Whats your opinion of Yo Gabba Gabba??

Erinn - posted on 08/07/2009 ( 71 moms have responded )

791

95

35

I think its a strange show with strange characters!!!!

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Danielle - posted on 08/13/2009

1

5

0

yo gabba gabba is developmentally appropriate. it is culturally diverse, stays away from traditional gender stereotypes has tons of music and movement. Plus it has solid positive messages. if you want to go back to the "good old days" buy some dvds and let your kids watch that instead. my kids loove yo gabba gabba and being an early child educater it rocks. So open your mind and get and dance. PLUS ITS ON NOGGIN...which has no commercials slinging products to your kids

Tamara - posted on 08/15/2009

4

32

0

My son LOVES Yo Gabba Gabba! It does teach good lessons, but he's only 16 months... I think he enjoys the music and the dancing and the characters more for now. He gets so excited when it comes on, he jumps around smiling and squealing!

[deleted account]

Yo Gabba Gabba is one show I can not stand to listen to! Both of my kids love it so when it is on and they know it is on, I stick them in the other room with it on. It is VERY strange!

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

71 Comments

View replies by

Serene - posted on 07/31/2014

735

59

55

My kids love this show. Its one of the coolest educational shows that I had ever seen in a long time. DJ Lance Rocks is an old skool rapper and their songs, dances and silly creatures are multiculture.

Chet - posted on 07/31/2014

2,093

0

587

Our kids like it. The 10 year doesn't pay a lot of attention to is any more, but our 4.5, 6 and 8.5 year old still find it entertaining... and most people would say they're way too old for it.

I think it's weird, but in a harmless sort of way. :-)

Monica - posted on 07/31/2014

1

0

0

Who wouldn't love this show?! Good morals, bright awesome colors, all sorts of songs and different beats, and best of all, kids that are typical and those who are non-typical. Beautiful show.

Mariana - posted on 09/10/2013

1

0

0

Me parece un programa sobre estimulante.A mí hija le encanta.Y cuando lo ve es conmigo, así que yo también lo disfruto.Quizá no es apta para ella, que tiene casi 2 años.Considero que es programa para mayores de 4 años...Y aquí en México, lo pasan muy noche, por ello lo grabo.:)

Julianna - posted on 02/21/2013

5

0

0

Sorry if you guys are confused about my comments. I thought they weren't on.

Julianna - posted on 02/21/2013

5

0

0

I thought it was super weird but my son loves it. He thinks the orange guy is Obama! Lol

Julianna - posted on 02/21/2013

5

0

0

I hate the show and so does my son. Every time it's on he says mommy shut off the weird Obama show

Julianna - posted on 02/21/2013

5

0

0

Honestly I think who ever likes that dumb show is weird. I can't stand that show because its sooo weird! Every time it's on my son is like "MOMMY TURN OFF THE WEIRD OBAMA SHOW" so funny

Finnitta - posted on 08/14/2009

3

6

0

I think like most of you I thought that Yo Gabba Gabba ws extremely strange. I actually thought that DJ Lance Rock was even weirder than the funny little characters. But for some reason my children love that show. Initially my daughter would get scared when she saw DJ Lance Rock, it was kind of funny. But then she saw how much her brother liked the show, and the songs and dancing won her over....I guess it won me over eventually too. There was a time when I couldn't get that "Banana" song out of my head for like a whole week, and when I want them to clean up, I just do a rousing rendition of "NO More Mess, Clean It Up!"

Angie - posted on 08/10/2009

318

43

13

WHAT HAPPENED TO ALL THE GOOD CARTOONS. EXAMPLES: Looney tunes, the REAL winnie the pooh, DISNEY MOVIES (THE OLD ONES), BUGS BUNNEY, TWEETY BIRD, woody the wood pecker...THE LIST GOES ON!?!?!?!?!

I will not subject my child to these ridiculous cartoons. Probably one of the main reasons why I don't have Dish TV. I THINK THEY ARE STUPID!

Betty - posted on 08/10/2009

1,061

7

90

I love it. It's so fun and random just like the way kids think things up in their minds. My husband and I sing the Yo Gabba Gabba songs to my Step daughter all the time. When she is scared we sing the "don't be afraid" song. When she eats something off the floor we sing the "we are the tiny little germs" song. Some of the stuff just makes me and my husband crack up.

Shay - posted on 08/10/2009

13

20

1

I hated it at first but my hubby did some searchin about it and it makes it easier to handle when you know that it is created by the band The Aquabats. If you look at it from a punk rock, ridiculous perspective it is not as bad..... sometimes !

Trish - posted on 08/10/2009

1

10

0

It is strange and the first time I watched it I hated it. I previewed it a few times before I let my kids watch it. I actually fell in love with it! It has very positive messages and the kids just love it. We all do the "get the wiggles out" dance together and its loads of fun. We even do it when Yo Gabba Gabba isn't on if they are being rowdy to release energy.

[deleted account]

I think it offers some good early learning education and it's vibrant and positive. The characters are odd but that's good for accepting a little diversity. My kids get great enjoyment out of it so that's all that matters to me.

Eden - posted on 08/09/2009

2

20

0

I thought is was kinda weird, but not bad.... then i saw Jack Black on it one day in the orange jumpsuit and I thought it was soooo funny, now I love it!!! wiggle wiggle wiggle!!!

Traci - posted on 08/09/2009

2,158

2

102

I hated it at first, but it's grown on me....there's a party in my tummy is awfully catchy as is the wiggle game. It's weird, but my daughter LOVES it, so I just grin and bear it so that she is happy. I don't think it's necessary to have the guy on there looking like a gangsta rapper though...they could dress him differently.

Tanya - posted on 08/09/2009

34

39

0

It's very strange but it teaches children good manners and behaviour and the language isn't too bad.

April - posted on 08/09/2009

2

28

0

I agree it is a strange show with strange charicters but they do teach good lessons, it also shows children that different can be fun! DJ lance is the goofiest corniest geekiest thing I have seen on TV but he is also my kids favorate charicter!! lol

~Jennifer - posted on 08/09/2009

4,164

61

365

My kids love it. They love the music and the dances - and it's a free-for-all in the living room when the show comes on. They have fun watching it, they get A LOT of exercise during the show, and they burn off some serious energy on the days that it's just too hot to get outside around noontime.

.....wiggle, wiggle, wiggle, go!

=)

Krista - posted on 08/09/2009

4,111

52

264

Dear Lord, I hate this show. I'm sure there's SOME educational value, but I can't get past the idiocy of it. The same with that In The Night Garden show. It's like the new Teletubbies with NO educational value to it. My son really likes Toopy and Binoo, but the homosexual innuendos run rampant in it. Not that there is anything wrong with being homosexual. I just don't think it's something a young child needs to learn about.

User - posted on 08/09/2009

1

10

0

I Love that show...... Maybe more then the kids...... DJ Lance Rock teaches some pretty good lessons......

Kalie - posted on 08/08/2009

187

25

20

lol!!! What an awesome post! When we first started watching "Treehouse" the 24 hour a day kid channel. I thought I would go crazy! Yo Gabba Gabba looked like some recycled show from the 80s! I had the phrase "There's a party in my tummy!" stuck in my head for weeks! lol It's not a bad show though my son is big on music and loves to dance! Off topic have you ever noticed how pushy and mean Beaver is on Franklin? And how creepy that scarecrow looks on Bob the Builder? lol Also that lil koala on Ni Kia-lan is always crying about something! My baby`s father laughs when I try to talk about these shows like this. Have you ever heard of so mething called Four Squares

Stina - posted on 08/08/2009

1,055

19

108

Ok. Never seen it. seems like one of those love it or hate it things. Confession: I hate elmo. he drives me crazy. I was extremely dissapointed to find when I had children that Sesame street had changed it's format to be about 15 minutes of Elmo's world but once in a great while, my kids do watch Sesame street.
In our house, I have started letting my 4 1/2 and 2 1/2 yo watch Word World and Between the Lions on a pretty regular basis. I absolutely LOVE Word World. Think its an excellent show. and Between the Lions reminds me of Reading Rainbow (whatever happened to that show?) Super Why is ok... but I try to limit the tv time so The TV goes on most mornings just as Word World is starting and if it stays on for Between the Lions, it's off after that. sometimes they whine about my turning the TV off- and somtimes we don't turn it on at all (till Daddy comes home and turns it on for his shows.)
some of these songs you are all mentioning. I should send in some of my silly songs to some producer. I could be rich!

Marta - posted on 08/08/2009

380

19

32

I HATE IT!!!! It drives me absolutely bonkers so we don't watch it. We usually watch PBS kids in the morning We'll watch Sid the Science Kid and SuperWhy and my boys love these shows and I really like them too. They're not super annoying and my kids have learned alot from these shows. My 2 yr old recognizes the letters O, S,R,T,E,A, and B from watching SuperWhy. (I don't even know where to start teaching them these things!)

Angela - posted on 08/08/2009

1

19

0

They do have strange characters, but the don't bite your friends song was very helpful to us. My niece went thru a biting stage and would bite my daughter. Thankfully that has ended and the song did help.

Barbara - posted on 08/08/2009

2

35

0

Personally I do not allow my 3 children to watch it. Although they teach good lessons, the characters are totally creepy and some of the things they do on there I would rather my children not pick up on. I would much rather they watch Sid the Sciene Kid or Ni Hao, Kai-lan. Over all it's all about your personal choice.

Tiffany - posted on 08/07/2009

1

10

0

If you just see it, it seems like something you'd say "Why does this interest children?" Once you actually do watch it though, it can be interesting and catchy, overall my little ones love it and at least it's not violent.

Denise_mcentee - posted on 08/07/2009

52

1

9

My son loved it so much he bought me a yo gabba gabba microphone for mothers day. my husband lets him buy whatever he decides I want. It's pretty funny sometimes. So now we luckily get to hear 'there's a party in my tummy' all the time. But we all like it overall. First preview for it- before it premiered- we were like - WTH is that?. But once we watched it we liked it.

Leeza - posted on 08/07/2009

17

8

0

My kids love it & it not an bad show. They seem to learn from it. Now for me I really can care less for it but whatever my kids will sit & in watch is great with me

Rebecca - posted on 08/07/2009

8

10

0

It drives me INSANE!!! Thank God my child doesn't really watch it! The only time it stayed on was when Sugarland was on it!

Amy - posted on 08/07/2009

352

9

32

He's almost 3 he tries it every time it's on and even suceeds every so often...But he watches it at the baby-sitters house, and cries for it when we are home...If i want peace, I let him watch it LOL

Kate CP - posted on 08/07/2009

8,942

36

754

Quoting Amy:

My son Loves the show...I HATE IT!!! I'm sorry but I don't like my kid running around spitting all over the place trying to B-box like Biz, and I was not too happy with the guy on there doing the armpit symphony!


BAHAHAHAHA!!!! I'm sorry, but I can just see my daughter attempting an armpit fart. Oh, lord! HAH! XD

Amy - posted on 08/07/2009

352

9

32

My son Loves the show...I HATE IT!!! I'm sorry but I don't like my kid running around spitting all over the place trying to B-box like Biz, and I was not too happy with the guy on there doing the armpit symphony!

Kate CP - posted on 08/07/2009

8,942

36

754

You put the who in the what, now?

What the heck is Yo Gabba Gabba? Is that English?

[deleted account]

So yummy so yummy, there's a party in my tummy, so yummy so yummy.

Sorry, but it really is catchy and me and my friends find ourselves singing these songs to each other all the time. Quite hilarious.

[deleted account]

I thought it was weird at first but now I like it. My niece is 21 months and she LOVES Yo Gabba Gabba. Her favorite part is funny faces. I always catch myself singing "keep trying, keep trying don't give up" all the time. I think the show is great except for the beat-boxing guy, that part is weird to me.

Amber - posted on 08/07/2009

3

15

0

I dont really care for the show but my daughters love it! and like the other moms said it does teach some good manners!

Khamisha - posted on 08/07/2009

24

18

1

I LOVE YO GABBA! When first saw it I looked at it as an adult why is this grown man dancing and singing in a skin tight orange suit. Then i looked at it through my kids eyes it teaches them alot, has a good amount of songs and it holds there attention. I love how my kids mimic the good things... Dont bite your friend,take turns, share. Our fav game is hold still wiggle game.

Rita - posted on 08/07/2009

1

6

0

i really don't like yo gabba gabba... but my kids love it, so i let them watch it. nothing says i have to enjoy EVERYTHING they enjoy.... :)

Jessica - posted on 08/07/2009

45

49

2

I love Yo Gabba Gabba! I think the music is fun, I love all the cool celebrity guests (although the beat boxing guy is a little weird) and the lessons are clear. Other kids shows try to hide a lesson in a cute story, but kids don't get that. I got rid of cable, and now I actually miss Yo Gabba Gabba! It was one show that actually held my sons attention! That, and Jack's Big Music Show! The only thing I don't like about it is that I always end up with the songs stuck in my head! I find myself walking around singing "there's a party in my tummy! so yummy! so yummy!" all day!

Monica - posted on 08/07/2009

3

15

0

I actually find it refreshing and unique, it is geared towards children and adults, I like that they have funny /quirky guests like Jack Black etc. as well as different bands..I find it exposes children to diversity in people,conditions, music...It seems to foster creativity as well;)

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms