What is your opinion on C-Sections?

Michelle - posted on 01/11/2010 ( 164 moms have responded )

10

31

0

I was just informed by my doctor that i will be needing a c-section due to a small oblique shaped pelvis. This was never even an option for me until now. She said if I really wanted to she would let me try labor but it would most likely end up in an emergency c-section. I was excited for labor & prepared. Now i'm scared half to death & don't know what i'm in for. Any advice, opinions, or persona experience would be helpful. THANKS!!!

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Tiffany - posted on 01/15/2010

279

28

4

my opinion is c-sections shouldnt happen unless the baby is in extreme danger.

how would someone with a mis-shapened pelvis have had a baby 80 yrs ago? naturally.. thats how.

My opinion - doc's over use c-sections. most of the time people could get along find without one, but the docs are too enthuiastic about it - so they push it.

Heather - posted on 01/15/2010

1

5

0

Hi,



I'm a midwife in training and would like to add my two cents.



First of all, I would get a second opinion, I have had three children naturally with both an oblique shaped pelvis (which is how we all start out anyway and our bodies naturally change during labor), and a slanted cervix. I have had very healthy children, all weighing above 8 lbs, my last one was 10 lbs even and I had no tearing, and no complications healing afterwards.



I would like you please watch a movie called "The Business of Being Born" it has a lot of things that I find very valuable to a first time mom and any mom that has had a natural birth or a csection.



I urge you to please research everything with your spouse and possibly a doula or a birth instructor. Or, you could even contact me if you have anymore questions. I hope you feel confident that you can ask questions from several different people without being looked down on or criticized. If you feel attacked by your personal physician don't give in, just find another option.

Teresa - posted on 01/15/2010

1

0

0

Hey Michelle ... sometimes trying labor and then an emergency c is worse for you and your baby ... I was given the option after a failed induction and my baby's heart rate was fluctuating too much ... I just said "Do whatever to get him out safely" and they performed a c section. I had my epidural and I swear 15 minutes later he was out and in my arms. I was awake and alert the whole time, and not in pain that stopped me from bonding with my baby. It's not right for everyone but for me, the actual procedure was painless, the recovery wasn't nearly as bad as I anticipated, and it was a safer option for my son. I hope this helps. - Teresa

Natalie - posted on 01/15/2010

28

41

5

I have 2 kids and both them where c-section, The first one was an emergency c section witch i wasn't prepared for i had the epidural hurt a little part from that i felt a little pushing and pulling and the c section was fine . I had 2 stay in for 4 days and a week later i was back 2 doing every thing i use to do , my second c section i was told about a month before i was about to give birth so i wasn't so scared because i was prepared second time was so easy i dont know why i was scared everthing went ok the doctor was really good and my midwife the one thing i hated was not being able 2 laugh or cough because i hurt so much ... best of luck

Khristina - posted on 01/13/2010

75

19

5

Labor is such a wonderful and beautiful experience. You should check out your local library and see if they have a movie called the Business of Being Born. I wish I had watched this before I gave birth to my daughter. Because of your pelvis issue maybe a c-section would be best. But I def think that you should give natural child birth a try. If you don't atlest try you might regreat it the rest of your life. Pushing your child out and then having him or her handed right into your arms is the most amazing experience!

This conversation has been closed to further comments

164 Comments

View replies by

Mindy - posted on 01/16/2010

14

23

2

When my son was in my stomach he was never head down so I had to have a c section cause he kept moving around and not staying in one place. So i then went ahead with the c section, of course i was sad to have to do that but after I got use to the idea I loved it, cause you knew when they were coming, and you could be ready for it. I wouldn't have had it the other way now that i had a c section cause its really not too bad. it of course takes longer to recover but its worth it. When the did the c section they found out that i had a heart shaped uterus so even if i would have tried the regular way he probably wouldn't have came down.

Michelle - posted on 01/16/2010

34

31

1

my little girl was breech so they scheduald me for a c-section about 2 weeks before i was actually due. i still had time for her to turn but they where afraid she would come early even though i wasnt haveing any kinds of symptoms that she was ready to come. it was a little nerve racking especially since they gave me only 2 days to get ready for it. it was scary i will admit but my boyfriend was right by my side holding my hand and there was a nurse on my other side telling me exactly what was happening. they gave me a spinal tap and it did hurt a little but the pain went away sooo fast and i felt nothing that they where doing except the wierd sensation of a persons hands inside my body. it was fast though she was out so quick and they brought her over to me and all my worrying went away. the recovery was a little annoying but people where there to help and being at the hospital longer helped answer alot of my questions. just remember to avoid stairs as much as possible after the operation and dont try to bend or lift to much..my scar looks great but i did pull up the one side of it cause i was trying to do to much the first couple of weeks. try to stay in bed with your baby as much as you can, if anything its some nice bonding time.

Cori - posted on 01/16/2010

273

50

28

It is really good that you found out ahead of time. It is better to get time to read up on it and mentally prepare yourself. Mine was an emergency c/s. I had already been through 16 hours of labor and then just stopped progressing but because my water had been broken they had to do the c-section to avoid infection. It is really hard on your body to go through labor and contractions and then have surgery. Good luck on everything!

Christine - posted on 01/16/2010

10

12

1

My csection was scheduled the day before I had her. I had one false labor session and than a week later we did an ultrasound and saw my daughter was to big for me to push out (because I have pins in my femer bones). I was so scared. And at times I look at all my friends who had their babies natural and Im jealous - but this is what was best for my baby and me. And just remember that going in.

Now it does suck that you cnat spend quality time with the baby right after birth. She was born at 8:17am, I got to see her and touch her and than I went to recovery while she went to the nursery. I didnt get to see her til around noon or 1pm once I got to my room. but as long as it isnt an emergency csection - you should be able to be awake, and will be able to see the baby once he/she is born. You still get that amazing feeling of hearing them cry for the first time, and I will always remeber hearing my daughter cry as she got pulled out! Dont be worried, you two are in safe hands. And your doctor only recommends it for your safety and the babys. And personally I wouldnt even try the labor, that may put to much strain on the two of you - and possibly make things worse.



Hope it all works out well

Ashleigh - posted on 01/16/2010

15

14

1

Hi Michelle,

I was not expecting to have a C-Section when I had my son in November. I was scared to death also. I got my self all worked up and frantic. Much to my surprise it really wasnt that bad, the actual procedure was quick and painless thanks to the epidural. You do feel alot of pressure, it feels weird but it doesnt hurt. The first few days after were rough, very sore. You definitely have to take it easy. I had my staples out exactly a week after my son was born, that was painless. I was back to normal fairly quickly, just listen to your body and dont over do it! You'll be fine, Good Luck & Congrats!

Elizabeth - posted on 01/16/2010

148

16

0

Being pregnant, there is always a chance for a c-section. If your odds are more than likely you will need one, I would go ahead and schedule it. It is way worse to have to be rushed if something goes seriously wrong!!!

Jill - posted on 01/16/2010

5

91

0

Sorry to hear you don't get to choose. I had no real problems with having an emergency c-section. I wasn't at all happy about it at the time. But the doctors knew what they were doing. Either way you have to recover it just takes a little longer with a c-section. You can be awake for it which at least you get to see the baby arrive. I wish you all the luck in the world. But know that everything will be fine.

Jhemzy - posted on 01/16/2010

4

84

0

during my pregnancy, what's on my mind was im afraid of laceration..& c-section gave a lot of thinking of "what ifs & buts"... but during the last check-up, what came up with the result of my pelvimetric was the same as yours.. doctor asked me f I want to have a trial labor then proceed to c-sec..so we thought of why do i have to suffer the pain then undergo trial labor f afterwhich it would be the same still (PAIN). Then we decided to schedule a week after my last check-up, however, i had suffer stomach pain, so it was earlier than expected...during the prep, i remember of what our nurse told me, that it's the painful part of CS...BUT, it was wrong... I had definitely a great & successful experienced...I had a great anesthesiologist who did the prep... & very patient ob-gyne...so, f you have a good ob-gyne definitely you will also have great & memorable experienced!.. & don't forget to PRAY!!! everything will be under control... congrats in advance!

Jhemzy - posted on 01/16/2010

4

84

0

during my pregnancy, what's on my mind was im afraid of laceration..& c-section gave a lot of thinking of "what ifs & buts"... but during the last check-up, what came up with the result of my pelvimetric was the same as yours.. doctor asked me f I want to have a trial labor then proceed to c-sec..so we thought of why do i have to suffer the pain then undergo trial labor f afterwhich it would be the same still (PAIN). Then we decided to schedule a week after my last check-up, however, i had suffer stomach pain, so it was earlier than expected...during the prep, i remember of what our nurse told me, that it's the painful part of CS...BUT, it was wrong... I had definitely a great & successful experienced...I had a great anesthesiologist who did the prep... & very patient ob-gyne...so, f you have a good ob-gyne definitely you will also have great & memorable experienced!.. & don't forget to PRAY!!! everything will be under control... congrats in advance!

Lourdes - posted on 01/16/2010

1

15

0

Don't be scared, I had 3 c-sections. I was scared half to death too when in the delivery room my Dr. turned to me and said, "You are going to have an emergency c-section". I could've died, but it's not that big of a deal. The delivery of your baby is still going to be amazing. You are in for the most amazing time of your life! I loved all 3 deliveries and it gets easier...lol It just takes a bit longer to get back to normal. Take things slow and don't try to over do it. Congrats!

Leah - posted on 01/16/2010

2

15

0

When i was preg with my daughter i said i never whated a c-section. But in the end i had to have an emergency c-section. I founf it really scarey at first but the staff was wonderful and made me feel really relaxed we was alound to take are own cd of music in was us and the staff was all singing along which made me and my partner laugh which again made the whole thing very relaxing. I never felt anything and once my baby was in my arm i forgot all that i had been thought. I feel it better to be planned for a c-scetionthen to have a emergency c-section. In the end as much as i would have loved a natural birth all i was really worry about was getting my baby here safely.

Skye - posted on 01/16/2010

1

1

0

hi im skye my doughter is 4 in march an she was my last child and i had a emergency c-cection,well compared with my first 2 ,they were normal labour n birth the c section can have its ups and downs you can b awake an have a c cection and still c your baby come out but not if its a emergrncy c cection,and my opion i would rather go through labour pains then the pains after a c-cetion,and i wish you the best 4 you and your baby

Liz - posted on 01/16/2010

11

15

0

I had a c-section with my first due to breech presentation and a natural and quick labour for my daughter 2 years later. My preference was a natural labour, but i think you have to weigh up what is best for you and bub.... i don't think i like your option though,as it is either have a planned c-section or both. good luck and make a decision that you are happy with as once you have your baby no matter what you choose it is worth it.

Simone - posted on 01/16/2010

3

20

0

You will be ok, I went into labour 2 weeks early and was in labour for 11 hours before I had to have an emergency C-Section, because I wasnt contraction and stayed 6cm for 11 hours. I had thought about waterbirth and normal birth but never thought I would be having a C section. I cried when the midwife and obs told me, I was so scared! I was so lucky tho because I had had the epidural I was kept awake. You dont see nothing or feel any pain but you can fell the tugging. I had my partner in there with me and he just kept talking to me to take my mind off it. They put a big sheet up so you dont see anything.



afterwards I had to bend over to walk coz of the tightness! Thats the only thing I dont like about C-section is the recovery because you can do anything, all you can do is rest.



Hope all goes well xx

Chantelle - posted on 01/16/2010

4

8

0

I have had an emergency c-section and a planned and the planned was better. To be honest for me the recovery is longer but as long as your baby is ok that is all that matters. You will be fine they are good at what they do and do not leave you. All the best and please do not worry too much everything will be fine.

Cassandra - posted on 01/16/2010

1

11

0

Michelle, i had my daughter by c -section due to her being breech, i also was scared to death, but i did research it n im very glad i had one, not only because if i didnt we both might have died, but because its not as scary as you would think, you cant see or feel anything n you dont have to go thro the pain. the pain after the c ssection is not to bad yes you will have problems moving up n down, n going to go sit. but trust me if it comes down to it either push n maybe lose yours or your babys life, trust me youll pick the c section... i did. n the scare is small n low enough you can still where that bikini or low rider jeans.

Emily - posted on 01/16/2010

1

6

0

Don't be scared, C-sections aren't that bad. Having said that, of course everyones experience is different. I was fine and up out of bed the next day, recovery wasn't too bad and a new baby certainly takes your mind off any pain! I found out at 37 weeks that I had to have a ceasarean because my baby was in the 'complete breech' postion. I too was all set for a natural delivery but unfortunately my little bubba had different ideas!

Katie - posted on 01/16/2010

7

61

0

I had 3 c-sections. The first was an emergency c-section and I didn't get an epidural, they knocked me out. I woke up in a lot of pain. The next 2 were much easier. I think there was less pain except the first time you get up. Recovery is fast as long as you listen to your doctors advise.

Karrie - posted on 01/15/2010

71

26

7

Tiffany 80 years ago women could easly die in childbirth due to csections not being available that is what happened the body didn't just saw oh awww I see what I am supposed to do grow pelvis grow it doesn't work that way. Though I do agree doctors may abuse c-sections but if a person has a medical condition that warrents it then it is an option for a success to have a healthy mother and baby that is what is important!

Zlatina - posted on 01/15/2010

35

28

2

Don't get it unless you don't have to - unless there are complications, knock on wood there arent!

Karrie - posted on 01/15/2010

71

26

7

Any surgery can be unnearving but tons have been done. It is good you know because you and the team will be prepared for it. I had unexpected one I went into for induction due to PIH and I never dialted after 32 hours later and my girl starting to have decels with contractions it was decided it better be done. The team was fantastic and me not doing a natural birth really isn't that big of a deal to me because modern science made it possible for me to have my amazing little girl. She had her cord wrapped around her neck 3x if the labor would have progressed we both may have not made it. My advice after your c-section is to walk when you are able but make sure you do not overdo it, but also don't just lay in bed either this makes your recovery go much slower, I felt pretty much back to normal within a few weeks. And don't be afraid to use your pain meds to keep the edge off. My doctor had me alternate between lortab and ibuprofen that worked great and I wasn't gorked out of my mind.

[deleted account]

i had a c-section in october. i was induced and labored for 18 hours and never dialated more than 3cm. it wasn't nearly as bad as people told me it would be. once i got my epidural (i didn't have one until we finally decided to have a c section), they prepped me and wheeled me to the o.r. i didn't feel anything, not even the pressure they say you may feel. i didn't really feel doped up, i just felt really tired (which could have been from the meds or from laboring all day, or the fact that it was 3am!). i was fully aware of what was going on, the only thing i don't remember was if she cried when they pulled her out, but obviously everything was fine.



as far as pain afterward and healing, i was back to normal super fast. they waited a little over 24 hours to get me out of bed, but once i stood up, i felt fine. my inscision didn't hurt too much, i had horrible round ligament pain. i was a little sore when i would bend at the waist, but within 48 hours of having her, i could pick her up and walk her to and from the nursery. once i got home, i wore a belly binder for the first few days, but the only pain i was in was from the round ligament, not the c section incision.



the grossest thing about all of it, were the steri strips! after a couple of days, they started to smell and the edges came unstuck. you're supposed to wait until your 6 week appointment to remove them, but i pulled mine off after about 3 weeks.



my scar is minimal, and sometimes the area is a bit numb, but all in all, my experience wasn't horrible. i got a beautiful, healthy baby girl out of the whole thing, so even though i didn't get the birth i wanted, i'm ok with it! just relax and remember the reward at the end!

Tiffany - posted on 01/15/2010

7

42

0

i've had 3 c-sections. one in 05, one in 06 and one this past july. personally i dnt think they're bad. the first i had b/c my daughters head was in my ribcage and stuck, second b/c i couldnt dialate and third had to b/c of 2 previous. they arent as bad as ppl say. i was up within hrs even with my 3rd. some ppl it takes longer to heal completely. just dnt do to much. baby urself a little. personally i think the worst part is when u get air in your shoulders. but they give u pills for tht. you feel nothing but tugging, no pain. dnt be scared hun. youll be fine. its so common now. i wanted labor to but just remember as long as ur babies ok thts all tht matters. good luck and congrates!

Rebecca - posted on 01/15/2010

259

39

22

i had one. i would sooooo have another one if i could. it's a longer recovery time, but you don't have to take the extra time to take care of wee wee stitches. the spinal tap hurts..but that's cause they keep you the night before..and everytime you're about to get some sleep some other nurse comes in and gives you a million papers to sign so you're already irritated. it's like..a little poke..then you gotta try to hurry up and lay down when your legs are going numb..lol..that was the fun part. plus c section babies have perfectly little round heads instead of cone heads. my daughter was breeched. i don't know..i say go for it, chicka. it's much better and way more relaxed to have a schedualed c section than it is to go through vaginal labor. i watched my sister and cousin and husband's co-worker go through it..trust me..not purdy. i'd rather have my surgery scar anyday than to think of a human coming out of me down there.

Kate - posted on 01/15/2010

5

24

0

i had a really long painful labour that ended up needing an emergency c-section because claire was faced the wrong way and just too big..and my doctor said i will definatly be having another with my next child...its really not that scary..the doctors are with you the whole time you are able to see it happening..and the most important thing is claire came out safe and sound..hope that helped??..

Gail - posted on 01/15/2010

51

20

3

i dont have much in the lines of advice but i had a c section less about a month ago and im so glad i did...i have nothing to compare it to i can tell you i was terrified because it was unplanned but i had no issues healing or any of that

Aileen - posted on 01/15/2010

4

8

0

i had one after 30hrs of labor. it wasn't that bad actually. i was able to do things so quickly after that the nurses were surprised. it really depends on your reaction to the meds. but if you do it planned then the docs will have a better idea of how you'll react. don't stress to much it's all about having the baby come out healthy it doesn't matter how you do it. good luck

Sharalyn - posted on 01/15/2010

276

54

20

I planned for a natural birth too however, do to my daughter's size (I was carrying an 8 pounder!), my build (I am small) the doctors believed I need to have a c-section. I opt not to, tried to do the natural birth, my daughter failed to desend and my pelvis was too small so I had to get an emergency c-section. It was disappointing however, I am just glad my daughter is here, healthy and happy!

Arelis - posted on 01/15/2010

11

21

0

Hello,relax!! All will be fine. I have a mis-shaped uterus and have no choice but to have a c-section. I knew I was having that from the moment I became pregnant,but anyway time doesnt make you prepared for that. In the end,it's ok. I didnt feel any pain,all I heard was a cry when the baby was born and thats all. The healing part was tricky for me cause my c-section got infected but once you see that baby,anything is worth it. Good luck,I wish you the best.

Arelis - posted on 01/15/2010

11

21

0

Hello,relax!! All will be fine. I have a mis-shaped uterus and have no choice but to have a c-section. I knew I was having that from the moment I became pregnant,but anyway time doesnt make you prepared for that. In the end,it's ok. I didnt feel any pain,all I heard was a cry when the baby was born and thats all. The healing part was tricky for me cause my c-section got infected but once you see that baby,anything is worth it. Good luck,I wish you the best.

Jacquelyn - posted on 01/15/2010

6

18

0

i wanted 100% to have a natural labor. went into labor at 7 months and had an emergency c-section. i was terrified and cried forever when i heard what was about to happen. but once they gave me meds i was in and out of it for the next few hours. i only remember bits and pieces. but when it was all over, it wasnt a huge deal. yes you are paralyzed for a few hours and yes it is scary but dont be scared. some people take longer to come out of it but you WILL come out of it. The pain sucked, it was sharp quick shootiong pains in the area of the cut anytime you move, but i wasnt unbearable. and yes it does take longer to heal but i would def do it all over again. i plan for my next to be a c-section.

Rebecca - posted on 01/15/2010

243

15

25

im sorry to hear that you may need a c-section.

if i hadnt had an emergancy c-section both my son and i might not be here today.

my sons BP droped so low that it sometimes didnt register on the monitor and my BP shot through the roof.

what im trying to say is that if its the only way to have a healthy mummy and baby then its the right choice

Stephanie - posted on 01/15/2010

5

12

0

I had to healthy children, and 2 beautiful c-sections. Thank god for that:)

Nicole - posted on 01/15/2010

15

5

1

I had a c-section on Oct 189th to a 9lb 11 oz 21 1/4in long baby boy. The surgery wasnt scary at all and I didnt feel the spinal block. I know it feels very scary, but its safer for your baby then risking labor going wrong and having to do a c-section anyways. C-section are best when planned, though Im sure you'll be just fine in an emergency situation. The first day they'll have you try and sit up in your bed. Once you do that, they'll ask you to stand up and once you can do that they take out the cathitor (sorry if its misspelled, my hands are busy elsewhere lol) and you'll be able to walk to go to the bathroom. Once you can take a lap out of the room they'll remove your staples. Every few hours they check your uterous to make sure it's shrinking (just like if you were delivering vaginally) All of this takes 3-4 days. I was in the hospital for 3 days personally. You're well medicated, though there is pain you'll experience when moving, coughing, etc. Recovery honestly isn't that bad. I had to take care of my 10lb child by myself when he was 2 weeks old and I was just fine! You can do it mommy! It's all very worth it in the end. I promise!

Jamie - posted on 01/15/2010

160

5

25

Sorry to hear that. I soo wanted to have an all natural delivery but my first baby was breech and coming down butt first. I also had to have her two weeks early because for some reason my fluid was low. So I was very disappointed ith the delivery but after I had her I forgot all about how she got here. Then with my second I had my heart set on a VBAC, well the doctors wanted her out by her due date. I started going into labor and it just came and went. Well another Csection for me. I was disappointed again but happy to have it over with.



It wasn't the most horrible thing the actual surgery was the most uncomfortable for me. When I think about I can feel all the pressure and pulling. Afterwards isn't bad, Enjoy the few extra days in the hospital.



Hope you get to have your ideal delivery though...and congrats!

Heaven - posted on 01/15/2010

1

9

0

I had a scheduled c section and it was not as bad as i thought it was going to be. in fact i really never had any pain and in a couple of days i was back in my normal routine, just had to be careful about my incision. It actually sounds much worse than it actually is..Good Luck

Erin - posted on 01/15/2010

25

17

1

I found out 2 weeks before I was due that I had to schedule a c-section due to DVT complications. blood thinners and my baby being posterior. I was also terrified and very dissapointed that i couldnt have the baby naturally as planned!

The best thing I coud have done, is I sat down with a freinds who has had 2 caesars and had her talk me through everything, step by step! so I knew exactly what was happening wasnt sitting wondering!

On the day of it went so smoothly, and the whoe experience for me was very positive, I healed very quickly and was up and walking around the next day. I know its not what u want, but I have been told several times that a scheduled c-section is much smoother and easier to recover from than a emergency section. U never know hon, u may be able to try natuarlly with the next one! Good Luck :)

Jessica - posted on 01/15/2010

1

39

0

I had a C-Section and I did not think that it was bad at all. My doctor scheduled me one due to an "inadequate pelvis" He told me my pelvis was way to small to try and push a baby out. I was up walking that same day after the spinal had worn off, and I had no pain at all. My daughter only weighed 5lb 9oz when she was born I did have a pretty speedy recovery. If I decide later on to have another one a C-Section is definitely the way I want t go.

Sherre - posted on 01/15/2010

248

27

41

It's amazing how you find info for free on the web!

Risks for Future Pregnancies
Women who have cesareans suffer from more infertility than women who have vaginal births. This infertility is related directly to the physical effects of the surgery. Women who had c-sections are also less likely to want to become pregnant again.

The risks for ectopic (tubal) pregnancy, placenta previa, placenta accreta, and placental abruption are all higher for women who've had cesarean surgery. These conditions can endanger the life of both mother and baby.

Future babies are more at risk for preterm birth and have an increased risk of stillbirth. It is also possible that they may be at risk for more malformations or more nervous system damage while growing in a scarred uterus.

Katie - posted on 01/15/2010

5

10

0

i agree with valerie not all c- sections are scary , i have had 3 c-cetions and each was different but not bad at all ,My last one was a year ago and it went fast i only had to stay 2 days you get to have some one beside you from your family and have the other doctors and nurse there to you should have the same nurse you have that morring and she will go with you to every time i have been able to remember my births and hear my child cry and they show you the baby and not for sure if all hospitals do this but some let you take pics right when they pull the baby out in till they wheel you out .Also you go to another room so the nurse can make sure you are ok then once your done and passed all the checks they take you to your room and bring your baby to if you want your baby in the room right after and bye then they should of done a hearing test and taken the foot prints to you will be fine i wouldn't have my kids any other way it is so easy i think

good luck

katie

Sherre - posted on 01/15/2010

248

27

41

Risks of Cesarean
One of the best ways to review the benefits of natural vaginal birth is to examine the possible risks of having a c-section.

On the most basic, primal level, c-section can be a violation of your body. It is cutting you open. If the reason is not a valid one or not explained to you, you can feel betrayed and violated. The "what if's" may haunt you and you may feel like a failure as a woman.

With a cesarean rate approaching 30% in the USA, it's troubling to think that so many women are going through surgery that may be unnecessary and emotionally damaging.

A c-section is also physically damaging. It is a major abdominal surgery. All cesareans involve a wound across the abdomen and the uterus. There is also risk of damage to organs around the uterus, including the possibility of nicking the bowel. Babies can also suffer accidental cuts from cesarean operations.

There is a higher risk of blot clots following a c-section than a vaginal birth. Hysterectomy is more common after cesarean. The risk of maternal death is higher.

The risk of uterine infection is much higher after a c-section than it is after a vaginal birth. There is usually a longer hospital stay for the mother, and she is at a higher risk of being re-admitted to the hospital later for complications.

The severity and length of pain after a cesarean is much greater than after a vaginal birth. You may feel more pain during a vaginal birth than you would during a cesarean. But shortly after birth most of that pain will be gone (unless you receive intervention such as episiotomy). Pain from cesarean surgery continues on into the early weeks and for some women, months.

Tiffany - posted on 01/15/2010

15

5

2

I disagree, these days c-sections are 100% successful and there's rarely any complications. Like you have a better chance winning the lottery then having any risks during surgery.

Sherre - posted on 01/15/2010

248

27

41

Also, c-sections are considered a major surgery and come with increased risks. You should def look up any more info about them before considering what you want to do. Unless you have to, you shouldn't.

Sherre - posted on 01/15/2010

248

27

41

I definitely don't won't to scare you but just remember, doctors always scare women out of going through natural labor. One comment recommended "the business of being born." Good documentary. I had the same problem as you but if I had more support from my family, I probably would have went natural. Our bodies are made that way! If I were you, I would try to read as many books as you can, ask family and friends, and get a second or third opinion about it. There are also websites to look at. A lot of people are set in their ways and say either way, they're happy but you may not be and recovery time is a lot more longer.

Good luck to you and I hope you have a healthy baby!

Amanda - posted on 01/15/2010

1

14

0

C-section was horrible for me. I had my last doc appt at 38 weeks and i had gained 10 pounds more from the week b4, very swollen, high bp, protein in my urine, all the signs of preeclampsia. my doc sent me to the hospital for more tests and sure enough the wanted me to stay and have the baby. They started me on petocin, waited a while...NOTHIN!! Didnt dialate at all. So they said c-section. I think my boyfriend was more scared than me... until I actually got into the o.r. I had a really bad time with it i dont know if i wasnt all the way numb but i was in a lot of pain felt them cutting, alot of them jumpin on my stomach. they had to gas me cuz i was in so muh pain. the healing was bad too! I could barely move around with out pain and I was leaking from the incision... which doc told me is normal for big girls. but after eerything i turned out to be ok and so did my son.

Tiffany - posted on 01/15/2010

15

5

2

I personally did not have a c-section, I delivered my baby vaginally. Though if I would of had to deliver her via c-section, I would be okay with it. My friend recently had her baby via c-section. She said she was scared before going into the operating room, even cried before hand. Once when it was all over with she said that she would go through the entire experience again. Said it didn't hurt because she was given pain medication through her epidural. Said all she could feel was pressure. She also said that by the third day after having her baby girl she was feeling almost 100% normal. She also said the whole surgery took only about 20mins. You're so focused on meeting your baby which makes the time fly by super fast. Don't be afraid, I wish you luck! You can do it!! :)

Frances - posted on 01/15/2010

48

20

4

I had the same problem.. i wanted to experience labor and having my first child natural but my I had to hace a section bc my son was breached..I was so depressed when i heard the news about the section.. i eventually got comfortable with the fact that i was not going to experience labor bc i got to know exactly when my baby boy would be here.. the worst part for me was the epidural.. it did not hurt i was just scared to get it.. i hated having no control over the lower part of my body. other than that the surgery went well and i have no complaints... It isnt really painful after either.. you have some soreness but once you are able to get up and walk around it gets better!!! I wish you the best of luck... if you have any questions send me a message.. everything is still fresh to me. .i just had my section 4 weeks ago!!

Andrea - posted on 01/15/2010

17

15

0

Relax, My c-section was fine. I healed nicely after, my daughter didn't come out with a cone head, I didn't have to feel the pains of labor, it was over in an hour, those are just some of the things that I can think of on the plus side!

You'll do great!

Jessica - posted on 01/15/2010

3

2

1

I was forced with my first son to have a c-section too. I was in labor and found out he was still breach so they wouldn't let me deliver naturally with it being my first baby.I was really scared too. It was not bad at all. You don't feel a thing and the recovery is really fast. I had my second son naturally and the recovery I thought was easier with the c-section. Don't be scared everthing will turn out great. When it is all said and done all that matters is your precious little one! You won't even remember how you feel now!

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms