Have an opinion?

Jeannette - posted on 11/12/2011 ( 12 moms have responded )

911

3

78

"This is kind of a spin off on the Duggar thread. I watched their Q & A episode today where they were asked why having so many kids was ok when the world was already overpopulated. Both Jim Bob and Michelle replied that overpopulation is a myth. Jim Bob also went on to say that the world's entire population cuold fit in Jacksonville (Florida, I believe is what he said). Maybe I've been under a rock, but I've never heard this argument before. A quick google search pulled up many sites that say we're not overpopulated, but we are over-consuming. Do you believe the world is overpopulated? Or do we need to change our lifestyles?" Started by Sara D. in another community.
I wanted to ask this question since it is coming up so much in the Dugger thread.
What do you all THINK (just in case no one has a fact book for what they believe)? If you have based your thoughts on 'facts', would you share those facts?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Lady Heather - posted on 11/12/2011

2,448

17

91

Definitely overconsumed. My biggest concern for future generations is definitely food production. You can't keep building housing developments on agricultural land and hope everything turns out okay in the long run. I think certainly the more densely populated parts of the earth should tend more towards building up rather than out, but it seems a lot of people (at least in this part of the world) want that stupid big house with way too much room for the four people that live in it.

Where I live is not overpopulated at all. Other places in the world the people are packed like sardines. I am of the opinion that population redistribution would be a good idea for those into large families (adopt from the sardine places).

12 Comments

View replies by

Brittany - posted on 11/20/2011

531

9

14

I would not say over-population is a myth, I do not think that is the right work to use and perhaps he did not mean to say that word. There are Seven billion people (+) in the world.

I think over-consuming is more of the issue at hand. We are consumers but, we consume so much. Humans are materialist beings. We have to have stuff, especially in America. The more stuff someone has the higher on the food chian they are. That is society. That also come straight from my Anthropology class.

Many do not realize how easy it is to self-produce. I live in an apartment and I grow my own foods. I rarely use my dryer becuase, I hang my clothes outside. It takes me less time to hang my clothes outside then it does to take them out of the washer, put them in the dryer, check the lint trap and start the dryer. I do use the dryer for undies, towels and on rainy days but, other then that they are outside. We purchased a portable clothes hanger from Lowes for $50.00, for the last two months my electric bill has been less then $170.00.

I make my own laundry soap and it costs me about $0.01 a load. I use vinegar as a fabric softener and it works wonders on stains also.

Many things we buy are bulit to last for 2 to 5 years, we toss it and buy a new one. Let's take the iPhone for example. How many of us know someone who has had every single iPhone? For what purpose? I have a $15.00 cell phone from AT&T that I pay $50 a month for and it makes phone calls just as good as an iPhone. I had an Android for two years, while I loved it I did not love the bill.

I prefer to live a simple, self-sustainable life.

Christy - posted on 11/20/2011

2,218

41

438

The Duggars have every right in the world to have more kids. As many as they want. HOWEVER......I feel like they exploit all their children on the show and are able to have more and more since they are getting paid for doing the show. I really don't know what to think about all this, to each their own I guess. It also seems all the older children are raising the younger ones.

Jeannette - posted on 11/14/2011

911

3

78

I agree with much of the sentiments. I think we are over consuming and that is the bigger issue at hand.
Having lived in rural areas, hill country of Texas, and living in larger cities, I can understand the difference for people. Instead of people having a place in the city and the country, maybe they could visit the country without having another home built.
My DH grew up in a more rural area that has been taken over by ever increasing subdivisions. It looks as if you are in the heart of a Beaumont or Ft Worth neighborhood. In my mind, it shouldn't.
When we went to New York, it was crowded, dirty, and bleak looking, save for central park. I loved the city and cannot wait to go back, but for me to agree to live in cramped conditions, staring at a lot of gray outside, it had better be pretty cheap. However, that is not the case.
Even looking into high rise apts in Dallas and Houston puts us above our current mtg double or more-for much less space.
Also, we are the consumers too! We use reusable hopping bags, but buy throw away electronics. Even the cell phones we donate end up in a garbage pile at some point. I also don't understand the constant turning over of everything non perishable in stores. From bath towels to car mats, things get turned over for he latest fad and where does all the old go anyway?
Another pet peeve...having buildings that are beyond repair taking up valuable and usable space. This is true for the city as well as the country.

Nikki - posted on 11/13/2011

401

37

35

I would have to say it is overonsumption not overpopulation. If we were more conscious of our actions and what we are using per person, everyone's "carbon footprints" would decrease

Amanda - posted on 11/13/2011

2,559

3

366

Just watch extreme couponing will show you that over consuming is a major issue with "over population". If we stopped consuming so much maybe there would be more reasources for others.



The general public has a need to live in detached housing, when skyscrapers are actually much better for our world. In buildings we can house more people on much less land. Land that can be used for other things like natural resources.

Stifler's - posted on 11/12/2011

15,141

154

604

It's because of our "needs" for aircon all day, v8s, massive tvs... IMHO.

Sal - posted on 11/12/2011

1,816

16

34

I am a little unsure about it.... While I don't think the odd family having 20 kids is a major problem I do think that Jim and Michelle calling it a myth is naieve and just suits theIr purpose.. What I do think is a Problem is that the populations of the world are concentrating in large cities where every single morsel of food they need has to be grown else where and transported else where and the rural communities that produce the food are dying because of lack of opportunity for employment further education lack of services making people move to the cities and again add to the over population we have a large house block and while we go no where near producing all our own food we do get eggs salads milk occasionally from a friend some meat we grow and almost every family here does the same we are only one little town and while there are many little communities that do the same we dont even come close to matching the numbers in the cities who can't produce one item for them selves

Jeannette - posted on 11/12/2011

911

3

78

Jenny, I have not seen that particular documentary yet, but I love docs, so I will plan to watch this one.

Do you believe that more stringent EPA laws would have an impact on resources? I have seen documentaries that illustrate what corporations have been allowed to do (in underpriviledged areas everywhere) that destroys the water, the forest, the land, the air...do you believe we can turn it around?



Edited to add: not only are corps destroying our resources, individuals and governments play their part. The docs I've watched targeted industries and corporations specifically.

Jenny - posted on 11/12/2011

4,426

16

129

Well, it's not about elbow room for sure but the resources required to feed, house and have even the basics for all of those people. Especially in a world with a changing climate. Check out the documentary called Home for a good idea on how there are areas with mass migration to cities as the rural areas are devoid of water. Or how the Falkland Island are literally disappearing under the sea. Where does one go when their nation literally disappears? We put up these false borders so we can naturally go where we provide for ourselves, we have to ask permission first and they usually only let you in if you can already provide for yourself. It's going to be a huge Catch 22 in the near future.

If it was about just providing food to an increasing population with dwindling resources that would be one thing. But we have to add the step of them needing money to get it. That requires a whole other infrastructure of jobs.

Anyway, I could go off on this topic all day. It is something we need to be talking about and taking seriously before we forced to make some tough choices.

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms