What is your opinion? Would you buy one?

Richelle - posted on 08/07/2009 ( 143 moms have responded )

105

35

3

Breast-feeding baby doll

If you have visited the baby doll section of a toy store, you know about the miniature strollers, bassinets, and changing tables designed for kids to simulate motherhood. You saw the baby dolls that pee, poop, and burp, and noticed that most of these come packaged with small bottles. Children love this stuff. They love to push their dolls in mini strollers alongside their moms pushing a new baby. They love to stick tiny toy bottles into tiny plastic baby mouths.



Now, Spanish toy manufacturer, Berjuan, has introduced Bebe Gloton , purportedly the first-ever breast-feeding doll, for children to enjoy (and for toy stores to display next to the bottle-feeding babies). Translated Baby Glutton, it comes with a snazzy halter top for the doll's owner to wear. The top is adorned with two daisies, strategically designed to fall over the nipples. "When the doll is lifted near the flowers it makes sucking sounds," according to ParentDish . Voila! You're nursing! (Watch the demo video below.)

Bebe Gloton is meant to impress upon kids that nursing is natural, and it certainly challenges the generations of dolls who have been packaged with miniature baby bottles. Parents who are seriously disgruntled by the toy industry's "pro-bottle stance" might see this new doll as a boon, but others might find it entirely unnecessary. After all, children often "nurse" dolls that weren't specially designed to do so (I know my daughter did).





Read more: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/blogs/sfmo...











I dont think I like it too much, next thing you know you'll find your 6 year old in her room with her younger brother or sister tryin to breast feed them! I used to play house as a kid, we had mom, dad and kids or babies what happens when they play house? I dont think I like it, its too much

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Cortnie - posted on 08/11/2009

94

12

20

Quoting Nicole:

I like it. It is a great way to break out of the formula culture. It is never too early to educate kids that breastfeeding is the norm.



I don't mean to attack you in any way, please don't be upset with me, but, yes.... there is a certain point that it IS too early to teach children about breastfeeding. I am pro-breast feeding (I breast fed my baby) but it is not ok for a 5 year old to run around with no shirt on simulating breasfeeding. Yes, breast feeding is natural, but it is NOT natural for a 3 year old to breast feed. No, BF is not sexual, but for a second lets step out side the box, would you teach your 3 year old about sex? No you would not, if you said "yes I would", go find a 3 year old and try and explaining sex, babies, and BF to them (because that is the order it goes in, you have to have a baby to BF and you have to have sex to have a baby).... They won't understand and you will not feel comfortable explaining it to them.

Desiree - posted on 08/12/2009

14

34

1

That is kinda just sick and wrong I have two daughters and that doll isn't cute it is just plain scary yikes! I wouldn't buy it for my girls they are 3 and 8 no way I am totally for Breastfeeding but that is a little too grown up for a child!

Cortnie - posted on 08/11/2009

94

12

20

There is NO way I would buy that doll. I dare some one to explain breast feeding to a 2-4 year old child... they would go to pre-school and be suspended because they tried to take off thier shirt and try to show all the other kids they learned how to breast feed! I am all for breast feeding.... But lets let MOMMIES do the breastfeeding, not our 3 year old daughters. They have sex-ed in high school and that is the perfect age for young women to learn about this, NOT at 2-4 years old.

[deleted account]

I think it's creepy-but then again, I also think that dolls that poop and pee are creepy, too. If a child has enough imagination to play like that then that's fine with me, but I find a toy that actually does those things just a bit too much. That's just me, though.

Amanda - posted on 08/09/2009

1

1

0

whether your child plays with dolls that come with bottles or that come with bras to simulate breastfeeding have NOTHING to do with how they will feed their children twenty years down the road! i only had dolls that had bottles yet breastfed my youngest, (oldest wouldn't latch on). i do not feel that my five year old needs to walk around with a bra pretending to bf a babydoll, if she wants to fine but she doesn't need a bra with flowers on it to do so. i think its a personal decision i would make to not buy her one but think any parent has the right to buy one for their daughter if it doesn't bother them

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

143 Comments

View replies by

Amy - posted on 08/14/2009

97

29

6

i think its crazy...... and i would NEVER buy it for my daughter who just turned 2....EVER...

Jennifer - posted on 08/14/2009

8

16

0

Well Even though I agree with breast feeding I def. Dont agree with that kinda doll I know most baby dolls eat poop and pee Btu I think that one is a bit over the edge... But Its your purchase but if it was me I wouldnt buy it!!

Anna - posted on 08/14/2009

1

16

0

I definitely agree that toys are getting to be too realistic. My kids got "Elmo Live" and "Kung Fu Panda" for Christmas this year, and I was thoroughly disappointed with how little they are able to interact with these toys. Just push a button and they do a dance or tell a story so that your kids can sit a little longer on the couch and watch without using their own creativity or imagination. Now we have to have a doll that makes the sucking noise to teach girls about breastfeeding? I'm very open with my twin three-year-olds about the fact that I nurse their 3-month-old baby sister. Sometimes my son brings me the parts to the pump I used for a few weeks postpartum and tells me to make milk for Lydia. If they're going to imitate nursing, let them do it with their own imaginations--my mom has pictures of me nursing my baby dolls whose only "feature" was the fact that their eyes opened and closed depending on their position. Once upon a time, children didn't need their toys to tell them how to play or do the playing for them. We should encourage our children to use their imaginations and creativity when they play, and I believe this toy leaves NOTHING to the imagination. So no, I would not buy it. It's not about supporting breastfeeding, but more about being explicit, and our children have enough of that nowadays anyway.

Heather - posted on 08/14/2009

5

7

0

I think it is a little out of line.... Pretending and acting like mom is ok, but walking around with flowers over a child nipples, and the sucking sound. That is a little too much!! Encouraging pretend is great, but I think I will stick to the bottle fed baby dolls. My daughter was breast fed and bottle fed, so I am not against breast feeding, I think it is the best for mom and baby, but the doll is out of the question for my daughter.

Kaye - posted on 08/14/2009

11

20

1

I personally think it's great! Kids need to see what is really "normal", and I think if children grow up playing house and being a "mommy", then as they get older breastfeeding will be normal to them, and not something that is foreign.

Stacey - posted on 08/14/2009

4

42

0

Well I have 2 boys and when my youngest was born we bought my eldest (then 20 months old) a baby doll of his own so he could look after his doll while I was with the baby feeding changing nappies etc. It was great because it gave my eldest something to do while I was occupied with my little one and also gave him an understanding of what I was doing. My eldest used to sit up on the lounge beside me while I was BF and he would also pretend to BF. I never thought there was anything wrong with this, he was an innocent little boy who was observing how his mother was caring for her baby and I think it is great that he to displayed a caring nature, even if it was towards his doll! In saying this the breast feeding doll is a little creepy and I probably wouldn't buy it.

Jenny - posted on 08/13/2009

88

27

10

I dont think that I would buy that doll for my daughter, I wouldnt want her to think that it was a good thing to go around trying to breast feed people. Wow children toys are gettin a little ridiculous

Emma - posted on 08/13/2009

37

21

1

I think they are going to far with kids toys, I have nothing against breastfeeding as I am a new mum breastfeeding my 11 week old daughter so at this stage it isn't a problem but I think have a baby that makes suckling noises when it's near a flower for a nipple is just getting ridiculous.



Children will imitate adults no matter what they're doing breastfeeding included or they will just do it themselves through imaigination so why can't manufactures leave it at that, I understand that they're trying to introduce it and teach our kids but at the age where little girls are playing with dolls I think we should allow them to be children and not try and make them grow up too fast.



I wouldn't buy one sad to say but I understand what they're trying ti do with it.

Crystal - posted on 08/13/2009

2

23

0

hmm im not sure this is a good idea. i know its all natural and there is nothing wrong with doing it. but these toy companys take things to the next level and im not sure its a right level.

Kelly - posted on 08/13/2009

1

12

0

I don't like the idea at all. If a child wants to mimic what they see their mother do that's one thing, but to have a doll special for breast feeding that is ridiculous.

Alisha - posted on 08/13/2009

10

14

1

I would never buy this for my kid. That is just to realistic. They are just kids and do not understand the difference between what is in a bottle vs the breast. Whatever happened to the simple toys that we use to play with when we were younger?

Mary - posted on 08/13/2009

4

1

0

As the mother of 4 little girls, I think this is going a little too far. My girls love playing with dolls and have watched me nurse all their sisters. They "feed" their babies by holding them in the nursing position 'cause that's what they've always seen. They often even use a blanket over their shoulder to cover up. They don't use play bottles to feed. But I wouldn't buy them a doll that makes sucking sounds when put in a breast position. Kids have enough imagination of their own. Let them use it!

Mary - posted on 08/13/2009

4

1

0

As the mother of 4 little girls, I think this is going a little too far. My girls love playing with dolls and have watched me nurse all their sisters. They "feed" their babies by holding them in the nursing position 'cause that's what they've always seen. They often even use a blanket over their shoulder to cover up. They don't use play bottles to feed. But I wouldn't buy them a doll that makes sucking sounds when put in a breast position. Kids have enough imagination of their own. Let them use it!

Sheila - posted on 08/13/2009

44

15

0

I just want to say that children are born with boobs, and baby's can lactate on their own, for some infants they get engorged hard pebble like spots behind their nipples. Now I am not saying that they can breast feed, however, children from minute one outside the womb can do most of what a grown woman or man can do. The ONE exception to the rule is that baby girls can not get pregnant until they have a menstral cycle obviously. The idea is to encourage NATURAL human behavior. Children imitate everything adults do, from what they say to how they behave, and career choice. And uh, children don't need to play house or doctor for them to get to the "sex" issue, there are more games then that that lead to improper play. That said, I think it is a wonderful idea to encourage breast feeding when a girl is young, after all, they are already imitating "mommy" by carrying a baby doll around, also, we raise our children from the beginning to have children otherwise babydolls wouldn't exist. So why not add reality.

Brenda - posted on 08/13/2009

2,386

62

250

I hadn't read the response and OMG, Everyone has the same sex hang ups. How many times do we have to figure this out, SEX is an adult thing. Its not inappropriate. If it is inappropriate, so is bottle feeding. Bottles have a NIPPLE. *gasp*



I won't buy one. I think my two boys would probably get made fun of for wearing it and having a baby doll. If I had a girl, I'd buy one in an instant just to make a point.



Breastfeeding is natural, people. I can give my child a bottle in the open, I should be able to nurse in the open. It is about FOOD, not SEX. Anyone who sees it otherwise needs to rethink the way they see the female body because they have an oversexualized vision of it.

Brenda - posted on 08/13/2009

2,386

62

250

Well, it is the technology age. While maybe the design and name behind it could use some work, I'm glad to see the toy market acknowledging that there is more than one way to feed a baby and it is healthy. (Personally I don't like the name of the doll, Bebe Gloton means Glutton).



We have dolls that eat, cry, pee, suck a bottle, why not nurse? Children should be taught that breasts are something that are first and foremost used to feed an infant. Children have no concept of sex, and the hangup we have on breasts is completely related to sex. So what if they play house and try breastfeeding? How many five and six year olds play "Doctor" and "You show me your's I'll show you mine"? Children don't see it as we do. And personally, that's an adult problem, not a child problem. Parents freak out about their kids showing their privates to another kid, when instead they should take it as a teaching opportunity, just like this doll. Bottle feeding in essence is the unnatural way to feed an infant (I'm not saying anything against bottle feeding, I bottle fed my first child) and breastfeeding is the natural way that women have fed infants forever.



Personally, I really think it is rather sick that adults try to push the idea that children can understand adults and our sexual ideas. Sex is an adult idea, and adults need to understand that children do not think of things the same way.

Topaz - posted on 08/13/2009

109

24

13

I cannot believe how this subject always seems to come up.. breastfeeding or bottlefeeding... i believe whichever way you choose to feed your baby is the RIGHT way for you and your baby.. I am a breastfeeding mother who is now going to bottle feeding (only because my baby will not take the breast anymore, and it saddens me) I DO NOT believe breastfeeding mothers should hide themselves when they are in public to simple feed their child... I used a small blanket- that is sufficient enough! I shouldnt have to go sit in a bathroom stall to feed my child... What if US breastfeeding mothers came out and said, "bottle feeding offends me, you need to go cover up not do it in public" would YOU go sit in a bathroom stall if you were simply allowing your child to eat?! no! So as this debate continues i leave each and every one of you with this: however YOU choose to FEED your child is the right way.... BUT don't tell someone to stop feeding their child in public if they choose to do so, breastfeeding or not.......



I really wish this whole debate would stop.. its been going on too long.....

Topaz - posted on 08/13/2009

109

24

13

I cannot believe how this subject always seems to come up.. breastfeeding or bottlefeeding... i believe whichever way you choose to feed your baby is the RIGHT way for you and your baby.. I am a breastfeeding mother who is now going to bottle feeding (only because my baby will not take the breast anymore, and it saddens me) I DO NOT believe breastfeeding mothers should hide themselves when they are in public to simple feed their child... I used a small blanket- that is sufficient enough! I shouldnt have to go sit in a bathroom stall to feed my child... What if US breastfeeding mothers came out and said, "bottle feeding offends me, you need to go cover up not do it in public" would YOU go sit in a bathroom stall if you were simply allowing your child to eat?! no! So as this debate continues i leave each and every one of you with this: however YOU choose to FEED your child is the right way.... BUT don't tell someone to stop feeding their child in public if they choose to do so, breastfeeding or not.......



I really wish this whole debate would stop.. its been going on too long.....

Isa - posted on 08/13/2009

26

25

1

I have sat here and read ALL the posts and I'm getting annoyed at the assumptions some people are making. Who says that toy companies are slamming breastfeeding? It is easier to make a lil bottle, wouldn't you agree? Even mom's that bf pump and put the milk into bottles, don't they? ANYWAY, I would not buy this doll because I think it is a waste of money. If I had a daughter and she wanted to pretend bf her doll, I'd let her. I wouldn't go out and actually spend money on a special doll that comes with a silly little bra. Heck, I would put little stickers on her shirt so she could play. This seems like the kind of doll that doesn't really appeal to all girls, maybe just the big sisters. Kids are curious, and it's up to each Mom to assess their kids level of maturity. Some kids will take and understand a simple explanation and some won't.

At least the doll doesn't come with realistic looking breasts. Now that would be weird!! Then we'd get into the issue of size and pressure from society and all that.

Topaz - posted on 08/13/2009

109

24

13

Quoting christina:



Quoting Lynsey:

I very much dislike this idea. Awful. I don't like seeing women breastfeeding their babies in public and now little girls r gonna be doing it. Bad, Bad idea. No point for it.. What's next changing grandpa's diapers doll ,yuck!!





whats wrong with breast feeding in public? do you bottle feed in public? its the same thing, you are feeding a baby. whats the big deal?





Lynsey--- whats wrong with FEEDING your child in public?! Why should us mothers who breastfeed go sit in a bathroom stall to FEED our children? do you or your childen eat in a bathroom stall? i didnt think so....

--- - posted on 08/13/2009

369

2

15

Quoting Lynsey:

I very much dislike this idea. Awful. I don't like seeing women breastfeeding their babies in public and now little girls r gonna be doing it. Bad, Bad idea. No point for it.. What's next changing grandpa's diapers doll ,yuck!!


whats wrong with breast feeding in public? do you bottle feed in public? its the same thing, you are feeding a baby. whats the big deal?

Shannon - posted on 08/13/2009

35

12

0

I personally wouldn't buy it. Seems kind of disturbing. When the child becomes an adult and starts having babies then they can breast feed, but until then let them be kids. All of these toy inventions are making our kids want to be older and they try and do everything they see adults doing. It's something they should learn when they become actual mothers.

Lynsey - posted on 08/13/2009

15

21

0

I very much dislike this idea. Awful. I don't like seeing women breastfeeding their babies in public and now little girls r gonna be doing it. Bad, Bad idea. No point for it.. What's next changing grandpa's diapers doll ,yuck!!

[deleted account]

I think some are going a bit overboard. It's each to his own. I wouldn't buy it... but thats because my daughter has an almost unnatural affinity for boobs any way... i would to make it worse

Brandy - posted on 08/13/2009

1

8

0

I wouldn't let my daughter have one. Girls can start to develop and stop playing with dolls around the age of twelve. Teaching her to use a part of her anatomy that hasn't developed could be confusing and lead to too much curiosity. This is obviously not an age appropriate toy.

Stephanie - posted on 08/13/2009

13

12

0

My daughter knows what breastfeeding is and why people do it. She also knows that i breastfed both her and her brother. Even with her knowing about breastfeeding there is no way i would ever buy her that doll. She will have fun with her bottle fed dolls.

Kelly - posted on 08/13/2009

24

8

3

A breast feeding baby doll is quite the concept for sure! I'm all for breast feeding and I think it's wonderful if a MOTHER can breastfeed her child. I think it's a little too much that a doll manufacturer would produce this type of product. I think baby dolls and bottle feeding and diaper changing..ok that's great little girls and sometimes little boys love that stuff but breast feeding? In my mind, breast feeding is an adult/parent responsibility and I don't think that it's right that a 2-3-4 year olds or older should be participating in something like that. It's a little too mature for them ...that's what I think.

Christina - posted on 08/13/2009

9

16

0

I know i am going to get ripped to shreads for this but here we go....... I would NOT buy this doll. I have a little boy and preg with my second. Everytime I went to the doc for my son I was asked if I was going to breastfeed. When I said no they said why are you going to put poison in your baby....Last time I checked it was my decision to breastfeed or not. Formula is Not poison. Just cause you use a bottle doesnt make you lessof a parent. I am not going to breast feed this baby either. WHo gives you the right to deem one person better for no following what you think is right. If this is a girl she WILL NOT be getting this doll. Not because Im against breast feeding..... but because I think its too adult for children. There are a tun of dolls and other little girl and boy items tht are not age appropate for them. It all depends on whtat you want to teach your children. if you like it... buy it .... if you dont...leave it on the shelf.

Rocelle - posted on 08/13/2009

14

5

1

Personally I breast feed both my children and loved the experience. But, getting a doll that BFs and having kids pretend to do it I think personally would confuse some children on appropiate behavior or conversation. I work with children for a living and find sometimes over exposer to words and topics isnt always the best thing. This toy I wouldnt buy it cause I dont personally think it would be something a child would understand correctly. They have those dolls in high school that kids take home and take care of. I took the class in high school and choose to use a breastfeeding tag as my baby's feeding thing. It just became something me and my friends made fun of and laughed about. NOW if high school kids couldnt handle that correctly I have high doubts that a small child would grasp the reasoning behind it and I do agree with others that it would confuse and become something it really wasnt meant for. SO no I wouldnt buy this toy. I also would like to take the time to say that I agree whole heartly that breast were for feeding children, not for sexual prefernce. But they are most of the time and because that is the world our children see that and is what they protray. I also think it is just better to let children to play what the see and use there imagtion to do it. SO if they see mommy BF then they decide to play like that with their babies at least they are choosing to do it naturally and not to a flower shaped bra!

Tonya - posted on 08/13/2009

135

72

9

My daughers will NOT have one. I have nursed all 4 of my children and plan to nurse the baby I'm carrying now. I find it dispicable that the Marketing industry is depriving our children of their innocence. My oldest daughter (2) has been seen trying to nurse my infant daughter (5 months) and she has tried to nurse her baby dolls. Why would we allow our children to wear some type of halter top shirt where the baby makes sucking noises when placed at the "nipples"? They are children. They will want to carry that baby doll around and care for it just like they see momma do. What kind of perverts are going to be watching our innocent lil angels do this? They are children!!!!! Allow them to be children. The worry's of carring for a family, bills, and life should come later. let them play. nothing wrong with a baby bottle. I've nursed and bottle fed and all 4 are healthy. When are we going to take a stand against such provacative child marketing? We wonder why so many children are being molested, kidnapped etc? Umm....Hello!!! Children are being treated and dressed like lil adults instead of the children they are.

Shauna - posted on 08/12/2009

74

22

4

it doesn't personally bother me. Kids will be kids, and they'll be doing stuff they see and hear regardless of where it's from. I saw someone say little girls shouldn't be acting like grown women, and whether or not you agree wtih that is fine with me, but little girls like to act and do things there mothers do.. for instance wear make up and fancy clothes and highheels. whats the difference?

Ashley - posted on 08/12/2009

10

43

0

I would absolutely not buy one of these for my daughters! I think it is very inappropriate. Its fine for children to role play and pretend but that is crazy.

[deleted account]

I love it! It is a totally cute doll, mimicking what women have been doing since the first baby was born. I breastfed my son, and when my niece saw me doing it, she looked so confused. We explained that my breast was like a "ba ba" and the baby needed to get food. Later, when the baby cried, she eagerly volunteered, "I'll feed him!!" We all laughed, and explained it to her that only mothers can do it, but she is avidly curious about it. The doll is cute, but toddlers and preschoolers can play, "mommy" without doing any harm, and I don't think it is at all inappropriate.



I saw that someone compared it to teaching kids about sex because it is natural, too. But breastfeeding isn't in any way sexual. You want to turn a man off in a heartbeat? Breastfeed your child in front of him. Then see if he's in the mood to "play."

Amy - posted on 08/12/2009

11

12

0

Quoting Danielle:

I wouldn't buy it.
I think my little boy would get teased wearing a daisy bra.
:(
p.s) While the concept is trying to instill a positive outlook on breast-feeding, I feel that
for younger children it may not send the message home. Bottle feeding isn't the
root of all evil, and lets face it, as we get older, we have the cognitive capacity to
learn the benefits of breast-feeding. Our generations grew up not having breast-
feeding bundles of joy,yet we can still educate ourself at an appropriate age to fully
understand and make an educated decision on breast-feeding.


Thank you for having a sane outlook on this thing (you and several others before you).  I read the first few posts and was very concerned!  Obviously, not having a doll that simulated breast-feeding when we were little girls did not keep us from ever learning about breast-feeding.  Of course they might try to imitate mommy at some point, but having a doll that makes sucking noises and motions is totally unneccessary (and inaccurate if their goal is to have a life-like doll).  It's just silly-- let them use their imagination!  

Amanda - posted on 08/12/2009

9

12

0

I am 100% for breastfeeding however, i believe that this is inappropriate for young girls and will just encourage them to have children sooner. Let little girls be little girls stop forcing them to grow up stop giving them too much information

Ri - posted on 08/12/2009

21

8

1

I say who firiggin cares my 3 yr old son watched me breastfeed his little sister and he went and got his baby and tried to breastfeed it.....As far as what you are going to find your kids doing or not doing a doll, a show, a womanin public, a book even can show them the same thing if they want to mimic it they will no matter where they see it! Remember that theses days you have to explain ALL boundries with them....It didn;t take a doll for my 3yr old son and 3 yr old neice to be "courious" about eachother

Tiffany - posted on 08/12/2009

3

15

0

No this is just wrong, I do not want my child walking around as a 3 or 5 year old talking about that at school and to other little kids.. I can see it now, Ms Joyce your going to have to come pick up little douggie he is trying to get someone to breast feed from him bahahaha..

Kelly - posted on 08/12/2009

48

12

1

no way!! its so ridiculous!! We all grew up on bottle feeding dolls and it never made a difference when we all choose to bottle feed or breast feed. so for those who say that are crazy! these are little girls they shouldnt be acting like grown women.

Natalie - posted on 08/12/2009

6

21

1

well definatelly a no for me even tho i have a son n e wouldnt do this, but i see many young girls carrying there dolls around shopping centres, perverts n all that bad enough there out there really giving them more to look when your child wants to lift her top to feed this baby.

With everyone sayin breast is best sorry my son was very ill on breast milk n was off it in 3 days as told to by doctor. It made him very poorly n was curdling in his tummy making him violently sick.

Jennifer - posted on 08/12/2009

4

7

0

I wouldn't buy this for my children, even though all of my children were breastfed babies as well as my husband and I, just the same as I was APPALLED when I took my kids to spend their birthday money in July at toys R Us and found an anatomically correct baby boy with a hole in the packaging in order of parents to "verify" the correctness!!!!! Feel free to call me old fashioned, but that crosses the line with me.

Heidi - posted on 08/12/2009

13

15

0

I don't have a problem with it, but it seems unnecessary. I would prefer to see a child use his or her imagination when it comes to dramatic role play. Children use role play to make sense of their world and will naturally imitate the familiar models they see in their daily lives. I have often seen little girls pretend to nurse babies when the have a baby sibling in the home. Just provide the basic props...baby dolls, blankets etc. and let the child play! No need for the special features, sound effects etc. That just puts limits on the child's own creativity. As a general rule, I would avoid anything that needs batteries.

Gillian - posted on 08/12/2009

23

45

1

the above under my name is MY opinion, wether it is shared by others or not.

I did bottle feed too(if you read my full post you would see that) and which

people

look down on those who bottle feed??? I also never said it was 'socialy un-accepted' either....

why someone would give a dirty look to anyone who bottle nourishes baby is a mystery to me, so dont think just because I breast fed my babies before I bottlefed them, and I think it is best for me and my baby, that my opinion has to be the same as everyone elses.

I have not, and will not, critisize openly in front of any parents decision unless it is obvious abuse. I dont give a crap who feeds their baby what, I know I am doing my best with what I know and my kids are healthy and happy and to me thats all that matters.



The question at the top of the page asked us to give our opinions and asked us wether we would buy one, not to jump at each others throats!!!

Samantha - posted on 08/12/2009

9

15

0

I understand the concept of the doll but I don't think that I'd get it. I plan on breastfeeding but I don't think I'd want to watch my daughter act like she was. I don't have any kids yet, only one on the way (30 weeks) and maybe it would change when I had her but right now, I wouldn't want her to have it but at the same time I wouldn't look down on anyone to did have it. I'm quite indifferent towards it. I guess there could be a lot of worse things.

I don't believe that if you buy a doll that bottle feeds that you're corrupting the females to bottle feed. I remember playing with a bottle feed doll as a young child and I'm planning on breastfeeding. It all depends on the woman and what she wants to do. Some babies don't take to breastfeeding(my mom tried with me and I didn't) some babies do but they react better with formula. Some women feel that it may be too much of a sexual thing and doesn't want to associate that with her child. But either way, it's the woman's choice with whatever she feels comfortable with and she shouldn't be shunned for either decision. People who criticize the others choice are merely ignorant and should be ignored. To each his own!

Cortnie - posted on 08/12/2009

94

12

20

Quoting Gillian:

PS. I breastfed all my 5 children, and went to bottle when my supply could not meet their needs(3mths - 9mths), and understand some people cant beastfeed for their personal reasons, but some people just dont even try because of fear and thats all I'm trying to convey.


I am pro-BF ( I BF my baby)... But I am also pro women's rights... and if women don't want to BF that is thier God given right. EVERYONE knows how healthy it is to BF and honestly it has become more socially exceptable to BF then to bottle feed because most people look down on women who bottle feed. So many women are trying to say that BF has become more socailly un-excepted, BS! Just look around... they have special, comfortable seeting places for BF moms at Mall, Fairs, Parks, even my church has a huge room with comfy chairs, where you can dim the lights, watch the serve and tend to your baby needs in peace and quite. And I have NEVER seen a women who is BF in public been told to cover up, but I have seen women give other women who are bottle feeding dirty looks and walk away and snicker about what a terrible mother she is because she bottle feeds. I'm sorry for my tangent, but this angerd me alot.

Gillian - posted on 08/12/2009

23

45

1

PS. I breastfed all my 5 children, and went to bottle when my supply could not meet their needs(3mths - 9mths), and understand some people cant beastfeed for their personal reasons, but some people just dont even try because of fear and thats all I'm trying to convey.

Gillian - posted on 08/12/2009

23

45

1

I believe it is a good doll. I would buy one for my 4yr old, even though she does have her own great imagination, nursing is a part of life and all these bottle dolls have encouraged alot of young mothers to be afraid of trying what is natural, and going straight to a bottle. We are slowly transforming kids minds that only bottles are accepted.

Alot of people are afraid of nursing for the simple fact that the population has been looking at breasts as a sexual body part instead of a healthy food for your baby. I would not care if my daughter tried to nurse in public with a doll. It would teach her to do what makes her happy instead of worrying about what everyone else thinks. It is a healthy part of life to mimic adults, so why only alow kids to mimic parents who bottle feed???

KUDOS to the creator of this doll, obviously they are in tune with the transformation of society and want to bring in what was once natural to everyone.

If you see this, leave this form field blank.
Powered by RESPECT not THUMPS

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms