The Mini Mes And Me

Family fun from a working mum.
Days out, crafts, recipes, reviews.

Emma Louise is a winner of Top 25 European Moms - 2013

In what ways is your home town unique from other places you've lived or traveled?

Where I currently live, quite a small town, there is a just enough to keep us entertained as a family with a few shops, leisure centre and skate park. I'd always lived in larger towns/cities within the UK with amazing retail parks and plenty to see and do and although these are still within easy reach I actually prefer the more rural setting of where we live now. It doesn't take long by car or train to reach theme parks, museums, theatres etc and I feel that my children benefit from a smaller community and better outdoor spaces to play and explore.

What do your kids love most about living in the European Union?

They are probably still a little too young to understand the benefits of living within the EU. As a parent I know in time they will appreciate the fact that EU citizens can enjoy equal opportunities and live where discrimination isn't tolerated, the fact that products are regulated to a certain standard/quality for their own health and safety and that the EU promotes research into science and technology and into ways to protect the environment.

What outdoor activity do you enjoy doing most with your kids?

We are definitely a fun-loving family and we all like to get involved with outdoor activities. Our favourites include visiting the local woods and forests with our Discovery Pass for walks, cycling and exploration. The Forestry Commission have great hands on experiences to enjoy with tree top adventures and trails and not only does being outdoors benefit your health it's a great way to educate children about taking care of the world around them while having fun.
We have recently started geocaching and we are often found out and about on scooters. When the weather is more pleasant we go camping and have lots of picnics and BBQ's, water fights and play sports - our dog Spartan likes to join us too. The Mr and I like paintballing (despite the bruises!) and hopefully the children will come along too when they are old enough! Days out at Conkers and BeWILDerwood are great too and we all get involved with climbing, sliding and zip wire play.