Opinions on a Bumbo

Katie - posted on 07/29/2009 ( 12 moms have responded )

131

57

13

I recently bought a bumbo for my daughter who is 6 months old.She seems to be taking longer sitting with help than my son did, so I thought I would try this thing for her.I was just wondering what people think of it and if it really works well or was a waste on money.I have talked to people I know who claim they love it, but I would really like some other peoples opinions.Thanks!

12 Comments

View replies by

--- - posted on 07/30/2009

369

2

15

bumbo is awesome. well worth the money. I bought mine used for $30 and sold it for $30 . does not work as a bath chair because it just floats. never put it on a surface other than the floor.

Katie - posted on 07/30/2009

131

57

13

Thanks everyone for your opinions.She is doing okay in it but she doesn't like to be in it to long.She will start to throw herself backwards when she gets tired of being in it!

Teresa - posted on 07/30/2009

13

3

0

I recently bought one bc it has a little tray and will come in handy in our little house. It takes up a lot less room then our highchair (which is in the basement). It was expensive though, it just foam!

Amber - posted on 07/30/2009

654

16

106

My son is 6 months and we love the bumbo seat he used it since he was 3 1/2 months he would sit in it to play with toys and now at 6 months he has been sitting unassisted for about a month. He is very strong and active, but my neice is so little and floppy so I bought one for her as well I think it is worth the money although I only paid $10 for mine I bought off someone on craigslist. My mom has one at her house as well and feeds him in it. I love the bumbo seat. I also know that they are used in therapy for children who need help with development.

Kylie - posted on 07/30/2009

2,391

81

190

my 8 month old still loves his, i take it with us when we go visiting so he has a comfy seat while i have a coffee or eat dinner and its handy to take outside while hanging out the washing or whatever.if you get the little tray attachment they can sit in it and play happily banging their toys and they can eat in it too. I've seen some mums say they've used it as a bath seat. the resale value is pretty good too so even though they are expensive they don't get worn so you can get some money back when bubs grows out of it.

Jennie - posted on 07/30/2009

34

0

5

i bought one 2nd hand, and im so pleased because my little boy sat in it for about 5 hours in total! he didnt like it, and it didnt help him sitting up at all. waste of money even 2nd hand.

Carly - posted on 07/29/2009

105

11

20

I think they are a waste of money. Humans have managed learning to sit up for thousands of years before things like this, so they aren't a necessary piece of equipment. I'll be interested to see the results of any studies done on the effects of making babies sit up before they're ready in products like this. I'm guessing it will be similar to the effects of putting them in walkers, another completely useless invention.

Arlene - posted on 07/29/2009

53

21

6

Ava has been sitting in it for about 4 months, to begin with she kinda veered to the left but as her wee shape has filled out n growth n support has got better she sits in great now, i feed her breakfast and dinner there n sometimes sit her in it infront of the kitchen door so she see's me but more important i see her, i think its a great ivestment but a friend said she never liked it so i guess its down to yourself. i use it bout 3 times a day but prefer her to roam free :)

Sarah - posted on 07/29/2009

85

9

4

With my experience my daughter didn't have one,(only because I couldn't afford one at the time) and she sat up just before she turned 5 months old. I had a friend that had one and hers didn't sit up until 7-8months. I think it might inhibit them learning to sit on there own but sure is convient. I'm not going to get one for my son because I don't want that to happen either. We do have them at the daycare I work at they are nice to have when you have lots of babies to watch!

Deidre - posted on 07/29/2009

452

52

77

I liked the bumbo for my daughter but she didn't use it for long. Once she was crawling it was gone. I mainly just used it for her to sit in while I used the bathroom lol, she was otherwise not thrilled to be in it (well, she was fine the first couple months but towards the end she was over it, around 7-8mo). I hope she likes it! Good luck :)

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms