i am debating whether circumsion is good to do or not,any opinions

[deleted account] ( 200 moms have responded )

having my first baby and its a boy anyone have opinions on the pros and cons of circumcision and how well babies deal with the pain.

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Arwen - posted on 11/12/2009

350

12

31

The only pro is that it's attractive.

I can't even think of all the cons. There is no proof that it makes for fewer STD's. Common sense tells you how to prevent those: condoms. Some people say that it decreases UTI's, but studies have shown an increase in those circumcised, not the other way around. You would have to show him how to put back the skin to bathe himself properly.

It's so painful for children that it normally causes the child to go into shock after the procedure. That's the real reason children stop crying when it's over.

It decreases sexual pleasure for men by taking away the most sensitive part of their penis, and it decreases pleasure for women by taking away a man's thickness. Without the skin, it dries out the head of the penis, and over years decreases sensation in that part. In short, imagine sex without your clitoris.

You really should watch Penn and Teller's BS episode about it, it's very informative.

Merry - posted on 11/11/2009

9,274

169

263

my family was against it and my husbands was for it so we argued for a year and 9 months and after talking to my OBGYN who would do the procedure i felt comfortable having it done for my son, but as she came and told me it was time i started to reconsider. i almost cried when she picked him up but then i realized that i had made the decision and i wasnt going to change my mind in the heat of the moment. she wraped his arms tight to his chest with a blanket and gave him a pacifier and had me stand next to him and i had a container of sugar water to dip his pacifier into. she had a nurse hold his legs still and he started to fuss, then she gave him the numbing injection and he cried for 10 seconds or so and then sucked the pacifier. He then just wriggled a bit and sucked away, i talked to him and stroked his dface and kissed him alot. She was done in 5 minutes or so and then just wrapped some gauze and vaseline around it and diapered him up. The nurse gave him some liquid tylenol and i held him. At each diaper change for 6 days i put vaseline on but he never cried.
In his lifetime i can count the times he has been hurt and i have to say that worse to least pain would have to be like this
IV for a renal scan 10
Catheter for renal scan 9
PKU blood test 8
Jaundice test X 3 7
2 month shots 6
4 month shots 5
6 month shots 4
falling and hitting his head onto plastic chair leg 3
circumsicion 2
various falls and scratches 1

so the decision is yours and daddys but just understand that if you have a loving careing knowledgeable Dr who has done it MANY times do it, and you are there to make sure he is okay, then it will be way down on his list of pain.
good luck and when you make your decision DONT let ANYONE tell you that its wrong
because no one will love your son more then you :)

Sheila - posted on 11/10/2009

22

10

1

I was all for it.... until I had a son. There isn't any medical pro to having it done. People will always go to that stand-by argument that "it's cleaner", well if you teach your child proper washing habits, then it shouldn't be a problem. The amount of circumcision going on in the USA has dropped by almost 50% and is steadly dropping. So if you're worried about how your son will look next to his peers (or future lover), by the time he's old enough for all that, him BEING circumcised will single him out. If there wasn't a need for foreskin, then he wouldn't be born with one. Did you know by having his foreskin cut off your taking up to 30% of his sexual feeling away?
And lastly, it's not your penis. If he wants it off later, then he can. You can always take it off, you can't put it back. How would you feel if your mom had your labia minor cut off because it would be cleaner? Because that's really the biggest reason why (uninformed) people have their sons go through the agonizing pain of an unnecessary procedure.

Good luck, and congrats!

[deleted account]

hey- My husband has always thought if the Dad is, then the son should be too- if you're still with the Dad that is. Otherwise your lil boy may feel strange that his is different to Daddy's. I've talked to a few mums who have had it done to their boys and they said there's lots of tears too. I'm yet to have a boy, so haven't had to make the choice yet.

This conversation has been closed to further comments

200 Comments

View replies by

Kristi - posted on 01/17/2010

236

7

2

So far I have had only girls. I can tell you, however, that in prep for the possibility of a little boy, I did a lot of soul-searching and re-searching. ;)

I listened to parents on both sides of the issues, and the ones who were in favor of it seemed to be using arguments that weren't very good in my personal opinion. They wanted the kid to look like dad (who was likely circumcised at birth without any input whatsoever of his own), or they were talking about infections and cleanliness (both of which have been proven to be unfounded arguments). I'm not much about vanity issues (the look like dad argument). I figure that a boy should be able to have an opportunity to decide that for himself. If you do it at birth you can't go back. It could be a really neat rite of passage into adulthood if he was sure for himself that it was something he wanted to do at an age where he could make up his own mind. The surgery would be the same, maybe slightly longer healing. As for health issues, the scientific community has said any number of times in recent studies that there is no basis for doing it. The old penile cancer debate is resolved. Circumcision has nothing to do with it. In fact, I keep seeing information that talks about uncircumcised men having greater pleasure with sexual contact. Why mess with mother nature??? I have decided that if I ever have a baby boy, he can decide when he is old enough to decide for himself. I guess it's kind of like my pierced ears debate for little girl babies. Why would you subject your beautiful new baby to surgical mutilation??? Good luck with this important decision. I hope you decide not to do it.

Sylvia - posted on 01/17/2010

14

12

0

KaSandra, I encourage you to do lots and lots of research before you make such an important decision about your son. I researched this a lot before my son Gabriel was born a little over 4 years ago, and I decided not to circumcise him. If you've seen the device that they use for circumcision (the plastibell is one), it's really a barbaric procedure for something that doesn't need to be done other than cosmetic reasons if you're Jewish or some other religion that does it traditionally as part of their religion. My husband IS circumcised, but he obviously didn't have a choice in whether he wanted to have this done to himself since he had it done as an infant. So he left this decision up to me. And my son doesn't care that his daddy is one way and he's different from him. I figured if it's something that God gave to my baby, I wasn't about to take that away from him. If he decided down the road that he wanted to have it done, that was up to him. You know, in case he had problems with keeping his foreskin. So far we've had none. We just keep it clean and my son is perfectly fine and happy. His cousins that are a little older (who are circumcised) asked me when he was younger why he looked different from them. I just told them that he wasn't circumcised like they were, and they accepted that and that was the end of the conversation. There isn't a lot of stigma these days for uncircumcised males the way there used to be in the past, and it's not like boys walk around comparing themselves to other boys in the locker room or whatever. It just doesn't happen. I know this because I've heard it from my girlfriend's older sons who talked about this with her. So suffice it to say we decided not to do it for my son, and we've had no problems and are completely happy with our decision. I believe it's a personal choice whether or not you want to do this for your baby, but I also believe if you're going to do it, you should really research it and find out what's involved and base your decision on that. Not just maybe because your husband is circumcised. To me that's really not a good reason since he didn't have a say in the matter anyway. Hope this helps!

CONNIE - posted on 01/15/2010

14

8

0

I was so worried about this when I found out I was Pregnant.It is very barbaric and they say your child can not feel it! BS How can they not! Very relieved when I found out I was having a Girl! Made myself SICK thinking about this.Then on the other hand My Husbands Little brother was 12 when he had to be circumcised because he did not pull the skin back and he is now 36 he still remembers it!!!! OUCH!!!

Crystal - posted on 01/14/2010

22

21

3

one other thought, if you would be willing to have your labia cut off to be more aesthetically pleasing - go for it! ouch...

Crystal - posted on 01/14/2010

22

21

3

i have two uncircumcised boys who have had ZERO problems with it. there are no medical reasons to get it done only cultural and religious ones. i think it's cruel and horribly painful and to think that they won't feel pain because they are so young is just downright ignorant. it is a practice that is seldom done in the rest of the world.

[deleted account]

My son is 100% intact and he was born in 2001 and there has not been one single issue with it. My son's Dad was circumcised when he was a newborn and he had serious complications after surgery....something that he lives with daily and he was very against this procedure. I realized that the only reason I was even thinking about doing this was because supposedly everybody does it.....I decided not to do it and it was one less thing to worry about.

Research it please.....men say it takes away from them sexually too to be circumcised, when the penis gets hard it looks exactly the same as a circumcised penis. It comes down to a personal choice and there is nothing out there that is going to pint one way or another. I feel that if it's there why do we remove it and why is this a choice that is put onto a small male infant?

Linda - posted on 01/14/2010

56

15

6

You've gotten lots of answers here and hopefully you will be able to decide. I had two girls and then my son much later. I was very unsure what to do up until the day the doctor came to take him to get circ'd. Another doctor came in and I was talking to him and he said there was NO medical reason he needed to be circ'd. It was a personal decision. Usually if daddy is, baby is, and vice-versa. My husband is not, and therefore we decided not to circ our son. He was born in 1999. No problems, ever. That being said, my daughter has two sons and both were circ'd with no problems.

Jackie - posted on 01/14/2010

0

0

0

My son isn't circumsised . I personally think that there is no point to it. I think the only reason why people choose to have their babies circumsised is for religious or because it's the "done thing" . I think it's barbaric. I researched it too...I think it's horrific . The foreskin was put there for a reason. As long as you keep it really clean it will be fine . I clean my sons with every diaper change and baths. It's no more less clean than if you were going to get your son circumsised

Jorgie - posted on 01/13/2010

5

20

0

Everyone has some very strong feelings about getting/not getting it done. There is no medical proof that it causes infections if you don't get it done, insurance companies don't cover it anymore, because it is considered a cosmetic surgery instead of medically necessary. I believe it is becoming a trend now days to not circumcise.

My belief is that if the dad of the baby is, or if he has any older brothers that are, than you should do it. Just so the child doesn't feel different from his dad or siblings. The dad is usually the one that teaches the boy about his boy parts. I have a boy that is and I am expecting another that will also have one, mostly because of the reasons stated above. Also if it is done within the first week of the baby's life it doesn't cause the baby hardly any pain and heals very quickly. Someone said something about it decreasing the sexual feeling in a man when he grows up, my answer to that is; do we really want men to feel even more aroused than they already are? Most men already have issues with not lasting very long sexually. My husband is circumcised and he has no issues with feeling pleasure and that goes for most circumcised men, I think that that statement above is ridiculous.

Tricia - posted on 01/13/2010

12

17

0

My 12 year old is not circumsized but my 17 year old is my oldest the circumcized one used to get soap in his pea hole and it would burn my 12 year old that is not never has. other than that there has not been any issues with either. Only reason I didnt get the 12 year old done was because he was a premie and they done curcumsize them when they are too little, after he was bis enough I asked if he had to be they said no there is no reason I should so I said no, If he wants it done he can do it himself.

Pamela - posted on 01/13/2010

1

0

0

I had my first son circumcised because my husband wanted it and it seemed the thing to do, health reasons, etc. It was AWFUL. My son had a lot of pain for days and there were complications. I decided not to circumcise my second and am SO glad I didn't do it. They are brothers and will be different, but they are different anyway. I am not going to make a big deal about it and when they ask me about it some day I am just going to tell the truth: we circumcised Oliver and it hurt a lot and we realized it was a mistake. If our second son wants it done someday we'll support him but it's his decision, not ours.

Angela - posted on 01/13/2010

1

3

0

I've had 3 boys all circumcised in the hospital at one day old. All three of them were asleep when they came back from the procedure and none of them had any problems with it. I recommend it. Talk to your pediatrician about the different options for the procedure and pain management. Babies don't remember the pain whatsoever and the procedure is a quick one. I understand it's a lot more painful having it done when they are older.

[deleted account]

I honestly do not think that it matters if you do it or not. He will still have his boy parts and they will work the same way. A lot of people get them circumcised because of religion matters.

Jen - posted on 01/12/2010

6

19

1

Genesis 17 starting with verse 10....good enough reason for me to circumcise our son.



GEN 17:10 "This is My covenant, which you shall keep, between Me and you and your descendants after you: every male among you shall be circumcised.

GEN 17:11 "And you shall be circumcised in the flesh of your foreskin, and it shall be the sign of the covenant between Me and you.

Natasha - posted on 01/12/2010

118

14

10

80% of a males nerve endings in his penis are in that foreskin. When you remove it they could have sexual problems when they are older. There is no reason to circumcise except for esthetic perposes.

Amy - posted on 01/12/2010

3

11

0

Here are some fact that I found about the pros of cirumcision

there are lots of websites that have information.



•Circumcision may result in a decreased incidence of urinary tract infections.

•Circumcision may result in a lower incidence of sexually-transmitted diseases and may reduce HIV transmission.

•Circumcision may lower the risk for cancer of the cervix in sexual partners.

•Circumcision may decrease the risk for cancer of the penis.



this is the web site

http://www.medicinenet.com/circumcision_...



It is all a matter of personal choice, there is alot of information that you can find on the internet, look for neutral sites. they will have the more accurate information. I have looked at both pro sites and con sites, they can make you even more confused. Best of luck to you and this decision that you are to make.

Amy - posted on 01/12/2010

3

11

0

When my son was born I asked men their opinions what I got was this.... two men that had to have it done as adults, they say it is really painful when they had the infection and that it was a long recovery.. that is a mans opinion, I did it because of the stories those two men told me and because my husband was done as an infant as well. My son took very little time to recover and with the way he behaved, it seemed that I had a harder time after it was done than he did. I will warn you that it looks awful while it heals after circumcision. But most of the inflamation is from the local anesthetic than from the proceedure.

Crystal - posted on 01/11/2010

432

44

24

my friend lil boy didnt have it done he had to have it done when he was 4 because he keep getting infections there so i would say get it done when there babies they cant remember the pain that young like they can at 4 and can remember it

Kila - posted on 01/11/2010

9

2

2

i have two boys and neither of them are circumcised. among them many reasons you have already heard there is a study that says uncircumcised boy have a lesser risk of cancer in that area. but if you were having a little girl and you were told there is a chance she may have breast cancer in the future, would you have her breasts removed? if you are worried about a cleanliness issue, are you planning on teaching them to wipe themselves after they use the bathroom. of course you would along with washing their hands. it is no different than any other part of the body. unless you have a strong religious reason then i would highly advise against it.

Amy - posted on 01/11/2010

4,793

17

376

Watch a video of it being done. Both you and your husband watch it. Babies DO feel it. they strap them down on tables and don't even numb them half the time. also, usually med STUDENTS do it because it's not considered and important surgery so it's likely to not be done right or well. many insurance companies are not covering it because it's "cosmetic" because they don't even feel it serves a purpose.



i wouldn't even pierce my daughter's ears without her permission. It's YOUR SON'S penis. If he wants to when he gets bigger, he can, but you can't grow that back.



my SIL got her son circed and she has been to the doctor monthly with all kinds of problems. doctors hounded me into getting it done and i firmly told them no. our uncirced son has no problems at all with his little parts.



not trying to be rude, but if you do the studies - unless you live in the desert, there is no difference in sanitation. they only do that for "sanitation" when you will not have access to water. it's total BS. people say they do it for religious reasons, but new testament says circumcised or not, whats important is to follow the word of God. do tons of research for yourself.

Amy - posted on 01/11/2010

4,793

17

376

Watch a video of it being done. Both you and your husband watch it. Babies DO feel it. they strap them down on tables and don't even numb them half the time. also, usually med STUDENTS do it because it's not considered and important surgery so it's likely to not be done right or well. many insurance companies are not covering it because it's "cosmetic" because they don't even feel it serves a purpose.



i wouldn't even pierce my daughter's ears without her permission. It's YOUR SON'S penis. If he wants to when he gets bigger, he can, but you can't grow that back.



my SIL got her son circed and she has been to the doctor monthly with all kinds of problems. doctors hounded me into getting it done and i firmly told them no. our uncirced son has no problems at all with his little parts.



not trying to be rude, but if you do the studies - unless you live in the desert, there is no difference in sanitation. they only do that for "sanitation" when you will not have access to water. it's total BS. people say they do it for religious reasons, but new testament says circumcised or not, whats important is to follow the word of God. do tons of research for yourself.

Misty - posted on 01/11/2010

4

3

0

I have a son and although it was hard to think I was putting my son through pain I did it for sanitary reasons. I am a caregiver and I have seen firsthand what can happen to a penis if not properly taken care of when not circumsized. Sometimes you have to think far into the future and when a person becomes an elder and can't always properly take care of themself infections can occur. I know you may feel like you're torturing your son but it is by far better to do it to prevent infections from improper care.

Kathy - posted on 01/11/2010

1

22

0

Quoting KaSandra:

i am debating whether circumcision is good to do or not,any opinions

having my first baby and its a boy anyone have opinions on the pros and cons of circumcision and how well babies deal with the pain.


My husband and I researched whether or not circumcision is really a health concern.  It turns out that there are actually a slightly higher number of infections with circumcised males than with not.  Take a moment to look up medical studies on the subject and you should find the same information.  In our case we chose not to circumcise our son and are happy with the decision.

Julie - posted on 01/11/2010

3

1

0

Quoting Cheri:



Quoting Traci:

I had my two boys circumcized. Just make sure they give him a local anethestic. You'll be glad you did later on when diaper changing. To keep the area clean. Don't let them tell you that babies feel no pain. And make sure you are there, long enough to see them give him the injection. Then you can walk away. Because the baby will cry. But, because he is being strapped down to the table. It will be over very quickly though.





"strapped down to the table",  that statement, regarding an infant, should be enough info against the idea of circumcision. 





thanks!



that little penis (that will grow up eventualy, like it or not) is'nt yours. You have no right to cause any pain to your child just because it is easier for you that way. I have to say that I realy have problem with parents that think they can make babies suffer because they are their parents and supose they knows best. I know grown up men who feel that they are not complete because theire parents gave themselve the right to do it. If someone (especialy my parents ) have had cut a part of me, without asking me first, I would be horrified. 



This is not an issue of beeing cleen ladies, we are talking about the sexual parts of a futur man (and little boy for that matter, babies and infants do have sexuality, like it or not moms) Do you realy feel like you have the right to cause it traumatism? Come on ladies, stop messing around with your babies genitals just because you have the power to



(sory for the poor quality of my english, i'm defenitly a francophone by day, and night!)

Holly - posted on 01/10/2010

74

36

1

its nothing bad at all weather you do it or not!.. they cant remember at all when they are young infants.. my son was 6 months old and it really didn't bother him much.. just have to keep it clean for at lease a few weeks and listen to the doc, and use neosporin.. its pretty healthy when they get circumcised.. when they are not circumcised as they get older, they get an infection when they don't take care of the inner part of the foreskin.. lots of yucky stuff is collected and causes infections and they go threw a lot of pain! talk to your doctor about it and they should help you out more!

Dawn - posted on 01/10/2010

92

11

5

Unless there is a medical or strongly held religious belief why would you want to? VERY few men in the UK are circumsized and I've never met ANYONE who has had an infection because of it. I am absolutey opposed to it.



dxx

Rikki - posted on 01/10/2010

274

27

25

Quoting stephanie:

I have a three year old and I didn't get it done He has never had and problems. His dr also said there is no Medical reson to get it done .I have a brother who is 17 and has decided that he wants it done. I'm expecting my second child who is also a boy and i'll let them decided when they get older if they want it done .



i am 100% with you, the drs told me there is no reason they need to have it done,and if for some reason my son wants it done when he is older that will be up to him, it killed me when he had his heel prick test the poor lill thing screamed for about an hour or so ( and ppl say babys cant feel pain ) if there is no reason he needs it done i dont see why i would put him through it.

Brittany - posted on 01/10/2010

2

5

0

omg yes!!! it is so not sanitary not to!!!! it causes all kinds of problems for them.. he will be very mad at you one day if you dont do it.

Jenna - posted on 01/10/2010

106

33

19

I have a two in half year old boy that is circumcised and im due with my second boy next month and i will be getting him circumcised too. I read almost everyones post on here and seems that alot of people are against it cause they think it hurts the baby but in reality it does not hurt the baby. The baby is only crying because there being strapped down in order to do the procedure, who wouldnt freak out being strapped down with some stranger. Now a days they use a local anesthia or numbing cream. It only takes a minute it really is fast and painless. The Baby will never remember. The healing part isnt bad either just keep it clean and put Vaseline on it. My son had no problems at all. oh and the reason why i had and are having my boy done is cause there father is and that is my personal choice. So i would just go with what your prefer. on another subject everyone's so concerned about the "pain" as if an infant is going to remember... what about all the pain that comes along with growing up... cuts, scraps, bruises, loosing a tooth or even having one pulled now that is painful...sure they numb you for that... just like they do for circumcising... but thankfully you wont remember being circumcised but you will remember all the other painful times in ones life as your grow up.

Melissa - posted on 12/05/2009

64

4

5

I never had a boy but my husband was never circumcised and he never had any issues with cleanliness. I've seen baby boys who were circumcised and I don't know if I could put a boy of mine through that pain.

Rachel - posted on 12/05/2009

0

0

4

my husband has it done, and he hates his parents for it, my son doesnt have it done and whats the go with extra cleaning? there is none, why cause unessecary pain and embarrassment later on

Erica - posted on 12/04/2009

58

138

2

IMO, don't do it.



My husband tells me that he was as an infant and doesn't feel that is has affected him at all. But my little brother was not circumcised. Don't believe anyone who says there is "special cleaning" or "special care" just because your baby boy is uncircumcised. My mother and I never had any problems with my brother as a baby, and as a teen, he has no problems now.



Scripture reference (New Testament)



Not Legalism but Christ



11 In Him you were also circumcised with the circumcision made without hands, by putting off the body of the sins[a] of the flesh, by the circumcision of Christ, 12 buried with Him in baptism, in which you also were raised with Him through faith in the working of God, who raised Him from the dead. Colossians 2:11-12



Also you can check Colossians 3:10-12

Caitlin - posted on 12/04/2009

22

8

1

Quoting Vera:

Hi KaSandra,
Having circumcision done will allow for easier and better cleaning during diaper changes or baths and once he is old enough to bathe himself. All of my sons are circumcised and they only cried a few minutes and there was no scaring. I hope this helps. Good Luck and Congratulations on your new addition!


All circumstantial. Bathing and diaper cleaning can be just as easy with an uncircumcised boy, so long as you know how to clean it properly. Surgery is surgery and medically it's 50-50 whether circumcision is the beneficial choice or not. In my opinion it's simply vanity (that said, there was a poll taken in 2005 stating that most women prefer an uncircumcised penis).

Caitlin - posted on 12/04/2009

22

8

1

To each his own I suppose, but my personal choice was NOT to do it. I won't put my son through any unnecessary surgeries no matter how safe. Babies can't chose their parents nor can they make this call either so it's a toss. I struggled for a while on the subject but morally and emotionally I could not do it. Selfishly, I didn't want my son to be in discomfort and logically I don't see enough benefits from it.



I asked plenty of OBGYN's and specialists about it and got completely mixed responses. In my opinion there is no sure right or wrong decision. Do what you personally feel comfortable with. :)



Hope I helped!

-Caitlin.

Ilene - posted on 12/04/2009

56

30

3

Yes, yes yes. In my religion (although I'm not religious) it's called a Brisk and the Rabbi does it. I've seen my fair share of ding dings and a few were not circumsized. Most of those guys had no idea how to wash it I guess and it was so nasty. And the ones that did know how were too lazy. If uncircumsized boys don't take care of their ding dings properly, they get a white, cottage cheese... stuff behind the head. When they pee it gets trapped in the folds of skin and can create problems. Circumsision is the healthiest for boys... not to mention an uncircumsized ding ding is much more ugly. lol I found a discussion board that had a lot of good info from parents who have and some that haven't. Good luck in whatever you decide and congrats. .http://www.healthboards.com/ubb/Forum33/...

Julie - posted on 12/04/2009

7

21

0

I didn't circumcise my son because there is really no need to unless there is a problem like hypospadias. I was reading that that portion of the foreskin is actually an important part as far as positive sexual health for his future partner! One less thing to worry about at the hospital, and any more, it is about 50/50 for circ vs. non-circ. I just couldn't see putting my newborn through that kind of trauma. If he wants to do it when he is older, then that is HIS option. My husband is circ'ed, and it didn't matter one way or the other to him.

Mandy - posted on 12/03/2009

574

18

105

Quoting Laura:



Quoting Courtney:

Not doing it poses health risks. Further more, when he becomes sexually active when he's older.. what do you think is going to be the most likely response (verbal or not) from the person he's with? Also, from a religious standpoint.. Christian, Jewish, etc.. its kinda a requirement.






it is not a requirement for christians to be circumcised. In fact most christians i know are against it






never have i been to a church and had males checked to see if they had had the snip...LOL

Katie - posted on 12/03/2009

18

10

0

dont feel too overwhelmed :-) We are getting our little boy done too and dispite some people telling us not to and that we are the worst parents in the world (lol) we are doing it anyway. It seems to have many health benefits. Dont worry about the pain because it only hurts depending on how they do it (they use plastic rings in most places now that simply cut off circulation and doesnt cause pain) and my hubby was done and has never had a single problem at all! He didnt know any difference growing up and is really happy to be done :-) some people will try to scare you out of doing it but you should just do whatever you think is right and ignore anyone telling you that you definitely should! or definitely shouldnt! lol. Good luck.

Tammie - posted on 11/26/2009

1

14

0

the pain only last for a few minutes and thats why they do it when they are little they dont realy remember the pain. i have two sons and the third is on the way in jan i did both them and this one will do it too. it makes it easier to clean and not so much work on cleaning it other wise. i know my husbands cousin is 45 or so and he was never circumsized so he had it done about 2 years ago and said it was the worst pain ever. i think its better cause then all you have to do is clean it for a few days and its healed up then you shouldnt have any problems. but its your choice although in my opionion i would strongly recomend getting it done. good luck

Anne - posted on 11/17/2009

40

8

2

ok so heres the thing loads of ppl are for and are not for this, and its a really hard thing to ask advice for. I can tell you that for my son, my husband and I talked about both options and decided not to, first because other then how it looks theres no real reason to get it done, infact in alot of men it hurts to get an erection because it was done wrong also your removing about an inch from your son`s penis length, not that this will affect you any but i`m sure it will him when he gets older, as for cleaning its harder to clean a circumcised penis then it is to clean one that isnt, now days they dont want to to do anything but wipe down wards with out pulling back the skin, in the long run you have to think about this in a way that is best for you but realize that this affects your son fare more then you. quick back round tho, I`m in quebec so this isnt done any more unless there is a reason for it and men that are now my husband`s age have gone and took the doctor and their parents to court for this cus of loss of some feeling. Just think about whats right for you and go with that

Michelle - posted on 11/17/2009

4

39

0

Well I have a boy and it did'nt seem to bother him I thought it would be so painful but it wasn't I chose it because it's cleaner and it causes no infections when they are little you have to constantly make sure it is completly clean (un Circumcised that is)m and if it is not the infection he will get will be very painful

[deleted account]

I have 2 sons, and they have both been circumcised. I don't really think pain is an issue with them. They are so out of it after birth, and the peds usually do a really good job at trying to make them comfortable. I personally reccomend doing it. There are 2 different procedures as well. If you already have a pedeatrician picked out, talk with them and get all the information you feel like you need to help make your decision easier.

Melissa - posted on 11/17/2009

18

23

1

i have newborn twin boys.. both of which were circumsized. its a personal choicei suppose.. but the majority of men are, and quite honestly i never even saw one that wasnt till about a year ago and it completely grossed me out. and no the cleanliness factor is not a myth... bacteria buildup can and does occur beneth the foreskin which will cause painful infections unless it is regularly pushed back and cleaned properly.

like i said.. both of my boys are, and yes... they cry when it happens... but they also cried at their first bath... the crying was stopped easily with a pacifier after no more than a moment, and they never cried in pain after... it heals in a matter of days

and to me... that is more than worth keeping them from the risks of foreskin infections and keeping them from being ridiculed later in life for "looking different" in the pants than most of the male population here in the US.

Merry - posted on 11/17/2009

9,274

169

263

Quoting Jessica:



And keeping your son "as is" is recommended by doctors, period.  Yeah, the risk of penile cancer is slightly higher in uncircumcised men, but the risks of getting the procedure done far outweigh the benefits.  This is from www.cancer.org about penile cancer and using circumcision to prevent it: 






"In weighing the risks and benefits of circumcision, doctors consider the fact that penile cancer is very uncommon in the United States, even among uncircumcised men. Neither the American Academy of Pediatrics nor the Canadian Academy of Pediatrics recommends routine circumcision of newborns just for medical reasons."






http://www.cancer.org/docroot/NWS/conten...



try this site out and to all who want to know the facts, you must read the WHOLE articles



"Women are less likely to develop if their partners are circumcised men rather than men who are not circumcised, said a report in The New England Journal of Medicine (Vol. 346, No. 15: 1105-1112)."



please read this article from cancer.org

Nikki - posted on 11/17/2009

6

12

1

My son is almost two and we didnt have him done. its not as bad as everyone thinks, they arent any harder to keep clean then one that is done. if you keep your kid clean then you shouldnt have any problems. we havent had any problems at all. but thats my opinion.

Dorelle - posted on 11/16/2009

50

12

2

My baby boy was born 18 days ago and I had him circumcised when he was 3 days old. I was afraid of how he would react to the procedure and how he would handle the pain and to my suprise, he didn't even react at all! ( I was more scared and stressed about the whole thing that anything else!LOL) He did not even flinch when he was circumcised and after wards, he did not even cry or seem to be bothered by it. His peeing was normal and his recovery went extremely well. No infections, no complications. I personaly think it looks better now that he is circumcised and also, it is healthier. I've know a couple of guys that had to be circumcised when they were older (around 4yrs old) because of complications/infections and recovery was painful for them at that age. I did not want to take the chances of that happening to my boy. This way, he did not suffer and will have no memory of the circumcision. The main reason I also decided to have him circumcised is because it was brought to my attention that older men in nursing homes that are not circumcised often have infections and get sick because they are unable to clean themselves properly. I thought that it could be shameful for a grown man to need someone else's help to keep his genitals clean and wanted to avoid putting my son in this situation later in his lifetime. As many told me, it is a personal choice whether to have your son circumcised or not. There's no right or wrong decision. But, if the one thing holding you back is the fear of hurting him, I assure you he will not feel nor remember a thing! I do not regret having my son circumcised and if I have another boy later on, I will also get him circumcised.

Sarah - posted on 11/16/2009

147

5

5

Both my boys are circumcised. I know there are lots of conflicting ideas about circumcision and in the end the choice is yours and daddy's. They did both cry when it was being done the anesthetic and the circumcision itself, so I wont try to tell you it doesn't hurt, but if you think about it so does being born and we don't remember that do we? The main reason I had my boys circumcised may be petty on my part, but I had never seen an uncirc penis until i was in my mid 20's the guy I was dating and I finally got to the point where I saw his penis and I was horrified! I couldn't go any further and I am sure I made a complete ass out of myself and hurt his feelings too, but for me is a matter of what I know and I don't know anything about foreskin.

Sarah - posted on 11/16/2009

147

5

5

Both my boys are circumcised. I know there are lots of conflicting ideas about circumcision and in the end the choice is yours and daddy's. They did both cry when it was being done the anesthetic and the circumcision itself, so I wont try to tell you it doesn't hurt, but if you think about it so does being born and we don't remember that do we? The main reason I had my boys circumcised may be petty on my part, but I had never seen an uncirc penis until i was in my mid 20's the guy I was dating and I finally got to the point where I saw his penis and I was horrified! I couldn't go any further and I am sure I made a complete ass out of myself and hurt his feelings too, but for me is a matter of what I know and I don't know anything about foreskin.

[deleted account]

I think circumcision is a matter of preference... although your child is not old enough or has the capacity to vocalize his wants or needs, as a parent you should be able to make that decision for him. I like to go with the "look-a-like" approach. If the father (or whomever is the primary male figure) is circumcised, then circumcise your child... if the father is not, then opt out of it. For those boy babies without circumcision, it is very easy to pull down the foreskin and clean it.

Amber - posted on 11/16/2009

3

9

0

i will tell you this as a mom of two boys and a younger sister of brothers i would get it done just think when that boys is in Jr. high and has to start taking showers.... more boys have it done then most who don't and it doesn't hurt my boys had no pain i changed them with no problems

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms