What is everyone's opinion on amniocentesis?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Hanna - posted on 08/13/2009

585

9

56

well in my opinion, you need to decide whether or not you would keep the child if you found out the baby had a genetic disorder and if the child was born with a disorder, would you be prepared to take care of a disabled child -- it's not an easy task and not everyone is up for it. i know it sounds cruel, but it is a serious decision that unfortunately all of us have to make. in doing so, i would also think about whether or not my spouse/partner would be up for it and whether or not i have other children that i would be exposing to it -- it does put a big strain on the whole family and the children will have to understand that you will give more time, attention and care to the disabled child than to them and they will have to do the same and be extra patient and extra understanding.

if you are ok with all of that then you need to consider whether or not it's necessary to take the test being that it does pose quite a large risk for the baby. then the following factors come into play:
1. do you have a family history of genetic disorders?
2. are you over the age of 36 or close to it where risks of having genetic disorders rises significantly?
3. did other test come out inconclusive or positive and you need to be re-tested?

if none of the above were "yes", there are other tests you can do before doing the amneo. they are very accurate and they don't pose any risks for the embryo. so unless it's "medically necessary", i really don't see a reason to do it.

14 Comments

View replies by

Crystal - posted on 08/13/2009

2

10

0

I had one done as I was sent to a specialist for complications. I would of been 6 months pregnant right now buy my daughter was taken from me. I'm glad that we had it done as it helped us to prepare for the worse. Even though preparing yourself doesn't make it any easier. If I was to have another child I will do it again.

Katarina - posted on 08/13/2009

0

0

198

Amnio at 38 weeks is a little bit scary. Our ob was surprised I didn't get one, it was an option to me, but i felt that it wasn't worth the risk. Neither one of us had risk of birth defects. I've heard it can cause a miscarriage and stress on the baby(he/she doesn't need any more of that so close to delivery)

Melanie - posted on 08/13/2009

10

22

0

I do not agree with it. I know that it can be helpful but there are just some stakes that you don't put your baby through. I have heard stories of abnormalities regarding their baby and that needle.

Cindy - posted on 08/13/2009

1

9

0

well if there is a health condition in your family then you should consider going through with one if your dr or midwife sees it as a muct. they are uncomfortable but are heavily monitored my ultrasounds ands very experienced doctors. So I would have to d=say if you really are nedding one have it but if it is not a nessecity then pass.

Isa - posted on 08/13/2009

26

25

1

I felt this way about it- I'm going to love my child, regardless. If anything is wrong, what am I going to do? Abort him? I'm waaay too far along anyway, and if anything, I may be the one to cause a problem.
So, I just didn't so it. I hope this helps a little. =)

Sara - posted on 08/13/2009

99

45

10

Sometimes there can be a false negative or positive if possible do a family background check befor hand depends some things need two parents to contribute and others are just dominant. Ask as many questions befor having to depend on just that volunteer around kids with special needs so you know what you can handle just in case anything does happen discuss with your partner go from there.

Eirini - posted on 08/13/2009

47

30

3

I didnt have it done with my son and he is just fine.. you have to be careful with it if you choose to go that route because there are false positives....it that case you would stress over nothing...good luck in whatever you choose

Mystri - posted on 08/13/2009

18

25

0

Thanks ladies! I guess I should add some additional details. Mine will be done at 38 weeks to check for lung maturity. I am having a reapeat csection. My doc says any delivery before 39 weeks requires one at the hospital I'm delivering at. I could wait til 39 weeks to have the baby but my husband will be leaving for military purposes at that time. I didnt think having the baby at 38 weeks would hurt but I'm not so sure about the amnio so that's why I'm trying to get opinions.

Tiffany - posted on 08/13/2009

1

15

0

I had an amnio done when I was 6 months pregnant with my son. The doctors thought my baby was at risk for a birth defect. I wanted to know because if it was something like down syndrome, it cost a lot to raise a baby like that and I wanted to know what I was getting into. Thank God everything was ok. My son just turned 2yrs old.

Crystal - posted on 08/13/2009

124

7

26

I didn't have it done because it wouldn't have mattered to me if something was wrong. The risks were too much. If something had been wrong I would have stressed about it for the rest of my pregnancy.

Desaree - posted on 08/13/2009

23

10

1

I think there is a signifagant risk but it is a personal choice. Your doctor is your best friend this point weigh the benefits with the risks in your situation. Personally I wouldn't do it unless the doctor suspected something like spineabifita that can be treated before birth I would do it., but it was something like downs syndrome I wouldn't because there is no treatment that could help. Its just a matter of deciding whats best for you in your own situation.

Heather - posted on 08/13/2009

3

29

0

i didn't do it b/c i figured i didn't care if there was something wrong as in i'd love the baby anyway and it wouldn't change my mind about having the baby so i never got them done

Jacquelyn - posted on 08/13/2009

16

22

6

Well, first, do u have a history of this in your family? any abnormalities?? Because it seems a little scary to be doin anything with an unborn fetus, ya know?? I know doctors have their exp with it, but, you have to ask yourself are u willing to risk it....thats just an opinion, i wouldnt do it if there is no history if abnormalities in my or the childs fathers family....I hope tht helped

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms