Yo Gabba Gabba.... what's your opinion?

Erinn - posted on 05/08/2009 ( 24 moms have responded )

791

95

35

I was just curious.... I seriously feel like I lose major IQ points just watching the previews! What's your opinion of the show?

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

24 Comments

View replies by

Marina - posted on 05/22/2009

21

11

1

What I most enjoy about it is the representation of different styles of music and people who are not Cookie Cutter Hi-5/Wiggles style. In my opinion most kids shows don't reflect the real world, and people who are different and enjoy different music and have different Cool Tricks! I think it rocks, and so does my 4 year old!

Melissa - posted on 05/22/2009

3

8

0

i found the same thing but the same with the teletubbies were meant to encourage kids to talk and not talk talk like were darft would much prefer my kids to watch something a little more mind stimulating or something they can get active with

Tammy - posted on 05/21/2009

33

25

1

My 12month old boy loves the show, it is pretty crazy.. but if you listen to some of it they do have alot of good morals. They just do it in a whacked crazy humour. They are touring australia at the moment! deciding if to spend the $$ to take my boy 2moro?? but know one is willing to come along and put up with it with me LOL His favourite is the green monster BROBEE ;O)

[deleted account]

My husband absolutely hates it, I feel neutral towards it, and my stepdaughter LOVES it. But I think it teaches good lessons. She usually gets to watch it when we are home alone together and Daddy is out running an errand or something lol

Traci - posted on 05/21/2009

2,158

2

102

I think that show is so DUMB. Never mind the fact they have a guy dressed up like a gansta rapper...what a wonderful role model for our children. Way to start them out right! I don't let my kids watch that. With Directv, there are about 10 other cartoon channels and we have a DVD player, no Way!!!

Jocelyn - posted on 05/08/2009

5,165

42

274

OMG i HATE that show! there was one episode i saw and they had to "dance the silly's out" and then all these little cartoon worms starting coming out of their bodies...creepy. there are way better shows out there... like sesame street.

Andrea - posted on 05/08/2009

1

14

0

Are you kidding?? Its the best show ever! It teaches core values like love, happieness, respect, not being afraid, etc. etc. in such a lively colorful way with tons of music! Its our favorite show and were not low on the IQ points either :)

Keisha - posted on 05/08/2009

264

3

32

I think the show is extremely weird, but harmless. It gets the kids up, moving, dancing and jumping around and that's good. My kids only watch it occasionally, however I have to say that "There's a party in my tummy, so yummy, so yummy!" ...is hilarious.

Stephanie - posted on 05/08/2009

728

3

64

I think the show is kind of ridiculous like a lot of other parents. I would rather him watch stuff like dora, diego, backyardigans...at least semi-normal stuff.

Erinn - posted on 05/08/2009

791

95

35

Well i've never seen a whole episode before.... I guess it must have some sort of positive message... it's just all the dorky characters that I can't get over, but I guess as long as they are learning meaningful things it couldn't be that bad.... the characters are a bit out there for my taste!

Kristin - posted on 05/08/2009

107

20

13

I don't care for the human "DJ Lance"...kinda strange, but the show as a whole is good. It teaches...usually through song about making new friends, being lost, how to be polite, to keep trying...don't give up. My daughter (almost 4) loves it. We sing one of the songs at bed time for her..."Nap Time". I see nothing wrong with it.

Erinn - posted on 05/08/2009

791

95

35

LOL.... I thought the same thing..... must've been smoking some real nice stuff!!

~Jennifer - posted on 05/08/2009

4,164

61

365

My kids love it. They watch it when it's on just before dinner and bath time, which seems to help them dance out some of their leftover energy....

Personally, I think the person that created the show was probably stoned when they came up with the idea.

[deleted account]

It's a very weird show and although I personally don't like it I would probably bite the bullet and let my son watch it if he showed an interest.

[deleted account]

My gal is 3 soon to be 4. Loves the loony guy and his "friends". I too find it a bit strange but it is really harmless. Kids just don't look at things the way we do. Plus, the show definitely gets her up and moving. Gotta love that!

Jennifer - posted on 05/08/2009

1

3

0

i personally dont like the show but have watched it and more importantly have watched my daughter while watching it, i think it does have some good points and does teach them some important lessons about sharing and feelings but i also like the fact that it has a lot of dancing and jumping around, it gets them up and moving around wich in my opinion is great!

Libby - posted on 05/08/2009

937

19

122

I totally HATE that show. Maybe I just have a problem with grown up men dressed up and dancing around. I think that's why we never watched the Wiggles either. We lean more towards Dora, Diego, The Wonder Pets, The Backyardigans, etc. My youngest now is going to be 5 so we'll probably out grow some of these shows soon. But I have another one due in October so I'm sure by his/her tv watching days there will be even more new shows to watch!

Holly - posted on 05/08/2009

99

16

23

My son is 31/2 and he loves that show. I hate it and refuse to let him watch it. I don't undersatnd the point of those crazy lookin things. And poor Eligah Woods from Lord of the Rings to this!

Stephanie - posted on 05/08/2009

1

17

0

I feel the same way as you, but my 1 year old son LOVES the show. He squeals and dances everytime he watches it.

Lorraine - posted on 05/08/2009

53

66

8

My son Likes it, but it is not one of the favorites. It is really corny and trippy. He is 2 and prefers things like Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and Blues Clues. I think Yo Gabba Gabba might be for kids 4 and up because it deals more with feelings and how to deal with situations. It is a weird show with weird people, but the kids like it I guess

Emily - posted on 05/08/2009

1,163

13

188

I have never seen the show but we have this red one eyed doll that my older daughter told me is a "Yo Gabba Gabba." I think it is extremely cute and I love when my two year old carries it around and feeds it a bottle.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms