Has someone else's opinion changed you mind?

Amanda - posted on 04/05/2010 ( 20 moms have responded )

69

23

6

Have you ever changed your mind after reading someone's opinion about thier beliefs?

After reading throught some of the religious debates on here recently, I have wondered what the point of them are. I have not swayed in my beliefs one bit after reading what other people think, and I even, at some points, have a hard time not taking offence to some things being said. Which makes me wonder if anyone is actually swayed or inspired to learn more about the other person's beliefs.

The only things that I take from the religious debates are:
1. frustration at not being heard, or heard in the way I intended what I said.
2. Offence by what someone else has said.
3.Annoyance by what some others who believe similar to what I believe for various reasons.

So what do you think? Are religious debates constructive or pointless?

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

[deleted account]

I would say that things I was highly against I now have a better understanding of and can accept better than I did before I started the community...

[deleted account]

This goes for any debate, religious or not. I don't expect to change anyone's opinion. I just like to throw in my 2 cents worth, someone may be interested in what I have to say. I just like a good debate.

I don't think I've had my views/opinions changed by what others have said but it does give me another point of view, another way of looking at it or brings up a point I've never considered. I like to hear what other peole have to say because I think it makes me more understanding of the issue being discussed.

Jocelyn - posted on 04/05/2010

5,165

42

275

I think religious debates are pretty useless. Mind you I find them fascinating and love to get involved with them, but really, chances are I'm not going to change anyone's mind, and no one will change my mind. On occasion tho, someone will say something and I'll go "hmm I never thought of it like that before" and it might make me rework the details in some of my theories, but they essentially stay the same.

Emma - posted on 04/05/2010

1,590

15

114

I enjoy a good religious debate myself,
I doubt anyone's mind has ever been changed by one, though i do feel that they help people to understand people with different beliefs than there own,
Im an atheist and have made some good (Christian, museum ect) friends while debating religion.
I think if you can keep it calm and adult you can learn a lot, i myself have read lots of religious texts as im also a person who dose not think you can make informed comment unless you know what you are talking about,
I think as a rule if you like to debate it go ahead if not you just avoid those posts

20 Comments

View replies by

Carolee - posted on 04/06/2010

21,950

17

585

Amanda, that is SO awesome! It is hard to remember at times that other people are just as passionate about their own views on religion as you are with yours. That's just awesome.

Amanda - posted on 04/06/2010

69

23

6

Well... this thread has changed my mind. I was all ready to just leave the religious threads alone. However, reading your responces has reminded me that just because a thread is based on what I am most passionate about in life, doesn't mean that I need to change anyone's view point to reflect my own.



I need to learn from others what their view points are, and put on a thicker skin before I start reading. It's funny. I don't ever get offended talking about anything else, well most anything else, but with religion it's hard not to. Just because my faith is everything to me. So having what seems like someone bashing my beliefs can hurt. I guess I need to recognize that no one is intentionally trying to insult anyone else, and if it seems that way, I should move on to the next topic. Thanks ladies! :)

[deleted account]

Not on religious issues.....BUT, on the post I posted about "Woman in Combat". I said "absolutely, woman should be on the front lines, if they want." After reading some of the arguments, I'd have to say I think I changed my mind... :-)

Jenny - posted on 04/06/2010

4,426

16

129

Well I've gone from being a Christian to an athiest so I suppose information from others did, in fact, help change my mind.

[deleted account]

I enjoy the religious debates. I love the chance to air my views, although I don't expect o change anyone's mind. My own views were formed after many struggles and experiences and I don't expect them to change either. But it's great fun!

Jackie - posted on 04/06/2010

1,415

44

72

I really don't expect my point of view to have any kind of impact on anybody, however; I always enjoy reading what other people have to say. I am also guilty of enjoying them when they get heated because so mamy people are VERY passionate about what they believe.

I am personally kind of an outcast in my own home. My boyfriend and his family have a pretty strong faith (which I do not seem to have) and it's comforting to know that there other people who feel the same way I do. It's also very interesting to listen to people who are way more educated on either topic.

C. - posted on 04/06/2010

4,125

35

242

I actually think they are constructive if conducted in a respective manner. Has a religious debate ever swayed my beliefs? No. But there have been quite a few times where it has opened my eyes about how people perceive my religion and vise-versa.

Carolee - posted on 04/05/2010

21,950

17

585

I never try to sway anybody with regards to religion. I simply state my point of view just to have it out there in case somebody either finds it interesting or informative (although I don't know how "informative" any discussion about religion can be). I really don't care if anybody agrees with me or thinks I'm insane... I'm good with either. If somebody does come on here intent on converting everybody to a certain religion, though, I will get snippy and let them know exactly how I feel about people who do that.



I will be more than happy for you if/when you find/found god or allah or anything or nothing to believe in, as long as you respect (not believe in) what I have found. You CAN think somebody's crazy without attacking or offending them.

Sunny - posted on 04/05/2010

662

21

53

I find religion fascinating, im an atheist, but have no problem with religion. I love gospel music and hearing of peoples devotion ect, i simply dont have it myself. I find it all really interesting coming from an atheist family i have done all my research myself so hearing peoples points of view on the topic intrigues me. I dont think i could find a love for a god or religion from a debate but i like to hear what people have to say, i wish there were more religions discussed, simply so i know about them, where they come from, the practice ect.

Rosie - posted on 04/05/2010

8,657

30

321

well, not sure if peoples religious opinions or beliefs will change, but i have found myself swayed from time to time on this site on other topics. i do feel it's fun (not sure if that's the right word) to speak my mind and listen to other peoples opinions. i like to see what people have to say to back their stuff up. who knows-my husband changed my mind on religion- it is possible. not very likely, but possible.

Lady - posted on 04/05/2010

2,136

73

221

I think anybody who has made up their mind one way or another is never going to be swayed by someone elses point of veiw - I don't try and change anyones mind I just like to get them to think like they make me! If someone is still undecided - agnostic rather than athiest - then I would like to think I can help them with their struggle because sometimes it has been so ingrained in people that they can not question god or faith because it is a sin and they will go to hell and if they have asked their minister or priest they have not been given the answers they were hoping for - so for these people I hope hearing both points of veiw helps them sort it out in their minds on way or another.

Johnny - posted on 04/05/2010

8,686

26

322

I don't really come here to change anyone's mind or to have my mind changed. Although from time to time I get a new perspective on certain ideas. But I do find that for me, these debates help to clarify and make me assess why it is I believe what I do and whether those ideas continue to work for me.

I think if you arrive here hoping to change people's minds and make them think exactly like you, you will become bitterly disappointed and frustrated. But if you can just enjoy the rigor of the conversation without taking every comment personally, then you will enjoy yourself.

Amanda - posted on 04/05/2010

69

23

6

I completley agree with you Emma. If you don't know what you are talking about or can't back up your position, then step out, and enjoy the read, if you enjoy that. Otherwise don't post, as you come off looking stupid, and prove the other side's point. I believe this to be true for any debate, not only religious ones.

Krista - posted on 04/05/2010

12,562

16

847

I never expect to change anybody's mind, really. I just enjoy arguing. :)

But if nothing else, sometimes it is interesting to get other peoples' viewpoints. Not that it changes my mind, but it's just always interesting to hear where other people are coming from.

Jessica - posted on 04/05/2010

626

26

29

Mostly pointless, and in some cases they just make me realize even more so why I don't believe in alot of it. I think some people are just nuts after reading some of the stuff written, but I do enjoy reading them. I have always loved learning about other religions, just don't believe in any of them, so again, pointless.

LaCi - posted on 04/05/2010

3,361

3

171

I think they're neutral. These threads are really just a vessel to express your opinion. No one will change their mind but its a good release to just get all that crap out of your system. My opinion, of course.

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms