Just wanted to know everybody's opinion about Christmas & Santa Claus?

Moonika - posted on 11/20/2009 ( 132 moms have responded )

36

25

0

Do all parents tell their children that Santa Claus brings Christmas presents or do people give presents? Just wondering about other families and traditions. I had Santa when I was small but i dont think i gained anything by it. Some say I take the magic out of my childs life but I dont feel right to lie to her and want her to be happy about her parents working hard to provide her with a happy life and also to appreciate money and family. She will still get nice dinner, Christmas tree and all the decorations and all the presents, just presents come from her family not from some made up character from North Pole...Even tho I am an Ateist I think Christmas is meant to be a religious holiday not a time to show off your financial abilities or get yourself in a hole with debt, so for me Christmas is about Family. What are your opinions on all that?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Kim - posted on 11/21/2009

28

2

3

I agree that Christmas is about family. In my home we do have santa clause. I agree about not telling your children lies, however you realy can't be honest about everything. There are some things children just shouldn't know. My reasons for encouraging this lie is simply that there is so much evil, or bad, in this world why not give them something to look forward to. We have to teach them about stranger danger and good touching and bad touching when they're barely out of babyhood. There are children bringing guns to school. Just recently at my child's school a kindergartener threatened to bring a gun to class and shoot everyone. There is so much more to mention. So I say why not let them enjoy one of the few good things we can give them. Santa is about more than presents and a made up story. He's also about giving, rewarding children for good behavior, love, and not being greedy. That is if you can teach your kids about him in the right way. Besides parents aren't telling their children to lie to them, they're telling them to bring them a little extra happiness. As far as the majic, I feel that there are other ways to provide that to children. I hope this gives you some understanding of some of the parents who make the same choice as me. As far as anyone criticizing your choice, they are your children no one elses and however you want to raise them as long as they are loved, safe, and provided for is your choice no one elses.

Jamie - posted on 11/28/2009

2

9

0

REMEMBER! YOUR children are YOUR children! people will ALWAYS have something to say, advice to give. its ok to be honest. and its ok to play into fictional characters! who cares if the next mom is doing opposite! kids are real imaginative beings anyways! who play make believe all the time and they do this without a care in the world whos watching , my point is whatever you decide is fine! you have to be the one later to explain it later dont let anyone pressure you ! Christmas to me is for family, you're right! relax!! = )

Tanya - posted on 11/20/2009

518

35

83

I suggest everyone look up and read Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus. Wether you beleive in telling your children about him or not.. It is very touching and something I read to my children every year around Christmas...

Betty - posted on 11/20/2009

1,061

7

90

I think you should allow only one really cool Santa gift and of coarse the stocking stuffers should be from Santa too. That way from year to year Santa will always be able to pull trough even when your money is being stretched. Any additional gifts should come from actual people so children can learn how to express gratitude instead of feeling like they are entitled to getting lots of things from Santa. This is how my parents did Christmas and it worked great because they wouldn't need to explain why we got less one year than we did the year before.

All that being said, I think it is a part of childhood for us to believe in Santa. I don't think it's damaging to lie to your kids for their own enjoyment and do not recall feeling betrayed when I found out Santa was pretend as a child. Maybe that is because Santa was not what made Christmas for me. Family makes Christmas. Christmas is sharing love with strangers. Christmas is that candle in the darkness that brings people together. People sing, people give, and people share. Santa is an example of who we should all be because Santa gives to everyone. Who will you give to this year?

Morgan - posted on 11/20/2009

16

8

0

I think whether or not you do the santa thing is just a matter of personal taste. It can be magical because it plays to their imagination which is endless in little children but that isnt to say Christmas cant be magical without Santa. As far as implying that Santa is a way to show off financial abilities, I total disagree. Sure some people do that, but you dont need Santa to do that. "Santa" could only bring a couple gifts.

I was brought up with Santa and intend on raising my children with Santa in the Christmas mix. I am a Christian and you can have the best of both worlds if that is what you believe, explaining the real Christian meaning of Christmas and incorporating Santa into it. Plus by the time the kids are old enough to question what Santa could possibly have to do with it, is usually the point in which they stop believing.

As far as Santa bringing all the presants, that was never the case in my home. Mom and Dad, Grandma's and Grandpa's, Brother's and Sister's all gave presants to eachother too. Santa just brought a little something special for everyone. My parents were even cute about signing their gifts to eachother "from Santa".

This conversation has been closed to further comments

132 Comments

View replies by

Amanda - posted on 11/18/2012

245

2

21

I love Christmas and I love SANTA! My son can't wait to go sit on his lap and tell him what he wants for Christmas. I tell him that it is his helper but he does see the real Santa and tells him what you want. The catch, he can only ask for one thing. Yes his stocking his filled up by Santa and us. When he wakes up in the morning he checks to see if he ate the cookies, he made just for Santa, if he took the food for the reindeer that he made (find online) and is so happy when all of it is gone. He doesn't have to know I ate the cookies and dunked them the milk or that the cat helped herself to a cookie and reindeer food. I just love the sparkle in his eye and the joy on his face when he see that his cookies are gone and there is a present from Santa under the tree. I still believe in Santa. Not the north pole man dressed in red, but the spirit of Santa. Of a man who helped the less fortunate and brought about the true meaning of Christmas. My son helps me get all the pennies in the house to give to Pennies from Heaven. He picks out a toy to give to the Christmas Cheer Board. He will always be taught it is better to give then to get a present, but they are kids. There is so much bad going on the world that why not let them hold on the belief of a man dressed in red sneaking in the house to leave a present. I also made reindeer guide food. Which is just bird seed with sparkles in it but he throws it out on the snow before bed. My parents went the extra mile with us. Sprinkling baby power around a tooth and using a doll to make feet marks. Letting are dog walk through flour then running around the house to make bunny tracks. I loved it. I think it gets the mind running in all directions. I love to write poetry about fairies and I am writing a novel, well hope to get around to finishing it, about a fantasy world and every time I pick up the pen and remember all the things my parents did to keep me a child for one more year, before I had to go out and face the world. Nothing wrong with believing in anything. Let them be kids for as long as you can!

Peggy - posted on 11/15/2012

2

0

0

My parents did not do the Santa thing with us when we were kids and I felt out of the excitement. My husbands family made a big deal out of it and he has the best memories. I want my kids to have those memories. So this is the way we do Christmas.



I always think it is wrong when people make the kids think all the gifts come from Santa, when the kids look around at all the things they get compared to how many other kids get, it just seems unfair and it is also unfair to the gift giver. What about the poor kids, do they think Santa does not love them as much? We always told the kids Santa has to give gifts to all the kids in the whole world and can only give one Christmas gift to each kid and fill the stockings. Santa's gift and stockings are done on Christmas morning, all the other gifts from Mom, Dad, relatives and friends are opened on Christmas eve.

Ashley - posted on 10/02/2012

316

12

47

Christmad is about family. But my kids do think santa brings them gifts and that we buy them gifts as well. Every year they write santa a letter and send it to him. They help with the tree a.d decorations. Onlt a few gifts go under it before christmas eve. we always make christmas decorations a.d hang them around the hoyse. We do stockings and make cookies and them with milk for santa before going to bed. On christmas eve we alk open one gift, its akways pjs and we wear them to bed. We all love it and one day they wont believe in santa but they will still have all of tge wonderful memories.

Beth - posted on 01/01/2012

274

18

70

I don't understand about the "I don't want to lie to my kids" thing. santa was a real person. We just continue the tradition. Believing in Santa is apart of the magic of child hood. Yes Christmas is about family and for us it's also about Jesus , Santa is just santa, it's not about showing off how much money you have. Heck , at our house Santa doesn't bring the cool presents. When I was a kid and I figured out Santa didn't REALLY put things in my stocking, I was so proud of my self for figuring it out on my own. I was THAT smart! I still as a 34 yr old LOVE Santa, of course I know he's not real but Santa exhibits the spirit of giving that the whole season is about.

Maureen - posted on 12/29/2011

2

1

0

Santa is part of being a child. They deserve to believe in something magic and wonderful. I think parents who are jealous of Santa getting the credit are selfish and immature. Life is hard and people lie all the time, at least this is a lie that lights their little faces up like the sun for a few years. I have never read where an adult's ISSUES in life were caused by being tramatized over finding out there is no santa.

Krista - posted on 11/27/2009

4

7

0

umm i agree but its not really liein to her i also grew up wit a santa tht wld come to the house to hand out presents on christmas eve for the kids and he still comes till this day and most of the kids no he not real but i think its just fun to see the smaller kids reaction to him and all the joy in their eyes so i wouldnt think of it as liein to her think of it as a fun thing jus to do you kn. im sure she will appreciate it one day cause i kn my son loves it its my daughters first so we will see how she reacts:)

Fattima - posted on 11/27/2009

7

18

0

Well I agree with what your saying ! I'm a spiritually conscious person and I believe for one like you said "why lie"? How we gonna teach our children to not lie but yet we lie to them each year with Santa Claus? Also lets think if this was/is a holiday based on Christ's birth then why are there images of a fat white man or black man (even though you don't see those too often) lol but bk to the point on the commercial selling your children and some adults FALSE HOPES AND DREAMS? Also what does the word HOLIDAY mean and where does it come from? And to my understanding..... AIN'T NOTHING HOLY ABOUT CHRISTMAS or ANY of these man-made holidays. Also I dislike wen folks say "ohh your taking away the child's childhood,and imagination or not letting them be a kid" , because that makes me wonder so in order for my child to be a kid I have to condone false stories , ideas and lifestyles, just so that your child can grow up giving credit to everyone but you (their parent) and believing what they want and then as soon as something goes wrong in their lives they feel all hurt and broke down because to them everything was all a LIE!!...Well that's just my opinion!:)

Jolene - posted on 11/27/2009

13

115

0

This is my first christmas as a mother, my wee girl will only be six months so will be too small to understand either way this year but I will be including Santa in some way in her Christmas in the future, mostly likely having her photo with him. I grew up with Santa at Christmas time and I remember the enjoyment and excitement that he brought, and I also remember sharing this excitement with my family, which is what it is all about :)

Lisa - posted on 11/27/2009

12

14

2

i dont think christmas is for the adults when u have kids. since i had my 1st baby boy i wasnt interested in christmas for my self its all the kids now. i love to see my baby boys face this yr as he is nearly 2 he will know whats going on this yr. i cant wait. it will be really nice to see him open his presents. but i think its for the kids now.

Mandi - posted on 11/27/2009

4

42

3

it all depends on your beliefs really... I am a christian so I tell my children the story about the birth of jesus christ and the offerings the three wisemen brought as gifts to his parents.... so on and so forth. I just don't think its healthy to condition them to believe in Santa Claus bringing them gifts through our chimney (seeing as how we dont have one)

C. - posted on 11/27/2009

4,125

35

242

I would personally do the whole Santa Claus thing.. But I would be sure to tell my child (or children if I am ever blessed with more), the true story of Santa Claus. I'll have to look it up again, but I know that there was a man that gave people presents b/c they had nothing. That's how the whole story came about in the first place. But if you do that, try to be sure you tell them as soon as they can understand what you're saying, b/c if you drag it along they will get heartbroken if they find out at age 10.

Leslie-Ann - posted on 11/27/2009

26

33

1

In some families each person gets just one gift from "santa" I grew up believing in Santa and I still think that those Christmases believing in the magic were the best of my life. I want my son to feel the same magic that I did. So, under our tree some of the gifts say from Santa and some say from mom.

Carrie - posted on 11/27/2009

19

43

1

In our family Santa is a figure to believe in and to want to be. IE.. it isn't about the presents, is about the spirit of the season and bringing joy in one form or another to your friends and family. For us Santa is a feeling of the spirit of Christmas and what it means to everyone on an individual basis.

Kelly - posted on 11/27/2009

1

20

0

i feel the same i believe christmas is about being with your family with the prescents and the tree. but i am not going to bring up my child to believe in santa, because i dont want her believing in someone/something that isnt real, we are a christians but santa is not the real reason for christmas hence its in the name 'christ'-mas, when jesus was born. so i am not going to lie to her, interesting comments, does anyone wish to add anything? kel x

Bekki - posted on 11/27/2009

186

6

8

Quoting Cynthia:

We must never lie to children! Always TEACH TRUTH!
Our children were raised (now 35/32) to KNOW Bible TRUTH. The whole CHRISTmas Story. They understood and still understand the REAL meaning of Christmas, not about GET and Give ME, but how it is a BLESSING to give than to receive! You can not teach the rules without teaching about the rule maker (Jesus).
We stop celebrating the Holiday for a few years just to get away from commercialism of it.
Now, Our daughter is passing on a tradition to her children, they ADOPT a boy and girl every year to GIVE a present (from the Angel Tree / Salvation Army / Etc.). They buy NICE gifts not just a cheap gift to soothe their mind that they have done a good deed. We give a donation to our Church to help those in need, in our Church and in our Community.

Teach your children about the TRUE Christmas (whether you believe or not) and then help them put it in to action by adopting a girl and boy to buy a present for this 2009 Christmas year.
Even the story about saint Nicolos, he saw needs and enjoyed the giving of present (in secret) to help those in need.
It will not take anything away from our children to dispelled the myths about Christmas. But in my opinion it does an injustice for them not to KNOW the TRUTH and whole STORY. The only way to dispel a lie is with TRUTH!
Children talk among themselves and no topic is off limits!


 



 



Why would i tell my children your version of the TRUTH about christmas if i do not believe in it? Truth is relative.. You say that the true christmas involves jesus.. Some of the world believes otherwise..  Because it is written in a book does not make it truth, if that were the case we should all watch out for the apocalypse that was supposed to have happened how many times already according to this all knowing book that has been rewritten by thousands of different people throughout the years?



Not everyone believes as you believe, i don't feel it's appropriate to decide your childrens religion for them.. They should have the ability as a human to decide what they believe, not be forced into a religion they do not agree with. Neither of my children go to church, neither are baptised and i do not speak of religion, god, buddha, allah .. ect. I don't bring that into my home and try to influence them. My children are taught about souls and spirits anything past that they choose on their own. They have a right to their own beliefs and i will allow them to choose on their own. If they decide they want to be jewish? Buddhist? whatever.. That's up to them.. whatever they want to be they can be.. it's their life, their bodies, their mind and their decision.



 



Santa and christmas is not about jesus. in fact it was not even his birthday that day. Christmas is based on the solstice and roman holidays.. nothing to do with god .

Bekki - posted on 11/27/2009

186

6

8

Quoting Cynthia:

We must never lie to children! Always TEACH TRUTH!
Our children were raised (now 35/32) to KNOW Bible TRUTH. The whole CHRISTmas Story. They understood and still understand the REAL meaning of Christmas, not about GET and Give ME, but how it is a BLESSING to give than to receive! You can not teach the rules without teaching about the rule maker (Jesus).
We stop celebrating the Holiday for a few years just to get away from commercialism of it.
Now, Our daughter is passing on a tradition to her children, they ADOPT a boy and girl every year to GIVE a present (from the Angel Tree / Salvation Army / Etc.). They buy NICE gifts not just a cheap gift to soothe their mind that they have done a good deed. We give a donation to our Church to help those in need, in our Church and in our Community.

Teach your children about the TRUE Christmas (whether you believe or not) and then help them put it in to action by adopting a girl and boy to buy a present for this 2009 Christmas year.
Even the story about saint Nicolos, he saw needs and enjoyed the giving of present (in secret) to help those in need.
It will not take anything away from our children to dispelled the myths about Christmas. But in my opinion it does an injustice for them not to KNOW the TRUTH and whole STORY. The only way to dispel a lie is with TRUTH!
Children talk among themselves and no topic is off limits!


 



 



Why would i tell my children your version of the TRUTH about christmas if i do not believe in it? Truth is relative.. You say that the true christmas involves jesus.. Some of the world believes otherwise..  Because it is written in a book does not make it truth, if that were the case we should all watch out for the apocalypse that was supposed to have happened how many times already according to this all knowing book that has been rewritten by thousands of different people throughout the years?



Not everyone believes as you believe, i don't feel it's appropriate to decide your childrens religion for them.. They should have the ability as a human to decide what they believe, not be forced into a religion they do not agree with. Neither of my children go to church, neither are baptised and i do not speak of religion, god, buddha, allah .. ect. I don't bring that into my home and try to influence them. My children are taught about souls and spirits anything past that they choose on their own. They have a right to their own beliefs and i will allow them to choose on their own. If they decide they want to be jewish? Buddhist? whatever.. That's up to them.. whatever they want to be they can be.. it's their life, their bodies, their mind and their decision.



 



Santa and christmas is not about jesus. in fact it was not even his birthday that day. Christmas is based on the solstice and roman holidays.. nothing to do with god .

Nicola - posted on 11/27/2009

3

0

0

My son is 10 now and only found out last yr there was no santa off a friend at school! i was really disapointed as iv always made my son believe there is a santa. it makes christmas magical 4 children and makes them excited! i have 2 baby girls and will be telling them about santa because thats wot christmas is about in our house, its all about the children x

[deleted account]

We told our children that there's no such thing as Santa. We want them to know that it's all about being w/ Family and not about how many presents you get. We still buy them each a gift or 2, and their grandparents buy them a little something each.



Most people think we're being unfair by telling them this, but they will find out eventually that Santa isn't real, so why not save them the heartache??



The same goes for the Easter Bunny & the Tooth Fairy...we can't say 1 is real and then not the other. They get a gift basket at Easter from their Grandma w/ a few chocolates and uaually a toy. We haven't reached Tooth Fairy age yet, but we will deal w/ that when the time comes.

Nicole - posted on 11/26/2009

529

5

82

We're totally doing the whole Santa thing. We're not Christian so we don't believe Christmas is Jesus's birthday or anything like that, for us it's just a time to get together with family and friends and enjoy each other's company. I grew up with Santa and I loved it! It didn't hurt me any when I found out he wasn't real. As far as wanting your kids to know it's YOU who buys the presents, I don't think they'll appreciate it till they're much older. I appreciate everything my parents did much more now that I'm a mom. I want my son's childhood to be as magical as possible. He doesn't need to know how much everything costs and how much planning goes into everything when he's 5 (he's almost 1 now). I don't think little kids understand the value of money anyway, and by the time they do, they've outgrown Santa. When he gets older and starts asking for expensive stuff, we'll make him work for it. A young child who believes in Santa doesn't really need expensive toys anyway.

[deleted account]

i agree with wat your saying but i also think its a good thing for kids to believe in something a little bit more so even if jst one present from santa and as kids we like here the story of santa and his elves working at the north pole do our very own specail present jst for us, and the milk and cookies is a nice touch b4 bed then while the kids are a sleep and your still wrapping there presents milk and cookies go dwn well.

with my kids i also let them take turns every year of who puts the star up on the tree so the feel the help being that they are so little and can't help put it togther and most of the ooderments are brake able.

Faith - posted on 11/26/2009

31

28

2

my mom never lied to me about santa cluas or any other fictional holiday character... and she never ruined Christmas for me! ive always loved christmas even though i knew that a fat man in a suit wasnt going to come down the chimney with gifts! my son is 2 months old and when he's old enough to know, im going to tell him the truth! that mommy buys his presents. on the last question... Christmas is deffinitely about family... and even though i'm to old for presents I still love it! one of my favortie days of the year next to my bday and my son's bday!

Clare - posted on 11/26/2009

29

50

2

we do it both ways in our house, we have a stocking that gets fillled with little treats and that comes fron Father Christmas and all wrapped presents under the tree come from my husband and i amongst others.

Hope - posted on 11/26/2009

13

30

3

I remember having this discussion with a friend a few years ago. She was never going to tell her kids about Santa because she was devastated when she learned the truth. It was an exciting process for me the whole time. When I found out I was like, I knew it. I was happy to be right. Now I tell my child about Santa but he also knows that his parents buy gifts too. I was just thinking he's getting older and we only have a few more years of this. It does add a new element of excitement to the holiday. To me, God and family are more important than presents.

Tyarria - posted on 11/26/2009

32

24

0

My son is almost 5 months and i already told him that there is no such thing as santa clus. b/c eventually he will find out theres no such thing.. I tell him santa clus is me and christmas is not about giving gifts it is about love and family and the "birth of Jesus Christ"

Anne - posted on 11/26/2009

40

8

2

When i was a kid, we had Santa, but we also learned the true story about Saint Nicolos. I might not have gained anything by having Santa but it was fun to wake up on xmas day and run to the tree looking for the gifts Santa left. Now i have 2 kids of my own and I`m keeping the tradition going, my oldest knows about Santa but we also tell her that its not about the gifts you get but about spending time with family and friends and giving to those with less then we have. I dont think it hurts to believe in Santa and its fun to see how excited they get over Santa coming and whats he going to bring.

[deleted account]

I think you're absolutely right, my daughter is nine now, yesterday we spent the day putting up the tree, she enjoys Christmas as much as any other kid; she also appreciates that her parents work hard and put a lot of thought into her gifts.

She'll never have the disappointment of finding out Santa is not real, cause she's always known the truth.

You'll also never have to answer the question why santa give some kids better gifts and some kids get nothing.

enjoy your Christmas, you work hard to get your kids happy let them know it was you.

Georgeanna - posted on 11/25/2009

19

26

1

I normally keep my mouth shut during these discussions and just let people believe what they believe but someone questioned why a non-christian would celebrate Christmas so I feel the need to say something.



Let's all remember that the "truth" is subjective and dependant upon nothing more than your own beliefs.



Truth:

Christmas, Easter, Valentine's Day and of course Halloween were all Pagan holidays.



The Christianization of these holidays began in the 4th century A.D when Emperor Constantin became a Christian. In order to consolidate his rule he incorporated these holidays to attract the Pagans but polished them up and gave them Christian names to appease the Christians.



In Jeremiah 10: 1-4 we read:

"Hear ye the word which the lord speaketh unto you, Oh house of Israel:

thus sayeth the lord, Learn not the ways of the HEATHEN and be not dismayed at the signs of heaven, for the heathen are dismayed by them."

"For the customs of the people are futile: for one cuts a TREE from the forest, the work of the hands of a workman with an ax. They DECORATE it with silver and gold; they fasten it with nails and hammer that it may not move."



Let's not forget that the Bible does not tell us when Christ was born but does say that angels announced his birth to shepherds who were tending their flocks in the fields which implies Christ was not born in December. It was so cold at night in Palestine between Dec and Feb most shepherds did not watch their flocks in opens fields after October.



I know this is meaningless for people who have faith because you'll believe what you believe no matter what. But to try to make others feel bad or undeserving for celebrating in their own way what you consider to be a Christian only holiday is wrong.



I myself like to look at the holidays in general as a wonderful time to look back at the past year and take stock of all the many blessings in my life and think about things I'd like to improve on for the next year. It's also a great excuse to get a chance to see all your family members that may live in different states or countries. Christmas means a million different things to a million different people and what you choose to teach your children is just that, your choice. Only you know what works for you and your family.



Oh and for the record my husband an I intend on teaching Mia the many different aspects of the holidays and what they mean to different cultures and religions that way she can choose for herself what feels right in her own heart.

Tegan - posted on 11/25/2009

3

16

0

i think slong as kids no the real meaning behind chrissie there is no probs with having santa. its a bit of ezxcitement for them. slong as you dont go overboard and but them lots of huge things as Betty Jean said one big cool thing and just a heap of little stuff

Celicia - posted on 11/25/2009

74

5

3

Honestly, you know what is best for you family. My husband and I have been debating the same thing because we are believers in God and we didn't want Christmas to be about presents. We also don't want to lie to our daughter, so we had to think really hard on it. In the end, we decided that we will tell her that there is a Santa Claus. We feel that giving her hope in him while she is young is alright and as soon as she gets old enough to understand, we are going to tell her about the original, St Nicholas. That way she knows there's not really a man in a red suit coming down our chimney every year, but that the spirit of giving was real in the third century and we are just honoring that spirit to show love to our families and friends.

Dansya - posted on 11/25/2009

21

1

3

I was never told that there was a Santa when I was a kid. We were warned not to tell other kids at school though and they wrote "from Santa" on our gifts just for fun but we knew they were from mom and dad and we thanked them. I never had to go through wondering why my parents lied to me and know Christmas is still very special to me because it has always been about family and food rather than presents. I am not going to tell my little guy about Santa because I don't want to lie to him.

Marche - posted on 11/25/2009

7

18

0

Christmas is a Christian holiday but all children diserve to celebrate. As far as Santa goes I will not teach my son there is a Santa but thats because I am Christian and would like him to know Christmas is a celebration of our religion. It is personal preference and dont feel obligated to tell her there is a Santa just because everyone else tells their children.

Ashley - posted on 11/25/2009

19

13

0

I don't tell my daughter (who's 3) that there is no such thing, I also dont encourage her to believe in him or say that he brings the presents. I too believe Christmas shouldnt be a time to show off or prove how much money you have. my husband and I each get the kids a gift and then they buy for eachother, thats it. We get there pictures taken with Santa but since I havent told her he brings presents she just thinks he's another part of the holiday, like the tree. Santa is a fun tradition and I don't think anything horrible will come from allowing your kids to believe in him, for me though it just seems pointless and I don't like lying to my kids. I bought a book that tells the story of St. Nicolas, I read that to her and tell her that's why we honor him with pictures of Santa Clause, he teaches us to be giving and that's what the holiday's about!

Brenda - posted on 11/25/2009

28

41

0

Quoting Suzanne:

We do both "Santa" brings them gifts for being recpectful and well behaved etc.
Mom and Dad give them gifts so they know we know they we are happy with what they accomplished within that year.
Also, Santa was real at one time. Saint Nicholes would go around town on X-mas eve and put a little gift inside the shoes the children put outside for him. This is how stockings came into play.



Didn't know that!!! Thank you. i will have to google that! tell my kids that story

Katie - posted on 11/25/2009

6

9

4

My children believe in Santa. Me and my husband still wait til they are tucked in bed to set out the presents... i dont find that im lying to my children, but giving them things to believe in..me and my husband are not religious, but we do enjoy the christmas holidays, i guess its just complicated. lol.

Brenda - posted on 11/25/2009

28

41

0

My family santa brought gifts as well as people in our family. I think that Santa gives kids something to be happy about, and use the imagintaion. I don't know if it was my mom that made it so special,but it is one of my best childhood memories, waking up to see what santa brought, leaving out milk and cookies! It's not about finance's at all, it's about having fun. And as far as religion goes teach them the truth what you believe. Ijust think santa is an added bonus.

Michelle - posted on 11/25/2009

21

4

2

We do the christmas storys and religious meaning etc (even though we are not religious it is a good learning opportuinty) but the magic of being able to see there faces when santa has been is priceless.

Brittany - posted on 11/25/2009

330

25

28

i was raised believing in santa. but every year on christmas eve we would exchange our christmas presents from each other and read the bible story. it was great for me. i still remember one christmas eve i "saw" santas sleigh flying through the air (i thought the red lights from a plane was rudolph : )). now that i have 2 sons we will continue santa until they are too old. in fact the other day my son (20 months) asked for a bike and i told him to ask santa. he walked to the christmas tree, picked up a santa ornament, and asked him for a bike! i think we should let the children be innocent and believe in "magic" while they still can. : )

Kerri - posted on 11/25/2009

425

37

53

My mom always told us that there was a Santa and when ever we decided there wasnt a santa anymore that was the end of it. And thats what I plan to do with my kids. We have never been religious about it. And its never been about "jesus" or anything like that. And seeing how I dont believe in God and my boyfriend is Pagan it wont be about Jesus or anything like that for us either! But we will always have santa. My mom has always gone all out for christmas with decorations and everything. And I plan to do the same with my house but with a little twist of yule as well!!

Colleen - posted on 11/25/2009

12

30

1

my kids know about santa and that he only bring s one gift to you if your good but i want this christmas to be way more about the real meaning and not about santa mmy kids love to give ppl presents mainly my making them a card or picture giving is way more important that recieving i agree that christmas is baout being with family and not semdping you every last dime on toys that the kids arent even going to play with. wishing you and you r family a wonderful and happy holiday

Patricia - posted on 11/25/2009

4

24

0

As a child up to the age of ten, I was raised with the idea of Santa Claus. It was never more important than the real meaning of Christmas, more just a way to explain how toys and stockings appeared in the middle of the night. As my sister and I grew older we started to realize that it was more of a story than truth.

Today, my husband and I as well as my sister, are raising our children that there are Santas in the malls and in parades but he is just a character like those in movies and storybooks. A lot of our family do not understand or respect our wishes about excluding Santa Claus from our Christmas celebrations. If they send us gifts from Santa, we just change the tag to from the true sender or the pets.

A lot of our friends and family members that have Santa Claus bringing gifts at Christmas tend to also have kids that believe that because it's Santa, they can ask for and receive anything they want. I don't think it teaches children anything about the value of money or tact to be asking for $400 toys days before the holidays and expect that it will be under the tree.

User - posted on 11/25/2009

8

10

0

Quoting Fawn:

okay so there is NO santa claus, and I refuse to lie to my daughter. The Jewish kids in my school grew up just fine with NO Santa! I feel that I bust my butt and sacrifice SO much to give my daughter all the things in life that she could ever need, want and desire to be happy and healthy. Im not about to let some fictional character get all the credit for it. Plus Christmas isnt about presents..its about love, and sharing, and family.


If christmas is not about presents then why does it matter who gets credit for buying them?

User - posted on 11/25/2009

8

10

0

Where does it end though? Are you going to have the tooth fairy and the easter bunny? To me, Santa is part of being a kid. Believing in all those things is what makes being a kid special. When you grow up you have the rest of your life to be responsible and worry about work and bills etc. Children should get to have the magical experience of christmas and santa while they can. Santa doesnt have to bring endless expensive gifts. And you are going to buy presents anyway. My kids get a few presents each from santa then one from mum and dad and they each give each other a gift as well.

Melanie - posted on 11/25/2009

204

16

15

I think there is nothing better then the glow and sparkle in a childs eyes when they think santa is coming and when they wake up on christmas morning and run to the tree to see what santa brought them. Childhood goes by do fast and should be filled with innocence, make believe, magic and fairy tales.

Bristen - posted on 11/24/2009

10

43

1

I always had Santa gifts growing up....but it was like 1 or 2 or 3 tops....everything else said from Mommy & Daddy, Grandma & Grandpa, Aunts & Uncles...etc...
I am going to do it the same way with my babies.....
I understand you wanting your child to appreciate how hard you work to give her a good Christmas, but that can still happen with Santa...my mom was a single mom, worked & went to nursing school but always managed to give awesome Christmases to me & my lil sis! And yes at the time I thought that the gifts were from Santa...but now that I am older & know who santa really was I appreciate it even more that my mom did all she could to make it special for us....ya know?
Yes Christmas is meant to be a "religious" holiday & santa is a fictional Character but oh well! It's whats fun & what's best for you and your family.
And not everyone goes into debt over smas & not everyone is trying to show off. I know that my mom saved ALL YEAR LONG! She put $$ away in a savings account from every paycheck, that way she did have the money to go all out...not to show off, but to see the look on her girl's faces.....and my husband & I do the same.....I am a SAHM so we don't have a ton of $$ but we put away $$ so we can make Christmas an awesome memory for our kids! :o)

Cassondra - posted on 11/24/2009

17

47

3

we aren't pressing the issue of santa with our little girl we don't put santa on her christmas gifts she knows they come from mommy and daddy. our family focuses on the real reason for the Christmas season The Birth of Jesus and we are teaching our daughter that its better to help others and to give to others in need than to receive gifts. we haven't come out and said that Santa isn't real so if she wants to believe then she believes however if she asks us if santa is real I will tell her the truth.

Valerie - posted on 11/24/2009

90

13

12


I also wish that more parents could use Christmas as a way to teach thier children all about life and family as well as living a life with God. I really think that non Chritians are not really celebrating Christmas...if you dont believe that Jesus was a miricle and sent by God to save us of our sins then whats the point in using Christmas as a holiday...cause thats what most non Christian people do - use it as an excuse to have a holiday and compete with thier friends on what they are buying for thier child...and the children of those parents just think who got the best pressie this year, and who got the most money spent on them. I would have loved my parents to raise me without all the expensive pressies and take us to a childrens home and spend a day with those that dont get to feel what a family is like...Im just Glad i found God before it was too late and I can teach my daughter the right way to love in honour of Jesus Christ our Saviour!



I'm a non christan and i tell my son about santa and he is 4. We celebrate it because his father is christan and I do not use it as a chance to compete with my friends on who can buy more. My son gets about 2 or 3 presents from santa and the rest are form mommy and daddy grandma grandpa nanny grandpa and his Aunts and uncles. Even tho right now he keeps saying mommy santa brings all the presents i tell him thts not the case and that santa will bring some but not all the other presents come form other people. He also understands that Christmas is a time to be spent with family we dont live near my parents or my grandparents so we call them every year to say merry christmas and to show my son that just because they dont live near us we still should see how they are doing on this special day. Then we have a special dinner with his fathers family and most years we actually go to North carolina a couple of weeks after christmas and my parents leave their tree up for my son so they can have their own special christmas with him. so to say that all Non Christans use it as an excuse to have a holiday and compete with their friends. is kind of insulting to me. I do agree that maybe some people use it as an excuse but some dont. My parents are Methodist and I did grow up going to church and sunday school but in the end I ended up not believeing in God and Jesus and I will let my son make up his mind after a year of going to religion and let him decide what he wants to do if he wants to learn about it he can and if he doesnt he doesnt have to

Suzanne - posted on 11/24/2009

4

1

0

We do both "Santa" brings them gifts for being recpectful and well behaved etc.

Mom and Dad give them gifts so they know we know they we are happy with what they accomplished within that year.

Also, Santa was real at one time. Saint Nicholes would go around town on X-mas eve and put a little gift inside the shoes the children put outside for him. This is how stockings came into play.

Jenn - posted on 11/24/2009

124

41

6

Sounds fun Kerry! I probably wouldn't need fake snow in Alberta, Canada but I love the boot print idea :)

Kerry - posted on 11/24/2009

2

2

0

My sons get a stocking from santa and they get to ask for one big pressie which is from santa. The also get some smaller things from santa among their pressies. We do the whole fake snow and santas footprint at the door. I think for kids its a magical time and i want to keep it going for as long as i can. x

Monica - posted on 11/24/2009

15

10

3

I believed in Santa growing up until I saw my parents shoving Christimas presents under the tree... I def will let my daughter believe there is a Santa esp when she is little but if she begins to ask me questions about it I def will tell her the truth.. I don't think I could lie to her about it!!!

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms