NEED OPINIONS ON GIVING MELATONIN TO MY TODDLERS THAT WONT FALL ASLEEP UNTIL AFTER 10 PM

[deleted account] ( 11 moms have responded )

I am having trouble getting my toddlers to sleep they are 2.5 years and 3.5 years, a few people have recommended melatonin, any opinions or advice? Has anyone tried it with their children?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Firebird - posted on 08/21/2013

2,660

30

521

I wouldn't give it to such young children, it could mess up their ability to fall asleep on their own for the rest of their lives. Here are a few things you can try: no tv or any other screen time after 6pm, beds are for sleeping only so no food, drink or playing in bed, an hour before bed time is "settle down time" which means no yelling, running or jumping... quiet, slow paced playtime or reading only. If no one has scent allergies you can set up real lavender aroma therapy candles around the house and light them an hour before bedtime. I put a few drop of lavender essential oil on the under side of my daughter's pillow. Keep in mind that most of these suggestions will take a few weeks for noticeable improvement to be seen.

11 Comments

View replies by

Caterina - posted on 08/25/2013

3

0

0

It's not a magic pill:) the supplement should only be used for the most serious sleep and neurological disorders... It also lacks long-term clinical studies.

Enna - posted on 08/23/2013

521

10

204

We used to give my daughter melatonin. The dosage was so low that it was hardly anything (like 1mg). I told her it was medicine to help her sleep. I think it had more of a placebo effect. She thought it would help, and it did because she thought it would.
We also used to give my younger daughter the tiny Splenda tablets. I assume they still make those, not sure. We didn't give them to her very often, but anytime she had some silly complaint that's what we did. It worked, and we stopped doing it after a couple of months. With your kids being so young, I don't know if my strategies would help them sleep. I don't think giving it to them is a problem, so long as you check with your doctor (and it sounds like you did.)

Kimberly - posted on 08/23/2013

5

38

2

my kids are the same way... I talked to their doctor and he put them on melatonin. They make chewables now so there is no issues. we wait until 5 mins before bedtime to give it to them as they pass out right away... we've tried running them tired and they just don't. we did the no tv, reading before bed. nothing helped. as soon as 8pm rolled around it was like they had a spoonful of sugar they were so hyper. at the age of your kids I would start with the oldest one and wait a year for your younger child. get a 1 mg and cut it in half. crush it and put it in warm milk. if you want the nature valley chocolate mint chewables they are 3 mg. I would cut them into 4 pieces. I wouldn't give them such a heavy dose. but you will notice a HUGE difference in the mornings even. FYI my kids stopped taking naps at 2.

Jodi - posted on 08/22/2013

3,562

36

3907

What is their current sleep pattern? Like their nap times, how long, what time are they getting up in the morning? All of this makes a HUGE difference.

[deleted account]

I would suggest you ask your doctor about that, but I wouldn't personally give a 2.5 and 3.5 year old melatonin. Someone I know used to give their kid gravol to help them sleep

Lana - posted on 08/21/2013

231

0

9

No! to the medicine. It is unnecessary. If your children won't go to sleep then they aren't tired. My 9 month old daughter will stay up until 1 am if she isn't tired. My husband and I have started taking her in the living room and play with her until her lids are heavy.. We then dim the lights. I nurse her, or he rocks her to sleep. Works everytime! It may take extra time and energy on your part, but run those toddlers around until they are exhausted. No worries on waking in the night.

[deleted account]

I have discussed it with their pedi, I am just still a little torn... I don't even like giving them Tylenol but I wanted to see what some others mom thought, thank you :)

Firebird - posted on 08/21/2013

2,660

30

521

Melatonin for toddlers is not a great idea and it certainly should not be given to them until you've discussed it with their doctor.

Michelle - posted on 08/21/2013

5,046

8

3249

What else have you tried? Do they still have naps? How long for? What is the bedtime routine like? Is it soothing and relaxing or hyped up and rushed?
I would be looking at everything else first.

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms