Fries not chips

Tracey - posted on 02/09/2010 ( 12 moms have responded )

1

1

0

Please just to make everyone new to celiac. Be very careful to check what you give your child.
Fries are called that for a reason, they are made with wheat. Chips on the other hand are fine as long as they are cooked in gluten free oil. So be careful when you go to the takeaways and when you buy oven chips. P.s its so easy to make a mistake with foods, once you become more aware it gets better.

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Nancy - posted on 03/30/2010

0

0

25

Around me (Philly, PA), McDonalds and Chik-fil-A are the only fries that are cooked in a seperate frier and are gluten free. The McDonald's fries issue IS a personal one. I don't know if there will ever be a consensus on them. My dd eats them with no problem and her bloodwork is always good. We also LOVE Utz potato chips just for the fact that they label their chips "This is a gluten free product".

12 Comments

View replies by

Jennifer - posted on 03/25/2010

25

17

9

I was aware that McD's fries have gluten. My son can "handle" them in an emergency situation. Packing food everywhere is just not possible, but he is very limited in eating them. However he can absolutely NOT handle BK fries. It is all about learning what the body can and can not handle. I've heard that Wendy's lists their chilli and baked pot gf., although not convenient.

Rebecca - posted on 03/24/2010

40

6

2

http://nutrition.mcdonalds.com/nutrition...
It is important to realize that just because a few people can tolerate McDonald's fries, or if they "might be" below the legal limit, it does not deem them SAFE. Nothing that contains wheat or wheat derivatives is gluten free. Period.
I enourage those who are new to gluten free, do your own research and don't just take the word of others at face value.

[deleted account]

My son eats McDonald's fries too, with no problems. As it's been mentioned...as long as it's a dedicated fryer and the oil hasn't been cross contaminated they're fine. The "wheat" in the oil is processed out and is below the PPM regulations for containing gluten. Because of a big uproar awhile back McDonald's no longer lists them as gluten free. My son get's a hamburger/cheeseburger happy meal w/NO bun and either fries or the apple dippers w/caramel sauce and a drink.

The only items at Burger King listed as GF are the Tendergrill Garden Salad (bring your own dressing), French Fries (these are naturally gluten free, but confirm your location uses a dedicated fryer) and Sodas and milk.

Here's Wendy's menu http://www.wendys.com/food/pdf/us/gluten...

Lastly, not all chips are safe...original flavor Doritos have wheat but some of their other varieties are okay...just do lots of label reading. We usually buy Cheetos, Fritos corn chips and plain lays

Rachel - posted on 03/12/2010

13

10

0

McDonalds fries are gluten free so as long as they are using a seperate fryer they are fine! My daughter and I can both eat them without a problem and I am sensitve! El Pollo Locos chicken is gluten free and is really good!

Rebecca - posted on 03/01/2010

40

6

2

Emily,
McDonald's fries have gluten in the ingredients, so it doesn't matter if they have a dedicated fryer; however, Burger King and Wendy's fries are gluten free, so if they have a dedicated fryer, they are safe. Burger King has a gluten free menu, but it is only available online.

Sheena - posted on 02/25/2010

21

32

2

On the Mc Donald's website there is a wheat additive listed though. I think it was Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein if I remember correctly. Please verify.

AnnMarie - posted on 02/25/2010

6

46

1

For those in the US, Chik-fil-a has a gluten free menu. Havent found too many other fast food places that do.

Emily - posted on 02/14/2010

11

0

0

McDonalds has a dedicated frier for fries (potato) They do their 'nuggets' and breaded chicken in a separate frier. My husband and daughter are QUITE sensitive to cross contamination and have never had a problem with McD's fries. They also enjoy tostino's, fritos, and cool ranch Doritos for chips. Like Stacey said - you have to always check - not all styles (doritos for example) will be gluten free.

Stacey - posted on 02/09/2010

6

10

2

To clarify: In the US "fries" are made from frying potatoes in oil which is gluten free. The only ingredient should be potatoes, oil, and salt. The problem is that a lot of restaurants either batter,season, or coat their fries and/or do not use a dedicated fryer just for fries. So I agree with the statement that you need to be very careful when ordering fries because they may not be gluten free or may be cross contaminated. Also in US "chips" are something we buy in a bag at the grocery store. Some are gluten free (some Lays varieties) and some are not. Always check labels. When in doubt do not give it to your child.

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms