what is your opinion on C-Sections?

Michelle - posted on 01/11/2010 ( 245 moms have responded )

10

31

0

I was just informed by my doctor that i will be needing a c-section due to a small oblique shaped pelvis. This was never even an option for me until now. She said if I really wanted to she would let me try labor but it would most likely end up in an emergency c-section. I was excited for labor & prepared. Now i'm scared half to death & don't know what i'm in for. Any advice, opinions, or persona experience would be helpful. THANKS!!!

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Krista - posted on 01/12/2010

12,562

16

842

I agree with Krista H. that it seems to be much more preferable to have a planned c-section than an emergency one. What if you try labouring with the baby and something goes wrong due to your pelvis? A woman downthread mentioned that her baby almost died because of this. Don't be a hero, and don't let people tell you that c-section birth is somehow lesser than vaginal birth. Keep your eyes on the goal: a healthy baby. How the baby gets here is completely and utterly irrelevant in the grand scheme of things.

Amber - posted on 01/12/2010

104

16

16

Hello

I am personally against C-Section.Lately It seems like having a child is like walking through a revolving door rather than enjoying what should be a beautifull and natural experience. I feel like doctors suggest it so early on because its so " painless" and " quick" but it totally robs a mother of what should be one of the most remarkable times in her life.
If some doctor told me that I can try natural but I'll most likely just end up getting my lower half ripped open, he'd better be ready for a clocl upside the head. I'd rather be in pain from pushing so hard and birthing my baby naturally then dealing with some jack off cut me open thinking about this paycheck and lunch hour.

I know I'll get some angry replies out of this one, and that's fine. If you had a c-section and you can still wear a bikini , then great for you.. but personally, I'd rather remember the tears I felt when I had a rush of joy from delivering my own little one than have someone slice and dice me like a pizza.

Krista - posted on 01/13/2010

4,111

52

264

Quoting Nicole:

holy crap! I would find a new doctor. cephalopelvic disproportion is a myth. women grow babies they can push out. Once in a while a c-sec is needed for a very large baby but it is rare. the c-sec rate in the us is appalling. I know a woman who delivered an eleven pounder drug free no tears at all and she was only 5'1'' and 105 pre pregnancy. docs are way to quick to toss people under the knife.


The c-sec rate is appalling?  As opposed to the mortality rate of women and children BEFORE c-sections were performed?

Krista - posted on 01/13/2010

12,562

16

842

Quoting Nicole:

holy crap! I would find a new doctor. cephalopelvic disproportion is a myth. women grow babies they can push out. Once in a while a c-sec is needed for a very large baby but it is rare. the c-sec rate in the us is appalling. I know a woman who delivered an eleven pounder drug free no tears at all and she was only 5'1'' and 105 pre pregnancy. docs are way to quick to toss people under the knife.


Gee, for a myth, I see it referred to quite a bit on many reputable medical websites. 



From the American Pregnancy Association's website:



Cephalopelvic disproportion is a rare occurance. According to the American College of Nurse Midwives(ACNM), CPD occurs in 1 out of 250 pregnancies.



 



For pete's sake, just stop. You're trying to make the OP feel like some sort of unnatural, unwomanly failure because she has to have a c-section. All that matters is that she's healthy and that she goes home with a healthy baby. This bullying by the "vaginal is the only legitimate way to give birth" crowd is absolutely appalling. Stop playing with this woman's health in order to satisfy your own ideology. This isn't a game. You don't get points for winning someone over to your side. 

Krista - posted on 01/12/2010

4,111

52

264

Quoting Amanda:

So I was reading what everyone has wrote on here and honestlt it's sad to me all the people who are so set on c sections. Doctors are always trying to get women to have c sections just because it's easier on them and if anything goes wrong they can say they tried all they could legally. I have two kids my first was a breech and I had him at a birthing center with no meds or anything. Yes it was hard and scary but so worth it. And my second I also had at a birthing center with no meds or anything...it was in the bath so relaxing and I felt comfortable and as if I was at home. I wasn't hooked up to anything and went home a few hours later. God created us women to give birth...I also have a small pelvis and I gave birth to two healthy babies...one 8 pounds 8 ounces and one 8 pounds 14 ounces.


God also created us to be free thinking and to evolve with the knowledge of how to make such issues safer for both baby and mom.



 

This conversation has been closed to further comments

245 Comments

View replies by

Deb - posted on 01/13/2010

27

13

0

I had been planning for regular labor and delivery and ended up having a planned c-section with my daughter. She was a week late and had not been able to engage yet - they were afraid that my pelvis was not large enough for her head to engage. Since I am very afraid of needles, I was more worried about the c-section than the delivery, but ended up with a very positive experience.



I had the c-section on Friday morning and was in the hospital until Tuesday since they try to keep you in the hospital until they can remove the staples. I had no infections and have only a very thin line where the incision was. My daughter was a little more congested for the first day since the excess fluids that are pushed out of the lungs during delivery do not get pushed out, but it was cleared up within a day. My husband was able to be with the baby once she was born until I was closed up and moved to recovery. They brought my daughter in within the hour after warming her up for me to start breastfeeding.



I am glad that we had the extra time at the hospital to get used to handling our daughter and able to ask the nurses any questions that came up that we would not have had if we had delivered normally (and had to leave 2 days earlier).

Alisha - posted on 01/13/2010

1

19

0

I had a planned c-section due to my baby being breech. I had time to prepare because my daughter had been breech since about 30 weeks, and I knew that it was most likely going to be the outcome for me.

I went in with the attitude that when it was all over, I was going to have my baby, which was the ultimate end goal! I didn't care how she got her, as long as she was safe and healthy, it didn't matter to me.

When you go in they'll take you into the operating room and place your spinal block (epidural). Then they'll lay you back and clean off your abdomen. They'll also place a catheter in your bladder because you won't be able to get up to go to the bathroom for the first day. (it's a blessing! Don't be scared by it!) Then once you're numb and they have stuff ready they'll bring in your significant other. They get to sit by your head and talk to you though the surgery. You won't feel anything, other than maybe some tugging and pressure. It's more of a wierd feeling than anything.

Once the baby is born they'll cean him/her up and hopefully let your significant other hold the baby. My husband held my daughter and then also laid her on my chest so I could hold her while they finished putting me back together. :) At the hospital I had my daughter, she was able to stay in the room with me until I went to recovery. However, that's not always how it is. (I'm a nurse and actually work labor & delivery!) the hospital I work at usually takes the baby from the operating room after mom and dad have had a chance to look at and hold them, and take them back to the nursery to get cleaned up. Once mom gets to her post-partum room we take the baby out to them.

Anyways, it's nothing to be scared of, and having a planned c-section is much better than having an emergency one! Go in with the attitude of the end goal having a healthy, safe baby, and you'll have a good experience.

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask!!

Alisha

Dicsie - posted on 01/13/2010

1

0

0

I had my first three children vaginally. With my 4th, at 37 weeks she went into distress and I ended up with an unscheduled emergency c-section. I was bummed and really scared, because I knew what to expect with labor, not with a c-section. It ended up going really fast, my daughter was delivered less than an hour after I was told I needed a c-section. I was sore for a few days, but managed with the pain meds. It's really scary to think about a big abdominal surgery, but it really wasn't that bad. They will give you an epidural or spinal block and you won't feel anything but pressure...it's alot less painful than natural child birth. As far as trying labor first, I wouldn't go through the pain and exhaustion of labor just to end up with surgery anyway...but this is something for you, your partner and your doctor to discuss. The important thing is which is best and safest for you and baby.

Aurelie - posted on 01/13/2010

1

11

0

I had the same experience. I found out at 41 weeks that my baby was breech so C-section without question. I was devastated, but at the end of the day, it was fine. Once I had my baby I forgot about it. Having said that, I did everything I could to have my second child naturally, which I did and that was brilliant. Good luck with it all and don't beat yourself about it. It will all be fine.

Danelle - posted on 01/13/2010

24

14

0

In general I would never elect to have a C section. I feel that doctors jump onto them too quickly. However, in your case it sounds like your best bet is to take the planned C section. There is less risk in a surgery that is planned then one that is emergency. Your recovery time will also be better because you wouldn't have had to go through labor.

Scarlett - posted on 01/13/2010

4

1

0

I had a C-section (medically necessary). I found that I didnt miss out like I thought I might. I got to see my husband hold the baby and look so proud, to see the first bath, to hold my little one on my chest. The recovery was hard cause, but then I have see women after natural birth and they certainly dont look comfortable either.

Danielle - posted on 01/13/2010

62

30

4

Ok, for those people who are saying it's an interference to God to have a C-section, GO TO HELL! I strongly believe in God, although I'm not 'religious'. I had to have an EMERGENCY C-section with my first child, my daughter, London, and I can tell you that it was NOT an act of interference! She's no less of a miracle because I didn't have her vaginally. In fact, I strongly believe that GOD interfered ON MY BEHALF AND ON THE BEHALF OF MY DAUGHTER!!! We both could have DIED if I hadn't had that C-section! With my second child, I chose to go ahead with a scheduled C-section because of increased risks. How dare anyone tell Michelle that she'd be interfering with God's will or that she would be making the wrong decision- How about telling her that she should listen to her doctor, her body, and her gut! She can get a second opinion if she feels like she wants one, but to say that chiropractic work can help change physical characteristics of her UTERUS!?!?! Are you kidding me?

On a more positive note, C-sections are NOT as bad as people make them out to be on television shows!! I was even able to leave a day early both times- even though the first one was an emergency. Listen to your doctor and the nurses! I was told I would heal faster if I got up and walked around as soon as I could-so I did! I walked the halls with my husband and my brand new little MIRACLE FROM GOD as soon as I was able to and my recovery was fast, with minimal pain.



Michelle- listen to what your heart tells you, and what you FEEL is right. I had a feeling that I would end up having a C-section with my first child and everyone laughed it off. But nobody was laughing when I was rushed out of my labor and delivery room to the OR room...but I feel like I was mentally prepared for it because I listened to my gut feeling. Having a C-section DOES NOT make you a bad person, it doesn't mean you're not strong and it ABSOLUTELY DOES NOT MEAN you don't love your baby just as much as a mother that is able to give birth vaginally! Think carefully about what people tell you- just like vaginal labor is different for everyone, so are C-sections, and what may have been a more difficult experience for someone may not be for you! Ask your doctor lots of questions and make sure that you understand the risks to both you and your baby with any decision you make. Good luck to you! Keep us posted!

Rebekah - posted on 01/13/2010

2

8

0

Hi Michelle, I'm sorry that things have changed course for you. I have three children, all delivered by c-section following emergency c-sect during my first labour. The first couple of days can be quite uncomfortable following the birth, but you do heal very quickly and it gets much better everyday. I'm sure your Dr would only recommend this option out of concern for both you and your very precious baby, you'll be fine and it is soooo worth it! Thinking of you.

Courtney - posted on 01/13/2010

18

13

1

I have had both of my children through a C-Section. The first one was an emergency because my labor wasnt progressing and it was starting to stress her out.When they first told me i cried so hard i threw up twice because it was never an option for me i had always wanted a natural birth. It ended up being fine.Yes it takes longer to heal and everything but i believe that if the Dr. thinks its the safest route for you to go then you should do it. My second child was a planned C-section and i was a lot more comfortable knowing what exactly was going to happen.I think that i would plan the C-Section then go in hoping about a natural and then gettin bummed about ending up going through all that labor to just have a c-section. It would also be easier on your body if you just went with the C-section insted of laboring then having one. Best Of Luck To You And Your Child :)

Stacey - posted on 01/13/2010

1

17

0

I needed a c-section after tearing really bad with my first. The scar tissue would only tear again and I wasn't about to go through 8 more months of healing. (I tore REALLY bad!) My c-section was SUPER easy. It did tear open about 7 days later and I went through 5 weeks of daily nursing care to change my dressing after 2 infections but I think I was the exception and not the rule. Don't let your Dr take out the staples while you are in hospital. Tell them you want them out at the follow up to give you more time to heal. It was a piece of cake compared to my first delivery.

Chris - posted on 01/13/2010

4

1

0

I have not had a C-section but 2 vaginal births, one with epidural and one without. I would try a vaginal first. I have thought for some time that the increase in C-sections is far more a matter of scheduling for future parents and doctors. The OB I had for my first delivery tried to schedule me for an induction on my due date because he was going on vacation that weekend. Do some research and ask a LOT of questions. Doctors know a lot but they don't know your body and inner strength like you do.

Myla - posted on 01/13/2010

2

0

0

Quoting michelle:

what is your opinion on C-Sections?

I was just informed by my doctor that i will be needing a c-section due to a small oblique shaped pelvis. This was never even an option for me until now. She said if I really wanted to she would let me try labor but it would most likely end up in an emergency c-section. I was excited for labor & prepared. Now i'm scared half to death & don't know what i'm in for. Any advice, opinions, or persona experience would be helpful. THANKS!!!


I had three pregnancies and three live births.  The first was natural; the last two were C-Sections.  If I had it to do all over again, it would have been THREE C-Sections!  I was allowed to go through labor with my first and he had to be pulled with forceps because I wasn't able to dilate enough. Pulling him with forceps caused irreversible learning disabilities in my oldest child.  Please don't be scared as long as you have a trusted physician to guide you.  Good Luck and a happy, healthy baby to you!! 

[deleted account]

It sounds like you have a similar situation to me! My first born was an emergency C-Section. As a result, my second child was a scheduled C-section as the hospitals in my region do not allow for v-backs (vaginal delivery after cesarian).



Before delivery of my first child, I was told that my pelvis had a unique shape, and it was recommended for me to have induced labor, as my Nurse Practitioner was concerned that my son would be large and there could be complications with the birth. I opted to be induced. The labor was fine, but long, however toward the end, my son got stuck in my birth canal due to the fact that he was facing the wrong way (not breech, but face up instead of face down) and the umbilical cord was wrapped around his shoulder. After 24 hours of labor and 3 hours of pushing, my doctor decided that it was time for an emergency C-Section.



I have to say that I will never threaten my children that I would "put them back", because at that point, my son had started to crown, but the cord kept pulling him back. Essentially, the doctor had to push him back in to begin the surgery.



All in all, the surgery was a success, and I now have a healthy, almost two year old. I only wish that I could have seen my son when he was born - sadly, I was the last to see him.



My daughter was a scheduled C-section, and I have to say that this was a smooth and awesome process. I knew what to expect, and I got to hear my daughter's first cries as she entered the world. Although cesarians are a non-traditional way of being born and perhaps not so romantic, they are worth it because both you and your child end out healthy and together in the end!



I wouldn't be scared of the procedure - recovery is not bad, although do plan to have company and some light things to do (easy reading, journaling...) while you are in the hospital, as you will most likely be there for about 4-5 days. My first visit was a little lonely!

Tina - posted on 01/13/2010

12

101

2

I went to hospital on a wednesday and got induced 3 times and only got to 3cm dialated on the friday with my son and then he has turned around and gone back up. By the time friday had come i just wanted him out. So i had a c-section. It was good too the epidural does not hurt when being put in. I had my c-section cut across the bikini line just above my pelvis. Finally had my son and he weighed a big 10lb 3ozs. It was also lucky that i had my c-section for him as his shoulders where stuck up high. Also for the birth of my daughter i choose to have her by c-section 2 weeks early. She was a good weight also of 8lb 4ozs. The recovery after having my c-section with my son took a while to heal, but after having my daughter i was mobile the next day no problems. My son is now 5 and my daughter is 3. And if i ever get pregnant again i will have a c-section again.

[deleted account]

I am an RN and was teaching childbirth classes when I surprisingly had my first c-section. I've had 3 total. No regrets at all. I had an epidural, my husband was in the delivery room. The end result, which is what really counts was 3 healthy babies. My recovery was a little longer but not markedly. DON'T rush going home, realize you will have had major surgery. You will recover MUCH quicker if you take care of yourself and take it easy those first 5 to 7 days and gradually increase activity over the next 6 weeks, than if you try to be super mom. Believe it or not, neither you OR your baby will remember much of those first weeks anyway. REMEMBER, the goal is NOT to see how well you can endure the pain and trials of labor, it is to have a HEALTHY baby. Also, unless your doctor is on call 24/7 there is a good chance you could end up in an emergency situation with a doctor you are not as familiar with as your regular physician.

Kathy - posted on 01/13/2010

1

0

0

I had 4 c-sections back in the 70's. Mine was necessary due to a misshapen pelvis as well. My doctor let go through labor with the first one just to humor me and I suffered 14 hours of agony. My baby weighed 9lbs 14oz and the doctor said that even if he'd only weighed 5lbs I wouldn't have been able to deliver him. So don't do that to yourself. If you trust your doctor go ahead with the c-section. Your recovery may take a little longer but it's worth it. One hint for the first couple of days. Make sure they keep you lying flat during recovery otherwise you will probable get a real whopper of a headache. Good luck and have a beautiful baby.

Danielle - posted on 01/13/2010

1

7

0

I've had 2 c-sections... I went through a full 24 hour labor before they told me c-section for my first child. I wasn't scared at that point.. I just new I wanted the pain to stop! The first c-section was alright... everything I expected. The recovery was painful... but so worth it for the baby. Round two went so much easier, and didn't take half as long to recover. I'm now pregnant w/ baby #3 and I'm choosing c-section again... hang in there.. remember it's all for that little baby of yours!!!

Cathy - posted on 01/13/2010

1

22

0

michelle... dont worry!!! i had 3 scheduled c-sections and was completely prepared. i was also told exactly what was going to take place and there were no surprises which was very reassuring!!! just keep in mind that if its is best for you and the baby then its worth it! (:

Cassandra - posted on 01/13/2010

11

13

1

I had a difficult time getting pregnant ( it was never supposed to happen according to doctors) but my pregnancy was normal for the first 3 months. After that my blood pressure shot up and my platlet count plummeted. I was put on bed rest at 5 months and induced at 30 weeks. After 48 hours straight of intense labor, they realized that i hadn't dialated even to a 1, so they set up an emergency c-section. Within 20 minutes i was prepped and on the table with my husband at my side. Less than 10 minutes later my daughter was here...all 5 pounds lol. But I found that my uterus is tilted at such an angle that I will probably never be able to carry another child, much less ever have a natural birth. Even though it isn't what we plan, or how we want it, all that matters is that the child is brought into this world safely, and the doctors preforming the c-section will ensure that is what happens. I know it is a scary situation, but once you have your baby in your arms, nothing else matters.

Cher - posted on 01/13/2010

1

9

0

I have had 2 c-sections, one emergency, one planned and one vaginal birth (that should have been a c-section!) If your doctor is telling you that you will most probably end up with an emergency c-section, go with the planned one! The healing time is much easier and faster with a planned c-section, definitely go with the bikini cut on your abdomen and on your uterus. I can tell you that because my vaginal delivery was pretty bad (pushing for 3 hours, epidural wearing off, ended up using forceps and pulling me off the bed!) that I would go with a planned c-section, I had a wonderful experience with mine. Hope this helps. And I would be more than happy to answer any questions you may have.

Laura - posted on 01/13/2010

1

0

0

I have had 2 c-sections and 1 VBAC (vaginal birth after c-section). Depending upon how your OB sews you up and whether or not they use staples will determine the amount of pain/discomfort you will have after. I had minimal and only used pain medication for 2 days after. Talk to your doc about how she plans on sewing you up. Mine did layered sewing and no staples and I felt great after that one, compared to my first time when I was sewn minimally and had staples. Go in with a good attitude and you should come out of it all doing nicely. Attitude really does effect your pain tolerance post-op. :o)

Tommi - posted on 01/13/2010

6

18

0

I had a csection with my daughter cuz I only dialated to 4cm. The only thing I didnt like about it was not holding her for about an hour later. U will be given a spinal(or at least i was) and after u r numb u will get a catheter(that stays in for about 24 hours) and then it will b over before u know it. Some ppl feel tugging and pressure but I never did. I would suggest going with your doc on this. U dont want it to come down to an emergency cuz then u might have to be put completely under and wont be able to hear little ones first crys. good luck

Cassandra - posted on 01/13/2010

11

13

1

I had a difficult time getting pregnant ( it was never supposed to happen according to doctors) but my pregnancy was normal for the first 3 months. After that my blood pressure shot up and my platlet count plummeted. I was put on bed rest at 5 months and induced at 30 weeks. After 48 hours straight of intense labor, they realized that i hadn't dialated even to a 1, so they set up an emergency c-section. Within 20 minutes i was prepped and on the table with my husband at my side. Less than 10 minutes later my daughter was here...all 5 pounds lol. But I found that my uterus is tilted at such an angle that I will probably never be able to carry another child, much less ever have a natural birth. Even though it isn't what we plan, or how we want it, all that matters is that the child is brought into this world safely, and the doctors preforming the c-section will ensure that is what happens. I know it is a scary situation, but once you have your baby in your arms, nothing else matters.

[deleted account]

C-sections are not that scary. I had to have one with my oldest child. She decided to turn during labor and become breech. I was in labor for 7 hours with her and really tired. My daughter had became stuck. They were able to do a bikini cut with me. It healed up nicely and my scare is not where people can see it. If the doctor says this is what you need for your babies safety then I would do it. Talk to your doctor some more and find out more about oblique shaped pelvis and make your best decision.

Arbrey - posted on 01/13/2010

15

28

0

my sons due date was 9-19-09 but we had a c section with him on 09-09-09. i was scared to death. terrified. but i can assure you there is nothing to worry about. in the hospital room they start and iv and put in a catheter then in the or waiting rooms they shave the pubic area and then in the or they will start a spinal and before you know it your done. and you get to stay awake for it so you can hear the babys first cries and everyone's reaction. the worst part for me was the iv.nothing hurts. i prefer a c section over anything else. no pain. your stomach is sore for a couple days after but nothing you cant handle. they start you on medication. right away. and then its like you have given a vaginal delivery. the only advice i have is do not eat 12 hours before you go in because it'll make you sicker than a dog and you'll puke on yourself.

Bobbie - posted on 01/13/2010

2

4

0

I read both of your posts and wow! I mean I tried for a natural birth with my daughter and she almost died from lack of air. If your Physician, who went to many years of school for this practice, thinks it is best to have a c-section then guess what Mavis it more than likely is. On your other post you talked about God's will. I didn't have a choice in the matter and to make it seem like my children are somehow tarnished because of the way they had to be born is simply crazy!!!! Physicians are there to do what is best for your children the cost for a c-section is much higher on the physician so you were wrong in saying a lot of physicians just do it cause it's easier....it is major surgery....are you retarded???? They miss a couple of hours of seeing patients and making money and they also have to give vaginal births to other associates since most physicians I know can not be in 2 places at the same time,please think before you speak because all the women I know who have had c-sections are strong, beautiful women, and most of them are christians and know all about God's will!!!!

Arbrey - posted on 01/13/2010

15

28

0

i agree with Mary Ann Tibbits. c section babies do have the most perfectly round heads. My first son Joey was 9.12 lbs and i delivered him without any medications at all. he had the biggest cone head ever. it looked horrible and it was so big his head got cut on the way out. But when Jordyn was born threw a c section he had the most perfect beautiful head i've ever seen.

Tina - posted on 01/13/2010

1

18

0

I had a C-Section they put me in the hospital an induced me but I wouldnt dilate past 1 so 2 days later they did a csection and my scar is below my belly button but thats because Im heavyset but If I have any other kids I will go for a C section again. I was in sooooooooo much pain for 2 days and I dont think I could do that again.

Mary Ann - posted on 01/13/2010

1

19

0

As a mom who has 2 daughters 24 and 21...dont be scared.

I tried labor with my first daughter andafter 7 hrs she was in distress and I had to have a c-section..Its not Bad...actually C- Section babies have beautiful heads..lol... and dont be scared..you are still delivering your child. When I was preg with my 2nd I had the options to try labor or schedule. a c-sec. I took a csect only because i would probablly have the same problems..I never had a problem with either.I was up the next day wandering down the hall.you can do it!

Kelly - posted on 01/13/2010

1

6

0

I have had 3 c-sections. The first not planned and was in hard labor for 30hrs before they did a c-section. I was unable to deliver the 2nd and by the 3rd they didn't recommend a vaginal due to scar tissue and possibly rupturing the uterus. If you or your baby are not in imminent danger i would try vaginal. I miss not being able to have my children natural as God intended. Congratulation on your miracle and not matter how they come into this world they are God's gift to us. May you find many blessings in the birth of your child. :)

Arbrey - posted on 01/13/2010

15

28

0

my sons due date was 9-19-09 but we had a c section with him on 09-09-09. i was scared to death. terrified. but i can assure you there is nothing to worry about. in the hospital room they start and iv and put in a catheter then in the or waiting rooms they shave the pubic area and then in the or they will start a spinal and before you know it your done. and you get to stay awake for it so you can hear the babys first cries and everyone's reaction. the worst part for me was the iv.nothing hurts. i prefer a c section over anything else. no pain. your stomach is sore for a couple days after but nothing you cant handle. they start you on medication. right away. and then its like you have given a vaginal delivery. the only advice i have is do not eat 12 hours before you go in because it'll make you sicker than a dog and you'll puke on yourself.

Letty - posted on 01/13/2010

1

0

0

I have 2 boys...both c-sections. Let me just say that the ugliest part of it all is the prep of the operation...you know..the catheter, the i.v, and the whole epidural shot thing....the rest you won't feel a thing!!..just cooperate and it will be a smooth delivery....afterward...i was able to walk around the hospital..but we all know all bodies are different...walking will feel as if you almost have to walk in a "hunch back" position due to the operation..but you will be ok....i promise..=)....=)...best wishes and good luck !!!..and DO NOT LIFT ANY HEAVY ITEMS DURING YOUR RECUPERATION PERIOD !!!!

Myriah - posted on 01/13/2010

1

22

0

Find a midwife. C-sections are way over done, and usually not nessessary. Doctors get more money for doing them, and they can schedule them to fit their needs. MIDWIVES are the way to go.

Jeannie - posted on 01/13/2010

1

0

0

I had a natural birth with my first and a c-section with my second (he was breech), so I know how it was like with both. The important thing to remember is you are going to become a mother regardless of how the little one arrives. Both were difficult, both were very exciting. The recovery from the c-section was harder; you are more sore and it's harder to move around for the first few days - but you get meds and people to help you and before you know it you'll be around in no time. Just take it easy afterward!

Susan - posted on 01/13/2010

1

8

0

I have 3 children,(youngest is now 26),and all were `c`sections.As i did not dialate enough, my son was an emergency section,..after that my 2 girls had to go the same way!! It was quite good knowing when my daughters were going to arrive,I could plan ahead.For my second daughter,I even managed to have an epidural,which meant I could be awake for her birth.I did not feel cheated out of labour,( there was some discomfort after,from stitches),and the bond between all of us is really strong,even after 25+ years.......and chidbirth has come on so much since then....Just enjoy your children,..however they arrive!!!

Anthea - posted on 01/13/2010

1

0

0

I had an emergency c-section because the baby was breach. Don't be scared millions of mothers go and have a c-section. The recovery time is longer. You have to keep the pain medication up and don't do to much walking for about 4 weeks. I still bonded great with my baby. The baby went with dad for all the vital signs whilst I went to the recovery room until the drugs wore off and I could wiggle my toes again. That made my husband feel very important, and gave him time to bond also. I have a very small scar.

Stacey - posted on 01/13/2010

1

0

0

The following information does not pertain to you at the moment and in no way meant to scare you more than you are now. Just to make you aware if you see any of the following signs later in your pregnancy.



From experience with my twin sister 22 years ago who at age 25 went in to early labor with twins at 6 1/2 mo's, and had to have an emergency c-section. She was put on medications in the hospital to stop the labor, and after 4 days became very sick with toxemia and one of the twins was breech so no alternative but to have a c-section. I would suggest that if you have any signs of Preeclampsia (toxemia), to request to be awake during the c-section . Back then the Dr's at Galveston, TX felt it best for both she and the babies (twins) that my sister be put under anesthesia. But was not a good choice. See information and website on Toxemia below.

Preeclampsia - Information from NIH

Alternate Name(s): Toxemia; Pregnancy-induced hypertension ...... Preeclampsia is the development of elevated blood pressure and protein in the urine after the 20th week of pregnancy. It may be associated with swelling of the face and hands. See site below for women who are at risk.

http://www.kpth.com/Global/story.asp?S=1...



My sisters c-section was an emergency c-section . Your planned c-section should be just fine.

Lisa - posted on 01/13/2010

1

2

0

I think I had the same problem. I went through a very fast, painful, intense labor with no epidural, only to end up with a "crash" c-section. In this situation, you are rushed to the ER, put to sleep and they get the baby out in about a minute. My husband was not allowed to be in the room for the surgery, and neither of us got to experience the birth of our first child. If you really want to try to have a vaginal delivery, I would advise that you immediately get an epidural so you can experience your delivery on some level should you need surgery. If the tube is already in, they can just add anesthetic for surgery. My second was a scheduled c-section and it was a dream compared to the first experience. We all want to have babies the way they are intended to come, but don't be disappointed if it can't happen that way for you. We are so lucky to live in a time of medical advances, and all that matters is that you get a perfect little baby in the end. Best of luck!

Andrea - posted on 01/13/2010

8

41

3

I had a vaginal birth & c-section due to breech presentation. The c-section was by far worse. It's major abdominal surgery & I hope to have a vbac this next time. I suggest trying to labor & you may surprise your doctor and yourself!! My c-section made me feel so violated--someone taking my baby out of me and instead of snuggling, holding & nursing baby after they're born, you can only try your best to see that he/she is ok, get a quick kiss & then they're whisked away to the nursery while you're violated more and sewn up. I did not like being strapped to the table and feeling so out of control of the situation...of my own baby. I felt very alone (dh was there, but had to stay back, so he wasn't able to be much support). Recovery wasn't too bad--just take it easy & take your ibuprofen to help reduce swelling. I didn't think it hurt too much past the 1st week & make sure you get the nurses to bring you an abdominal support belt. It was the best help towards recovery. If you do decide to plan a csection, please wait until after 39 weeks, so the baby has the best chance of not needing to go into the nicu or needs extra help. Due dates are often a bit off and your baby may not be full term yet, even if you are technically 37 weeks. Good luck & I hope you are able to make the best decision for you!

Patricia - posted on 01/13/2010

37

4

1

michelle girl its the best thing ever!!! yes make sure ur doc gives u bikini cut and use maderma every day!!! Dont be scared its truly an awesome way to have a baby. My section was elective. The thought of passing a human thru my tootie scared me more than a surgery lol!! There wwerent any complications i was in and out. My Doc was so awesome and so skilled. The saddle block is what I was most terrified of and that too was quick and painless. The only discomfort I felt was my incision burned like hell but subsided within a day or two. I mean burned!!! My doctor explained that the nerves in my skin were aggitated. oh one last thing my doctor used glue on my skin to close the incision not butterfly stiches he said its way less scaring and i wud have to agree. ok sorry to ramble on Gud luck and dont be scared youll be fine!!

Christine - posted on 01/13/2010

32

15

4

Something I forgot, after you go home, don't do any unnecessary lifting or walking up and down stairs. TAKE IT EASY!!!!!
I stayed up stairs all day only coming down for dinner. My husband brought me breakfast, lunch, snacks and drinks without even having to be asked. I had a recliner in our room with the tv and dvd. The baby and I would sleep and snuggle all day with visits during the day from my older two kids. At dinner time I would slide on my butt down the stairs and my husband carried the baby. My stomach was still so sore and weak, I was afraid I wouldn't be able to hold myself up if I were to slip and didn't want to take any chances w/me or the baby. And at night, I would crawl back up the stairs. When my husband went back to work I would put the baby in the sling and slide down the stairs. I have known a couple woman who didn't take it easy busted stitches causing infection and return trips to the hospital.

Heidi - posted on 01/13/2010

1

0

0

I had 3 c sections. They are nothing to be afraid of. I was in labor with my first son for almost 20 hours, the c-section didn't hurt half as bad as labor. Either way you end up with this wonderful being and that doesn't change no matter what way you have them.

Sara - posted on 01/13/2010

3

11

0

Hi Michelle, A c-section may sound scary but it isn't. I have had 3 beautiful children all delivered by c-section. My first was an emergency & i had been in labor for 48hrs. In my case my babies were 8pd 15.5oz, 8pd 10oz (6wks early) & 8pd 11oz & my pelvis would only accommodate a baby less than 6pd. I feel if it is in the best interest & health of mother & baby & recommended by your Ob/Gyn then do it.

Christine - posted on 01/13/2010

32

15

4

You have to go with the safest option for both you and the baby but for me.....

My 3rd was a no option c-section because of low fluid and baby being transverse breech and if I had the choice I would never have had a c-section. For me it was harder to bond being handed a baby that was removed from me rather than doing the work of pushing and being handed the reward. You will be tired after because of the meds given to keep you calm while in delivery, you will be tired from the pain meds after. You won't be able to lift the baby from the bassinet on your own or sit up without assistance (those stomach muscles are USELESS) and avoid coughing or sneezing but if you feel the need, hug a pillow to hold your belly muscles, I was told to do this but no one told me how painful it would be to sneeze/cough.

I have 3 kids, 2 vaginal and 1 section and I would go vaginal every single time.

Kim - posted on 01/13/2010

12

55

1

i had Harrison by emergency c section at 38 weeks due to pre eclampsia.i say emergency,they told me they were going to deliver him that night at 10pm and he was born at 2;13am.it was calm,pain free and a lovely way for my son to enter the world,we were actually listening to lady gaga i think and joking about people that eat their placenta!it was very relaxed!the next few days were painful but morphine was fab,i was driving after 4weeks.id be more than happy to have another c section for my next child,i dont in the slightest feel ive missed out on labor or childbirth.honestly dont worry,you and baby will be fine,just make sure youve got family and friends to help you in the first few weeks and take it easy (as possible!) :)

Karen - posted on 01/13/2010

19

33

0

Hi there Michelle, I have had 2 children both by C-section first was under general anaesthesia (emergency) so i missed a while with her but she arrived safely and that's all that matters. Child no.2 was elective c-section as he was a large baby and I didn't want to risk another emergency. It was lovely like being in a warm bath after a glass of wine!! no pain, a little pulling sensation, but he arrived safe and well. I have a neat scar along my pubic bone (the up-side is no carrying or housework for 6 weeks - my husband had to do everything) C-sections can reduce your chances of successfully breast feeding, but only in a very small group. Good luck and letus know when babt arrives.

Vatsala - posted on 01/13/2010

21

11

2

Hi Michelle


Congratulations for your baby. I had a c-section birth for my baby daughter, who is now 3 months. It was not by choice. Like you I was looking forward to the natural delivery too. So here is my experience:


The surgery went smoothly, the doctors and nurses were great and supportive. It was daunting to go to the operation room and see the lights. I did not feel any pain, just a bit of pressure which was not painful. The baby was out in 15 minutes, my hubby went with the nurse to the recovery room where i joined him after about 45 minutes.


Post surgery I was very groggy for a couple of hours but then was back to feeling awake. A few things, the 'golden hour' may not happen but there are so many moments after birth where you get to bond with the baby especially during nursing/feeding. I would strongly recommend complete rest with a little bit of walking (as much as you can manage) post surgery. The more you rest the sooner you will recover. The best advice I was given was don't overdo anything (resting and/or walking). Luckily my mom was in town to help out for a couple of months so I didn't have to worry about cooking and many other things. My mom looked after me as I was looking after my baby. So do make sure at least the first couple of weeks you have help. Rest, rest and rest and have supportive people around you.


All in all it will be fine. Enjoy and Good Luck with everything!


Quoting michelle:

what is your opinion on C-Sections?

I was just informed by my doctor that i will be needing a c-section due to a small oblique shaped pelvis. This was never even an option for me until now. She said if I really wanted to she would let me try labor but it would most likely end up in an emergency c-section. I was excited for labor & prepared. Now i'm scared half to death & don't know what i'm in for. Any advice, opinions, or persona experience would be helpful. THANKS!!!


 

Stephanie - posted on 01/13/2010

1

24

0

Michelle- Having a C-section is a piece of cake! I had to have C-section with my son because I had been induced three times, been in labor for 2 and a half days, and only dialated to 3 centimeters after the dr broke my water! When we have our next child it will be a planned c-section! I was scared at first but the doctors & nurses tell you everything they are doing! If I had to pick between the 2 I would go C-section in a heartbeat!

Mary - posted on 01/13/2010

3

10

1

I have had one emergency c-section and one planned c-section. Fortunately I heal very quickly and found both recoveries wonderful. I too have a narrow birth canal which was not discovered until my first child was two weeks late and after inducement not yet dropping. The alternatives of vaccum or forceps was not something I was comfortable with. As it turned out, my 9lb 4oz daughter had a larger than average head and never would have been able to be born vaginally. With my son, we planned the c-section 2 weeks early on my (now his) birthday, 8lbs. 2oz. Thankfully my children were born healthy and with less trauma than a so-called 'natural' birth. Good luck and don't worry.

Sally - posted on 01/13/2010

1

16

0

hope you manage to find time to read mine ha ha, but i tried normal labour and ended up having a c-section, second time i did elective c-section and to be honest i preferred the first one as i was not progressing in labour it was such a relief to have the labour pains stop and be told to lie on theatre bed, i was so out of it on pain relief i was just so relaxed through the whole thing, the second time walking into the theatre and seeing all the instruments and surgery things i had a bit of a panick attack and they had to calm me down, but i also felt guilt after second c-section as i will always wonder if that was the day i would have gone into labour or was my son supposed to arrive on the edd, i wonder if it suddenly shocks them to suddenly be born, at least labour can prepare them, if i had a choice i would try natural then see how it goes from there at least you are with the right people when it happens their concern is also yours and the babys

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms