Just a little topic I havent seen on here, want your opinion

Lacey - posted on 07/21/2010 ( 100 moms have responded )

71

45

2

Hello,
Well I was just wondering what are your thoughts about mothers with tattoos and piercings. My mother hates the fact that I have piercings in my face and 4 tattoos (2 which are very visible all the time) She thinks I look trashy.
My opinion, tattoos and piercings are not what they used to be, a form of rebellion, tattoos are artwork now. My father in law has call both me and my hubby stupid for have tattoos.
I just ignore people when they look at me sideways, but how do you feel about it?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Sierra - posted on 07/24/2010

36

31

0

The fact is, no matter how you look (soccor mom, business mom, tattooed mom, whatever) SOMEONE is going to give you grief. I'll admit, I have some tattoos and piercings. I also work in a business environment. I confuse the heck out of people, especially when they find out I'm a mom and I raise my kids "like a hippie." No one expects it because of how I look. I feel like the most important thing isn't what I wear or my tattoos, it's that I raise my child to be considerate, polite, intellegent and kind. When people learn that about me, it really changes their view on judging people by how they look.

Just be yourself and do the best you can. People who don't know you don't matter. What matters is that you believe you're being the best mother you can be.

Hope my response helped.

Michelle - posted on 07/23/2010

46

13

1

I think to each their own... I personally would not have visiable tattoos or piercings, and dont like the way they look on women. BUT with that being said... I dont like them so I dont get them... Its your life, your body, your decisions.
People are going to look at your, people are going to judge you, and you are doing the right thing by ignoring them!
I get the same looks when I am with my husband who is 13yrs older than me... And with his kids who are 23 and 21... they dont understand or get it so they stare.
Keep ignoring...its your life!

Jennifer - posted on 07/21/2010

1,501

37

231

i have lots of tattoos, piercings, and my ear lobes are stretched to 7/8 of an inch. i get a lot of grief for it from people i don't know but my parents have always been supportive of me because they know what body modification means to me, they know it isn't a phase, they trust my judgment, and they know that i am a good person, and good mother.

i worked in a grocery store for three years after i graduated high school and some people were surprisingly very mean to me about it. old men always seemed to tell me that i would never get a man with all "that crap" and i would kindly point out that my husband loves me just the way i am and he is just as much a freak as i am :)

now that we are parents, we get a lot of negativity but we hold our heads high knowing that we are great parents. when my son is old enough, he is going to be the coolest kid in kindergarten, and someday my husband and i are going to be the coolest old people in the retirement home hahahah.

This conversation has been closed to further comments

100 Comments

View replies by

Merry - posted on 07/24/2010

9,274

169

263

I would never say anything rude to someones face about excessive tattoos or piercings. It is none of my business if someone wants to decorate their body any way they want to. But I have only one hole per ear and no tattoos. I do think it looks less mature and less traditionally beautiful. Not less beautiful just not the way I'd like to look. I would like one tattoo one day, it would be a plant growing up from my ankle up my leg just tall enough to have one leaf for each of my childrens names on each leaf. But the facial piercings do weird me out a bit. I don't understand the culture very well and I just feel uncomfortable with the big holes in ear lobes or the metal bars through eyebrows or ears that have more then 3-4 piercings. Idk just my upbringing didn't expose me to body art so it's not normal to me. I never mind tattoos except when they are rude, sexual, violent, etc. Once saw a cute elm tattoo giving me the finger..... Or naked women etc. That bothers me as I would not let my kids be around a person who has those kinds of tattoos. But it's still not my place to judge, just I can keep my kids away from those images. So in short, do what you want but permanent things should be thought through intensely. And. Don't get "bad" tattoos in obvious areas if you can help it. :)

Diana - posted on 07/24/2010

6

22

0

I have tatoos and peircings, and there is nothing wrong with it. Your appearance has nothing to do with how good of a parent you are!

Lisa - posted on 07/24/2010

7

52

0

i have 8 tattoos got my first when i was 15 my sister dated a guy who did tattoos i told my mom said i could have 1 but she didnt so i got one now that i am 26 1/2 i hate them i want them off sooooo bad .wish i could take em off they are like addiction now i hate them my boys tell me they want 1 and i say no they say well you got some .it's hard to teach them right from wrong when i was wrong at one point of my life ..anyway my smallest always asks if i can wash them off ..he don't like them ..i think i look trashy and now that i have been saved and joined a church i really hate them ...i have a blue devil flippin a bird on my leg i hate it what was i thinking ...i think i look trashy with them ..wished i would have listened myself

Jada - posted on 07/24/2010

44

30

0

i have an industrial in my one ear and i have 5 tattoos, one is a sleeve with sugar skulls and another visible one is shamrocks on my neck, i dont find anything wrong with them at all! i think they are beautiful/.

Jennifer - posted on 07/24/2010

114

7

8

I love tattoos too!Why couldnt a mother have a tatoo?Not because you have or want tatoos that you are a bad mother.It is a form of expression.I have 2tatoos on my for-arms and one on my lower back.And I will soon have one on my leg.For my mother who passed away form cancer last decembrer.I used to hace my eyebrow pierced but my dog it off.I also had my navel pierced before my baby girl.And have not put it back, cause I have to get it repierced.And since I want an other baby I will wait until I give birth to the next one before I get it done again!
My boyfriend has 2 of them also....
But, I would not care if someone thinks I am a bad mom or something because I have them!!!!

Mhairi - posted on 07/24/2010

53

19

2

I love tatoos and peircings and have a few of my own, and my husband has some too. I don't really care what people think and as long as you are happy, then others' opinions don't matter.

Amy - posted on 07/24/2010

159

45

0

i love tattoos and can't wait to get more! my fiance and I both have some (he more than I) and we will get more for sure, once we have money to spare. I think we'd rather get some art than have a wedding to be honest with you! I had my belly pierced and took it out when I got pregnant, didn't really want to put it back in, I may one day. I had to take out my tongue ring before I delivered and just decided not to put it back in. They weren't really that important to me anymore. And I had been stretching my ears, they were at zeros but I got bored with it and are letting them heal, plus babies pull at anything they can grab, so I'm pretty much done with piercings. Our generation is way different than our parents, they don't really understand. Only a few of my tattoos are visible so I don't get looks, but I think the way a person dresses is trashy compared to their tattoos.

Sara - posted on 07/24/2010

11

22

0

I have 8 tattoos and 4 visible facial piercings and my tongue. The largest tattoo I have is for my 2 oldest. I have their footprints names and birth dates on my back. And within the next 6 months I will be adding my 3rd childs footprints name and birth date. I think in todays world it is totally acceptable. Every time i go to a restaraunt or drive thru my waiter or cashier has tattoos. They're as common as different skin color now a days.

Lacye - posted on 07/24/2010

2,011

31

164

I'm going to be honest, i don't have tattoos, but omg i want one!

the first time i had ever seen a mother with a tattoo was my ex sister in law and i was like, oh cool. there is nothing wrong with being a parent and having a tattoo or piercings. it is who you are! and that's that!

the tattoo i want is going to be a lily(which is also my daughter's name :D) with her birthday underneath it.

Jocelyne - posted on 07/24/2010

3

12

0

I think you are right. Tattoos are not what they used to be they are art. I dont have any but I want one so bad, alway have, but I am kind of a hipocrate because If I see my 4 yr old writing on his hand I say NO you dont do write on a pice of paper, and I feel if I get one it would set a bad example. NO one in my family has one not even my honey, but I know I do want one and eventually end up getting mine. Dont feel bad, some people are so old fashioned.

Brittney - posted on 07/24/2010

84

12

9

Oh and in response to someones question of do your kids pick at them.. my daughter is learning her letters and will point at my tattoos and say her letters or see some of the shapes and say what they are. A few months ago though she would try and "pick" them off.

Brittney - posted on 07/24/2010

84

12

9

My husband and I both have several tattos, his more visable then mine. I also used to have 3 piercings above the belt that came out becuase of having my first, I just never bothered to put them back in. I know my mom didn't understand in the begining of why I got my tats but after a short time she didn't even notice them anymore. I never feel like I'm in a store with my family and people are staring thinking I'm a bad mother or that my husband is a bad father because of our appearence and having children. We actually have people come and ask where we had our work done instead! Even people our parents age, not quite our grandparents age though.

[deleted account]

I feel as long as the tattoo that is being shown is appropriate then it is fine and same with piercings. My parents have tattoos and my and my husband have a tattoo. I have had piercings and I plan to get another piercing and we plan for more tattoos.

Juli - posted on 07/24/2010

227

135

53

I have 2 tattoos and want to get another one. my ears are pierced a lot on both sides but thats all i have left due to jobs i no longer have any other piercings.

LaRae - posted on 07/24/2010

12

14

1

Tattoos used to represent a bad bunch of people back when some of our parents and grandparents were young. But now it is just an expression of art. I have both and have plans to get more. I see nothing wrong with them. I should mention that I am also a pastors wife. It is not what it used to be. And as for Biblical reference... Many prominant women of the Bible had piercings. Rebecca was given a new nose ring as a wedding proposal. Tattoos used to be how Christians marked themselves so that they could secretly tell who each other was when it was illegal to be one. That is where the :fish: originates from. If you like it, go for it, forget what other people say.

Jessie - posted on 07/24/2010

333

36

7

I don't have a tattoo and I only have normal pierced ears and a belly button ring (that I didn't have to take out while pregnant) I am not big on excessive tattoos but that is because I would never want a lot of them, maybe one or two. I don't think people are horrible or awful for having them though. It's just different seeing people with a lot of tattoos or piercing, and I think sometimes, espeically older generations, aren't really sure what to think about it so they go with the negative. It's your body and as long as your happy with it then that is all that matters.

Vixi - posted on 07/24/2010

189

65

6

I have my ears pierced and luckily I had that done when I was 1 and too young to have a say, else I'd probs have chickened out haha!

A few of my family members have tattoo's in memory of passed loved ones and their children's names which I think are lovely on them, but not something I would have.

End of the day if they are what you want then stuff anyone who doesnt like them, it's your body and your choice not theirs!!! x

Emma - posted on 07/24/2010

15

31

3

i myself have got 8 tattoos i hav no problem with mums having them. I think that peoples attitudes towards tattoos have changed and accept them as part of every day life but with some people they still believe that tattoos are for people who are bikers etc
I have to say that tattoo are the persons own choice and how they show them and where they have them is their choice sometimes people should just kep their opinions to themselves if they cant say anything nice

Jaime - posted on 07/24/2010

6

76

1

My partner and I both have tattoos and i also have piercings, and our son must be the most loved child in the whole world, Just because we have Ink and metal, dosnt make us bad parents, and it dosnt make you a bad parent either. But you must remember that your parents are from a different era and tattoos and piercings meant a different thing to them.

ALEXIA - posted on 07/24/2010

88

11

9

i hve a tattoo on the inside of my wrist and hve had it since i turned 18..i hve 2 others that are hidden. just last month i actually got one on my upper arm like almost to my shoulder (which is brave for me). i think if the tattoo is nice then its fine:)

Tawnya - posted on 07/23/2010

19

13

0

i think it depends on what your tattoos are of and what and where your piercings are if they are small and not gaudy they are fine but the large stuff can be an issue with children especially small children and the habit of grabbing an pulling. tattoos are only stupid if you put them in a place that could get streched out of proportion if you gain weight or you end up regretting the tattoo itsself. i personally dont mind these things i just worry about setting a good example for the children that you can express yourself and be an individual with out doing that

Miranda - posted on 07/23/2010

126

29

4

I don't have any problem with that, as long as the child is safe, loved and healthy. The way someone looks doesn't neccesarily classify the way they are as a person. I have some peircings and a couple of tattoo's, I would like to get a couple more but my fiance doesn't want me to ( a different conversation...). I wouldn't let it get to you, because these people that are looking at you are being judgemental, and that is wrong.

Aimee - posted on 07/23/2010

27

24

3

I see it this way,
It is YOUR body :)
If you look good, and feel good with what you have.. Tattoo's piercings, then be proud of it. I say to all the people that think its wrong that a mother has tattoos or piercings doesn't actually understand the meaning of things. We are told to live life to the greatest, but yet when we get something done to our body, that we love/like apparently then we are wrong? or even bad people?

I blow it all off, and tell myself in the back of my head, that I'm happy with what I have on my body and that is all that matters. Yes I understand that we are mothers, and hey I'm not complaining, but we are also people to, with feelings, and our own likes and dislikes, I say they have their own opion and I have mine.

Tattoo's and piercings work for me :)
I love them ♥

Megan - posted on 07/23/2010

335

73

27

I have 5 tattoos, ears pierced 4 times, nose pierced and used to have bely button done until I got pregnant and took it out. My fiancee has 3 tattoos, ears and tongue.
I love tattoos. I tend to stare at peoples tattoos just because I like them so much not to be rude. People are really surprised when they find out that I have tattoos. I guess I don't look like that type of girl.
My parents actually went with me when I got my first tattoo (at 14).
I love when people stare or look funny it just makes me laugh at them.

Candice - posted on 07/23/2010

246

1

11

Tatts and piercing are cool.Body adornment has been around as long as people,so your mama can stfu. :D

Jess - posted on 07/23/2010

25

27

2

I have two flower tattoos on my right foot that are very meaningful to me, one of my wedding flowers and the other is my best friends wedding flower. They are nice and I love them. I was thinking of getting my daughter and my husbands birth month flower on my wrist. You ladies are so great, you make me think I should just go and do it!!

Rachel - posted on 07/23/2010

43

20

2

I see no problem with them. i too see them as a form of art and have one tattoo myself. as for piercings i have them mainly in my ears (three on left and two on right) but also have my belly done. I think that they are ok and people who say we are stupid for showing our interest in an artistic way is judgmental

Soleil - posted on 07/23/2010

160

18

2

I have both of my legs tattooed up to my knees and I have two boys. When people ask me what I plan to tell my children about them, I always say, I tell them not to judge people based on what they look like, weather that means tattoos, being black, fat, or any other minority. I think people forget that stereotyping those of us with tattoos is the same as being racist, you're judging someone before getting the chance to know them. I may have tattoos, but I'm a stay at home mom and I take great care of my sons and my husband. I'm a contributing member of society, and a very good person, and if you don't want to see those things because you're too blinded by my artwork, then I'm better off without you in my life.

Brittany - posted on 07/23/2010

15

89

0

my mom has 5 tats and i have one and have like 15 piercings. and im gonna get my sons named on my foot. i think there ok and that its ur own personal choice if u wanna have piercings or tattoos

Shelly - posted on 07/23/2010

3

0

0

When I was younger my Mom was very closed minded even to having weird hair colors. She wouldn't let a friend into our home cause he had blue hair. Then I came home with purple hair and a nose piercing, after the initial shock and yelling she realized that I was still the same person. She even took me for my first tattoo when I was 16. She said she may not understand why I wanted tattoos and piercings but it didn't change the fact that I am great daughter.

Renee - posted on 07/23/2010

14

25

1

Having a tatoo/s or piercings dosent make you any less of a mum or dad! Shame on people that "judge a book by its cover!"

Mandi - posted on 07/23/2010

3

0

0

Some tats are trashy but some aren't. But figuring your's aren't to bad lol then i'd gladly tell your parents (if i were there) that closed minds should come with closed mouths ;) lol I see no problems with how people appear when they have children..I'm open minded to everyone ;) and i have 10 lol ;) I did have piercings too but i took those out for my hubby. But things like that aren't that bad. I could think of worse things like a full face tattoo.. now that's trashy lol

User - posted on 07/23/2010

8

32

0

I think that tatoos are a way to express yourself. I don't have tatoos myself(I hate needles) But my uncle has tatoos all over his arms and back. I think they look great. And as far as you having tatoos and being a Mom, what is the big deal? Your'e still going to love your children the same, your still going to take care of them and teach them right from wrong. I wouldn't take others criticism personally. If you are raising your child well, having tatoos won't change that!

Ashlea - posted on 07/23/2010

46

30

0

I don't really have any crazy piercings but both my husband and I both have a couple tattoos each. My mom feels the same way. I love mine but mine are also meaningful tattoos. One is my sons hand print and the other one has something to do with the day I got married. I feel like tattoos are ok as long as they have special meaning and are close to you. I wouldn't mind if my son gets one when he's old enough to make the decision but I would want him to think it through very carefully. I would say no girls names what so ever! I think it's kinda dumb if you get a gf/bf's name on you. What if something were to happen? I don't really think of anyone's tattoos if I see someone with them. It's your right and you do what you want with your body.

Cyndi - posted on 07/23/2010

14

9

0

I think you should do what you want with yourself. If you like the way you look then its no one else's business. I have 2 visible tattoos and 2 piercings on my face, all of which I had done after I had my son... and I have never had anyone say anything to me about it. I wouldn't care if they did. If you feel good about yourself, who cares?

LaToya - posted on 07/23/2010

76

27

0

I have 16 tattoos and have, at one point, had 10 piercings and personally, I don't think the amount of piercings and tattoos a woman has dictates what kind of mother she is. I have people tell me all the time that I need to stop getting tattoos because I won't be able to explain it to my kids and my kids will be embarrassed by me when they get older or that its setting a bad example and my kids are going to want tattoos. The way I see it, if my kids want tattoos and its nothing offensive, such as racist tattoos or tattoos of naked girls/guys, they can have them. Every single one of my tattoos were not visible when I was in uniform when I was in the Army and, with the exception of 3 or 4, none will be visible in scrubs once my son is born and I start working in a hospital. I say, if you want tattoos, get them. If you're a good mom, you still will be a good mom even with tattoos.

Amy - posted on 07/23/2010

9

6

0

I love tattoos!! I only have one right now, but I plan to have more eventually. As for piercings, the only thing i have pierced is my ears...but it's only cause I am too scared to get any more (not fond of that type of pain).

Sarah - posted on 07/23/2010

243

19

30

I always want to look at tattoos and piercings, not because I think they are trashy, quite the opposite really. I want to take a good look at what other people have, see what they have to say about their experience, and possibly get a reference to a good artist :)

Andrea - posted on 07/23/2010

81

41

1

i have tats and peircings! ahhh i love them and i agree its self expression, that by the way is push on us all thru school lol, i dont mind but too man i think can look trashy, but to each his own :) i went to boarding school and tey would always say "why do it? your body is a temple of God, why put grafitti on it?" but thats my point its MY temple of God and its not grafitti, its decorating lol i do miss my nipps tho, breastfeeding so i took them out :(

Chelsea - posted on 07/23/2010

3

41

0

OH man this is so my subject!! Im a 22 year old mother of a 2 year old girl and 4month old boy..i have 15 tattoos including a full sleeve and my ears are stretched over an inch and i have 4other piercings...however everyone in my family excepts me..but when me and the kids go to the store or beach..tattoos are so much more excepted today but ther are alot of old skoolers who frown upon it! My opinion and reasons for my piercings and tattoos are a reflection of personality and who i am...its defiantly hard at first especially when u can hear what people are saying right after they pass you! But most people complement me and say how beautiful they are!! theyll get over it! they need to get out and see the whole world!! and realize that they will find more people with tattoos then not these days!

Erin - posted on 07/23/2010

84

5

5

I would like to add that I don't believe that these things affect your parenting :) But I do think it's important if your children wish to do so also to make them wait until an age that they're responsible and mature enough to make that kind of decision. I use to beeegg my mom to let me get pierced before I was old enough and she wouldn't let me. I was so mad at her for it but I'm kind of glad I don't have holes in my face! I could've cared less back then!

Julia - posted on 07/23/2010

1

8

0

I think if your a good parent it really doesn't matter if your whole body is covered in them! I do agree with you though, tattoos these days are considered art and expression, it's just that instead of hanging it on your wall you get to take it with you everywhere! Just to let you know I have many friends with tattoos and kids and I don't even look twice! Good for you!

Erin - posted on 07/23/2010

84

5

5

I personally really dislike tattoos and piercings... but I don't ever judge anyone by them! I like ones that have GREAT meaning behind them (not just because you loved Tinkerbell all of your life.) I used to love both when I was a teenager and now I'm just like... Why would you do that? Sometimes (on a man) I still find one or two of them sexy. And again as long as they're really meaningful. Otherwise I really just don't get why? I don't know, I don't mean to sound like a snob or anything but I just feel like very often people get tattoos for the wrong reasons and that the influence is more due to the trend than it is to any personal preference. I don't know... People are probably not going to be too happy with this post but it's an opinion and that's what was asked for. :(

Latasha - posted on 07/23/2010

28

14

5

I don't think there is anything wrong with it....I have 2 tattoos on my wrists, and my tounge and monroe( those are the visable ones) People call me "not a good role model for my daughter) but I just ignore it, it's my body and my life, and nobody can tell me how to live it...my husband doesn't mind them, so thats all that matters to me...I hate how people can be so judgemental towards ppl with tatts/piercings..like I always tell people, I don't judge your hair color, your clothes, what you drive or any of your desicions, so DON'T judge mine...It's a form of self expression, not everyone wants to be the same...lol But I think it is perfectly fine :)

Alexis - posted on 07/23/2010

16

7

1

I guess it depends on how you were raised to think my parents both have tattoos and so do I but there are limits .I was taught that all that dramatic stuff that seems very "in" right now is self mutilation I wouldn't want my daughter to do it either sorry.

Kathy - posted on 07/23/2010

42

20

4

I don't think that there is anything wrong with tattoos. I have one and I am thinking about getting another one in the future. If somebody doesn't like ur tat they don't have to look. I don't think that it is anybody elses business weather or not you choose to have tattoos.

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms