Mom's I need an opinion about Children's Tylenol.

Nikki - posted on 02/28/2009 ( 23 moms have responded )

20

54

1

I'm doing a survey for a paper I'm writing in Eng. Comp. I recently used this product after not using it for years because my children seem not to respond when they were younger. Well, I had Dr.'s instructions to alternate between Motrin and Tylenol. Tylenol still doesn't work.



How do your children respond to this medication? What is your opinion of it in relation to taste, price, etc.

MOST HELPFUL POSTS

Crystal - posted on 02/28/2009

3

14

0

my kids use both tylenol and motrin but i give them the chewables they seem to work a little bit better but tylenol 90% of the time does not do nothing for my kids or me i prefer motrin it workd the best. my kids r so sick all the time that some meds they cant take because they have taken it so much over the yeasr.

Jennifer - posted on 02/28/2009

103

10

7

I've yet to try Motrin but I know Tylenol doesn't seem to do much. When my daughter was about 9 months she had a pretty high fever and we gave her tylenol and it would only bring it down a half of degree, it also just seemed to make her more groogy but not enough to be able to sleep for a bit.

Kate CP - posted on 02/28/2009

8,942

36

758

Acetaminophen (Tylenol), in my opinion, should be used sparingly especially in kids. I only give it to my daughter when she has a high fever or is in pain (after vaccines, ear infections, etc). But if she's running a temp lower than 101.0 I won't give it to her. She loves the taste, though. I've never given Ibuprofen (Motrin) before because the Tylenol always works. That's my two cents! Good luck with your paper! :)

23 Comments

View replies by

Kelly - posted on 03/04/2009

33

33

0

I guess I am too lax but I give Tylenol to my son when I feel he needs it, which isn't very often. We use the chew tabs, which I call his doctor candy, he likes it. When he thinks he needs more...I use Smarties and explain it's only a sometimes treat.



It works for him and sometimes make him sleepy, which is a good thing, if he's feeling crummy.



AS for Motrin, my son really likes the orange chew tabs. But he's more partial to Tylenol all around.



He's three years old.

Mary - posted on 03/04/2009

291

28

20

We use the dye free white grape flavour baby tylenol.....I usualy only use it when Jayden has had his Vaccines or when he has a cold or is cutting a tooth...I ususaly only use the Tylenol for teething if his other medicine isn't working.  Jayden loves the taste and doesn't give me a hard time when I give it to him.  I find it helps him greatly and quickly.  The price isn't that bad since it does last us a while.  It usualy runs between 6.99 and 8.99 depending on the size of bottle you get.  I have never used motrin and I have no idea how much it cost so I couldn't say which one is cheaper.



I just know Tylenol works for us. Hope this helped and good luck with your paper!

Sarah - posted on 03/03/2009

39

41

2

I alternate between tylenol and motrin if my kids are running a fever. But I give them motrin first, then start alternating. This is what my ped. said work the best for getting a fever down. I don't give them anything for a fever unless it is 101 or higher, though.

I don't think tylenol works as well as motrin, especially for teething. I give my son the herbal tablets for teething that dissolve, and rub pure vanilla extract on his gums, that works best, but if he is screaming his head off and obviously in a lot of pain, I give him motrin. I have had 3 different doctors tell me it is better for teething b/c it reduces the swelling. I think that motrin is better for both fevers and teething. It works a lot faster and is more effective. As far as the taste, my kids love it. Motrin comes in grape and berry flavored, and my kids will take either one. I have only bough the grape for tylenol, but havent had any problems with it either.

Jodi - posted on 03/03/2009

28

8

6

My experience is only with Infant tylenol. I think it is wonderful. I just survived the first bout of teething and am not sure we would have made it through a few nights without it. It works for my baby. She loves the taste. I usually buy off brand to save money.

My husband is in the medical field and works in an ER. He is floored at the amount of people that bring their children to the ER with complaints of fever but have not given them any medicine. He administers tylenol and/or motrin and as soon as it kicks in the fever comes down.

[deleted account]

My daughter is 13 months old, and I have yet to try Motrin. We have used Tylenol for teething pain, stomach pain/cramps during a flu, and fever. I found it moderately effective (aka helpful, but definitely not a cure-all). We like the Dye-Free Tylenol best, which is also free of preservatives. It does seem expensive though!

Heather - posted on 03/03/2009

150

9

8

I use Tylenol very sparingly, I noticed when used to much it doesn't work. I do use Motrin if a high fever is involved and I have already tries Tylenol and it's not working anymore. My child loves the taste of any medication. I buy generic versions usually for price.

Shari - posted on 03/03/2009

8

6

0

Firstly let me give my two cents and say that I would hesitate to use either product unless absolutely neccesary!! Often medications are over used and although no one really looks at it this was because its so readily available, they are abused!



Low grade temps are a normal healthy reaction to infections and are the bodys natural defense for fighting them. By hindering these kinds of fevers you're actually making it more difficult for your childs body to fight the infection. Also, fever reducers do not eliminate the problem but instead cover it up. Therefor, your child may be becoming more ill without your even realizing!



That being said, there are times where I do feel these meds are appropriate. High fevers, that is those over 103 degrees in a child older than 2 years and those over 101 degrees in younger children, or severe pain, like an ear infection or concussion...not teething!



Here's the catch 22- Tylenol is safer but Motrin is more effective!! It's really a toss up...taste wise, my children have easily taken both!



Hope this helps :)

[deleted account]

My daughter is 12 months old and I only use Motrin now.  The Tylenol didn't seem to do anything and the Motrin works quickly.  However, I try not to give her anything unless she is in absolute pain.  As far as the taste goes, my daughter doesn't seem to mind the taste of either of them.

Stephanie - posted on 03/02/2009

10

2

0

Honestly, my pediatrician said to only use Tylenol until my kids were 6 months old. It never worked well at all. Once my oldest turned 6 months, we went to Motrin for teething, fevers and everything else. My son will not even take Tylenol now. Motrin works far better (in my opinion), and my son LOVES the grape flavored Motrin-it's the only medicine he will take without having to hide it in something.

Melissa - posted on 03/02/2009

85

3

7

My son is 3 1/2 & I rarely give him anything. When he was younger, he got bad ear infections & would run very high fevers (104 to 105). I never give anything for a fever under 102. If it is over 102 I use Tylenol. If it goes to 104, I alternate Motrin & Tylenol every 3 hrs. I never used it when he got shots, but they never bothered him. My daughter is 8 1/2 months old & she has had a fever once. It was over 102 so I gave her some Tylenol. It came down after about an hour. I do use Tylenol when she gets shots because she is very cranky & seems to be hurting from the shots. I think all kids are different & they react differently to meds. You have to find what works for each child.

[deleted account]

When it comes to medication for myself, I don't take it unless it's absolutely necessary.  I won't even take anything for a headache unless it has gone on all day and then my boyfriend has to just about force me to lol.  With my son, I've used Infant's Tylenol a few times.  I originally bought it because my doctor suggested giving him a dose  about an hour before his immunizations.  He said it would help ease the discomfort.  I really didn't notice the difference except it did seem to help him fall asleep faster than he normally would.  I've used it a few other times to help relieve teething pain but only as a LAST resort when I had tried everything else.  Still, I don't think it had much effect.  He likes the taste.  To give you an idea of how rarely we use it, in 16 months, I still have the same bottle I originally bought and it is about half full.  Hope my little 2 cents helps with your research.   

Sally - posted on 03/02/2009

63

14

8

I have been using both ever since my son this last fall had a seizure.  He was rush by ambulance to the hospital because of it had I used both more regularly instead of just the tylenol the fever would have been kept in check.  I since have used both and I feel motrin works better all though when using with teething or ear infection it works better to use both.



 

Kimberly - posted on 03/02/2009

2

10

0

Our Dr. says that Tylenol is great as long as the fever is under 102.0, anything over that you should give Motrin or Advil.  I was also advised that you can alternated b/t Tylenol and Motrin every 3 hours instead of waiting at least every 4.

Julie - posted on 03/01/2009

261

13

65

I agree with a lot of the other moms. i use medication very rarely for my four children. Only with high fevers or severe pain like bad earaches. Never for teething or a low temp. I personally don't like infant tylenol it never seemed very effective for my children, but motrin works ok for us. Children's Tylenol however works much better than the infants drops. My kids never had an issue with taste with either of them.

Amanda - posted on 03/01/2009

23

11

1

The Tylenol didn't seem to work at all for both my babies, I just go with the Motrin now.  It seems to kick in faster and is effective longer than the Tylenol. I only give when they are in pain (ear infection, cutting a tooth...)

Amanda - posted on 03/01/2009

42

9

3

For my baby, my doctor recommended Tylenol for after his vaccinations. It really seemed to help him with the pain and the fever that followed. He also seemed to like the taste and I didn't have any problems getting him take it. My older two children though use Motrin now. We used the Tylenol when they were younger but when they got to be about 6 yrs old, the Motrin seemed to help faster. The Tylenol still worked but with a slower response time. They both like the taste of Tylenol and Motrin. Hope that helps!

Brandi - posted on 03/01/2009

24

23

2

I think the Tylenol is easier on the tummy. It seems to bring my child's temp. down pretty fast. I do alternate between Tylenol and Motrin when my child has a fever, only because then you can give every four hrs.

[deleted account]

I've only given it to my kids when they high temps with ear infections as babies and toddlers, and rarely gave it in addition to motrin. My kids have always been good at taking medicines, so the taste was never an issue. Tylenol seemed to work for my kids just as good as motrin.



There really isn't that much acetominophen in the children's medicine, so that may be why it doesn't work for some.

Jolene - posted on 02/28/2009

513

21

48

My opinion is actully to not use it at all, unless absolutly necessary. I think parents widely over use these products. For teething and low temps in my opinion is unecessary when they're better alternatives to seek out.

Leana - posted on 02/28/2009

41

23

3

Hey my daughter has tried both i hate motrin because it works but not as effective as tylenol which even tastes better my daughter is 2 and has never given me problems taking it although it works better altogther motrin sux

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms