowboy killers, ie full strength Marlboro red), so I am very suspicious of the view that quitting might cause the baby to abort- sounds like a cop out excuse to me.






It can be done but you have to WANT to stop.






Ok, i hate to admit this but I did smoke while I was pregnant. I cut back a lot. Well, maybe it has shown that SOME kids are born with a lower birth wait and are a slow learner. My daughter was a very healthy weight. She is almost 3years old and she has the vocab of a 5year old. Carrying on conversations with adults and knows spanish. So that definity does not apply to every baby. Im not saying that its ok to smoke while pregnant, i feel guilty, but my daughter is very healthy and super smart. So maybe the slow learning part has something to do with the parents, after the child is born. 

Barbara - posted on 02/03/2009

10

4

0

Quoting Candy:



Smoking during pregnancy has been shown to lower not only the baby's birth weight, but its IQ.  So ladies, if you want a slow learner, just keep lighting up...






My partner (not the father of my child) has been off the fags cold turkey for about two and a half months now, bless him.  No patches, no gum, no cutting back- true cold turkey from a pack a day, because he decided that life was good and dying was not (he's 55). It didn't cause him any physical harm to just stop after 30 years' of heavy smoking (he smoked cowboy killers, ie full strength Marlboro red), so I am very suspicious of the view that quitting might cause the baby to abort- sounds like a cop out excuse to me.






It can be done but you have to WANT to stop.






Ok, i hate to admit this but I did smoke while I was pregnant. I cut back a lot. Well, maybe it has shown that SOME kids are born with a lower birth wait and are a slow learner. My daughter was a very healthy weight. She is almost 3years old and she has the vocab of a 5year old. Carrying on conversations with adults and knows spanish. So that definity does not apply to every baby. Im not saying that its ok to smoke while pregnant, i feel guilty, but my daughter is very healthy and super smart. So maybe the slow learning part has something to do with the parents, after the child is born. 

Mandy - posted on 02/03/2009

2

15

0

I really don't like when people smoke when they are pregnant. I don't like even when they are not but I understand that it is an addiction that is hard to get over. I just can't believe that people would risk there childs health by smoking. I know two people who have smoked during there pregnancy and now there children have severe asthma. I would hate to think that if I had smoked during pregnancy I could have caused my daughter to have asthma or any sickness for that matter. I understand though that children have asthma for other reasons but why risk it. If it could have been prevented then why do it.

Amanda - posted on 02/03/2009

1

42

0

Quoting Tanya:

Pregnant and smoking....What's your opinion?????

Hi Ladies!
Well...here's a very touchy subject for most people.
What's your opinion on smoking while pregnant? I know of one pregnant woman who continues to smoke though she's four months pregnant. I'm a nonsmoker myself and I've very opinionated on this topic. What's your view??


are you kidding me?! No its not ideal but its actually more stressful for the baby if you try to quit while pregnant than if you continue...Personally I have more issues with these alcoholic,druggie moms(& there are ALOT of them) who burn the poor kids brain/body out before its even born. If you want to have an issue do it over something more worthwhile!! As a smoker I'm tired of hearing all this about passive smoking etc...I meanYES it does damage but  these days our food is giving kids Tumors/cancer ...Lets not kid ourselves

Lisa - posted on 02/03/2009

10

4

2

i just dont think anyone has the right to call another mother a bad mother because they smoked, yes you have your opinion, but come on, you dont actually know these ppl so you dont have the right to call them a bad mother. You dont know their circumstances, you dont know how their child is, smoking isnt nice during pregnancy, i know that, but that doesnt make me a bad mother.....if anything im a great mother....just ask my daughter!!

Sonia - posted on 02/03/2009

8

3

1

Smokers!!! Just because they are fine now doesn't mean that will always be the case.  Asthma? Lung Cancer?  Does any of this mean any thing to you.  There is a Surgeon General Warning on Cigarette's for a reason.  I hope you don't continue to smoke around your child.  Second hand smoke is far more damaging then what you are doing to yourself.  I feel that this is child abuse.  You are knowing exposing your child to a danger.  Would you let a child molester live with you?  Sounds ridiculous I know but both cause irreversible damage.  Yes smoking is your choice but it is not your childs choice to be exposed.  Furhter more you continue to be selfish by smoking.  Don't you want to have a long life expectancy and a good quality of life?  Don't your kids deserve to have you around long term?  Stop being selfish.

Kristi - posted on 02/03/2009

4

6

0

I think that the sad part is, if she can't quit because of her baby, what will she quit for?  Just hope that her baby is healthy.

~Jennifer - posted on 02/03/2009

4,164

61

365

So- do any of you whose mothers smoked during their pregnancies consider your own mothers bad parents?

Kelly - posted on 02/03/2009

88

28

14

I drank a fifth of vodka while I was pregnant and smoked Meth, does that make me a good mom???

I didn't think so!! I would call you selfish.... I guess. Sorry its my opinion!

Sonia - posted on 02/03/2009

8

3

1

My view is not nice.  I think it is selfish of any woman to expose her unborn baby to this toxin.  Nothing good happens when a mother smokes.  The child is put at risk, will have a low birth weight, increases the mothers risk of pregnancy induce hypertension (high blood pressure).  I feel if you shouldn't have children if you can not put there well being over your personal needs.  Harsh I know but this is how I feel.

Kelly - posted on 02/03/2009

88

28

14

Quoting Kylie:

you must be so perfect to be able to get on here in a public discussion and just judge judge judge... Don't you people realize that 99% of the mothers you are talking about are HUMAN BEINGS that have REAL feelings too... When did people get so judgemental??? I'm so sure that each and every one of you mothers that have made a negative post on this site have done something in your life that has not been the best thing for yourself or someone else.. Wake up to yourselves and start respecting that we are all different and there is not one of you that are perfect in any way !!!
Smoking is obviously a personal choice, pregnant or not pregnant and at the end of the day if someone you know is smoking whilst pregnant - HOW DOES IT CHANGE THE WAY YOU MOTHER YOUR OWN CHILD???????? It doesn't so don't make it your business by having such a strong public opinion...


I'm sorry but when you are DILIBERATLY putting your child at risk because of your HABIT!  I don't condsider that a personal choice! 



 



And the ones that had healthy babies while you smoked, THANK GOD.  But that does NOT mean I would promote or justifiy it.  I know we are all moms here and we all make mistakes but come on!!

Kelly - posted on 02/03/2009

88

28

14

WHY would ANYONE put their baby at risk, KNOWING the possible side effects? I don't care, there is NO justification for it!! Its bad parenting!

Holly - posted on 02/03/2009

39

7

5

I commend you for being honest. I also smoked during my pregnancies. I don't think it was the best decision and i would tell people to do it. But i also want to say my almost 3 year old was 9lbs at birth and is very intelligent and has no health problems. And my 1 year old was 9lbs 2 oz. at birth and is also very advanced for his age and has no health problems. Maybe I was wrong to do what i did but there is no need to make people feel any worse than they already do when they are smoking and pregnant. Its not like they are proud of it.

[deleted account]

you must be so perfect to be able to get on here in a public discussion and just judge judge judge... Don't you people realize that 99% of the mothers you are talking about are HUMAN BEINGS that have REAL feelings too... When did people get so judgemental??? I'm so sure that each and every one of you mothers that have made a negative post on this site have done something in your life that has not been the best thing for yourself or someone else.. Wake up to yourselves and start respecting that we are all different and there is not one of you that are perfect in any way !!!

Smoking is obviously a personal choice, pregnant or not pregnant and at the end of the day if someone you know is smoking whilst pregnant - HOW DOES IT CHANGE THE WAY YOU MOTHER YOUR OWN CHILD???????? It doesn't so don't make it your business by having such a strong public opinion...

Melissa - posted on 02/03/2009

272

42

24

I am so glad I did not have to deal with this issue. I get funny looks when I buy my husband's cigarettes and am always quick to tell people they are not for me and he does not smoke them around me. He is planning to smoke outside once she is born and is trying to quit but it is so hard. I really feel badly for women who have this addiction. Medical insurance for the most part does not cover smoking cessation which is crazy considering what they pay out in medical related disease. I read in a magazine they now recommend that women try to cut back slowly instead of going cold turkey because the sudden withdrawal can have worse effects on the fetus. I don't like to see a pregnant woman smoke but I try really hard not to be judgmental since I know quitting is so tough and the guidelines from doctors have changed.

Lisa - posted on 02/03/2009

10

4

2

i see nearly everyone has put its disgusting and no they didnt, i complelty agree but i did smoke throughout my pregnancy, im not proud of it but i had a very healthy 8lb 7 and a half ounce baby girl, i dont smoke around her, i go outside, iv never smoked around her. i dont allow ppl to smoke in my house either, its not nice smoking while pregnant and i never smoked while i was out, i cut right down...im not proud 2 say i smoked during pregnancy.

Amanda - posted on 02/03/2009

3

19

0

Smoking is a disgusting and dangerous habit that affects not just the smoker but the people around him or her. Smoking while pregnant is even worse. How could a smoking expectant mother put her needs before her unborn baby's? That's completely selfish.

Kelly - posted on 02/03/2009

15

12

3

Quoting Tanya:



Quoting Kelly:

A collegue told me that too! I was getting a little stressed what with hormones and the withdrawal, and she told me that it was better to have a ciggarette than to stress! But in my opinion, the stress only lasts about five minutes. Just had a nice cup of tea instead.
I couldn't bear to think I'd be harming my precious baby!





Thank you for sharing your story! I commend you for making the choice that suits you and your family. I , also, commend you for having the courage to share your experience with smoking during pregnancy. I would be interested in knowing more about your reasons for smoking during pregnancy and why you choose to not smoke during your second pregnancy?






Hi Tanya. Thanks for the reply.



Well, as you know, I did smoke throughout my first pregnancy. Its something that I do regret and am ashamed of now, but it's done now, and I'm just thankful that my son is a healthy gorgeous little boy. My reasons for doing it though. I could put it down to many things but I wont. It was selfish of me, and I fully admit it. I was very young, and hung around with, not a bad crowd, but people who had huge influences on me. I just didn't think of the danger I could be puting my unborn child in.



As for this pregnancy, I am alot older and wiser now, and have been trying for this baby for about a year, so I dont want anything to jepordise this precious life.



People may judge me for my choices, but so be it. Its honest. And I'm not here to be judged, I'm here to share my experience's and opinions.



Oh dear, I've rambled on a bit now. Thanks for reading

Amy - posted on 02/03/2009

1

6

0

I think it is one of the worst things a mother could do to her unborn child. I never have smoked, but know lots of people who do, and I can see from the ones who did smoke while pregnant their children seem to have more allergies and breathing problems than the ones who did not. Is it so hard for people to put the well being of their kids 1st.

Donna - posted on 02/03/2009

1

3

0

Most smokers don't find the health risks to themselves enough of an incentive to quit. But most find the health risks to their babies more than enough incentive and it makes it easier to quit while pregnant. 



Here are some of the health risks...



Low Birth Weight



Premature birth - which leads to even more serious complications such as kidney and digestive problems or bleeds in the brain.



Cancer



Babies born with a chemical addiction are extremely uncomfortable as they detox after their supply is cut off at birth, just as uncomfortable as an adult would be.



Those incentives were enough to make me quit during my 3 pregnancies.

Tanya - posted on 02/03/2009

247

1

35

Quoting Tanya:

Pregnant and smoking....What's your opinion?????

Hi Ladies!
Well...here's a very touchy subject for most people.
What's your opinion on smoking while pregnant? I know of one pregnant woman who continues to smoke though she's four months pregnant. I'm a nonsmoker myself and I've very opinionated on this topic. What's your view??


I'm a nonsmoker but I do have friends who do smoke. They've made their homes smoke free and they don't expose their children to other smoking homes. They said as parents...it's their responsibility to sustain their children's health. Because they smoke doesn't mean their children need to be expose to their addiction (second hand smoke). It's a parents choice. Many of us have been raised in smoking homes and we had little or no choice but to except it. My mother did smoke during each of her pregnancies. We were all preemies with low birth weights (the youngest was born with lung problems). I've come to except my mother's choices...truthfully all I can do is give my own child a healthier environment. My health and lifespan may be effected by my mother's choice to smoke during pregnancy. I may currently or will suffer from her choice but...my child doesn't have too. It wasn't easy to create a smoke free environment within my home but I did. It wasn't easy to tell the other grandparents our reasons for not entering their smoke filled home. I've even made our property smoke free. It wasn't easy but my dh and I stand by our choices. We all have very strong opinions about this topic and I respect each of your comments. With the research available, it's truly not the best choice. But again...it's a choice!

Sarah - posted on 02/03/2009

10

10

0

Quoting Candy:



Smoking during pregnancy has been shown to lower not only the baby's birth weight, but its IQ.  So ladies, if you want a slow learner, just keep lighting up...






My partner (not the father of my child) has been off the fags cold turkey for about two and a half months now, bless him.  No patches, no gum, no cutting back- true cold turkey from a pack a day, because he decided that life was good and dying was not (he's 55). It didn't cause him any physical harm to just stop after 30 years' of heavy smoking (he smoked cowboy killers, ie full strength Marlboro red), so I am very suspicious of the view that quitting might cause the baby to abort- sounds like a cop out excuse to me.






It can be done but you have to WANT to stop.






i smoked with all 3 of mine i did cut down but to say if we want slow learners, every child is different all my daughters are top students my eldest is staying on at school to get a levels  and my younger 2 are very bright but i spend the time to help them and suport them being  a slow learner can come from many things cigarette smoke is not the cause of every medical condition or social disfunction as many would have you believe

Cynthia - posted on 02/03/2009

1

10

0

Bad Bad Bad. That is so wrong to chance your baby with asthma or worse. I think she should quit at least while she is pregnant anyways. This is only my view though.

Jacquelyn - posted on 02/03/2009

15

6

1

Luckily I don't smoke. I tried it and hated it. Smoking  to me is a disgusting unhealthy and proven deadly habit. As far as smoking while pregnant I would consider that as a form of child abuse. I know it may be hard for mothers to quit for their children but you have to decide what is more important your expensive habit or this beautifful baby you're carrying. My sister-in-law smoked and thankfully my niece is okay. With all the info we now have smoking should be illegal. People may hate my opinion but I'm not the one WASTING $200 to $300 a month on something harmful to myself and my family.

Sarah - posted on 02/03/2009

1

6

0

If you want to smoke knowing all the risks well that's your lookout but inflicting all those dangers onto your unborn baby is just downright wrong. My mum smoked heavily throughout her pregnancy and was in complete denial that she had done me any harm. The fact that I was born overdue, but had to be in an incubator and had symptoms of a premature baby had nothing to do with smoking! Yeah, right! I'm 40 now and am in good health but who knows what the future will bring. My mum died at 66 from cancer.

~Jennifer - posted on 02/03/2009

4,164

61

365

Quoting Cassaundra:



I am 37 years old and I am still suffering the health effects of my Mother's 4 pack a day habit. Asthma, allergies, type two diabetes, immune suppression, semi-dwarfing of the feet hands and lower legs and arms. I also suffered chronic depression and behavioural difficulties throughout my childhood. Smoking, kills and maims children. It impairs us for life. My mom continues to be incredibly selfish and self-centred in her addiction and refuses to quit despite what it has done to my sister and I and to momn herself whose health is also destroyed. Addiction is powerful and the rationalisations that the ego creates to justify the addiction are just as powerful. A Mother who smokes, is not neccesarily a bad mother entirely, but she is definetely not as good as any other mother who does not smoke, period. Not an opinion, medical fact. A Mother who knowinbgly and willingly puts her child at risk, is neglectful and abusive, by definition. Abuse/neglect is knowingly and willingly causing harm or preventing health in a child. smoking harms, smoking prevents health. The effects are catastrophic and permanent.  Addiction is a character flaw. It is because you are weak, selfish, lazy and stupid. These are not traits which should be passed on to a child. For these reasons, I believe that no mother should be allowed to maintain an addiction and still have custody of their child. Quitting is hard, but necesary. Trying and failing is acceptable. Not even trying, is unforgiveable.






Harsh yes, but I live with the consequences every day, 5 times a day with my injections, 8 times a day with my puffers, 2 times a day with my allergy pills, and every time that I look down at my hands, this lasts forever, long after my mother is gone. Think about that everytime you light up. it's as bad, if not worse, than punching your child in the face.





I don't have an opinion on what other people do.  Let me start by saying that.  



This might be off topic, slightly, but one of your statements sparked a question in my mind.



You said:  "Addiction is a character flaw. It is because you are weak, selfish, lazy and stupid. These are not traits which should be passed on to a child. For these reasons, I believe that no mother should be allowed to maintain an addiction and still have custody of their child."



So let's go here.    Have you ever seen an obese woman raising an overweight / obese child?  Have you ever heard them talk about feeding their kids fries and burgers and foods loaded with cheese - Mc Donalds /Burger King (fast food in general) - placating them with cookies, donuts and sugar?  Basically feeding them the same things they themselves eat due to their ADDICTION to food - and seeing nothing wrong with that.



Should the mother lose custody of their child because they are 'weak, lazy' and too 'stupid'  (your words)  to feed them in a more healthy manner?



Shouldn't 'fat' mothers and smokers lose their kids due to addiction, according to your 'rules'?



 



 

Sarah - posted on 02/03/2009

10

10

0

Quoting Tina:



Quoting Adrienne:

I happen to know that smoking during a pregnancy will give you a colic baby... if you want a happy baby.. butt out!






I'm not so sure you are on the right track with this comment . I did smoke through out my pregnancy ( slowed down a lot but not quit ) and my daughter is a healthy 4 month old and DOES NOT have colic .






i smoked throughout all 3 of my pregnancies i did cut down  but not stop and not one of my daughters ever had colic  my sister in law quit smoking as soon as she found out she was expecting and her first one had colic constantly so dont think smoking is the cause of  colic

Shannon - posted on 02/03/2009

1

10

0

When you are making a choice for yourself only and choose to smoke that is one thing but when you are pregnant you have already taken on the responsibility of the well being of your child and you should NOT smoke.  Once the baby is born you should you continue to start smoking again you should not smoke with your child in the car, in the house, etc. If you need to smoke go outside but don't subject your child to your second hand smoke. 

Penny - posted on 02/03/2009

1

0

0

In Australia, you can now be fined for smoking in cars with kids but not fined for smoking whilst pregnant..doesn't make any sense when the baby is getting the direct smoke being inhaled. I think it is a completely selfish act.

Tanya - posted on 02/03/2009

247

1

35

Quoting Cassaundra:



I am 37 years old and I am still suffering the health effects of my Mother's 4 pack a day habit. Asthma, allergies, type two diabetes, immune suppression, semi-dwarfing of the feet hands and lower legs and arms. I also suffered chronic depression and behavioural difficulties throughout my childhood. Smoking, kills and maims children. It impairs us for life. My mom continues to be incredibly selfish and self-centred in her addiction and refuses to quit despite what it has done to my sister and I and to momn herself whose health is also destroyed. Addiction is powerful and the rationalisations that the ego creates to justify the addiction are just as powerful. A Mother who smokes, is not neccesarily a bad mother entirely, but she is definetely not as good as any other mother who does not smoke, period. Not an opinion, medical fact. A Mother who knowinbgly and willingly puts her child at risk, is neglectful and abusive, by definition. Abuse/neglect is knowingly and willingly causing harm or preventing health in a child. smoking harms, smoking prevents health. The effects are catastrophic and permanent.  Addiction is a character flaw. It is because you are weak, selfish, lazy and stupid. These are not traits which should be passed on to a child. For these reasons, I believe that no mother should be allowed to maintain an addiction and still have custody of their child. Quitting is hard, but necesary. Trying and failing is acceptable. Not even trying, is unforgiveable.






Harsh yes, but I live with the consequences every day, 5 times a day with my injections, 8 times a day with my puffers, 2 times a day with my allergy pills, and every time that I look down at my hands, this lasts forever, long after my mother is gone. Think about that everytime you light up. it's as bad, if not worse, than punching your child in the face.





Hello there! Thank you for sharing your story! I appreciate your honesty!

Doreen - posted on 02/03/2009

35

2

3

OMG. That makes me so mad to see someone smoking while pregnant. I don't understand why anyone would want to hard their own child! My neighbor smoked through both of her pregnancies. We are no longer friends because of that. I had to go through IVF to have my child and it made me so mad that she took her pregnancies for granted!

Tiffany - posted on 02/03/2009

6

9

2

Ahhh, I didn't read all the way through. There are worse mothers out there?? I am flabergasted that anyone would say that.

Yup, some mothers abuse and burn their children. Some sexually abuse or verbally abuse theirs. Some neglect or fail to feed, etc. So, since everyone else is doing terrible things I will do something a little less terrible. WOW!



Not only that but this was set up as an OPINION thread To find out what others THINK about smoking during pregnancy. You were expecting what?

Tiffany - posted on 02/03/2009

6

9

2

First, It's great that some people turned out "just fine" however you wouldn't know much of the causes of many of the problems caused by smoking while pregnant. Allergies, an addiction, more likely to smoke as an adult, more likely to smoke earlier in life, low birth weight, lung problems from asthma to chronic bronchitis.

Think this over, when you smoke your child has no filter. The lungs can't filter out the mess, the filter of your cigarette works for you but not them, you pick up toxins on your skin, etc. This all goes to the baby unfiltered. It's like saying it would be okay to directly inject your child with heroine. Who would? We object to many things like illegal drugs, alcohol and even over the counter or prescription medications and yet you aren't willing to set those down.

It's not about you anymore, it's about the life inside of you and if you can't take the responsibility of keeping your child safe at all costs then why'd you bother getting pregnant in the first place?!

Ashley - posted on 02/03/2009

858

17

40

Quoting Jessica:



Quoting Vicki:

I don't remember where I heard/read this, so I can't give a reference, but the information I found said that, when a mother even thinks about a cigarette, the unborn baby tightens up as if in pain.






Come onn..... that makes no sense! How does the baby know what you are thinking?!?  So your telling me if I thought of me falling off a tree when I was a child the baby would tighten up in pain? I would really like to see where you saw that! ..and all I am saying again is that alot of people who are writing on here said they quit smoking before they got pregnant. Alot of people don;t have that luxury. Some people don't plan there pregnancys. I wanted to try anything I could to quit smoking. There is nothing you can take when you are pregnant. Like I said I tried as hard as I could possible.. My doctor who is a fantastic doctor as well as the our pediatrician said it is better to cut back rather then to quit cold turkey while you are pregnant. It is more harmful if you quit cause your baby is going through withdrawals. Withdrawals aren't something to take lightly. They are serious not cold symptoms. Obviously if you can quit before you  plan on getting pregnant thats great... I would have loved to not smoke when I was pregnant. I hated myself for it. But I did what was right for us according to my doctor! I think you should listen to your pediatrician or your doctor over things you read in books, magazines or the internet!






jessica i completely agree with absouletly everything you are saying!....and to the post up ahead about the baby tigtening up in pain...all i have to say to that is hahahahaha..that's the most rediculous thing i have ever heard....that's such bullshit...i think u need to review your facst there. how does a baby know what a cigarette is???



 



i think this whole conversation should be deleted because the way ppl are putting us down is just so horrible.i really really cant beleive that there's people like this out there who are doing nothing but trashing us. you people are unbeleiveable!!!......i really think people should be keeping their opinions to themselves on this subject.....we arent proud of what we've done but u know sometimes we cant help it. we do try and sometimes it doesnt exactly work. we arent making up excuses it's true.........i'm sick of people saying bad things about us...we arent bad mothers!!!!!!......there are worse mothers out there!

Sharon - posted on 02/03/2009

1

7

0

If grown men can die of lung cancer from smoking, why take the risk for your unborn child who's lungs are not yet developed? This shouldn't be an issue-it's a no brainer. We ought to be jumping at the chance to protect the lives of our unborn children. I know it's hard to quit but as some have mentioned what better reason is there-and that ought to go for smoking in the home around children and other non smokers as well.

Lisa - posted on 02/03/2009

25

27

2

Quoting Heather: what i meant was if you know the risks is it worth it ...NO is the answer i know smoking is not THE cause of SIDS there are many factors but however the professionals say it is a large factor if you do smoke it CAN contribute to the causes of SIDS i used to smoke myself i kno its hard to give up but i managed with the stresses of 4 other children it IS possible you just need willpower and relaxation / meditation along with the determination to do what is best for your unborn baby



Quoting Lisa:

All I can say is if you smoke when you are pregnant then you haven't lost a baby to SIDS I have its the hardest thing I have ever had to deal with! and I think smoking during pregnancy is the most selfish ignorant thing a mother could do to thier unborn baby you are thinking of you not your baby and thats not fair!! Give babies the chance of a lifetime xx






I'm offended that you would say SIDS is contributed to people who smoke while pregnant.  That is unfounded.  I know 2 people whose children died from SIDS and neither one of them smoked while pregnant. 





 

Jennifer - posted on 02/03/2009

1

30

0

i was told by my doctor not to quit cold turkey when i was pregnant i had to cut down instead so i smoked through my pregnancy but 2-3 a day, i have quit since and feel great my daughter is happy and healthy. Although i understand sometimes it is unavoidable i hate to see pregnant women smoking! i was ashamed to be seen smoking while pregnant!

Heather - posted on 02/03/2009

2

4

0

Quoting Lisa:

All I can say is if you smoke when you are pregnant then you haven't lost a baby to SIDS I have its the hardest thing I have ever had to deal with! and I think smoking during pregnancy is the most selfish ignorant thing a mother could do to thier unborn baby you are thinking of you not your baby and thats not fair!! Give babies the chance of a lifetime xx



I'm offended that you would say SIDS is contributed to people who smoke while pregnant.  That is unfounded.  I know 2 people whose children died from SIDS and neither one of them smoked while pregnant. 

Heather - posted on 02/03/2009

2

4

0

I'm sure I am going to get a load backlash from what i am going to say but I will share my story. I too, used to be disgusted and make snyde comments when i would see a woman smoking and pregnant. When I got pregnant with my son and smoked about a pack a day. I went to my OB and of course they told me i needed to quit, but was unable to take any of the drugs that they distribute for quitting smoking (not enough research had been done on pregnant smokers). My doctor told me to significantly reduce until I had completely kicked the habit. I reduced the amount that I was smoking and started having alot of swelling, headaches etc, I though it was because I had stopped but wasn't sure. I made an appointment because i was having some abdominal pains and went in. When I got to my appt, much to my suprise and my doctors, my blood pressure was very elevated. I was hospitalized immed. I told the doctor that I had pretty much reduced the amount I was smoking to 3-4 ciggs a day. He was upset. He told me that i could not quit that suddenly but needed to reduce because it would elevate my blood pressure and cause me to miscarry with my BP being so high. I continued to smoke throught the duration of my pregnancy, about 5-6 ciggs a day, and although my son measured small, by the grace of god he was born healthy and at almost 8lbs. He did develope asthma at about 1 year, but I don't smoke anymore and his peds assure me that it's heriditary ( I have it also). Where as I don't have an opinion whether a person smokes or not during their pregnancy, I do know the effects it has on a baby while in utero. To each it's own. Ciggarettes are known to cause low birth weight etc, but you shouldn't cast stones at others, if you don't know their circumstances. Yes, it's very much possible that you have never had an addiction as nasty and horrible as an addiction to tabacco, and if not, kudos to you, but some people, like myself, tried very hard to quit and almost lost my child and my doctor told me it was okay, but in moderation. U have to weigh the risks. I had many people give me the ugliest looks and say the meanest things to me when I was preggers and they saw me smoking....as if being pregnant is already a stressful thing, where you are swollen and not always digging how u look on a day to day basis, people who have no idea, just their personal opinion, make u feel worse about yourself that day...that...I could and anyone else can do without. So please, next time you see a woman smoking while pregnant, if you have an opionion, either keep that or your dirty looks to yourself. :)

Julie - posted on 02/03/2009

91

32

3

Interesting topic. haha.  Lots of people feel VERY strongly about this.  I smoke but the day I found out I was pregnant I quit for my entire pregnancy, and a few months after while I nursed.  It was the easiest thing for me to do because #1 the smell made me sick, and #2 I had an important reason to quit.  Although I quit that first time, it's hard for me to wonder if maybe the next time around since I already have a small child (and will probably be more stressed out) if I would be able to just quit again like I did.  I don't want to judge women who smoke while pregnant but a part of me does still do it.  The thing that I ABSOLUTELY can't stand though, is when people smoke in the car with small children.  We NEVER smoke in the car with our daughter.  We get outside of the car to smoke if we feel the need.  Never Ever in the car, or in the house.  If we go somewhere were children are around, both of us go very far away to smoke.  It is my decision to smoke, not for me to blow in the face of small children.  How unacceptable.  I saw a woman in a parked car with a very young child, like 2 mos old in the back and she was smoking.  WHAT?  Just get out of the car, you're already parked...geeze. 

Kristin - posted on 02/03/2009

7

17

0

Quoting Sara:



I smoked throughout my pregnancy. I cut back quite a bit, when I found out I was pregnant, but never quit. A lot of ppl say "how could you harm your baby?" But I feel as though there are many things that are much worse to do to your child. My son was a healthy 8 lbs 13 oz and is now 3 months old with no health problems what so ever. Im not saying I would encourage it, but I know many mothers who smoked while pregnant and their kids all turned out just fine.






Thank you Sara, I quote you and feel the same, my two children are very healty and I smoked throughout my pregnancy aswell..  A lot of people don't realise that quiting cold turkey while your pregant can cause more harm than cutting back.  Quiting cold turkey means the nicotine is leaving your body, passing your uterus and everything.  To me it's more important that my home stays smokefree and I stand outside..

Jena - posted on 02/03/2009

269

4

38

I don't know why some women continue to do it, even though it is medically proven to be harmful to a fetus. I was very annoyed when people who smoke around me when I was pregnant. A friend of mine smoked until she was pregnant. Then she "quit", except occasionally she would have one. I couldn't believe it!!!

Jena - posted on 02/03/2009

269

4

38

I don't know why some women continue to do it, even though it is medically proven to be harmful to a fetus. I was very annoyed when people who smoke around me when I was pregnant. A friend of mine smoked until she was pregnant. Then she "quit", except occasionally she would have one. I couldn't believe it!!!

Jessica - posted on 02/03/2009

60

7

3

Quoting Vicki:

I don't remember where I heard/read this, so I can't give a reference, but the information I found said that, when a mother even thinks about a cigarette, the unborn baby tightens up as if in pain.



Come onn..... that makes no sense! How does the baby know what you are thinking?!?  So your telling me if I thought of me falling off a tree when I was a child the baby would tighten up in pain? I would really like to see where you saw that! ..and all I am saying again is that alot of people who are writing on here said they quit smoking before they got pregnant. Alot of people don;t have that luxury. Some people don't plan there pregnancys. I wanted to try anything I could to quit smoking. There is nothing you can take when you are pregnant. Like I said I tried as hard as I could possible.. My doctor who is a fantastic doctor as well as the our pediatrician said it is better to cut back rather then to quit cold turkey while you are pregnant. It is more harmful if you quit cause your baby is going through withdrawals. Withdrawals aren't something to take lightly. They are serious not cold symptoms. Obviously if you can quit before you  plan on getting pregnant thats great... I would have loved to not smoke when I was pregnant. I hated myself for it. But I did what was right for us according to my doctor! I think you should listen to your pediatrician or your doctor over things you read in books, magazines or the internet!

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms