what is your opinion on C-Sections?

Michelle - posted on 01/11/2010 ( 245 moms have responded )

10

31

0

I was just informed by my doctor that i will be needing a c-section due to a small oblique shaped pelvis. This was never even an option for me until now. She said if I really wanted to she would let me try labor but it would most likely end up in an emergency c-section. I was excited for labor & prepared. Now i'm scared half to death & don't know what i'm in for. Any advice, opinions, or persona experience would be helpful. THANKS!!!

This conversation has been closed to further comments

245 Comments

View replies by

Mavis - posted on 01/12/2010

2

0

0

Hello Michelle

here are some positions that could help instead of going for C-Sections. when in labor Squat... i mean it makes more sense for you to work with gravity than go against gravity. if you drop a ball standing it will fall with no hastle. but if you are sitting on top of a roof trying to roll and ball to fall down it takes more work and may need more pushing for the ball to fall on the ground. I say try squatting and at all cost stay positive. Your doctor can be there and be ready for C-section but don't let that be your first option. its a beautiful feeling to know that you did not interfere with GOD's creation. some doctors now just schedule C- section so they can move to the next patient.

Yoga and Squat will help open your pelvis and you will be flexible

Mavis - posted on 01/12/2010

2

0

0

Michelle

I am a mother of 5 and my last boy is just 5 months old. I am only 30yrs old and from my personal opinion... it is worth you trying to have your baby naturally than someone cutting you up making it sound like its just a cut. You will be better of telling your grown child that mommy tried to have you naturally but ended up with C- section than to say well i did not try cos i was scared. C- Section is not all that the doctors make it sound. it's not my first choice unless it's a matter of life and death in an emergency form. My advice to you will be to stay positive, laugh more, watch funny movies and do yoga. Yoga yea that will help with whatever bone the doctor is talking about. try anything before you go in for C- section. it should not even be in your top 5 options for now. visit a chiropractor. I stayed on chiropractic care since i started having my children 8yrs ago. and I have had each one of them naturally. no twins. So I will say try other ways first. like i said Yoga is very good and helps open the pelvis and Chiropractic adjustments will also help you released any tension you maybe having.

lots of love goes to you and your unborn baby.

Christy - posted on 01/12/2010

1

12

0

Michelle I have had three children by c-section the first 19yrs ago and the last 7yrs ago. The first I did not know that I would be delivering by C-section but after 36hrs of unsuccessful labor my doctor told me that the baby was being stressed and needed to come out. What I did not know at that time was that I also had an Oblique shaped tilted Pelvis. I delivered a beautiful baby boy 7lbs 14oz within 1/2hr of going into surgery; because of my age 24yrs I did not have a long healing time, but could not drive (because I had a stick shift) for 6wks. I tried natural again with my second but gave the doctors and myself a time limit of 12hrs and then ended with another C-section. For the third we scheduled a C-section, but my water broke at home a week earlier, went to hospital took 1hr to prep for surgery and had my third baby boy all with in 2hrs. If I could do it all over again I would have scheduled all three and had made it much easier on my babies and myself. I know for my first baby I felt like I had done something wrong that I was a failure at the whole natural child birth, but the baby does go under stress during the birthing process as well as yourself. You are no less of a woman or mother if you have a C-Section it is what is best for you and your baby. Hope this helps a little

Christy Moreno

Rosie - posted on 01/12/2010

8,657

30

321

if you want to at least try a baginal birth, i say go for it since your dr. said it was alright. but you need to be prepared for the c-section and don't feel dissapointed if you have to have one-you still gave birth, you carried the baby around for 9 months. your baby's health is the utmost importance and it makes no difference how they got here, just that they are here, alive and healthy. with my second baby, i gave birth in a surgery room cause they were afraid he was too big to come out and i was gonna need a c-section. i ended up giving birth vaginally, and with my last one he was even bigger 9lbs 5 oz and he came out vaginally as well, perfectly fine. sometimes dr's are more on the cautious side, but if there is no immediate harm to you or your baby i say try the vaginal route if that's what you want.

Jessica - posted on 01/12/2010

66

6

6

C-sections aren't that bad, I promise. I ended up having to get one because my hips didn't widen enough for my daughter to fit through. It sounds way worse than it is. They numb you from the waist down (which I didn't feel at all). I was able to see my daughter as soon as she came out then they brought her to my room after they had checked her out and everything; it was maybe 20 mins after they finished with the stitches and staples on me. I was up and moving the next day, walking up and down the hallway by that evening. I was able to shower and everything. They took out the staples before I left (again, didn't even feel it) and sent me home. 5 days later we had to take her shopping because she was too tiny for all the clothes I got from my shower. It will be numb in areas for a while and may even be a bit painful to touch for a while, but stick with loose-fitting clothes and take it easy and you'll be fine. Good luck!

Erin - posted on 01/12/2010

1,278

0

139

I had a scheduled c-section due to my son being breech. I didn't know he was breech until about 2 days beforehand and I too was very scared, it's major surgery, but it turned out to be fine. So they started my epidural (I was more scared of that than anything else), which didn't hurt much. Five minutes before they were going to start I could still feel everything!! They had to give me a spinal block, which worked right away and I didn't feel at all. The spinal worked so well that I didn't feel ANYTHING, no tugging, pulling or pressure. So he was born, the only thing I don't like about it is that you don't get to see or hold your baby for an hour or so, at least I didn't. I had really bad gas pains after and I'm not gonna lie, they were the most horrible pain I've ever felt in my life.....I'm not gonna tell you not to worry or that it's easy because you will and it isn't but it's over in a day and you will recover. Good luck to you!!

Jennifer - posted on 01/12/2010

4

10

0

I too wanted to do the natural course, but after three days of patosin(I don't know if I spelled that right but medicine to induce)My son's heart rate would drop they would take me off, then try again. Anyhoo, after day three and me at 9 1/2cm, they told me I was gonna have a C-section. Honestly I was just relieved that I wouldn't spend another day worrying. The C-section was great I didn't feel a thing plus I was awake and got to see my son. Recovery was fine, The same day I was out of bed, the second day walking around the hospital wing. The following week I went to Toys R Us to pick up things that we had forgotten because He came a week early, plus I went to church. Honestly I was told I could try to have my next child naturally, but am probably gonna opt to have another c-section.

Teresa - posted on 01/12/2010

165

20

24

As a nurse, i can tell you c-sections are wonderful if you have to have one. Don't be scared of it. This is the best option for you and your babe and the safest one!! You will be sore for a few week and will need some help afterward but it will all be worth it in the end when you are holding a healthy babe. As for the labor, i feel every mother should experience it, however, why put you and the babe through the stress when the likelyhood of delivering are next to none. Laboring is very hard on your body and on the babe. Please don't feel like you failed because of a c section. Because you didn't!! YOu will have the healthiest baby and you will be healthy afterwards and that is all that matters!!! Good luck

Justine - posted on 01/12/2010

1

13

0

Try the labour! Doctor's have all sorts of reasons to give women caesars these days. The bottom line is that it's easier for them. A c-section is a major operation and women often go into it so lightly as it's almost the done thing. I have a small pelvis and delivered fine.

Myra - posted on 01/12/2010

1

0

0

A C-Section is not as bad as you think the hardest part is the two weeks afterwards . Healing takes time.

Jeanna - posted on 01/12/2010

1

0

0

Hey, Don't sweat it... I have had 3 c-sections because I have a weird shaped pelvis, too. Listen to your doctor... take all of the hospitalization that they give you to recover... Don't try to have the baby vaginally... I tried my second time... It doesn't work if you aren't made to have a baby that way. I still had to have Samantha by c-section. You'll be fine.

Jessica - posted on 01/12/2010

1

10

0

ok i had an emergency c section due to preeclampsea and it wasnt so bad i didnt get to see my baby for 24hours but i was so out of it i didnt even realize it the procedure its self i dont remember but the recovery i defanitly do you will be really good friends with you hospitol bed for about a week. i had pain when i went to the bathroom for about 2 weeks. and also be prepaired the pain pills will probably make you constapated. sorry if this seems kinda scarry but once everything starts happening it wont seem so bad

Crystal - posted on 01/12/2010

56

13

3

oh yea, with my c section i got a spinal block, i was awake the whole time, and my husband was in the OR with me, he got to hold erik right away in the or, i only got to see him because my arms where strapped down. having your spouse in the room with you helps alot also. theres not much pain as the other mommys said, just a little tugging and pushing. maybe some would call it discomfort. BUT its not pain that you feel. and im sure its alot less pain then a vaginal birth.

Crystal - posted on 01/12/2010

56

13

3

i had a c section with my baby, and i was a little scared at first. but once i got in there and they started it all went away. the only part i didnt like was being drugged up. and i was in the recovery room for 30 mins, i still swear i was in there longer, it feels like a lifetime knowing you havent gotten to hold your baby yet LOL

dont get to scared about the recovery, us mommys do what we have to. we are all told no heavy lifting, and no stairs for the first few weeks. BUT if you have to you have to. our apt was up a flight of stairs, if you have to go up them, just take it slow. i was making so many trips up and down the stairs it only took me like 2 days to walk them like i would normally, but my son also had to go back into the hospital due to seizures after he had been home for 3 days. so of course i was running up and down the stairs and back and forth from the hospital. (my doc got word of it and called me into his office to prescribe me more pain pills because he knew i was doing to much and didnt really have a choice)

one big word of advise tho, try not to laugh to hard, when erik came back home from the hospital after a week my brother was over and got me laughing so hard i was crying because it hurt so bad. i honestly think it hurt to laugh really hard for about a month or 2 after the section. and the bikini cut is the best. you really cant see it unless you are looking for the scar.

best of luck to you and do what you feel is best for you and baby.

Lisa - posted on 01/12/2010

2

3

0

FOLLOW THE DOCTORS INSTRUCTIONS!!!!! As for me my doctor didnt take a really good look at what was wrong with my pelvis until I was in horrible pain and the baby would not budge at all. My daughter almost died because of what was not said to me or done to me in a timely manner. Dont be scared Lots of women go through C-Sections read about the after care and best of luck to you and the baby.

Andrea - posted on 01/12/2010

566

29

56

I went into labour at 30 weeks with my twins when my water broke. One of the twins had medical issues so the doctor decided to do an emergency C-section. Since I couldn't have an epidural, I had to be put to sleep and I wasn't able to see my twins come into this world. My husband was also not allowed in the OR so he missed their births too. I regret not being able to see them being born as one of by boys died 2 days later because of his medical issues. I was glad I didn't have to go through the pain of delivering vaginally. My recovery was easy to handle!

Beth - posted on 01/12/2010

10

38

0

I've had 2 induced labors and 2 C-sections. For me, the recovery from the C-sections were much quicker and less painful. I would be wary of a natural delivery since you have a small pelvis - there are so many complications that could arise, not to mention the fact that pushing will be more difficult.

The C-section process is pretty simple - once you arrive and are checked in, the nurses prep you for the OR. Once you're in the OR, an anesthesiologist (sp?) will get your prepped for an epidural. After your epidural kicks in, it's pretty much a 30 min. process to get the baby out and you all sewn back up. You'll feel a little bit of tugging and pulling, but no pain. Also, beware that the epidural can make you nauseous, although they can give you meds to offset the feeling.

It's still an amazing experience and once you get to hold your baby, everything you've experienced in the last 9 months will be worth it. Hope this helps and good luck to you!

Maggie - posted on 01/12/2010

818

24

47

If you want to try labor first then go for it. Just make sure you're prepared no matter what the outcome is. As long as the baby is small and you are having good contractions and progressing then there should be no reason the baby can't be born vaginally. Doctors are very quick to offer you the surgery so they can get on with their day so be ready to ask (or have your support person ask) these questions: What will happen if we wait 10 minutes? What will happen if we wait an hour? - if the risks are minimal then do what YOU think is best. Be sure your support person knows what you want before you go in. It's hard for a loved one to see you in the pain of labor so he/she might want to do the section just so you'll be better faster.

That being said, with the information you already have you can be prepared for the section if needed. There won't be any scary "swooping you to the OR", it will be all set up for you in case you need it. Know what to expect if you do end up needing the section so it won't be as scary.

Either way it goes you will have a baby! Good luck!

Renee - posted on 01/12/2010

1

1

0

I had my son via c-section. It really isn't that bad. I was induced twice, but would not dialate any further that 2cm. I was already 44 weeks! They had to take him, I had no choice. I had absolutely no problems at all with healing from it. Take care and good luck.

~♥Little Miss - posted on 01/12/2010

21,273

9

3058

Yes, I was given an unnecessary c-section for my first chilld. I would suggest a second opinion first. Just becouse you have had this doctor the whole time, does not mean you need to keep him/her, Second, look into a Duala. I am 27 weeks, and am going through a midwife, and will have a Duala...but I am delivering in a hospital. I am having a VBAC. Also some positions are easier to labor in than others, and medical Doctors love you to be on your back...convinient for them but much more difficult for the mother....you should have gravity helping you, not working against you. I wish you the best of luck, and just remember our bodies were made for this....please seek other medical professional help. Call a midwife in your area...feel confident...they are RN's, and have been doing this a long time...Good luck!

Sarah - posted on 01/12/2010

5,465

31

344

I had an emergency C-section with my 2nd as i went in to be induced and they found out out she was breech!
I'm one the few who actually found my C-section to be a lot easier than my vaginal birth.
The recovery from my C-section was fine! Out of hospital in 2 days, pretty much able to do most things after a week or so, tho i couldn't walk long distances.
The C-section itself was scary, but the nurses and doctors were WONDERFUL and really put my mind at ease.
I don't feel i missed out in ANY way having a C-section, it was the safest way to deliver, and that was the main thing.
Happy, healthy mum and baby are the most important things, try not to worry. :)

Renae - posted on 01/12/2010

2,209

23

156

First Michelle, join the "c-sections" community and read the conversations about those of us who had good experiences.

I had an elective c-section by choice. I have found that most people who had a booked in c-section by choice had good experiences but those who had emergency c-sections after hours of labour had bad experiences. I'm not sure why but that seems to be the case.

My c-section was EASY! I checked in to hospital at 6am, at 8am I was wheeled down to surgery. The worst part was the nurse putting in the cathedar (I didn't feel anything, it was just a bit invasive - with a planned C there is no need for any internal examinations at all throughout the pregnancy so I wasn't used to anyone poking around down there). My baby was born at 8:35am and we were back in our room at 9am. It went really quickly, one minute they were telling me they were about to start the procedure and the next my doc said "and here he is" and held my baby up over the curtain so hubby and I could see him, I was like "oh my god that's my baby!". Then the midwife whisked him off to clean and check him; hubby went over to watch and brought baby back over to me and laid him on my chest - take part took ages but hubby swears it was only about 2 minutes that my baby was being checked and cleaned before I got to hold him.

I heard horror stories about the recovery and worked myself up for lots of pain - huh! It was so easy. The first 24 hours I stayed in bed, the worst part about that is you have to ask someone to pass you your baby. After 24 hours the nurse helped me out of bed and I walked to the bathroom and took a shower, just move slowly and remember not to try to use your tummy muscles, that is when it hurts. It doesn't hurt to stand or walk or go to the toilet at all. By the 3rd day I got up and dressed and was in minimal pain. After a week I was at home doing everything as normal - hubby told me off for flipping the mattress when changing the sheets on our bed, he had to keep reminding me I had just had surgery cos it didn't seem like it. I didnt take any pain killers or drugs after I left hospital, in hospital they made me keep taking paracetamol and anti-inflammatories even though I felt fine.

I did loads of research on the actual surgery and what they do (so much of what you hear is just urban legends) so if you want to ask anything feel free to msg me.

Dont be scared. Its the easiest way to have a baby, they should call it "cheating".

(PS anyone who disagrees with my choice, please dont tell me what you think of c-sections by choice, I've heard it all before, and no I wasn't scheduling around work meetings or games of golf)

Heidi - posted on 01/12/2010

1

4

0

Go for it!!! I had 2 Vag births before my c-section & I am sooo glad I chose a c-section!!! Labor is highly overrated!

Elaine - posted on 01/12/2010

20

0

2

Must be your first child! You must trust and have faith in your doctor. If you do not, get another doctor. That child will come into this world one way or another, you can count on that, just be prepared for a c section, if there is no alternative. don't worry, your baby knows when your upset.

[deleted account]

I had three c-sections. The first was because my son was breech. The 2nd was by choice; I did go into labor with my third, but he had to be delivered via c-section.
For a c section, you will have a longer recovery after the baby is born; I did not have any trouble nursing, and found that after the birth, once I got up and started moving around I felt really good. Don't worry! I still do not feel any pang or disappointment at not having had vaginal births. My sons are healthy and happy, and frankly, I was thankful for the extra couple of days in the hospital. I had bikini cuts and all three healed up nicely without complication. Good Luck!

Kari - posted on 01/12/2010

1

20

0

I had my first 3 children with the help of pitocin, which was going to be the plan for my fourth... My appointment was at 7am on August 4th to go in, have him turned around and then be induced. At about 3am, my water broke- bigtime! I mean, there was nothing left in there other than the baby by the time I got to the hospital, and with him still being breech, I had an emergency c-section (bikini cut)... I was awake for the whole thing, my husband was with me the whole time. It didn't hurt and I healed quickly. I completely recommend a c-section without labor if chances are you will end up with a c-section anyway. Why go through all the pain and exhaustion for you and the trauma for the baby? Ask your doctor if you can schedule an appointment for the c-section ahead of time and enjoy it the easy way!

Sheila - posted on 01/12/2010

2

34

0

I had a vaginal with my first one and c-sections with the next two. Out of personal experience, I would have to say the c-sections were better. I had alot of pain with the first since there was so much pressure during the delivery and pushing. With the c-sections, only the incision hurt... Plus, I seemed to get around easier with the c-sections.

Prudence - posted on 01/12/2010

7

46

1

I've had two children, both by c-section. With my first son I was all excited and wanted to experience a viginal delivery and wasn't thinking at all about a c-section being an option. As it turned out my waters broke first,in the afternoon, I then waited for the contaraction to become closer before goinf to hosptal about 9pm. Once at hospital my contactions practically stopped so I was put on the ward and told I'd be induced in the morning. At 10am the next morning the came and got me to be induced, slowly my labour progressed until I got to 8cm at around 4pm, at 7pm I was still only 8cmso my doctor gave me the options continuing or going to theatre. At that point I was tired and totally owrn out and just wanted tis baby out. My son was born at 9.17pm, some 36hrs after my waters initially broke, he weighed 8lb 5oz and as it turned out he was my problem for failing to progress - his head had been wedged in sideways and the vacuum was used in his c-section delivery.
My 2nd son was laying in the exact same position at 32 weeks and since I was bigger looking ther was no way I was going thru all that again and opted for a straight out c-section delivery. I was so glad I did because the recovery was much quicker and easier as I wasn't dealing with the exhaustion as well as the effects of the surgery.
The first time I stayed my full 5 days I was allowed (under the public hospital system) but 2nd time round I could have gone home on day 3 I felt so good but having a toddler at home to look after I was determined I was staying my 5 days again, but by night 3 I was so bored I was begging the nurses to go home - they let me home on day 4 (although they wanted to keep me due to suffering '3 day baby blues' )
The choice is entirely yours but what ever you choose, remember the out come is all the same - a healthy baby in your arms but most importantly you have to feel comfortable with the choice. Good Luck with your decision.

Amanda - posted on 01/12/2010

12

47

0

ok chicky so the c-section isnt that bad u can either be awake while they do it or be put under and wake up the next day.....i was all for the natural and had to be induced bubs stayed in for a extra weeks to comfy to wanna come out, did the whole thing in natural labour but her head wouldnt fit. im sure you'll make the rite decision im makin sure next time its a c-section,good luck missy

[deleted account]

I feel for you. Parenthood, including labor and childbirth, is not always what we expected. I had to have an emergency c-section because my daughter was breech. Don't be scared. The recovery process is a little longer but at least you will have an excuse as to why you can't get up and change the diaper. =) Also, if you want to give vaginal birth a try, go for it. I will be trying for a vbac this next pregnancy. I also was warned that it may end in emergency c-section. For me it is worth a shot, and I have time to mentally prepare myself for a c-section, unlike last time. Just remember, how you deliver your child is not as important as how you raise and love your child. Good luck!

[deleted account]

I had a vaginal birth with my first, and a c-section with my last. Not what I wanted, but the cord was wrapped around him and so it was an emergency. For 12 weeks you will only be able to lift the weight of the baby.
If you are planning to breastfeed it is best if they don't wash your baby. I had problems with my milk supply, and I later found out that it is important for you to hold and smell your baby before a bath because different hormones are released in the process. Not sure how true but may be worht asking your doc about.
At the hospital where I delivered they absolutely will nt do a vaginal birth after a c-section so that is something to consider as well... My opinion is that as long as the baby arrives safely it doesn't matter how you welcome him/her into the world!

Sally - posted on 01/11/2010

8

29

0

I was also dead set on a natural birth and eventually after 6 hours of labour and no progress (due to a small pelvis) had to have a Ceaser.
I can honestly say it was really not as bad as expected! The recovery period was short and I was able to care for my daughter as well as if I'd gone the natural route.

Try not to focus on the negative and instead take some joy in the fact that your little treasure will be with you that much sooner. If you are like me and want your baby to choose its own birthday perhaps wait until you go into labour and then have the ceaser... but don't push yourself through hours of pain for a hopeless cause.

Good luck - enjoy it!

Rosemary - posted on 01/11/2010

12

44

0

i had an emergency c-section done because my son's heart rate kept dropping. i was trying natural but in the end my cervix was to thick also. i was a lil scared but afterwards it was really nothing. i freaked out for nothing. i was put to sleep during the delivery because the numbing shot they gave me didnt work that fast so they had to gas me. but to me that was ok because im not a blood and guts kind of person. the cut on my belly is horizontal and is about 3-4 inches long and cannot be seen by anyone because it is so low. i would be able to wear a bikini and it still not be able to show. the only downside was my recovery. i had a cold and a bad cough at the time and when i coughed it felt like my cut was getting ripped open. just dont get a cold. lol. i now have to have a c-section with each child i have in the future. im expecting now and am due in march and am excited as can be even though i have to have a c-section. its not a bad thing. so dont be scared one bit. because in the end it's totally worth the pain and scar that probably no one will see unless u show them. plus you dont have to worry about having to recover from a rip in the other area if you get what im saying. so like i said before...don't worry about it.

Leza - posted on 01/11/2010

64

35

3

I have had 3 c-sections. My first was an emergency c-section which was not fun so i'd recommend having it scheduled since it seems inevitable anyway. My second was planned and actually very pleasant. The worst part is when they give you the spinal and that's not even that bad unless you have an unexperienced anesthesiologist then it can be a bit uncomfortable. After the anesthesia they will lay you on the table, drape you from the chest down and within minutes you hear your precious baby cry for the first time. They'll clean the baby up and let you see him or her for a second then they'll stitch you up ( tell dr. you want dissolving stitches instead of staples. I've had them both and stitches are better. If you don't ask for them your dr. may not use them because stapling is quicker.) You will be in pain if you don't take your meds on time but getting up and walking as soon as they take out your catheter is the fastest way to heal. It will hurt the first day you start walking but you have to do it. I was always up walking around the next day. Another thing is you will bleed from your vagina so don't be alarmed. You and the baby will be in the hospital for 3 days so be sure to pack all your hygiene items because you will want to take a shower as soon as you can walk. I always had a hard time sleeping so bring something to kill time, take your own slippers or rubber bottom socks because you don't want to wear what they provide unless they're really nice i guess. Pack a cute night shirt that will give you easy access to breast feed - it will make you feel better. Bring your most comfy pillow and pack some snacks. You won't be able to eat much the 1st day but after that you can. I even brought a couple of pics to put in my room. I brought anything that made me feel good. I know you will be nervous no matter what but maybe now you won't be so scared. I hope i helped a little and if you want to know anything else don't hesitate to ask me. Congratulations!! =)

[deleted account]

Just talk to your doctor and make sure that you all the health risk with going through with the vag delivery. I have had both natural and a emergency c-section. The c-section was my first and i was scared when the docs told me i was going to have to have one. I was only dilated to 6 and my daughter didnt care she was crowning well starting to. the worse part was the recovery for me. i couldnt do anything without hurting. with the natural i mean natural no pain meds or anything because my daughter was 16 weeks early. trust me i dont care what anyone says contrations are contractions. they freaken hurt but anyways. Just remeber to do what the doctor thinks is best for you and the baby

Florence - posted on 01/11/2010

1

5

0

C-sections sound more scary than what they actually are. I had to have an emergency c-section due to me not progressing. Dont be too scared it will be done before you know it!

Shannon - posted on 01/11/2010

5

11

1

Hi Michelle, I've had both a natural birth and an emergency c section. I do have to say that I prefered the natural birth becase healing was easier and it was nice to be able to move around emediatly after having my son. With my daughter i had an emergency c section. My advice is that if the doctor say's that your probably going to have a c section I would just plan it. It's really hard when your expierencing contractions and they suddenly rush in and swoop you away. Planning it would cut down on stress and it's better than putting your baby threw the stress. As for suggestions and tips, make sure someone is staying with you in the hospital for at least the first night. My husband went home to be with our son and I couldn't get out of bed so it was hard to get my daughter in and out of the bassinet. Also planning is good so that you can have someone at your home for at least the first 10 days. Best of luck! I hope this helps!

Bic - posted on 01/11/2010

30

9

10

I had a similar experience. I think my OB was giving me plenty of time to decide what I wanted to do, ie try for a natural labour and see how it goes, if all good then great but if complications arose then I was prepared for the c-section and all the stuff associated with it. As it turned out, I tried for 12 hours through a normal birth....only to have myself and my baby suddenly spike in terms of our heart-rates so ended up with C-section.



Treat this information from your doctor as your chance to ready yourself for the c-section in need. If you choose to have it elective first go then great too..it's what is safest for you and your baby.



One good thing was that my husband had a kick getting into 'scrubs'...and if you're open to having the c-section...under an epidural...you can have your support person there...encouraging you, nodding at you as you speak incoherantly about all and sundry!

Sheena - posted on 01/11/2010

3

12

0

I have 3 kids. My last 2 were by c-sec. The time i was induced and was in labor for 10hrs with no change dilated 2. So, my doc made for an emergency c-sec and I was scared to death. It went fine and my little girl was out in less than 5 minutes once they had me cut and open. This last baby was scheduled and I think i was more scared this time than last. Just knowing when you will be going in and having a baby is scary. I walked to the OR and was scared to death. But it went well and I had worked myself up way to much! The only down side is you have to limit your activity, no lifting over 20lbs, and NO stairs. Recovery is up to 10 weeks. Hope this helps, If you have any questions we can chat via e-mail and I'll be happy to answer any questions!! Good Luck and Congratulations!

Deanna - posted on 01/11/2010

1

26

0

All 3 of my girls were C-sections and it was an amazing experience. My oldest was an emergency C-section during my labor because her heartrate was falling. That was so scary and then having to be rushed into surgery made everything more intense. My last 2 were planned C-sections because I had one and knew what to expect. Plus, you don't have to do all this work to get the baby out. And once he/she is out and you are back in your room you get to enjoy your baby and you are not exhausted. If you have any questions you can ask me. I will try to help you if I can.

Dira - posted on 01/11/2010

13

7

1

I had to have a c-section due to my son being breech.I had very little notice,they wanted to do it the next day but did it the day after.i had no complication or problem with having one.The scarist part is when you have to go in by yourself and then they give you the epidura or spinal block.if you have a boyfriend/husband or family member come in with you for it i feel it makes it a lot less nerve-racking because they can keep you less focused on whats going on.there will be some tugging and pressure when they pull the baby out and of course you wont be able to hold the baby right away but generally it wont be long afterward..the recovery is quite painful(it also depends on your tolerence for pain too).you wont have control of your stomach muscles for a few weeks after and cant do any heavy lifting(like caring the carseat).Myseld,i didnt think it was a bad experience.I think its whichever is safest for baby and mother is the best options.if you have any question ill answer as many as i can=)

C. - posted on 01/11/2010

4,125

35

242

Well, one of my sisters tried a vaginal delivery the first time, pushed for 3 hours and ended up needing a C-Section.. It's entirely up to you, but be sure to ask your doctor if there would be any avoidable harm done to your baby if you even tried a vaginal delivery.. That way you know the worst case scenario with your condition. If she says it wouldn't harm your baby and you really want to try, then try! Best wishes!!!

-Christina

Stacie - posted on 01/11/2010

92

41

8

hi there
my son ended up coming at 36weeks and he was breech so i ended up havin a c section i never had wanted one as i was scared as but then i had my partner there and that helped alot having him there holding my hand.
it is a bit out of it with all the people and the lights and wots going on but u just have to lay there and the baby is out in 5mins once they get in there.
the only down fall is that u cant do much for ten weeks.
im preg with my third and im going to be havin another c section, like u i was told that i could try labour but end up having a c section.
i didnt have my older boi by c section becoz my midwife didnt believe in them so i was made to have one.
it was the worse ever now that ive had one id have another.
to me i dont care about how mine baby gets here just looking at them for the first time and holding that little person is the best.
u will know wot is best for u
and good luck when u do have ur baby

Penny - posted on 01/11/2010

23

22

2

Thought I was prepared for labor too-nothing prepares you for that! I even took lamaze classes! My labor was horrible, I was also induced so this might be why it was so painful. I had planned on going natural-stupid me! and did end up having an emergency C-section-which I would gladly have again! What a wonderful feeling it was when the epiderial set in!

Theresa - posted on 01/11/2010

6

20

1

Take a look at the bikini cut option for the c-section. I had one with mine and the recovery was much easier as the cut is just above the pelvis rather than the larger cut. It was a scheduled emergency for me too. If you have any questions I'll answer what I can. :)

Join Circle of Moms

Sign up for Circle of Moms and be a part of this community! Membership is just one click away.

Join Circle of Moms