what is your opinion on C-Sections?

Michelle - posted on 01/11/2010 ( 245 moms have responded )

10

31

0

I was just informed by my doctor that i will be needing a c-section due to a small oblique shaped pelvis. This was never even an option for me until now. She said if I really wanted to she would let me try labor but it would most likely end up in an emergency c-section. I was excited for labor & prepared. Now i'm scared half to death & don't know what i'm in for. Any advice, opinions, or persona experience would be helpful. THANKS!!!

This conversation has been closed to further comments

245 Comments

View replies by

Jen - posted on 01/13/2010

3

5

0

I have had two c- sections my first one was scary as hell I was prepared like you for labor but on my last dr. visit he said my baby was Breach so I had to have a c-section he said meet me tommarrow at 5am at the hospital. Yes I was scared but the opperation dosen't take long they numb you from the toes all the way up to your neck so you don't feel a thing. If anything I felt a little pressure here or there but thats it. The best advice I can give is at first it might be rough but get up and walk as soon as they will allow it because the more you do the quicker you'll bounce back. If I had to do it again I could not dream of having a child natural through the whole labor process I pick c-section. The 2nd c- section was a walk in the park the only pain I had was my shoulder and they said it was gas pain that had to go somewhere. Good luck I hope this helps in someway! Trust me its really not to bad at all. Oh yeah you go back to being skinner faster too along with breast feeding its well worth it!

Kate - posted on 01/13/2010

1

19

0

i had a c section 10 yrs ago i was left in labour 4 3 days b4 it,i wud hav another one though.

DONNA - posted on 01/13/2010

5

0

0

Wow this question sparked alot of talk. But this is good. I think all new future mothers to be should find out all the information possible. When having my first child and consider I gave birth in the 70s. I was told not to gain over 20 lbs. Can you imagine trying to do that. I was about 100 lbs dripping wet. My doctor said because of my weight they wanted to try and keep the baby around 6lbs. Well 9 months later here come mine at 8lb and3 oz. The great thing about my first pregnancy was labor was 3hrs. How can anyone ever complain about 3 hrs. Didn't have c but the doctor weight him 3 times because of my size and built could not believe I followed his instruction about weight gain and I still had a baby 2 lbs more then he expected. The second and third child I didn't worry about weight gain. They were both around 6 1/2 lbs and were over 20 hrs labor. None of the children were c but after 20 hrs I probably would have done it. The best thing to do is do the best for you and your baby. Beings I never had c I am not experienced at it. I do my friend could hold her baby for a week because of the c. Maybe that was then and things are different now. Just please get all the info from all sources and do what is needed for you. Bless all you expected mothers. Just enjoy your pregnancy and of course you new little ones. I will never regret doing what I did to have successful births. Love my babys that of course are no longer babys.

[deleted account]

After I went into labor and had already had an epidural, my ob realized that my son had turned breech since I had seen him 2 weeks before. C-section was my only option. At that point, I just wanted to get it over with. It went well. My son was really sick and went to a NICU at a larger hospital. I have a high tolerance for pain and I had no trouble walking to see him 3 days later. We also missed that "bonding moment" but you would never know it. We never had a bonding problem. Also my scar is in my pubic hair region and I barely know it's there.

Erin - posted on 01/13/2010

6

35

0

Planning ahead is the most important thing and your Dr is likely choosing the right choice for you. C-sections are invasive, however they serve their purpose and they are far less painfull then a tear!!! In Brazil for instance, Most women deliver via C-section much like in the US most of us have Epidurals. Enjoy and embrace the opportunities surrounding a scheduled C-section!! You will have a known date with a reasonalbe time of day. You can go in feeling fresh and with your make-up & hair done and comparitivley, in little time you will have your precious baby in your arms!!

Michelle - posted on 01/13/2010

1

5

0

My first was a emergency c-section, although the doctor and staff were very calm and relaxed about the whole thing. The baby wasn't getting enough oxygen during (induced) labor and so they stopped the potocin and put me on oxygen. My second was a scheduled c-section and was great. In no way do I feel less of a mother for not going thru childbirth, my body just couldn't do it safely.

Krista - posted on 01/13/2010

12,562

16

847

Quoting Nicole:

holy crap! I would find a new doctor. cephalopelvic disproportion is a myth. women grow babies they can push out. Once in a while a c-sec is needed for a very large baby but it is rare. the c-sec rate in the us is appalling. I know a woman who delivered an eleven pounder drug free no tears at all and she was only 5'1'' and 105 pre pregnancy. docs are way to quick to toss people under the knife.


Gee, for a myth, I see it referred to quite a bit on many reputable medical websites. 



From the American Pregnancy Association's website:



Cephalopelvic disproportion is a rare occurance. According to the American College of Nurse Midwives(ACNM), CPD occurs in 1 out of 250 pregnancies.



 



For pete's sake, just stop. You're trying to make the OP feel like some sort of unnatural, unwomanly failure because she has to have a c-section. All that matters is that she's healthy and that she goes home with a healthy baby. This bullying by the "vaginal is the only legitimate way to give birth" crowd is absolutely appalling. Stop playing with this woman's health in order to satisfy your own ideology. This isn't a game. You don't get points for winning someone over to your side. 

Krista Lee - posted on 01/13/2010

8

24

0

I agree natural birth was more enjoyable for me. I had my first with c-section and second natural. I did end up with a third degree tear though. Which is something you can't prepare your self for. So in my case recovery from the natural was horrific. Compared to the c-sec. I felt broken for month afterward where a c-sec is only a week to heal. Don't be scared of the c-sec, it is an experience in itself. And far faster proces.

Krista - posted on 01/13/2010

12,562

16

847

The mother's body actually limits the amount of nourishment to the baby, specifically so that the baby does not grow too large to be born from her. You got your genetics from a long line of women who were able to give birth- obviously :)




Why yes, because the woman's body always knows perfectly what to do and never, ever has anything go wrong with it that could endanger the baby. Good to know that the gestational diabetes I had was just a figment of my imagination. Good to know that when my friend had placenta previa, we were all just hallucinating it.



I'm sorry to burst the bubble of those of you who feel that a natural birth would always be possible if it weren't for those meddling, interfering doctors. There ARE legitimate reasons for c-sections. Are they overdone? Probably. Are they still necessary in many cases? Yup. Is one necessary in Michelle's case? Well, I haven't examined her. Have you? You're second-guessing the woman's obstetrician based on a short introductory paragraph? That's some pretty good long-distance diagnostic work, I must say!



Fetal distress, cord prolapse, macrosomia, uterine rupture -- the human body does NOT always do everything perfectly, no matter how much we wish it to.



Oh and Sherwood? Your claim that home births result in lower infant and maternal mortality rates? I'd be interested in seeing a legitimate source on that, because according to BMJ, the rates are actually pretty much the same.

Anika - posted on 01/13/2010

1

0

0

Hi Michelle, with my first child I experienced a emergency c-section. I was a teen mom, and my child would not position her head and body correctly. So after waiting 48hr my doctor called for the emergency c-section, and I must say I was tired anyways. It was a very smooth operation. Of course they knumbed me, and I chose to stay awake so I could see her. They covered me where I could not see below my stomach, because the operation was taking place. My doctor asured me and my family everything would be fine, and I would just fill a little tugging, and that was all I felt. I had the bikini cut. That was the best operation, and I was hoping all of them could have been done that way. I never had any problems with my body.(I Praise my Lord for it All) You will be Just fine! Have a Fabulous day!

Mini - posted on 01/13/2010

3

0

0

whoever says doctors are too quick to cut open.... well we all agree that they only have minutes to decide for the life of the unborn child .... and if they dont take that decision in minutes and something goes wrong they will be the first ones to be blamed as well. Every patient is different in all ways and a doctor who is dealing with the same cases 7 day a week is def. in a better position to decide than u and me I am amused when people say i dont trust doctors.

Sheraz - posted on 01/13/2010

1

1

0

I was under the impression I was going to be able to have a natural delievery then after 24 hours of Labor, and no more then 3 cent. I had to have a C-section. I wish I knew going in that I was going to have a C-section. Let me tell you it is quick. The recovery is a little longer, but I would have to say I didn't have much pain at all. I like having a c-section, and I am a big baby myself.

Colleen - posted on 01/13/2010

117

30

14

I was pregnant with twins and both were breach so a c-section was on the cards for me. I was due to go in at 37 weeks but went into labour at 36 weeks so got to experience that. It's good that you are prepared for labour as it may happen to you as it did to me, the only difference being you don't get to push.



If I were you I would go with the elective c-section rather than have a traumatising experience of an emergency one. This way you will be mentally prepared for what is coming.



My c-section wasn't frightening, just clinical! The epidural was a bit freaky and uncomfortable when they put the needle in my spine, but nothing hellish! It was more a pressure pain as opposed to a sharp pain so bearable. They do make sure that you can't feel anything from the waist down before they cut so be assured of that. They usually put up a screen so you can't see blood and guts or anything distressing when they cut. You will probably be linked up to a blood pressure monitor and have an oxygen mask on your face but it's not so bad....just keep thinking that it's for your baby. I was so excited to meet my children that I didn't think to hard about what was happening.



I had a bikini-cut just above my pubic bone, which today (9) years on has faded so much that you can hardly see any of it anymore. It's a very strange feeling when the baby is removed ....gave me the nails on the blackboard feeling. It's very quick though. Once the baby is removed and you've had a little look at your precious angel, they take out the placenta, clean you up and sew you back together. If you have an epidural it takes longer for the numbness to wear off than a spinal block. Whichever one you have will depend on your doctor I think. Some people prefer a spinal block, I didn't mind either way.



I took some face cloths and towels with me in my bag which the nurse used to help clean me up once I was back in my bed. Your hospital may have their own methods of doing things though, so maybe just find out.



You will bleed alot from your nether regions and I found what worked much better than the maternity sanitry towels was the huge nappy (diaper) pads. With a c-section, you will probably be connected to a drip and have a catheter inserted for a day or two as you shouldn't move around. You will be starving a while afterwards but they won't give you proper food cos it's not good after the spinal / epidural. Look forward to the following day.....breakfast, yay!! The pain killers really help keep the pain levels low so don't worry about that now. You also get to take some home!! I as in hospital for 4 days and found I didn't need too many painkillers once I got home. Spose we all have different pain thresholds though!



When you stand up for the first time, make sure to put one hand firmly over your cut and bend up slowly into a fully upright position. If you start walking or sitting bent / hunched over from day one you will have problems later and cause yourself further pain as you pull on the stitches that have now healed funny. I won't lie to you, it is painful but bearable. Go for short walks initially (like to the nursery) but don't overdo it.....but you must walk as it helps the healing process.



When you go home, invest in a pair of panties that have the 'hold you in' tummy panel in the front of them. You could ask a friend or your partner to buy you some. Make sure they are firm fitting and comfortable but don't stop blood flow to your legs if you know what I mean! These really help you to heal faster and keep you all together so to speak. You don't feel like your cut is going to break open at any moment. You'll also find that they help reduce the post preggo bulge much faster too....dual purpose!



Don't freak yourself out now, you will be fine and it's not as scary as it seems. You're gonna have a baby...YAY...focus on that!!

Kyesse - posted on 01/13/2010

1

17

0

the ease of difficulty of a section is in the post operative care. had one because my son was very breach and had other uterine issues. i am glad i had it because contrary to the word out there i had a reasonably painless experience and fabulous care. when there is a good reason for it then go for it. i would do another one if i had another baby.

Sabrina - posted on 01/13/2010

1

22

0

hey hun. ive had 2 c sections with both my boys the only thing with a c section is that the healing time is a little longer but that does depend on the individual and you pretty much lose the baby belly straight away. my youngest boy is 3 and can hardly see the scar now, there can still be complications with them like all surgery but the risk is very minimal and the technology they have these days is fantastic the needles that they use dont hurt as they numb your back first before putting the spinal block needle in.. it really is a simple procedure but if you need to know anything look up c sections.com and you will find all the answers that you need to know as not all procedures can go easily and that site should give you all the details that you need to know hope this helps :)

Peta - posted on 01/13/2010

3

0

0

If it is needed for medical reasons then you should consider it. I tried natural for my first born... 22 hours and finally they did an emergency c sect... I was sooo upset as this wasnt what I wanted, but let me tell you... it was so quick. My baby was in distress so anything that had to be done I wanted done. I also had elective c sect for my 2nd 6 months ago... well I had a couple of medical mishaps and they were "advising" me it would be better but of course it was up to me. I didnt want to put the baby in any more danger so I chose c sect. Some people will say its the "easy " way out... its not... but having a natural birth was actually going to be more risky. There are pros and cons with both. You dont feel any pain during the procedure... just pushing and pulling..wierd feeling but seriously, if you are careful not to over do it after the surgery then you should be okay. In the end its up to you... dont let any do gooders say "it shouldnt be done, natural is the way to go" etc... ITS YOUR CHOICE. Its what is best for you and your baby. Good luck!!!!

Shannon - posted on 01/13/2010

2

9

0

I had a c-section, I was also very nervous about it because my mother told me how much pain she was in when she had one, but let me tell you that that was years ago and the way they do it now there really isn’t much to it, I'm a big baby when it has to do with pain so when I tell you it's nothing then you must believe me it's nothing, during the procedure you will just feel a pulling sensation as they work but there's no pain, and it's over so quickly you cant believe it. Plus I was up and about the next day with just a little discomfort but no pain so I can really recommend it. You really don’t have anything to worry about. Plus the scar is so small, it’s just under the bikini line and it’s not that bad.

Sophia - posted on 01/13/2010

1

0

0

i've had c-section for both my kids.There is a gap of nine years between my two kids, both the times it was easy and not complicated as i would think during my first pregnancy. No regrets absolutely.Post pregnancy recovery was quicker than expected but then i was holding on to God to gather that strength, the rest was simple. Take care

Lorrie - posted on 01/13/2010

3

4

0

I was expecting a regular vaginal delivery also and then after twenty hours of laboir we realized the baby was too big for my canal. They are very easy during the delivery and a little pain after because of the stiches, they take a while to heal as well as your muscles. You will need help picking up the baby and you must not and I mean must not go up and down stairs for two weeks and not drive for that time but after that it is a breeze

Sherwood - posted on 01/13/2010

38

56

3

I think C-sections are overused and patients are under informed of the risks. There is also usually little follow-up considering it is MAJOR ABDOMINAL SURGERY, like physical therapy, if you end-up getting sectioned, definitely request PT to help you recover fully.



Please seek the service of a doula who can advocate you while you are in labor. They can be pricey (several hundred dollars, but you can easily find one who is seeking certification for free in most places- that's what I did). Find someone who you click with right away b/c you don't have a lot of time to get to know her and it is an intimate experience. Doctors are taught to objectify birth and limit the potential for negative outcomes, but they often do not consider the emotional consequences of this procedure, natural birth is not objective, it's a miracle and a testament to the genius of the design mother and baby!

The mother's body actually limits the amount of nourishment to the baby, specifically so that the baby does not grow too large to be born from her. You got your genetics from a long line of women who were able to give birth- obviously :)



Please learn more about it, you must give your consent before they can do anything to you, you are the most important person at the birth of YOUR baby and you are the one who will experience the consequences of your decision, the doctors can tell you what to do, but you are the one who must decide.



Doctors may try to scare you and tell you that you have to get it or you "will end-up with a dead baby" I am not lying, some of them will take advantage of the position of vulnerability and fear that are normal during childbirth to make a woman feel like she has no other choice- if you have information then you will know what your choices are. It's next to impossible to absorb information when you are in labor- you are literally on another (very awesome) planet so definitely make a plan about if you will labor and at what point you will go into the OR.



I had an unmedicated vaginal childbirth- it was one of the most powerful things I have ever accomplished- it was difficult, but soooo worth it. I researched EVERYTHING related to pregnancy and childbirth and I knew I didn't want any interventions- they tend to bring you back to earth, which is not where you need to be when you are about to push a baby out!- induction and epidural both are known to increase your risk of having a c-section.



I had one friend who was told she "had to have a c-section," later, after not agreeing to it, she found out that the doctor told her that because he was going on a vacation and didn't want her birth to interfere with his plans to leave town.

Another woman who was in my childbirth education class (who was very short and thus looked really big) had a late-term ultrasound, was told her baby was way too big and had to be born now, so they induced her with pitocin and broke her water and everything to get labor going, but the baby would not come- they told her to push and eventually she was so swollen she had to get c-section, her baby was about 5 lbs. and was just not ready to be born yet- late-term ultrasounds are known to be very inaccurate.



I want to give you more information please feel free to pm me. I think you asked this question because your doctor has said, from a position of authority, that you can't do it and you want to hear otherwise, the chances that you are able to have a vaginal birth are extremely high. Doctors err on the side of caution because they do not want to loose a law suit.



Infant and maternal mortality rates are higher among hospital births then they are among homebirths, because in homebirth, the process is more comfortable and your birth is allowed to proceed on it's natural course, at the hospital, I felt like the nurses wanted me to hurry up and have her even though I went there as late as possible, because if you're there, they want to do stuff to you. My doctor even recommended, based on my birth-plan, that I wait as long as possible laboring at home so that there was no time for them to try to intervene. I pushed for an hour.



resources:

birth advocacy group in your area, or on-line- I belong to TheFamilyJourney.org

anything by Ana May Gaskin

the unecessarean website

other moms!

midwifery sites



Everything is going to be wonderful, and just believe in the birth process, it truly is brilliant.

Sharron - posted on 01/13/2010

1

14

0

i have had 2 natural and 2 c sections my opinion is whatever is safe for your baby i would not choose a c section but if that is thesafest way to deliver your little precious than hey so be it..Please don't be scared it is still an awesome experience my to WERE emegency and it was all so blaaaah but to be prepared for one it realy is just making peace wit yourself and getting bubba out safely too much can o wrong if u ty just for the sake of it hope this helps ♥ sharron

PAULINE - posted on 01/13/2010

1

5

0

It is important to listen to and trust your doc and midwife. Follow their instructions and allow friends and family to help you as much as possible. I know its not easy especially if you are the independent type but just remember that your friends are your friends for the reasons you decided.

It may not be a breeze but your new bundle of joy will make it all worthwhile...

Best wishes...

Tiffany - posted on 01/12/2010

3

24

0

c-sections are the bomb, I had 2 major emergency c-sections, I was going through birthing classes and missed my last one because I put into the hostiple at 28 weeks due to high blood pressure, 2 days later I was in the delivery room having a c-section and recovered really fast, and 2 weeks later had my galbladder out, I healed pretty quick, my second was also major 30wks was put into the hostiple liver shutting down they came in got me ready for my c-section and it went good too. I recomend that you do a lot of walking as soon as they will let you up , dont walk fast, just walk as much as possible, being active will help the recovery

Lydia - posted on 01/12/2010

1

16

0

C-Sections are wonderful!! I had to be induced at 41 weeks because my chunky monkey wasnt coming! The painful part was the medicine they had to induce me with and back pain. I ended up doing a C-Section after 26 hours. It was 7 mins and out came my baby!! The cut is right above my vagina and I have a tattoo there and the doctor even saved it. Do not be scared! If you choose to have a next baby, you can go right in and schedule a c-section instead of waiting for the laboring process.

Jashive - posted on 01/12/2010

1

11

0

Both of my children have been thru C-Sec. Wish it would of been natural. Its difficult tryin to take care of ur child and urself @ the same time. If u have help @ home then thats great. I felt like a numbing sensation at the incision site for some time afterwards. Not painful but weird. I did try to have my daughter (youngest) natural but i was in labor for 26 hrs and just couldnt her heartbeat was dropping. By then I didnt care how she got out as long as she did and she was ok. Just talk to ur doc and make a good decision and have family there with u that will work wonders. ♥

Nicole - posted on 01/12/2010

421

15

24

holy crap! I would find a new doctor. cephalopelvic disproportion is a myth. women grow babies they can push out. Once in a while a c-sec is needed for a very large baby but it is rare. the c-sec rate in the us is appalling. I know a woman who delivered an eleven pounder drug free no tears at all and she was only 5'1'' and 105 pre pregnancy. docs are way to quick to toss people under the knife.

Jennen - posted on 01/12/2010

1

2

0

I'm a mom that has had 4 c-sections and it's because my body was not

built to push anything out of. You should listen to ur doctor they would not tell

you anything wrong. I actually liked not going through the pain. I did experience

labor for 36 hours with my first child and it wasn't anything nice. The fact that I could

to sleep and wake up to joy and pain all in a breath is an unbelievable feeling. But good

luck to you with whatever choice is made and just pray for a healthy baby.

Missy - posted on 01/12/2010

2

10

0

I had both an emergency and planned C-section and my planned one was a bikini cut and my emergency was not so it took me lots more time for healing and was more painful especially to try and get up and walk around a couple days later. After trying to labor with my first I was never so happy to hear my dr with my 2nd son to say it was going to be a C-section cause I knew what day he was coming and knew ahead of time on how to prepare.

Hollie - posted on 01/12/2010

6

30

0

I did not have a C-Section but have had 7 friends who have had C-Sections. So labor scared me because I thought what if I have to have one... But my husband had the best advice anyone could of given me. He said as long as we get our healthy baby who cares how he comes out?!?! Which is so true. As women we put all this pressure on ourselves to be perfect and prove how womanly and strong we are. You've already done that. You've carried a beautiful, healthy baby. You created this amazing life. So listen to your doctor. You've trusted her to help care for your baby it's entire life, keep trust in her. Good Luck!

Heather - posted on 01/12/2010

3

5

0

I wouldnt recommend it. I had one with my second son and I ended up in hospital for 41/2 weeks. Got all sorts of infections, like pancreatitis and it got worse, they wouldnt let me have my baby with me. My son got sent home with his dad and his 2 yr old brother (good luck dad). But I didnt get the bonding in and he to this day is still clingy. My older son didnt not come near me for 2 wks. It was the worst experience of my life.

[deleted account]

So I wrote my experience on here early and my phone stopped working before I finished and sent out what I wrote. It sounded rude and like I am totally against c sections. I just wanted to say I'm definitely not at all. I think that everyone should make their own choices in how they want to give birth. THe best thing is talking to your spouse or family and whoever it is that will be delivering ur baby. Trust what you feel is right. We shouldn't judge people and their births we should be sharing our stories and understanding why we all did what we did. I was very hurt that someone told me having my child natural was basically a bad decision. I had a 2 perfectly healthy babies and having one breech vaginally was mine ad my husbands choice and we had faith that the God would be with us and he was :)

Laura - posted on 01/12/2010

67

9

2

I had a sister in law who due to the shape of her pelvis HAD to have a c-section after being induced and in labor for hrs. After they took out my niece she was told that she would not be able to have a natural birth do to the shape of her pelvis. I had 2 c-sections 1st one was emergency due to complications with twins, 2 nd I went into labor before my scheduled c-section. I just want you to keep in mind that after the 1 st c-section you may (I did) heal thinner around the incision area and you do run the risk of rupturing your uterus. I healed soo thin after my 1 st pregnancy that they wer so glad that I did not do a natural delivery because they were worried about thin I was. They also told me that one more baby but no more because my uterus could not handle a fourth and each time I increase my chances of rupturing. Its not that bad to have one. If you need it you need it! I had an emergency and then I had a second emergency one after laboring at home for 8 hrs cuz the nurse didn't believe I was in labor! I would trust your doc!

Maggie - posted on 01/12/2010

3

39

0

My suggestion would be to talk to a midwife and a doula. I don't trust doctors at all. I think have become lazy and when in doubt, cut it out. Don't buy the pelvis thing. Labor shifts your body!! I can tell you if you have a midwife and doula...you're likely to have a pleasant labor experience. I have had one child...labor was only 5 hours...and no drugs. Have you read the story recently about the lady who was in labor and her and her baby died, but then were revived??!! That was due to the spinal she was given! It can happen anywhere anytime. If you want a pleasant birth, and vaginal...seriously contact a doula and midwife. If you don't know any, email at imdanyelzmom@yahoo and I will put you in touch with my aunt who is a doula! Good luck :)

User - posted on 01/12/2010

1

1

0

=-rwqa4580k

had my first son natural and my second c section. had to do over natural. recovery was not fun

DONNA - posted on 01/12/2010

5

0

0

Dear Sharon,
I didn't say people should have them,"I said they were done more readily these days. You are pretty cruel. I had three children not natural because I did have meds. I just think unless it is necessary for mom and child maybe there is another way. This is an
what is your opinion on C-Sections?
A poll everyone has opinions. Sorry if mine offends you, not intended.

Tammy - posted on 01/12/2010

2

21

0

As a labor and delivery nurse, I'd say that depends. How much experience does your doctor have and how did they determine the shape of your pelvis. If they are accurate on the shape and size of your pelvis it can make delivery more difficult, especially depending on the size of the baby. C/sections are major surgery, but most people don't mind so much and many elect to have repeat c/sections instead of laboring the 2nd time around. If you want to try labor, it won't hurt anything. It is just very tiring to labor and get to 10cm and push for a couple of hours, then to have a c/section after is all said and done. Keep in mind. The important thing is a healthy mom and baby!

Lisa - posted on 01/12/2010

1

34

0

Hello!

I just had a C-section Dec 14th (it was an emergency c-section) and honestly it was not as bad as I thought it would be. Like you, I was not at all prepared for it but my baby was in distress so I had no choice. The spinal they give you to numb you was a bit painful (shot in the back) but the pain only lasts a second and it is done. I was wheeled into the operating room at 4am and my son was born at 4:16am so it is a very fast process and before you know it you are being sewn up and you are back in your room. I was very surprised. The recovery afterwards was a little painful (pain killers worked wonders) but the pain and soreness was gone in about a week and then I was only taking IB prophen, I woud defenitly do a C-section again in a heart beat! I never experienced labor or contractions and I consider myself lucky lol I would have 10 more children if I could have a c-section every time! Hope that helped! and good luck! :)

Sharon - posted on 01/12/2010

11,585

12

1315

Quoting DONNA:

I think women have them done to often these days for no reason. It should be done for health reason not just because someone don't want to go through the birthing process.



I think its none of your business WHAT someone does because they want to.  It isn't harmful to the baby, carries moderate risks et all.



 



I think some people should be forcibly sterilised due to terminal idiocy but thats just my opinion.



 



The lack of control in natural labor scares some women, it scared my husband, he wanted me to have the c-sect.  He hates the uncertainty.   There are options in this world and kudos to those who explore them all.

Kim - posted on 01/12/2010

1

1

0

I had a c-section with both my births back in the late 70's and early 80's. Just make sure they do the Bikini Cut. You can't stand up straight due to the staples, but I recovered nicely.

Susan - posted on 01/12/2010

22

21

4

If your doctor recommends a c-section I say trust their opinion after all they are looking out for the best outcome for you baby.

For my first I went into natural labour and was recommened to have an emergency c/section with the option of trying to progress through a natural labour. I followed the expert advise of my dr and now have my beautiful son as if I had choosen the latter things would have been different.

Recovery takes longer with a c/section all we really want is a healthy baby.

DONNA - posted on 01/12/2010

5

0

0

I think women have them done to often these days for no reason. It should be done for health reason not just because someone don't want to go through the birthing process.

Abbie - posted on 01/12/2010

1,140

42

203

I have read most of these posts, and I have to say I can't believe the crap people say. How God has anything to do with this, or that going natural is better no matter what, and that your doctor is pushing you for their convience.



I was induced, I had a great thought of natural well that was out the window then as I was induced. My Mommy gut told me then he was very ready to come out, which he was, we were watched like a hawk as I was laboring. I ended in a C section. Did it hurt? Not so bad. The best advice i can offer it to get moving as soon as you can. Do I think my child thinks I love them any less? NO!!! Does or will he ever care if Mommy had him naturally or with a c section NO!!!!! My advice quit listening to the ones preaching about how natural is better. Natural is NOT always the way to go. Its what works for you. Medical has advanced for a reason, and with that so has child birth.



In the end you are still a Mommy with a baby that loves you. Its not the end of the world!

Cecilia - posted on 01/12/2010

6

20

0

I had my first with forcepts, second flew out, the third was a c-section I was wide awake and my husband went with me. I would try the labor for a while see what happens if you need the section they give you a spinal and you don't feel a thing. You get to see the baby as soon as it's born if you stay awake and your husband can go in with you.

LINDA - posted on 01/12/2010

2

13

0

Fear of the unknown is only human nature.I myself have had three c- sections and would suggest scheduling w/o going into labor first.Avoid the trauma and drama .

Renee - posted on 01/12/2010

1

7

0

I have only come close to an emergency c section. I can say I was scared out of my mind for my babys life. I say that if your doctor knows best however she is not god. I would try labor and see what happens.

Elizabeth - posted on 01/12/2010

1

7

0

i had a planned c-section due to my medical history and i couldn't have asked for a better experience!! since i knew i was having surgery i knew there would be pain going in and had very little anxiety before. i brought a cd of my favorite musician (who my ob also loves) and had it playing when i went in. my or team was wonderful, jking and laughing and singing along. the worse part was trying to lean over my very large belly so that they could give me the spinal (little guy hated any time i bent over and kicked me in the ribs to let me know). after wards the pain was not too bad. i was up by the evening and was walking around and picking up my room the next day. used very little narcotic pain meds and felt well enough that i tried to get the doctor to okay me driving home instead of my husband. while everyone's experience will be different, those i have talked to that have had just an emergency c section or an emergency c section and then a plaaned one seem to say the planned one is better because the anxiety and fear are less. good luck with your decision and know that what ever you pick will be the best thing for you as long as it's an informed decision.

Jocelyn - posted on 01/12/2010

8

26

0

I had 2 c-sections and 3 natural births. Both of my c-sections were emergencies. My last natural childbirth was a VBAC. Took a little bit longer to recover from the c-sections, but it wasn't too bad.

Blackwood - posted on 01/12/2010

0

0

36

I ended up with a C-section and the only problem I had was with the pain meds with codine,but not the actual operation. It was soo much earier then I thought, I went into labour and ended with a c-section. At least you can be prepared alittle, have meals premade, so you can just take them out of the freezer, have the needs for you and baby close by, if you live on a two story home, have most of your things on the floor you will spend most of your time. It really isn't that bad at all, once you meet your little one, it won't matter how they arrived, just that their with you.

Staci - posted on 01/12/2010

7

30

1

I know that a C section is major surgery and should be taken seriously. I am all for it! My son was relatively large and wouldn't fit through the birth canal after 3 hours of active pushing. I ended up with a C section and had a very good experience. Labor pains are very rough and I wouldn't want to have to go through it again unnecessarily. I am now 4 months pregnant with my second and am looking forward to being able to schedule my delivery and avoid labor pains.
If your doctor is advising you that your body isn't prepared for vaginal delivery, then it may be a good idea to schedule the C rather than putting yourself and/or baby at risk by trying to delivery vaginally.
Good luck with whatever you decide.

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms