new to this celiac with my 8 month old girl, need to know the little things that I wouldnt think of, like soy sauce etc.


Janna - posted on 02/08/2011




I remember that it is overwhelming at first. My daughter was diagnosed at age 2 (was in the hospital on her second birthday). She is 17 now; so we are quite used to cooking and eating gluten-free. Watch out for anything with vinegar in it...ketchup, mustard, barbecue sauce, salad dressing, mayo, etc. I stick with brands which will tell you that they are gluten-free. Also watch out for malt flavoring as it comes from barley. "Starch" on an ingredient label must be derived from corn. Starches from any other grain source must specify. Watch out for foreign made products though, they don't have to abide by the U.S. FDA rules.
If you have not checked out the CSA Gluten-Free Products Listing, please do so. Here is a link to purchase online:,0,0,0&ref=details&prodid=842. It will be very helpful to you. I'd be glad to answer any more of your questions.


View replies by

Jenna - posted on 06/08/2011




You should be ablest buy gluten free soy sauce in the same area as the other gluten free products inntour supermarket

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms