Vaccine or not ? I want to know your opinion!

Jessy - posted on 03/02/2010 ( 112 moms have responded )

16

33

1

My baby girl had her first vaccine at 2 months and now we move into a different Country ,, and I dunno what to do , since one of my girlfriend her baby is diagnose with autism, she is quit concern it could be cause of the vaccine, maybe not and i'm wondering what to do my baby girl is almost 4 months ??Just give me your opinion on what you did with your child ! Thanks

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Francesca - posted on 03/02/2010

502

36

16

I am not sure if you keep up with the news. But a few weeks ago it was acknowledged that the study that originally linked vaccinations to Autism was a scam.

As for deciding what to do, well, you have to weigh the pros and cons. And please don't include friend of a friend gossip when doing this. Arm yourself with FACTS. Your daughter deserves it.

I personally vaccinated my daughter. I looked at worst case senario. Those diseases could kill her. I would rather a sick baby for a few days/weeks than a dead baby.

There is a reason many cultures celebrate when a child reaches a certain age. Like when Mexican's celebrate the 5th birthday, or Philippinian's celebrate the 2nd. Its because they believe as a culture if they haven't died from childhood diseases by then, they should be in the clear. How depressing.

And if you're worried about mercury (thimerosol), there is more mercury in a can of tuna than there is in a single vaccination. So you better give that up too.

Clearly there are very strong oppinions for each side of the debate. This is one of those things you have to decide completely for yourself. Arm yourself with facts and trust your gut. Only you know what is best for your family.

Angela - posted on 03/02/2010

80

6

7

I think it is very important to be informed about vaccines. Please check reliable sources when making your decision. I am %100 for vaccines. The thought that the thimeresol in vaccines causes Autism is an old idea. The study for that has actually been recalled by the people who did it. They have openly admitted that their data was not accurate. I did extensive reading because I was TERRIFIED of the Autism stats. But as I read I quickly learned two very important things.

1-vaccines stop childhood illnesses. It has also been shown that children who are vaccinated and exposed to the Ethyl Mercury (Methyl Mercury is the bad one) have less developmental difficulties.

2-Autism has a genetic component. They aren't sure which genes cause it, but they know that boys are 4 times more likely to be diagnosed than girls. They also know that children who have not been vaccinated will still be diagnosed with it if they have the genetic factor. Skipping vaccines will not stop Autism and could lead to outbreaks of illnesses that we have never even seen.

I can't make you vaccinate your child, but I can say that I will get mine all her shots. It keeps her safe, and it keeps those safe (like babies under 6 mos who can't receive flu shots) safe.

[deleted account]

The study that said that the MMR vaccine causes autism has been retracted because it was false. There have been tons of other studies that have proven that the MMR vaccine does not cause autism. You have to remember that ONE study claimed that the vaccine causes autism while tons of others have proven otherwise. And now, that study has been retracted completely because it was wrong. It has caused quite a panic and it is unfortunate that one person was so irresponsible.



Here's a link with more info:

http://www.babycenter.com/204_medical-jo...

Jetieme - posted on 03/03/2010

8

15

1

For anyone else who thinks your childs NOT getting vaccinated doesn't matter since the rest are, is very wrong. I am the mom of a lil 4 week old baby who caught Whooping Cough. Supposedly in remission and not around much anymore, but because more people choose not to get there children vaccinated that makes more little bitty ones prone to catch this stuff, and because of this Pertussis she has lung issues that may last forever. I strongly advise you to vaccinate, but if you choose no please please keep your children home anytime they have even a slight fever, runny nose, or cough this stuff spreads like crazy. But it is in the end completely up to you. Your the mom and you must do whats best for your baby.

User - posted on 03/03/2010

7

18

1

If Vaccine Caused Autism, then why arent there alot more children with Autism? My littlest brother has Autism, he was adopted into our family at the age of 2 and had not had any vaccinations. So if vaccines were to blame, then how did it occur in him?
I believe in vaccinating my children. When my sister was 2 she caught chicken pox, and it was the most horrible thing for a young child to go through, as at that stage, chicken pox were only for the 4 year vaccines. She had pox everywhere, in her ears, her eyelids, her private areas even in her mouth. I would never want this for my children.
I dont get the seasonal vaccinations like the flu shot, as Im very cautious about my children during flu season, and they rarely get sick.
Its a personal decision for each person, but I'd rather be safe then sorry.

This conversation has been closed to further comments

112 Comments

View replies by

Mary - posted on 03/04/2010

14

32

2

I now it is crazy some of the things they put in there, but in the long run your child is going to be much healthier and much safer...due to the future diseases...My son is 6months and goes next week for his 6months shots and I plan to get them all done just for his safety in the future..

[deleted account]

Wow...I think it is interesting that the people against vaccines are really into the "cover up" conspiracy theory story....How come the studies that are done by the CDC are all cover ups and conspiracies, but the studies done that "prove" vaccines are harmful are true? People will believe what they chose to believe....Maybe the people claiming vaccines are harmful are the conspirators....Maybe they want to introduce all these harmful diseases back into humanity for their own personal reasons...( I do not believe that whatsoever!) The CDC did find a vaccine (the rotovirus vaccine) to have more harm than benefits. They didn't keep giving it to children. It was no longer given. Until they found a safer vaccine they didn't want the risks out weighing the benefits. And btw, people who get vaccines are not completely immune, but have a better chance of being immune to a disease. That is why it is suggested by doctors that we vaccinate. Yes there is a chance that you can still get certain illnesses even after being vaccinated, however, the chances are far lower than that of a person who has not been. This is my personal opinion derived from the facts i have read. Go to http://www.immunize.org/catg.d/p4038.pdf for a lot more information. And those of you who are not immunizing I understand that it is a personal decision. But please do not tell us who are vaccinating that we are "poisoning" our children. Every day the entire human race is poisoning itself with the foods we ingest, the cigarettes people smoke, the cars we drive, even the formula given to babies is full of "toxic" chemicals.... We all do what we think is the very best for our own children. That is all we can do. Good luck to you on making your own very personal decision. I hope you feel confident in it no matter which one you choose!!!

Sarah - posted on 03/04/2010

149

33

29

I only give my outdoor/indoor cats rabies shots. Gotta look out for my kitties. I don't want them injected with junk either.

Katherine - posted on 03/04/2010

23

23

0

VACCINATE! The whole autism caused by vaccinations is insane. There are multiple studies that show that vaccines have had a greater impact on human mortality reduction and population growth than any other public health intervention besides clean water. It truly saves lives.

Heather - posted on 03/04/2010

50

12

1

Jetieme - I don't have any pets right now, but when I did I always got them from the pound, and they vacinate them when they come in, but I guess the same thing would apply, given the choice, I would do plenty of research into each vaccine and decide based on my findings.

Jetieme - posted on 03/04/2010

8

15

1

So then if you don't vaccinate kids then do you vaccinate animals? Just asking!

Crystal - posted on 03/04/2010

3

43

0

both my daughters have been vaccinated, and i really hope it doesn't cause them complications later in life. i admit the benefits are good, ie: disease reduction, but the risk, while rare, is rather serious.

Heather - posted on 03/04/2010

50

12

1

I have chosen not to vaccinate simply because while the study regarding the MMR vaccine and Autism has been retracted there are other vaccinations that have had a number of adverse reactions some including death or paralysis! Despite this they are still administered and the health problems are covered up and ignored.



My advice would be, whatever you decide do LOTS of research into each vaccine and the possible side effects.



Be confident in your decision and stand your ground, you know what is best for your baby. :)

Jade - posted on 03/04/2010

23

198

0

hey darl... vaccines dnt cause autism it's something ur born with... i work with ppl with disabilitys nd the only way u can get a disability if ur not born with it is through a fatel accident, nd u still can't become autistic due to that.... some ppl think that the 18 month needle does coz autism, but at 18 months nd over is actually when u start to notice ur childs interaction skills, nd the things there interested in, so ppl instintly think if there child is a lil slower or just not as affectionate as other children that it had to be something that caused, nd because the vaccine is rnd the time u notice, that's wat gets the blame.... love honestly u'd rather b safe then sorry so i strongly advise that ur bubbah gets vaccinated... there is so much crap nd diseases out there these days, so protect ur lil one babe, but everyones oppinions are different love so u do wat u feel is best for ur baby, hope i helped abit.



jade

Meghan - posted on 03/04/2010

3,169

33

202

ok, I wasn't calling just you out but have your own opinon and I will have mine. In the large scheme of things I may be wrong but at least I'm not ignorant (before you get upset, I am not calling you ignorant), I did my research and don't come off as a know it all! I have a beautiful healthy little boy...I am also a healthy mom (who has had EVERY shot...so have both of my parents, my 6 uncles, my 13 cousins, all 5 of my siblings all 7 of my neices and nephews) :)

[deleted account]

I am a counselor and am up to date on all the research for autism due to the increase the US is now seeing in the occurance of autism. The theory that vaccinations cause autism has been debunked for quite some time. The reason why this theory was even suggested was due to the fact that a lot of children are diagnosed with autism around the time that they receive many vaccinations. There are many things that coorelate with the time in which autism is diagnosed in a child and these coorelations have never been said to "cause" autism. Most parents really start to see an increase in autistic behavior around the age of two or three. Vaccines have deffinately been improved on but some children will still have side effects to them. I see postings on this page stating the bad ingredients that are used to make vaccinations and it makes me wonder if you parents have ever looked at the ingredients in the food that you feed your child? Unless you feed your child fresh, organic food at all times, you are also subjecting your childs body to many unhealthy chemicals and preservatives. If you think about what chemicals go into making a chicken mcnugget that is shipped to each mcdonalds from a warehouse you might think twice about letting your little ones eat them!

Christine - posted on 03/04/2010

219

17

18

My son has had all of his vaccines so far and he is now 7 months. He has not had any reactions to any of them. He has also had the rotateq vaccine which was by choice. I don't see a problem with the vaccines but I guess everyone has their own opinion about them

Megan - posted on 03/04/2010

190

6

17

Thanks for the link Maria, I have seen this before but it is good info to review again. Vaccines have not been around for "Years and Years", they haven't been around for even 100 years and have only been studied since the early 80's and I didn't get my info from hippie doctors and naturalist. This info is from prominent medical professions that have reason to question the safety of vaccines. For the record, Naturopathic Doctors have more schooling that regular medical doctors. Regular MDs do not receive nutrition training or alternative healing methods that medical studies acknowledge as "practical means to contribute to overall health". And for the record, it would be your kid who would be giving my kids something because your kid is carring around the disease from vaccination.

Here is a great link from an MD.
http://exemptmychild.com/56401/56732.htm...

Maria - posted on 03/04/2010

24

13

4

When i told my child's pediatrician that i didn't want to vaccinate my son at 2 months.Before i could get a word in he started spouting off about Crazy Jenny McCarthy followers and Autism, etc, etc.(yeah, he's kind of opinionated) I simply didn't want my son (now five months) to be pumped full of chemicals at such a young age for no particular reason.(esp the Hep B at birth! What is that!?) My husband and I are both lucky to be extremely healthy and neither he (aged 30) or any of his siblings have ever been vaccinated. We simply don't feel that his exposure level is risky enough yet. This was a lifestyle choice for us.



I am from Europe and can tell you that the US vaccine schedule is the most jam-packed in the world! Here is a link to look at the lists and some ideas to at least delay the schedule, separate the multiples etc.

Hope it's helpful. www.generationrescue.org/vaccines.html



Whatever you decide, make sure you've done your reseach. Don't just do as your told without any questions, this is your child's well-being were talking about. I know a lot of mom's who didn't even think that they had options! Who child is this? Only you are allowed to make desicions about what's best for your babies, in all aspects of their lives and especially their health. So well done for asking your question! =)



Maybe it's just where we live but you cannot be forced to vaccinate you child in order for them to go to schools. You can sign a waiver on religious grounds etc, check with your area: www.nvic.org/Vaccine-Laws/state-vaccine-requirements.aspx

Meghan - posted on 03/04/2010

3,169

33

202

I know someone will have something to say about this but I would rather my son be vaccinated with "poison" as some of you are saying- and have NO reaction rather than not getting him injected a run a chance that he gets a life threatening diesease. It really is a personal choice but I pray to God that my son doesn't come in contact with any really sick kid. Because if my son's life is put in harms way becuase some mom has a conspiracy theory I will be pissed off! To each their own but let's stop trying to talk everyone into or out of this issue by posting opinions from hippy doctors and naturalists etc. They have been vaccinating people for YEARS and YEARS. Obviously they are working to an extent!

Leah - posted on 03/04/2010

15

56

1

Megan, I don't think people necessarily believe "that vaccines made diseases go away," however they do help keeping these diseases from making a reappearance into society. While in nursing school, I read an article regarding a vaccine that had been given years ago, and after years of having no signs of the disease in society, stopped giving the vaccine. The disease then reappeared, therefore causing the vaccine to be implemented again. This was a few years ago, so which disease it was I cannot remember specifically, I can just briefly remember reading about it.

Megan - posted on 03/04/2010

190

6

17

It is really very sad that the government has so much say in the matter. There are 18 states that have a conscientious exemption law, most states have medical exemptions which are very, very hard to get. Some states also have religious exemptions.

We are lucky and live in a state that has conscientious exemptions, but I still homeschool my children. Homeschooling is one way to get around mandatory vaccinations, but I realize that this isn't an option for everyone.

Doctors are suppose to report all vaccine related injury/illness but there are no penalties for not reporting so most doctors don't. Most doctors don't even know where to find the forms.

The other biggest vaccine myth out there is that vaccines made diseases go away. Understanding of how germs work along with better hygiene was what created a drop in disease rates. The number of cases of many of the diseases we vaccinate for today were already dropping significantly before mandatory vaccines were implemented.

Crystal - posted on 03/04/2010

3

43

0

i would not vaccinate if it wasn't required by schools and even some laws. until they find a way to make vaccines that don't have POISONS in them, I will never approve. but there is little i can do about it. they do prevent diseases, and i've seen cases where people have lost their children over their refusal to vaccinate. it's awful. there was a very young couple in colorado who stood in tears with the police holding them at gunpoint while their firstborn was vaccinated over a false positive hep test. 1 hour after the unnecessary shot, they found out it was false positive. but it was too late. i can't even imagine what that must have been like.

Jenifer - posted on 03/04/2010

87

15

2

On the topic of H1N1, my doctor even told me that it didn't really matter if we decided to let our kids have this (my husband and I decided against it) more people were still contracting and dying from the regular flu than the H1N1. More of a panic because it was new.

Argie - posted on 03/04/2010

22

4

0

I LIVE IN NJ SO THERE IS SPECIFIC VACCINES THAT NEED TO BE GIVEN IN ORDER TO BE ABLE TO GO TO SCHOOL, THE MMR WAS THE ONE I WAS SCARED OF BUT I WAITED UNTILL SHE WAS 18 MONTHS AND NO SIGNS WHAT SO EVER OF AUTISM, I ALSO HAD CALLED THE COMPANY THAT MAKES THE MMR AND THEY TOLD ME THEY WONT BE MAKING THE 3 SEPARATE ONES UNTILL 2012. GOOD LUCK WITH EVERYTHING

User - posted on 03/04/2010

53

6

2

Just a thought, there are less children today then in previous generations, and less children in north america then any third world country, but we have more allergies, asthma, and dibilitating deases, if vaccines are so effective...why are children (as a general rule) healthier in the third world then here? Why dont they have allergies like us? And trust me they eat junk too, and have more exposure to deases we almost dont see. But still there are many more kids....? Just a thought

User - posted on 03/04/2010

53

6

2

Sarah and Megan I am with you two. I am against vaccines, for factual reasons. They are full of toxins that no one let alone a child should be in contact with, and look at how many allergies there are in kids now days, i mean when i was little peanut allergies was a weird thing, now we cant take a baked good with peanuts to a function.
I am canadian too and we sure as heck pay for our own healthcare and everyone elses as well with our taxes. Healthcare dosent cover the basics, like presriptions, glasses, dental, chiropractors. or anything used by the general populus regularly, we still pay from our pocket.
But back to vaccines, i think they are bad for health (most of them) and if you decide to get them be very careful about which ones you get. Do your reaserch, you can never go wrong with reaserch. And H1N1 is a scam, it is a normal flu, more people have died in recent years from the regular yearly flu then have died from H1N1 and more people have been seriously ill and died from the H1N1 vaccine then the actual flu. The vaccinated people at my sisters work got and gave her the flu...she was not vaccinated and took her vitamines, and was better 3 times as fast as the others.

I say It's up to each person to make thier chioce for their own family, but please make and informed choice, not just ask your doctor or their staff. They aren't sure either, just payed for a purpose.

Leah - posted on 03/04/2010

15

56

1

Personally, I believe the benefits of vaccines, outweigh the risks. Like someone said above, the reason these diseases are not around now are because people are being vaccinated against them.

I also came across an article about 2 days ago (I wish I could remember where I came across it), which proved there was no relation between the MMR vaccine and autism.

I even opted to get the H1N1 vaccine for my son when he turned 6 months old. There is nothing different in that vaccine compared to other flu vaccines, other than the inactivated virus.

Ultimately, it is everyone's personal decision, and no one should be looked upon for choosing to vaccinate or not.

Kerry - posted on 03/04/2010

116

37

11

I personally do not want to give my son the vaccine. i am afraid of the side affects. It also worrys me reguarding the H1N1 that is still kind of new and I am worried that it was so rushed to get out into the public that it may not have gotten the proper testing.

Tiffany - posted on 03/04/2010

158

10

18

im for vaccines i think they are the way to go...also im kinda scared of my lil guy getting something and passing it on to another child like on that eposide of law and order where the one kid had mealses or something and gave it to an infant just cause his mom chose not to give the shots to her kid and the infant died cuz of it.. but to each there own i guess

Sarah - posted on 03/04/2010

149

33

29

Megan, it's nice to see someone who knows the facts and stands up for herself! :)

It's not just conspiracy theories, it's the actual ingrediants in these vaccines. I don't want my son being injected with the garbage. Other people may not mind phenoxyethanol (antifreeze) being injected into them and their children, but I'm not for it.

http://www.associatedcontent.com/article...

Jamie - posted on 03/04/2010

32

11

1

By now everyone knows that there are side effects to everything. However I don't think a vaccine would be allowed to be given to children if it caused autism. Nobody likes the thought of their child being given a shot and having to hold them while they scream but I do it so my baby will be safe. I don't have the flu shot given to my baby. That one seems a little silly because you still basically get all the symptoms of the actual flu. I just make sure not to have my baby around sick people and out in the cold during flu season.

Kimberly - posted on 03/04/2010

4

4

0

My son is 16 months old and I got him all of his vaccines because it really does help protect them from all kinds of bad things, plus when your child some day has children of their own their kids can get really sick. So I think that all moms should get their kids vaccined

Jacquelyn - posted on 03/04/2010

24

13

0

If it is autism you are worried about, start by researching the definition of autism on wikipedia or any other online dictionary. There is will explain exactly what autism is, how it works, when it shows up, etc. It also goes into detail why autism cases have seemingly increased, signs to look for in your child, and why people think there is a link to vaccines. It also states that parents refusing to vaccinate is leading to more outbreaks of measles, with no evidence of any link.

Angela - posted on 03/04/2010

5

27

0

I think each child is different. You have to follow your thoughts and instincts on it. I have a 3 year old boy and 19 month old girl. My son had heart surgery last year, found out he has Di George syndrome. He has a genetic disorder so he is not like every other child. He now has an immune defeciacny problem, was hospitalized twice this year already. We are not up to date on shots because of his low platlets, it will trigger his body to attack them again. We have a great blood doctor who gave us a note why he is not up to date. We are spreading the vaccine proccess out, it is hard on their bodies and not every child is the same. Follow your instinct as a mom, ultimately it is up to you as the parent. I think they are there for a reason, but do agree that they do not need all of them, or at one time.

Anneke - posted on 03/04/2010

317

61

29

its the shark oil that contains mercury that causes autism. Autistic people have to much mercury in their blood causing bad effect one personality. My sister has it, shwe was normal when she was born, normal walking, talking all the norm. While after the MMR she stayed the same. She is 16 and acts like a baby still. She never progressed. We dont know to be honest but it was such a different, She was born in 1994 which is when that all kicked off after about autism. I wont get the swine flu jab for my son as it has shark oil in it among many other different things that arnt so good. I never had any vaccines, my parents didnt bother but I lived. Have a look at the facts, everyone is different there fro you have to make up your own mind. One will say its a scam the other will show you whats in it them one will say thats not true. Hard to know. My son has most vacceins just not the mmr yet or swine flu.

Victoria - posted on 03/04/2010

11

26

0

My daughter has had all the vaccines required. She just recently had an mmr shot at the age of four. She is completely fine. I got them becuase they are required for her to start school in the fall. She even received the H1N1 due to the fact that her baby brother will be born soon. I had all the shots growing up. Well not chicken pox I ended up catching those when I was little.

Jenifer - posted on 03/04/2010

87

15

2

I say, "Do what you think is best." That is really all anyone can do. I personally weighed the pros with the cons, and the pros won, so all of my children have had their vaccines, and I don't regret it for a moment. GOOD LUCK, and GOD BLESS!

Megan - posted on 03/04/2010

190

6

17

The rates of polio dropped considerable before the US even started their vaccination campaign against polio. If the polio vaccine was the sole cause of the drop in the number of cases, why did England see an even larger reduction in the number of cases of polio without the use of vaccine? Most parents don't even know that breastfeeding protects baby from all infectious disease up to six months of age except for pertussis and that breast fed babies rarely acquire pertussis.In fact, 80% of infections are in children that have been immunized for pertussis. The last wild case of polio was in 1979. They are actually considering taking the polio vaccine out of the vaccination schedule because it is doing more harm than good. The only ones that are walking around being able to spread polio are the ones that are vaccinated for it. Diphtheria is also considered an eradicated disease in the US.

Again, I didn't mention anything about autism, I merely stated that vaccines injury children. Hep B vaccine is thought to have links to serious autoimmune and neurological reactions including autism, chronic fatigue syndrome, diabetes, arthritis, and MS. There have also been links between the DPaT and SIDS. They haven't done studies on any of the vaccines like they have on the MMR and by throwing out that data (because they were pressure to do so) they have made everyone feel really comfortable with giving their kids vaccines again, but you have to understand that they haven't proven vaccines to be safe. Each to his own, but there is no way that I am going to inject my kids with mercury, formalin, formaldehyde, foreign DNA/RNA from sources like monkeys, sheep, bovine, and aborted human fetal tissue. You might be interested to know that the scientist that worked on Celebrex and other like drugs had been faking his research for 13 years and pocketing the money given to do the research. The FDA cleared Celebrex after looking at this mans research, that was fake and looked after the best interest of the pharm. company he was working for. There is a federal investigation going on right now. So frankly, the FDA doesn't make me feel safe about anything that they okay. They okay Red #40 which is highly carcinogenic and banned in Europe, but can be found in nearly every food that is either red or blue. I know the crap that they put in our food, that is why we eat a wholefoods/organic diet.

They have not taken mercury out of multiply dose flu vaccines or the tetanus shot, the DPaT still has residual about amounts found (

Natalie - posted on 03/04/2010

448

73

85

You know they've done new research and they have not found any link from vaccines to autism. I don't know why so many people fuss about it. I and everyone in my family has had every vaccine in the book and do any of us have autism? NO

Neither do my kids which have also had it.

I know 1 single person who's child has autism and it's in their family. The child's uncle has it and also his grandfather very mildly.

So, do your research. Most vaccine's do more good than harm.

Melissa - posted on 03/04/2010

92

15

2

Get your child vaccinated. You don't want to expose a child who is sick and not vaccinated to other kids, you can get them sick to the point where they die. Especially if the child is younger and has not been vaccinated. That and i would never ever let my baby around kids who are not vaccinated.

Melissa - posted on 03/04/2010

2

21

0

I definitely think that you need to get your child vaccinated. There is no direct link between vaccination and autism. Plus it is for the general health and safety of the public that children get vaccinated. What good is it that only some children get vaccinated? If there are still children carrying on the diseases and illnesses, then they will never go away. Also, just about every daycare out there will NOT allow your child to come to there center with out proper immunization records. Please get your child vaccinated!

Brittanie - posted on 03/03/2010

179

11

26

All four of my children have had their routine vaccinations and my infant has an appt for his 4 mos set tomorrow. My kids also had the H1N1 shot as was recommended by my physician. I am an informed parent and have made the decision to go ahead with vaccines for myself and my kids knowing what is in them and what the pros and cons are.

Jennifer - posted on 03/03/2010

103

39

12

There could be problems with your child eaither way. Personally I choose to vaccine my 3 kiddos but I know someone who has not vaccined their child and he is 5 yrs old and very healthy! I think that you should just do what YOU think is best for YOUR child.

Sarah - posted on 03/03/2010

296

5

21

I get vaccinations for my children. I don't believe that vaccines cause autism. However if it does I rather have them have autism and be alive than die from not getting vaccinated. This is my opinion it is completely up to you. If you feel like it is wrong for your child to get vaccinated then don't do it. I don't give my children the flu shot and i didn't give them the swine flu vaccine. I feel the flu isn't that big of a deal to get plus you can have a bad reaction to it and you can still get the flu. My dad got the flu shot once and got the flu and hasn't got the shot since and has not gotten the flu since either. The swine flu e didn't get because I didn't feel comfortable taking or my kids getting a vaccine that was made so quickly because I don't know about side effects.

Jade - posted on 03/03/2010

28

18

0

I'm all for vaccinating. My son is 2 1/2, has been fully vaccinated and had no problems at all.
If you're unsure about whether to vaccinate, not only should you talk to your doc or health care nurse, but think to yourself : If your daughter was to die unnecessarily from any of the diseases that there are vaccinations for, or if you had to watch your daughter struggling to breath while she struggles with whooping cough and you had chosen NOT to vaccinate her, how would you feel?
If you've already started her on the vaccination path, why stop?
The vaccinations are there for a reason!!
Now I'm not trying to guilt trip you into your decision. Do a lot of your own research, on the pro's and the cons of vaccination and make up your own mind.

User - posted on 03/03/2010

7

18

1

I would also like to mention that while some vaccines such as hep, are to attempt in stopping your child from getting the disease at all, vaccinations such as chicken pox, are to help your body form its own protection, so when you do get the chicken pox, it isnt nearly as dangerous, painful or life threatening as if your body wasnt prepared, and it also gives you a lower rate of contracting shingles.
So just be aware that not all vaccinations will make you immune. Some just lessen the effects.

Jennifer - posted on 03/03/2010

3

1

0

My daughter is 2 now and has received all her shots including the H1N1 and has had no issues. I ofter wonder if Autism, ADD, ADHD and other childhood issues are now surfacing because of all the crap we put into foods to preserve them. Microwaving foods in plastics, BPA, Phalates in plastic baby bottles and all the cleaning products we use today. All we want to do as mothers is protect our childrean, raise them to be respectful, polite members of society and live a long healthy life. Its a personal decision only you and your husband, partner or family can decide. Do some research and talk to your pediatrician about your concerns. Good Luck

LeeAnne - posted on 03/03/2010

15

16

0

the only vaccine you should not get for your baby is the h1n1 because it can damage the nerves. but if you do not get the vaccines for your baby she will get sick.

Sandra - posted on 03/03/2010

12

15

1

I got my child vaccinated....i figure better to do that then to not. Think of all the things that vaccines are protecting the child against

Nicole - posted on 03/03/2010

1

18

0

the woman who said that vaccines caused autism in her child and that she had cured him is wrong. he was allergic to glucose and she stopped giving it to him. he got better behaved but is still autistic. keep things like this in mind when researching.

Lindsay - posted on 03/03/2010

357

1

24

My daughter is 17 months old and she has received every vaccine that she is supposed to have for her age. I believe the benefits outweigh the risks. It was recently proven that the studies that found a link between vaccines and autism are very inaccurate and that the odds are so very very small of a child getting autism from a vaccine. She has also been given the seasonal flu shot and swine flu shot, no problems.

[deleted account]

the hospital my daughter was born in and my dr always give me handouts on every vaccine before i decide. just so i am informed, the positives way outdo the negatives on every vaccine. they even say that not vaccinating is more dangerous than vaccinating. i have had people tell me theres no polio in america, ok well my great grandma died of polio, there is polio in other countries, now lets say it gets brought over again? it takes 1 person from a different country to bring over diseases. like the hep shot they get at birth. do you know easily contractable that is? reading how you can get it im so glad i got my daughter vaccinated against it.



ultimatly it's up to the parent, but when you read online about things you can't always trust it. i would rather read actual true info i get from my dr or hospital. it's a relaible source, not the internet

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms