Pregnant and smoking....What's your opinion?????

Tanya - posted on 02/02/2009 ( 231 moms have responded )

247

1

35

Hi Ladies!
Well...here's a very touchy subject for most people.
What's your opinion on smoking while pregnant? I know of one pregnant woman who continues to smoke though she's four months pregnant. I'm a nonsmoker myself and I've very opinionated on this topic. What's your view??

This conversation has been closed to further comments

231 Comments

View replies by

Kelly - posted on 02/02/2009

23

38

2

Quoting Natasha:

while smoking is harmful to the baby quitting is even worse...remember the baby would also be addicted to the nicotine and to stop cold turkey could result in miscarriage or put the fetus in stress...most doctors will tell you to cut down but not quit completely.


Um sorry, but this is yet another "guilt reliever" for moms.  These doctors make me sick.

Danae - posted on 02/02/2009

7

12

0

The point I was trying to make is that I was a heavy smoker for 7 years, I had a smoking "routine". It is a HABIT as much as it is an ADDICTION, in the end though the only thing that matters is the choice you make; yourself or your unborn baby. I felt guilty about the 5 weeks I smoked when I didn't know I was pregnant, with my conscience I couldn't continue smoking. I understand the addiction/habit better than anyone, there still is no excuse. Plus, that is crazy about the doctor saying it is better to cut down than quit cold turkey. I told my doctor I smoked until I found out I was pregnant and that I quit cold turkey. I also had heard that it was bad, I was then told that it is BEST to quit smoking, cold turkey or however, but if the person can't quit they tell them to AT LEAST try to cut down as much as possible. For all you pregnant smokers; imagine your baby laying down before you, your baby is perfect in every way he/she is just staring up in awe of his/her mommy, are you going to light up next to your baby? Hopefully the answer would be no. If it is no, than how can you not see that there is no difference if the baby is inside of you or out. So for some smokers' their baby's are perfectly fine and for some their not. The whole point of this is to ask yourself if smoking comes before your baby. Is your baby not important enough to quit smoking? You would give your life for your child yet you can't quit smoking and give them a better shot at a healthy start at life. Smoking while pregnant has increased risks for stillbirth, miscarriage, cleft palate, cleft lip, twice as likely to die of SIDS, have asthma, learning disabilities and behavioral problems. Those are just some problems caused by smoking while pregnant. I guess if you care do some research on it and see if you feel it is still okay to continue smoking during and after your pregnancy.

Kari - posted on 02/02/2009

48

10

6

I can't imagine smoking while pregnant. I don't smoke mainly for the fact that just the smell of them nauseates me. I know people who did smoke though, and their docs did tell them that it was better to cut down than to outright quit (at least that's what they said. it could'a just been an excuse) because it would cause the baby stress. I can't see how people can smoke while preggers, but then it's not me doing it. I can only try to avoid having any smokers around my kids after they arrive.

Peggy - posted on 02/02/2009

1

5

0

i don't agree with smoiing at all, but especially not when pregnant. second hand smoke is soooo dangerous, esp. if you are thinking of breast feeding - what goes into the mom, goes into the baby. many diseases are caused by second hand smoke, including ear infections. this is definitely the time to quit.

Laura - posted on 02/02/2009

16

4

0

Quoting Tanya:

Pregnant and smoking....What's your opinion?????

Hi Ladies!
Well...here's a very touchy subject for most people.
What's your opinion on smoking while pregnant? I know of one pregnant woman who continues to smoke though she's four months pregnant. I'm a nonsmoker myself and I've very opinionated on this topic. What's your view??


Well first of all, if you already smoke you should stop. But women have smoked while pregnant for decades and if they already have the nasty habit it's going to be hard to quit. I think it's disgusting in the first place and even worse when you're pregnant. Hello, if you watch what you eat you should be watching EVERYTHING you put in your body, not just food and drink. Smoking is so nasty, look at all the shit that's in those cigarets and for what, lung cancer. Any sensible person would avoid smoking, and even more so while pregnant. Babies do come out alright, but that doesn't make it ok. I can't stand women who throw their bodies away when their pregnant, and smoking is one of the worst ways to do it. 

Jolene - posted on 02/02/2009

513

21

48

Addictions are different for everybody, and just because one person can quit cold turkey doesn't mean that someone else can. If you find it too hard to quit then I think as long as you make the attempt to cut back it's alright. People who don't make any attempt though are a different story.

Rachel - posted on 02/02/2009

201

11

27

Quoting Rachel:

I smoked the first month or so of my pregnancy until I found out I was pregnant, I found out at 8 weeks, but continued for another week until it made me so ill. I still feel guilty about it! I find it reprehensible, I quit and never went back. I was a heavy smoker and if I could do it for my child, other people should.


I forgot to add, I knew a lady when I was in the Army who hid in the porta potty to smoke when she was pregnant. It made me sick, her baby was healthy and a whole lot of people did it in the 50's so I hope all those babies are alright.

Rachel - posted on 02/02/2009

201

11

27

I smoked the first month or so of my pregnancy until I found out I was pregnant, I found out at 8 weeks, but continued for another week until it made me so ill. I still feel guilty about it! I find it reprehensible, I quit and never went back. I was a heavy smoker and if I could do it for my child, other people should.

Nicole - posted on 02/02/2009

1,117

27

47

Quoting Sara:



I smoked throughout my pregnancy. I cut back quite a bit, when I found out I was pregnant, but never quit. A lot of ppl say "how could you harm your baby?" But I feel as though there are many things that are much worse to do to your child. My son was a healthy 8 lbs 13 oz and is now 3 months old with no health problems what so ever. Im not saying I would encourage it, but I know many mothers who smoked while pregnant and their kids all turned out just fine.






I am glad to hear that all of these babies turned out fine, but they still have a long way to go before they are teenagers and even longer before they are adults.  The effects to a child from smoking while pregnant can be life long and if there are no problems as babies, there may be problems as they get older.  I really hope that Sara's child and her friends' children prove the studies wrong, but the risk is far too high to talk about smoking during pregnancy so casually.



Oh, and what are the "much worse" things you could do to your child while pregnant?  Get drunk?  Do drugs?



I don't mean any offense, but coming from a child who is the only non-smoker in my family, it is a HORRIBLE way to grow up and I am sure most of my health problems can be attributed to it!!!  I really feel it is the equivilant of child neglect.  It is neglecting the child's health.  But, again, this is only my opinion, as someone who had to grow up in it.

Amanda - posted on 02/02/2009

2

2

0

It's not so much a habit, but more of an addiction...and addictions need time to overcome...It's not selfish...i bet women who smoke during pregnancy cut back alot...and that's a good start.

Danae - posted on 02/02/2009

7

12

0

I was a smoker for about 7 years, smoking about a pack or more a day. The day I missed my period I took a test found out I was pregnant and haven't smoked since. I had a hard time trying to quit before I got pregnant, so I understand the struggle there. Once your pregnant and you know it, there is NO EXCUSE to still be smoking. That baby needs to be first in your life. I think it is so incredibly selfish to continue smoking while pregnant or around children or nonsmokers. It is a choice you make, my baby's health or my habit. It should be a simple answer. I'm not saying I didn't have cravings but in the end I knew it was in the best interest of my baby. I haven't had a cigarette in over a year and a half.

Tina - posted on 02/02/2009

5

2

2

Quoting Adrienne:

I happen to know that smoking during a pregnancy will give you a colic baby... if you want a happy baby.. butt out!



I'm not so sure you are on the right track with this comment . I did smoke through out my pregnancy ( slowed down a lot but not quit ) and my daughter is a healthy 4 month old and DOES NOT have colic .

Candy - posted on 02/02/2009

132

34

6

Smoking during pregnancy has been shown to lower not only the baby's birth weight, but its IQ.  So ladies, if you want a slow learner, just keep lighting up...



My partner (not the father of my child) has been off the fags cold turkey for about two and a half months now, bless him.  No patches, no gum, no cutting back- true cold turkey from a pack a day, because he decided that life was good and dying was not (he's 55). It didn't cause him any physical harm to just stop after 30 years' of heavy smoking (he smoked cowboy killers, ie full strength Marlboro red), so I am very suspicious of the view that quitting might cause the baby to abort- sounds like a cop out excuse to me.



It can be done but you have to WANT to stop.

Adrienne - posted on 02/02/2009

9

25

1

I happen to know that smoking during a pregnancy will give you a colic baby... if you want a happy baby.. butt out!

Sara - posted on 02/02/2009

62

23

9

I smoked throughout my pregnancy. I cut back quite a bit, when I found out I was pregnant, but never quit. A lot of ppl say "how could you harm your baby?" But I feel as though there are many things that are much worse to do to your child. My son was a healthy 8 lbs 13 oz and is now 3 months old with no health problems what so ever. Im not saying I would encourage it, but I know many mothers who smoked while pregnant and their kids all turned out just fine.

Lacey - posted on 02/02/2009

42

35

4

I can cause all kinds of health problems for baby. I'm completely against it. Not to mention it's just not healthy for anyone. There is no excuse to smoke, especially when you are pregnant.

Maureen - posted on 02/02/2009

35

1

3

Here is something to stir the pot....I'm sure I am not the only one but I have heard about mothers smoking just so that their baby will weigh less when they are born and be easier to push out.



I just want to mention too how the views of society have changed over time with research that has been done. My mom smoked her whole pregnancy with me and in some baby pictures taken in the hospital there are her smokes and an ashtray on the overbed table. She feels guilty about it now but they just didn't know back then what they know these days.



I am against smoking all together, pregnant or not. I see what it does to people where I work in the hospital. I can remember one lady that was newly diagnosed with emphysema so scared about dying and she quit cold turkey.  Even months later I ran into her in a store and she couldn't wait to tell me how much better she was feeling and how grateful she was that she quit.  Another sweet, old lady that listening to her chest you couldn't hear any breath sounds and she couldn't walk to the toilet 10 feet away from her bed without having to rest and catch her breath. Of course they started smoking in a time where it was socially acceptable and the health risks were downplayed.



 

April - posted on 02/02/2009

3

11

0

I don't like the idea but my mom smoked with all 5 of us kids. 2 of us has allergies but other than that, I wouldn't know any other effects at this time in our adulthood accept the risk we take when hanging out with her being around 2nd hand smoke. I'd like to say we are all healthy but.......I'm sure it is REAL hard for the mother to quit even if she does love her babies with all her heart.

Tanya - posted on 02/02/2009

247

1

35

Quoting Breeann:



I think it is DISGUSTING! Not only do I find it repulsive while pregnant but also if you are not. I beleive I feel this was becasue my mom is batteling lung cancer from smoking and inhaling years of second hand smoke due to her job.  But to see a pregnant woman smoking is so selfish and not fair to the child.





I feel for you! I lost my mother in a similar fashion.

Tanya - posted on 02/02/2009

247

1

35

Quoting Kelly:

A collegue told me that too! I was getting a little stressed what with hormones and the withdrawal, and she told me that it was better to have a ciggarette than to stress! But in my opinion, the stress only lasts about five minutes. Just had a nice cup of tea instead.
I couldn't bear to think I'd be harming my precious baby!


Thank you for sharing your story! I commend you for making the choice that suits you and your family. I , also, commend you for having the courage to share your experience with smoking during pregnancy. I would be interested in knowing more about your reasons for smoking during pregnancy and why you choose to not smoke during your second pregnancy?

Beci - posted on 02/02/2009

5

7

1

Ive always been a non smoker so obviously i didnt smoke during pregnancy, but you cant be too quick to judge those who do. Addictions are hard, and you've got to remember the baby is addicted too. A majority of mums would NEVER want to harm their child, everyone does the best they can

Jodi - posted on 02/02/2009

48

33

4

i had smoked for many years and then found out i was pregnant, i went cold turkey and didnt pick up a smoke all through my pregnancy, As parents we are ment to be protecting our children from harm or danager, smoking while pregnant is just harming them directly yourself, it is a very selfish thing to do, The fact is the people that use i just cant quite as an excuse are a lier, everyone can quite, we are ment to do anything possible for our children its like saying i wouldnt jump to the edge of the earth for my child, and i know most parents would go there and back. quiting is always possible if you care enough about the reason you are doing it.

[deleted account]

The harm done to babies in utero and once born by smoking is medically known. While I was pregnant, and when I am out with my son, I will move if someone starts smoking near me. From what I've read, smoking is one of the top 3 risk factors when it comes to SIDS. I don't understand why someone would be willing to put their child in such a situation.

Kelly - posted on 02/02/2009

15

12

3

A collegue told me that too! I was getting a little stressed what with hormones and the withdrawal, and she told me that it was better to have a ciggarette than to stress! But in my opinion, the stress only lasts about five minutes. Just had a nice cup of tea instead.

I couldn't bear to think I'd be harming my precious baby!

Natasha - posted on 02/02/2009

43

19

7

while smoking is harmful to the baby quitting is even worse...remember the baby would also be addicted to the nicotine and to stop cold turkey could result in miscarriage or put the fetus in stress...most doctors will tell you to cut down but not quit completely.

Ashley - posted on 02/02/2009

51

15

13

It drives me crazy!  Life is so hard anyway.  Why wouldn't you want to give your child the best start possible?

Abegail - posted on 02/02/2009

81

20

17

I also think it's wrong to smoke especially when you're pregnant or around children.  To me it's the most irresponsible thing a mother can do regarding her child's health.  It's not fair that they should be subjected to that even at such a young age. 



On that note I have a friend who says her mom smoked before she got pregnant and tried to quit when she found out she was having a baby.  But the doctor said that the baby was so stressed out inside her stomach that it was probably 'safer' for her to continue smoking than to stop cold turkey.  This was 25 years a go so I don't know about now.

Breeann - posted on 02/02/2009

5

13

0

I think it is DISGUSTING! Not only do I find it repulsive while pregnant but also if you are not. I beleive I feel this was becasue my mom is batteling lung cancer from smoking and inhaling years of second hand smoke due to her job.  But to see a pregnant woman smoking is so selfish and not fair to the child.

Kelly - posted on 02/02/2009

15

12

3

Hello.....

Well, this is my second pregnancy and I gave up my 20 a day habit as soon as I found out I was expecting. But I did smoke throughout my first pregnancy, but I was very naieve and young first time around. I feel terrible about it now, but thank god my son is healthy and happy.

I was looking for a good reason to give up smoking. and what's a better reason than for my baby.

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms